Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭zv2

I'm naturally suspicious enough to see this "tied/not tied" business as an attempt to muddy waters and discredit all reports.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I posted the updated version from them.

And guess what it says mass graves with some bodies having their hands bound .

Give over with the games

The nightly late evening Russian propaganda view .

We're fighting Black water (remember them)

And negroes their words.

But it's ok for us to retreat from African-Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,572 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

If they were fighting NATO. The lads would be in Moscow by now.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,049 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

IS this the hill you want to stand and fight on?

Well there were mass graves, and there were bodies who had been executed. But the mass graves only contained civilians killed by shelling...

Really?

I don't know what cause you think you are serving here but it isn't that of truth and justice for the victims of Russian war crimes.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Looking closely at Putin's statements here and on Bloomberg [paywall] he made comments like 'The general Staff' and such like. This is his way of slowly disassociating himself from all the decisions making and setting up fall guys to carry the can back in Russia for all the failings. Putin never makes appearances on camera without having a self-interest in putting out one statement or another.

Modi for what it's worth may be starting to distance himself from Russia in general but not until he can find oil and gas elsewhere on the cheap!!! it is just a pity India has found itself stuck to Russia. If China had not been buggering India all these years I think Modi would have pulled away quicker from Russia.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I have to say, we're plunging to new depths in this thread. Neutral "both sides" edgelords turning the smoke machine up to full blast when mass graves are discovered - trying to play word games about what is and isn't a mass grave. If their mother/sister/brother was shot in the back of the head and dumped there, they'd know damn well what to call it.

Utterly pathetic behaviour. I wonder do people like that realise how outrageously mendacious and thick they come across as?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,513 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

IMO the bar for what constitutes a ‘pro Russian’ poster is set too low. I have not a pro Putin breath in me but am considered by some here to be pro Putin

I suggested a few days ago (when talk about taking Crimea was at its peak), that Crimea was a different conversation for the allies to what has come so far. I have heard serious military experts and the former ambassador to Kazakhstan and Georgia on British radio saying exactly that, and not believing that it can or will be done by military means. Literally the words of British military experts in this area

But I was hounded off the site for being pro Putin. Its a ridiculous assertion

there are some pro Putin posters here I am sure. But a very tiny number. Not everyone who questions anything about the Ukraine has an even an ounce of pro Putin sentiment in their body

I said it earlier some people talking out of both sides of their mouths. I'm Anti putin but wait till i tell you about these Ukrainians boyos.

Yada yada yada....

Crimea will be returning to Ukraine possibly in the new year possibly a bit longer but make no mistake they are coming...

Well when you have a poster disputing that 400 or so bodies in a site in a forest is a mass grave, I don't think there's any question what the poster is at. They just don't have the courage of their convictions to admit where they really stand because they'll get blasted on here even worse.

Case rested

i knew it would be you

but sure, the former ambassador to Georgia v Gatling on boards….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭greenpilot

The guy on the left is Wagner. The guys on the right are Russian police. The Wagner guy is saying " Do you know who I am?"

The police then hop seven shades of shite out of him.

After 8 years and multiple thousands of posts about Ukraine and the invasion of Ukraine .

I probably do know more,

Didn't the military experts tell us Kiev would fall in 72 hours,

Case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

On the mass graves In izyum .

NTV claim the Izyum mass grave is a "provocation", with one of them even suggesting that Ukraine did it to "spoil the impression" of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation summit in Uzbekistan

I think it's rather cute that you're deferential to Foreign Office civil servants on military matters. I've spent enough time around those types in my life to realise they put their trousers on one leg at a time and are practiced in the art of looking like they know what they're talking about as opposed to actually getting things right. Perhaps the gentleman has a military background, but more often than not, they're civvy street Oxbridge types armed with Latin and Greek rhetorical flourishes.

If he's being Jesuitical about the pracitcalities of Crimea, take that as a signal the British government may be throwing up a signal that they recognise that it would be a red line moment for Moscow where they may spazz out on the nuclear button, not that it couldn't be retaken by Ukraine under Marques de Queensbury warfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,891 ✭✭✭✭briany

I agree - I think going into Crimea is a different conversation right now. It would be a bit like the Allies trying to get to Berlin before liberating occupied France to be seriously talking about it at this stage. First, Kherson has to be retaken and at least a good chunk of the rest of Ukraine's southern coast, and then there's the Donbas as well. Hopefully the rumours of an imminent Russian military collapse are true, but if they're not, then there remains considerable work to be done. Get through that and then the Ukrainians can assess how to push on from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Malcolm Nance is literally the only black man I have seen on the Ukrainian side on the ground over there. He must be the only one the Russian media have seen as well because it's that same clip of him that they keep using in these pieces where they claim that the Ukrainian army is full of black mercenaries.

Also, I love how that guy likened Russia to Real Madrid in his analogy. In reality they'd be more like Honved - A team who peaked about 70 years ago and whose glory days live on, only, the minds of their nationalist, far-right supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bogmanstar

Amusing to see the early posts on this thread, all the ones praising the "great and wise" Putin.

Putin is on record - in Russia - as making jokey, approving comments about rape:

https://ayenaw.com/2022/04/25/russias-rape-machine/

In the late 1940’s, Gunnar Myrdal, the Swedish economist and sociologist, predicted that the Americans and the British would make a mess of their diplomacy with the Russians, because they would assume that Russians are gentlemen, and that they would not make agreements which they would have no intention of carrying out.

What you can’t believe,” Myrdal said, “is what every Swede knows in his bones. The Russian culture is not a gentleman culture.”

Writing in 1985, the late Eugene V. Rostow, former Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs of the United States and Dean of Yale Law School, noted that:

The Soviet Union … is embarked on a policy of indefinite expansion fuelled by the practice of open aggression … And as a practical matter, the refusal to confront the profound differences between the foreign policies of the United States and the Soviet Union leads to all sorts of error and naivete in the formulation of Western policies … The Soviet Union is in the imperial mood of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, as a distinguished British historian has remarked – the imperial mood which the peoples and governments of the West have long since given up with relief. And the Soviet thrust for empire now threatens the state system which has evolved through trial and error since the end of the Napoleonic Wars.”

Links here: https://ayenaw.com/2022/07/23/negotiating-with-russia-is-a-liberal-delusion/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭firemansam4

I agree with you somewhat, but IMO their are also some posters who would come on this thread and push known Russian propaganda which has been disproven many times, then they will try and make out they are against what Putin and Russia is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,437 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

From what I can gather, there are only a few thousand foreigners in the Ukrainian army, probably well under 5000 and many of these are not very high calibre or experienced in battle.

Our friends on the Russian TV talk shows just can't stop lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭zv2

Do these people realize how comical/stupid they seem to western people?

It looks like history is starting up again.

Alot of the foreign legion fighters are mostly exmilitary either EU , Americans and Canadian with experiences from Iraq and Afghanistan, while they are limited in numbers they bring a whole host of experiences in fighting in Urban and rural locations ,

There's been more than a few dreamers who thought it was a holiday they were going on but from some of the groups I follow alot to them were sent packing or limited to a remf roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Absolutely spot on, your post should be mandatory reading for those that are unsure of themselves.

The Russian "nation" is simply unevolved - the Ukrainians are simply saving Eastern Europe.

Edit: The above isn't intended to be read sarcastically, I genuinely believe it's as clear as I've described.

Post edited by Curious_Case on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Economics101

Shades of the Katyn massacre of Poles in WW2 by Stalin, but Russian propaganda succeeded in convincing many that it was done by Hitler & co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,437 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

In this case, it seems to be aimed solely at the Russian serfs : "We couldn't possibly be losing to Ukrainians, so the only explanation is that we are fighting NATO troops".

Look at the effort to they went through to blame Ukraine on the shooting down of flight MH17 8 years ago.

Even to the point the subsequent UN investigation had shot down or shooting down removed from the texts for fear of upsetting putin, despite having real world knowledge and evidence that Russia did shoot down flight MH17 over ukraine