If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Journalism and Cycling 2: the difficult second album

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,317 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

TL;DR:

"The answers were unambiguous: self-centred men who are argumentative, stubborn, disagreeable and unempathetic are much more likely to own a high-status car such as an Audi, BMW or Mercedes."

How Galway City Council are not dying of embarrassment is beyond me. This doesn't appear to be fading away. If anything its growing. Wouldn't surprise me if it starts popping up at other locations soon

Note, the "pedestrian croissant" is due to the Gardai objecting to the group doing popup crossings so this is what they came up with as a way to flag that people need to cross without the group going on to the road to stop traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭buffalo

Wasn't Galway also the site of the first cycle bus? Seems like a total lack of leadership from anyone in authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,989 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I think being honest he has a point.

The reality is the gardai dont have the resources to police every offence or even 10% of offences.

Its too ubiquitous.

Also - for my money, blaming the gardai deflects the attention away - the gardai arent the ones parking there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,823 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Don't see Drew Harris putting in the requests for more mobile cameras, making the case for ANPR cameras, static cameras, portals for civilian upload, civilians to be involved in the processing of camera detection etc.

You don't even need to police 10% or 2% of offences, you just need to police enough to make people worried there's a small chance of being caught

Funny enough - you know the 30k zone on Iona Road, have been watching cars tearing up and down that road for years. Much to my surprise, there was a speed check there two weeks ago.

Having said that - the point stands to a degree. There are a hundred other Iona Road equivalents in Glasnevin / Drumcondra alone.

It would be interested to know what Garda resources are in place daily or weekly to manage motoring offences in Dublin, especially speed.

He isnt going to do all that stuff in a vacuum.

His boss is the minister for Justice. If she wants all those things to happen, then he will make them happen.

She will only care about it if the public demands it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Exactly. Gardai lost the roads in 2008/9 due to cut backs. It was a really bad move. It will take a long time and a massive Garda clamp down to change behaviour on roads now. I don't think they have the resources, technology or will to do this in an effective and continuous manner. Instead they ask people to be safe out there. That is not going to have much effect on people that have no regard for other road users safety.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Talking to a co worker from Germany today and she was picked up when she got home by a friend. Late at night, really tired she was not paying attention when the driver let out a roar of annoyance. No pedestrians, streets empty but they had run a red. She said she had become too Irish and just shrugged, forgetting that they could be off the road for 3 months as every light has a camera. In the end their friend got a fine as there was no pedestrians in the area (they check) but I marvelled at how effective passive enforcement was. No cop time wasted, they only review them now as they are so rare. If they weren't reviewing it was the 3 months off the road. Simples.

It's an excellent way to police junctions. No hanging about in Germany with road traffic matters.

Very low cost once installed and very little chance of a challenge. We are decades behind. They had these in Switzerland 20yrs ago.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

A result of Brexit paperwork and British not realising that things have changed but a Welsh charity spin in Spain has been handed a €8500 tarriff for importing bikes which the Spanish customs presume are for sale (because of the lack of paperwork)...

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ARX

Seems odd that the Gardai would object to popup pedestrian crossings - they've never had a problem with popup car parks.

The Gardai don't even bother to wander out of the station and ticket cars parked illegally within a few metres of the station, or even call into the houses that the cars are parked outside every day and tell them that they can't park there.

Like so many things in Ireland, it's not a shortage of resources, it's that people can't be arsed doing a proper job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I had a to drive to a client site this morning. Jaysus the road behaviour is shocking - I hadn't been in rush hour traffic in a car for so long. Three cars in from of me at Lucan broke a red to go over the bridge at the Liffey. Loads of cars using the bus lanes - without a care in the word. Driving at the speed limit neigh on impossible without being tail gated / undertaken in the bus lane. I really can't understand why we don't have cameras on bus lanes and traffic lights - we most be on of the only EU countries without this. The road behaviour is "ah sure I'll get away with it", so blatant misuse becomes rampant.

Second that on the German police - they take zero crap. I was in a suburb of Stuttgart over the summer. Went and bought a cool drink in a supermarket and had it on the bench outside. A car pulled up and parked illegally immediately outside the supermarket - maybe it was an Irish person lol. Anyway, within a few minutes the local Polizei squad car arrived, took photos of the car reg and drove off - presumably a nice fine in the post to the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭hesker

Presume they came a cropper only because they didn’t travel with the bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,436 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Or pop-up circuses within carparks along the strand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,809 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

They had all the bikes brought over in the back of a van on the ferry it looks like.

Which you could see being easily misinterpreted as someone trying to bring a load of high end bikes over to sell

I was there when they approached. They stated they had no issue with the initiative itself, only with the popup crossing stopping (controlling) traffic as only the Gardai are legislated to do such an activity which is fair enough. I wasn't aware of such a thing but accepted it once it was explained.

At that point the question was asked what could we do e.g. wave our hands to get traffics attention, hold up signs, have a conversation with passing cars to ask them to stop and let people cross and so on (you can see how silly it gets once you try to get a car to let you cross safely). They weren't willing to say what we could do, only what we couldn't, which again, was fair enough.

A few years ago I was cycling through rural Slovakia and a police car stopped ahead of me. They pulled me in (and on discovering that I couldn't speak Slovakian, switched to impeccable English). Turned out that it's legal to ride without a helmet in urban areas but not in rural areas. They told me there was a bike shop in a town a few km up the road and that I could ride there to buy a helmet. Off they went and I headed for the town. When I got there they were enjoying ice creams and directed me to the bike shop, where the owner said "Ah, the Irish guy" 😀

So I bought the helmet and put it on and rode off - the police had gone.

2 km up the road there they are again waiting for me in order to check that I was wearing a helmet. Big thumbs up and smiles all round and off they went.

There is a an example of police enforcing the law in a friendly and reasonable fashion. They could have made me walk to the next town, but they didn't. At the same time, it was quite clear that they weren't going to take any crap. Which is exactly as it should be.

Imagine the Gardai bothering with any of that!

On a side note, I found that the standard of driving everywhere I went in eastern Europe was much better than here. I wasn't expecting that. Maybe its something to do with police forces that actually enforce laws.

I passed my driving test in Britain over 28 years ago, and there were fixed red light camera's and fixed speed camera's then. A number of junctions had the boxes, they rotated the camera's, but very few would chance even an amber gamble at any of those junctions. Flooring it to make a green, could get you 6 points (3 for the red, 3 for the speeding) iirc.

Yeah, my remark was somewhat facetious. Anyway, I've solved your problem for you. From the Rules of the Road:

"If a person in charge of animals gives a signal to slow down or stop, you must obey it"

Just borrow a couple of sheep and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,124 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ah the wonderful joys of being outside the EU. Dont think this will be the last time something like this happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Small, busy roundabout near me, and every third time or so someone is looking at a phone going through it. Last time I saw them I shouted at the driver who pulled out in front of me while studying his phone. I saw already he was on the phone so was prepared, more to get him to put down his phone. If there was a crackdown on this (people only cared when the law was introduced), there'd be angry screed in the Indo or Irish Times about hard tax paying drivers being penalised for those who don't pay 'road tax' or similar rubbish.

Well I suppose the question is: if people are so pissed off with Gardai lack of enforcement, why dont ye do something about it - ye are taxpayers after all, for the most part.

Is it ye or we...?

No politician will support beefing up Garda numbers to tackle roads polocing. It would be political suicide to do so.

The parish pump system guarantees none of them will do anything to upset voters. Sure in these tough times, this would cost some people a lot of money in fines, higher insurance and even lost jobs if they got a ban.

As Leo said, these are people who get up early to go to work.. Leave em'off

It's a total failure that we don't have the basic static tech to curb red light running, and the speeding also associated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Mr. Cats

In my experience if there’s illegal parking near to a Garda station that isn’t being policed, it’s the employees of same Garda station that are doing the illegal parking.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

A lollipop person can as well AFAIK which led me to look up what the legislation for being one is. There are job advertisements but I can't find a description or legal qualification or training course. Is there such a thing or could I don a high vis pick up a stop sign and start stopping traffic.

My club were told by a garda (on the day) at an open race that it was illegal to use the "please STOP cycle race" signs. I notice the vets have similar signs, with the STOP covered, presumably because of similar run ins. Sums up roads policing, focus on the stuff that actually helps road safety rather than the real issues.