Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,894 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,369 ✭✭✭doc_17

Ashley Young starting tonight……fair play to him getting a PL club to pick him. He’s less useful than Milner at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,513 ✭✭✭✭CSF

He was excellent against City. One of the few things in Gerrard’s selections I won’t rant about.

Gerrard has pretty much himself in ‘win or be sacked’ territory with that lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

They already do friendlys all over the planet in pre season. Managers will do what they're told by the bosses. I doubt Klopp was too happy flying all the way to Australia earlier this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I haven't watched enough of Villa this season to know enough, but out of curiousity what are the bad selection choices he's making?

Leaving out Ings, Luiz & Buendia while starting Watkins & Coutinho is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I wonder does Ings regert leaving Southampton where he pretty much started every game and scored in every second game and had gotten into the England squad.

Not Ings. Its Coutinho over Buendia, and the continued insistence on playing McGinn and Ramsey together, despite neither of them being able to pass a football. I've not seen a manager look more out of his depth tactically than Gerrard at this level to be honest. It isn't so much a matter of if he goes, its more when. He is basically universally despised and given almost all of our internationals have lost their squad spots during his reign, I'd be surprised if they're happy with him either.

He may be creeping into the Tim Sherwood realm of never getting near another top level job after this role. Its as bad as I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

That last line is pretty damning.

He started well at Villa, iirc Villa were 10th best team in the league from when he took over last season until the summer. But things have gone downhill since then. With the break coming up, it's a perfect chance to change managers, so he needs a result tonight. And then keep getting results if he wants to remain in the job.

Maybe the Rangers League win & European form, coupled with losing the new CB signing is giving him some credit in the bank with the people in charge? Purslow will be reluctant to sack him. Purslow is not a very good person to have at your football club in general.

But he only came on when Cash had to go off injured? Not like he dropped an underperforming cash and selected him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,141 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ye are jinxing Southampton lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Two dire teams playing dire football. At least southampton have a load of kids playing so its understandable. Have no idea how city didnt thrash this villa team there woeful

Yeah, I’m not suggesting otherwise. He’s not first choice RB. But he has done excellently when called upon. No complaints about having him as deputy.

We were ok until around Christmas. Since then we’ve been absolutely horrible and change our system nearly every game and continue to select players who have been playing terribly (or proceed to make them captain). I’m all for tactical flexibility but it’s usually because we were cr*p in the previous game. There are genuinely no pros to speak of. Increasing the age profile of the squad, while decreasing the quality of output is about as toxic a situation as you can find.

It took Martinez 47 seconds to hit that kickout. Ref blew up on the button of added time. What a joke.

Good win for Villa but the way they played doesn’t fill you with confidence that they have any plan or direction.

He isn't though. He has been excellent.

Weird to win a game and feel even more sure that things are going backwards fast.

Forest not looking great after spending the guts of £170m during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I know a couple of games were cancelled, but one 3 o'clock kickoff again. With the winter WC, really is not great planning by all usual bodies FA, FIFA etc.

Listening to Collins in the tunnel getting the Wolves players up for the game is some going for a new kid in the team.

A born leader right there.

I wonder what kind of deal the media (The Daily Mail)will make of the boo's there during the minutes silence.

Only took 40 seconds for City

Great to see Rodri get an early yellow for a cynical foul.

So easy for City Haaland makes it 0-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,696 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I'll say it every week.

He's a cheat code.

He means slightly less control against better teams, but Christ, he means you can't give City any chances whatsoever.

This is gonna be another demolition.

What have kickoff times got to do with the world cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Shocking tackle from collins deserved red

Collins with a nasty chest high tackle that was a clear straight red.

Haakand's kick to the head a few weeks back was higher and he got no booking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Shocking one that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,314 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Mod Note

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on