Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BoJo banished - Liz Truss down. Is Rishi next for the toaster? **threadbans in OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Have you ever been to Britain or Amended?

Most people in England are apolitical outside of recongizing names due to social media now.

The American lack of interest in news, even their own. In politics, in history is one of the most bizarre things I have ever encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Actually both are moving away from it, I mean, the Brits left the EU. Again, these two countries have managed to avoid authoritarianism and will continue to do so! Their political systems, in particular the US are specifically designed to protect the rights of citizens, just look at what States people are leaving from and where they are going to in massive numbers, the free market is speaking!

And yet both countries have witnessed huge political earthquakes with people voting in massive numbers in recent years, so your experience isn't tallying with the tallies in the ballot box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

I think that has more to do with them being English-speaking countries than a reflection on their political stability. Irish people historically have mostly stuck to the Anglosphere.

I agree, but we flock to these places in much bigger numbers than New Zealanders for instance who live on an even more remote English speaking island country. Typically, people who live in dysfunctional countries emigrate to more functioning countries.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

So the EU is "Authoritarian"..Right , I think that tells us what we need to know.

Also - The "people leaving blue states and moving to red states in Droves" thing is a fallacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I think it is wrong that the thread was renamed.

Maybe our mods are trying to get into the swing of things by just having an old rename, but I think Boris deserved his own thread and by the looks of it there are good odds that old Liz deserves one of her own.

How many leaders that she will have to deal with has she insulted before she even got the gig?

Macron was one, Sturgeon is another.

Hell you even find tories saying they understand how Sergey Lavrov found her a tad condescending when they met in Moscow back in January.

She is pigheaded and I would say stands for nothing, bar maybe being an economic libertarian.

And who in their right fooking mind would have Rees Mogg as a minister. 😲

I am not allowed discuss …

The EU is another layer of authority, which it is.

The Guardian isn't exactly known for it's balance to be fair, just look at what is happening in Florida over the last two years, where do you think those people moved from?

https://www.fox13news.com/news/florida-texas-see-largest-population-increases-as-us-has-slowest-growth-rate-in-history Fox's isn't known for its balance either as you know!

You see how easy it is to be misled by media, the best thing to do is wait until the next census. But what we will see very shortly what way Florida votes, a notorious swing state.

Ehh so we should have emigrated to say France where we did not speak the language and there were probably less work.

You do know our history and the difference between us and lowly populated outpost that has only existed as an accessible country for less than 180 years and was only settled by actual people around than 700 years ago ?

And typically people who have no work and often no freedoms emigrate to places where they can satisfy those needs.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

You mean the census that was wildly incorrect?

Data doesn't lie , it's got nothing to do with "the media" or otherwise.

There is no data to suggest that Californians are leaving the State in any greater numbers than people are leaving any other State in the US as a percentage of their population.

California is the most populous State in the US by some margin so it stands to reason that Californians would make up the largest percentage of "new arrivals" into other States.

There is evidence to suggest that post-covid people are moving from Urban to Rural which sometimes involves a change of State , but fundamentally the actual data does not support the idea of a "Blue exodus" or anything like it.

Anyway - US Demographics are not relevant to a conversation about the car crash that is the current UK Tory government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,682 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Succumbing to authoritarianism is usually done at the point of a gun. Neither the US nor Britain were invaded and their infrastructure destroyed. Britain came closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,977 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Lol the US and UK protect citizens rights do they? And yet what is one of Liz Truss first expected actions? An absolute destruction of workers rights in the UK including holidays sick time and working hours to name but a few. I wont even get into how far the US has gone away from protecting citizens rights except to point out that according the the US supreme court the police no longer have a duty to protect the citizens they supposedly serve.

Who invaded China then?

Who invaded Russia?

Who invaded Germany?

Political systems succumb to authoritarianism, often using force but not always, the closest I've seen in recent years is Canada, Government Overreach is getting all too common these days.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,898 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's only this easy when you can't be bothered to read into it. The only easier thing is to dump a link from a source you prefer solely for that reason.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I dumped a link with an alternate view to the link that was dumped by the other poster to demonstrate a point. I don't trust any media outlet. Not one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,898 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I've heard this before. You don't trust any and then dump more far right American nonsense here. Spare me.

I've no idea what this has to do with Liz Truss anyway.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I don't think you understand, I don't have a view on Truss, I don't follow it, if she is a disaster she will be given the boot shortly enough, if the Americans don't like their politicians they get to give them the boot too...just look at the leaders in our country, been around a long time now with no sign of any change coming, it doesn't matter who we elect we get the same Government.

Far right? What are you on about? Media is polarized, a blind man can spot that....just because you don't like a media source doesn't mean it's "far right"....a joke of an accusation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,977 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Love the moving of the goalposts, you claimed both countries had systems in place to protect the rights of citizens and then ignored the 2 examples I gave of how that's completely untrue due to right wing parties either directly like truss or indirectly via US supreme court appointments making moves to dismantle those rights.

I never said anything about you supporting anyone but if you want to go there then you can pretend all you want but everyone here can quite easily read between the lines of your posts to see where you loyalties lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Who invaded China? Japan/Soviet Union

And, seriously? Canada is authoritarian? I'm guessing because they didn't put up with those fkwits in the trucks?

Loyalties??? Honestly, this is nuts, just been accused of being far right by another poster...I have no skin in the game in the UK or US for that matter, it is an interesting topic especially in recent years but that's about it. Moving the goalposts? Honestly please read my posts, I've no idea what Truss represents.

You need to separate the politicians from the political system, we are all poorly served at the moment with our political leaders, something evident all over the world at the moment, the Brits and the US have a better system for getting rid of leaders they don't like than we do....that is essentially my point, and also, that we are headed for political turbulence in the very near future as well, we will not avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭Macy0161

This has been discussed on "The Rest Is Politics" a few times. Traditionally both the Conservatives and Labour were broad churches with room from centrists to the harder left and right. Particularly the Conservatives, and Johnson's purge of remainers before the last election, has changed that dynamic and there's not much of the "left" of the Tory Party in Parliament. Stewart has put, iirc, as they were effectively coalitions in the past within the same party. He's now in favour of some form of PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Love all the attempts to make this thread about anything except Liz Truss.

People even trying to suppress the free speech being utilized in the title 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,682 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I've no idea what Truss represents.

You've lost the narrative here. The thread's about Liz truss.

You need to separate the politicians from the political system, we are all poorly served at the moment with our political leaders, something evident all over the world at the moment, 

Yinno, there is a steady supply of whinging about Irish politics that doesn't seem to hold up to scrutiny. Economy doing well? Seems like it, paying down foreign debt nicely and plenty of jobs going begging. Peaceful? In general, yeah, way less crime in Ireland than most other Western countries. Progressive? A bit slow here - but hard to throw off the yoke of the RCC.

Anyway, whinging about how well Irish politicians are doing, probably doesn't belong in a Liz Truss thread. No Irish politician has ever had as much on their plate as Liz Truss does, she's the PM of a much larger, more complicated country with a substantial international presence, if not as much influence as once before.

If you don't have a view on Truss why are you on the Truss thread ?

It's possible to have an interest on a topic and not have a view. Let's be honest here, we live in interesting times.

Well you don't seem to have an interest cause you are trying to talk about anything else.

Sorry, but I have to disagree here.

Yes Ireland is doing ok if you happen to own your own home, have a nice job with one of those multinationals, a nice public sector position, a pensioner with nice private/public pension and not sick or dependent on care. Then yes wipee do.

But it aint doing so well if you happen to be someone looking for rental accommodation, trying to buy a first home, a student or parents of students trying to find accommodation so they can go to college, someone sick sitting on a waiting list for months if not years, a carer, someone elderly in shyte nursing home, a sick child still waiting for a world class hospital, someone facing daily harassment from scrots that our police and very lax justice system do SFA about or a small struggling farmer that the greens and the environmentalists want to drive into oblivion.

And any little cold that hits the US and other major world economies can decimate ours as our dependence on FDI has drastically increased.

So no everything is not rosy in Ireland and the vast majority of our politicians are incompetent arrogant fools, more interested in private gain or getting sycophantic gimps in the media (mainstream and social) to laud them.

BTW progressive these days seems to mean fecking out one controlling religion to throw out the welcome matt for an even worse one.

As for Truss ...

she is an ambitious eejit, devoid of leadership skills, lacking in charisma, impervious to the advice of others, headstrong and she may very well destroy Britain by starting a crusade against her own working classes and an economic war with EU.

Anyone that welcomes morons like Rees Mogg into their cabinet is dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,519 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Fair play to her for appointing Heaton-Harris and Baker to the NIO. Should hasten the unification of Ireland considerably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,878 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Isn't the answer in your own post?

If the people of the US don't like their government, they vote in another one, but sometimes, e.g. Obama, they vote in their President for two terms.

If the people of the UK don't like their government, they vote in another one, but we have had 12 years of Conservative government, as the UK people have been happy with that party.

If the people of Ireland don't like their government, they vote in another one, and we have had several changes of government parties over the last few decades. In fact, we have had more changes of party in government than either of the other two. That makes the last sentence of your post very strange. We have had FF, FG, Labour, Greens, and various independents and independent groupings, all in power since 2010.