Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,865 ✭✭✭✭josip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

There's the study. Take it up with the university of Adelaide and the authors not me. It's apparently the first study conducted.

I think it's disinformation to state Russian troll farm in such a manner when the only study points to bots supporting pro Ukraine stuff. If memory serves, the usa/ UK seemed very well prepared to support Ukraine when the war started, maybe it was them running the pro Ukraine bots.

Have you any evidence at all to back your statement that the Adelaide study is shite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,352 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Why would they? Other than a scorched earth strategy, to ruin space for everyone by creating a debris field.

no military assets rely on starlink. It only exists so middle class marketing executives can get low quality broadband in their one off houses away from the fiber network

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Have you any evidence at all to back your statement that your posts are shite .

Yes plenty

I'm not sore about Izyum. I'd be much more pro Ukraine than Russia (not pro Zelensky though and obviously not pro Putin) but understand the NATO/ USA stuff and ceasefire violations ratcheted up tensions. Definitely pro helping Ukranian refugees.

To me this war/ slaughter is not a joke and needs to stop before something even worse happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,205 ✭✭✭✭briany

Paraphrasing one of Putin's heroes, "Russia'll do f*ckin' nuthin'", regarding wiping Kyiv off the map. If Russia could carpet bomb the city, they would have done it by now and save themselves the aggravation they've been through in the last six months. As far as subjecting it to the same fate as Hiroshima, that's not happening. If Russia were the kind of power who would use nukes to try and quickly end a protracted conflict, they'd have a track record of it, because this isn't the first protracted conflict they've been in as a nuclear power.

"The more Russia is pushed..."

In what way is Russia being pushed? If they want to interpret being driven back towards their own borders as being 'pushed' or being under sanction as being 'pushed', I suppose they can, but it's utterly delusional and the world isn't actually under any obligation to entertain those delusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭roosterman71

some sort of process like in northern Ireland is desperately needed.

The USA really needs to f off out of the equation

Ya do know that there'd be no process, or GFA or **** all like we have in NI without the USA being part of the negotiation.

Seems to be an odd study based on that report of it at least.

Most of the bots in their study identified themselves as bots, while the infamous Russian troll farms are pretending to be real people. I'd like to read the actual study. The reporting on it from that link is all over the shop

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Aaaaaand there’s the Nuke threat again…..

Jesus you lads really have nothing else left to offer.

Apologies, I bookmarked the link from this site a while back. I should have read the paper.

The patterns of information flows between bot and non-bot account vary based on national lean: Pro-Russian non-bot accounts are most influential overall, with information flows to a variety of other account groups. No significant outward flows exist from pro-Ukrainian non-bot accounts, with significant flows from pro-Ukrainian bot accounts into pro-Ukrainian non-bot accounts.

I couldn't find the stat the headline suggested. As you can see the conclusion points to pro Ukranian bot accounts supporting non bot accounts but couldn't find stats. Sorry, it looks like I got that one wrong.

If Russia launched a nuke on anyone, England France, America and Israel would retaliate immediately

The thing is, nobody believes Russia's nuclear arsenal works anymore.

Their bluff has been called. They might have a few ICBMs in working order and maybe some of the warheads are still intact. But not MAD anymore.

If they launch a nuke, they'll be destroyed

Maybe we can get some proper non proliferation going on after this whole thing ends. The superpowers have plenty of other ways of hurting each other without having to maintain ridiculously expensive unreliable doomsday devices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

The OSCE replied to say they do not assign blame.

IMG_20220915_230450.jpg

Are you suggesting Donetsk were bombing themselves? Anyway, I'm off, can't believe I posted that stupid fake news article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The war started when Russia invaded Ukraine in 2014

Do you require any further clarification?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Mearsheimer just repeats Russian propaganda, laundered as "realism". It's like he watches those crazy nighttime Russian shows and distills them into something more palatable for an American audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭Cordell

They will not launch a nuke, they have nothing to gain and everything to lose by doing so. The tensions between them and the western powers were much higher during the cold war, they were engaged in multiple wars by proxy and no one nuked anyone back then, so it won't happen now either. This is all part of the FUD propaganda designed to weaken the western support for Ukraine, and it doesn't even work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭greenpilot

..and so it begins...

Explosions reported in Valuyki of Belgorod region, Russian authorities blame Ukraine. Blackout and communications down

Okay, this is last one. I haven't posted anything pro Russian, I think Russia really let itself down and some appalling atrocities have been committed as a consequence.

I'm pointing out obvious things, that there was a build up to war and USA meddling in my opinion did not help. Again, all this thread seems to be people cheering on a war in which tons of real people are dying. I'm saying a ceasefire and peace would be better and the war is really dangerous.

I've never been to Russia and know very little about what it's like on the ground but lots of msm sources point to Putin's popularity. I see him as an autocrat with nuclear weapons refusing to hand over power.

In saying that, should the West keep supporting Ukraine as it takes back Crimea (majority Russian according to Wikipedia https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crimea) which was gifted to Ukraine in 1954 by USSR? The USA want to oust Putin. Who would be in charge of the nukes then? Navalny, the guy who called migrants insects? The whole thing seems crazy to me but as someone pointed out I'm a media illiterate so wtfdik.

Tip for ye,read about Putins hybrid warfare and misinformation campaigns

It's not my claim. It's been put forward by others and that's why I contacted OSCE myself.

If Ukraine invaded it would get no support. If Russia invaded the West would back it up. That much is obvious, whether the claim is true or not I don't know but the OSCE records make a strong case for it to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Darth Putin

Oh look it we managed two pages before daily reminder about the BOMB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

One of the biggest problems with online discourse is that it's so much easier to post rubbish than it is to wade through all that rubbish and respond to it all.

Haven't a clue if you're right it wrong. I did see this ages ago.

Russian's can apparently intercept nuclear weapons using kinetic defense. I thought that maybe that was extra reason for them to be war confident but maybe that's bs too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,129 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Slow news day, huh?

The Russian's say it was a USA backed coup that ousted a democratically elected leader. I think Noam Chomsky said that too. Good podcast on lex Friedman https://open.spotify.com/episode/4cMeTuzkGNSdUIrrh81A5M?si=8GeUyIXmTPWdiGkgGkQZNQ&utm_source=copy-link

He's very down on both Russia and USA in terms of the Ukraine war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,202 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It is not the OCSE's claim either.

To mention them in association with this claim is an attempt at misrepresentation. Nothing more.

Did you ask them about Russias charter vioations in invading Crimea and demands that Ukraine not join NATO?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Okay, this is last one. I haven't posted anything pro Russian, 

476847515.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

What US meddling?

Were there CIA men in long coats on street corners in Moscow hypnotizing Putin and his cadres to launch a war with mind-rayguns?

For the record, the OSCE Budapest Memorandum to which Russia is a signatory, recognises it is the right of sovereign nations to choose security alliances as it sees fit. Be it NATO, be it Russia's sh*tty version of NATO the CSTO, be it Ukraine's defence pact with China, or Portugal's defence guarantees from the UK that go back centuries.

If Russia is not a country of honour it should not put its name to agreements, so we all know exactly know what we're dealing with. Far simpler.

And at that, Ukraine's relationship with NATO was stalled. Ukraine was decades off joining before February of this year.

There was no meddling, just vanilla Russian autocratic bullsh*t. Anyone who is repeating what you posted west of the Suwalki Gap is actually parroting dumb propaganda intended for uneducated babushkas and alcoholics in the Russian provinces. You're not "in the know", you're repeating congealed sh*te intented for the lower strata of Russian society who are accustomed to swallowing Russian state media uncritically. Congratulations, you lose at thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭Cordell

Russian's can apparently intercept nuclear weapons using kinetic defense

Bullets. Kinetic energy projectiles are bullets. They are planning to shot down ICBM with bullets. Big, bad russian bullets. FFS.