Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BoJo banished - Liz Truss down. Is Rishi next for the toaster? **threadbans in OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Let me just get my timings right, this was after Truss said she wasn't sure if Macron was a friend or foe, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,934 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

People should just know their place and accept their gaslighting.

Also I see the conversation orders have been distributed to the Tory volunteer bots. Same phrases getting regurgitated the last few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The timing is before, when it was down to the last 5.

I do agree she shouldn't have said that publicly, but this was said in the context of the Tory leadership hustings.

And anyway, is Macron not president of France and not the president of the EU. Is France not an independent county anymore? Can you not criticize the leader of an EU state without being seen to criticize the EU at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭newmember2

She already demonstrating her train crash diplomacy. To be even worse than Johnson...that'll be some doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Johnson resigned due to internal politics, not his performance in world diplomacy.

Sure someone else will be along to defend and talk shite about how great a job she is doing already.

Edit sorry already here I see, should have read the rest of the posts before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭Rawr

This. To be booted, the Tories will need to identify her as a liability to their chances of re-election, much like Johnson had become.

I’ve little doubt she’ll be a crap PM and it would be hilarious fun if she crashed out by Easter, but that’s all down to how the Tories themselves view her. They had a self-aggrandizing clown play-acting as PM for years and they were OK with it long past the point of naturally tossing him out. They can do it again for a couple more years.

Just like with BoJo, Truss’ time at No.10 is secure so long the Tory’s chances of election aren’t hurt by her, and so long there isn’t a viable alternative. If either (or likely both) of these change, she’s out.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I find that difficult to believe that the EU stated that - maybe you heard it wrong given you didnt catch his name correctly. Or was Connelly repeating something he was previously told by an individual?

For the record, Connelly retweeted messages of congratulations from both Ursula von der Leyen and Maroš Šefčovič, both of whom said how they were looking forwards to working with Truss ("in full respect of our agreements").

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,910 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He resigned because his grubby, morally bankrupt little party started slipping in the polls and his creatures turned on him.

People are allowed their opinions regardless of what thin-skinned wailing Tories prefer.

She's been abysmal in any role she's had. That's more than fair reason for me.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭penny piper

Regarding Northern Ireland I think you're totally wrong that she has no interest in it......

She will be very interested in using it as a pawn like Johnson did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭blackbox

Should have started a new thread rather than change the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,517 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If she lasts until March she will be doing well.

There will be a GE and Ben Wallace will be the new party leader.

God knows how a GE result would pan out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,071 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

None of that is true. She was awful during the campaign. She couldn't win over the majority of her own party MP's. What votes did Sunak lend her? Sunak was never in a strong enough position to lend votes to anyone.

Her party campaign was filled with turns and bad speeches. You are right in that she targeted the Brexit loyalists. She may well have caught Sunak off guard, but that isn't saying much. Sunak is terrible. No real plan comes across as completely out of touch. Only a few months ago people were stating that Sunak had lost any chance of a run at PM due to the tax issues with his wife. And yet due to the dearth of alternatives, he was the frontrunner.

And she only won 57% of the party. She is a lame duck before she even starts. Even from her acceptance speech, with that weird bit exclaiming how amazing Johnson was, it is clear that she hasn't got her own platform, is completely in the shadow of Johnson and will be nothing more than a tool for those on the right that gave her power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,878 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The biggest problem for Liz Truss and by extension the Tory party is the way that they select and remove leaders.

The leader is elected by the members and may not have the full support of the parliamentary party. However, a minority of the parliamentary party may move a motion of confidence.

That leaves any leader in the situation vulnerable at all times.

That shows nothing but sneakiness and cynicism in my view. Which won’t go down well outside of the head-to-head contest

The biggest problem for the Tort party is that they have completely lost the plot and everything they do is based not on what is good for the country, or even the party, but rather Brexit. They have been effectively taken over, from within, by UKIP.

Farage may not have ever been elected as an MP, but he has been running the country for the last 8 years or so.

By purging anyone that even hints at a different view of Brexit, they have ended up with a lack of talent, a lack of leaders, a lack of ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

The new PM twitters as @ TrussLiz because @ LizTruss was taken in 2009.

Moderately amusing as various people inc Green MP Caroline Lucas & the Swedish PM send congratulations to Liz Trussell. Who in fairness to her appears to be having the twitter time of her life replying to them all and promising to visit the Swedish PM.

British MP and a prime minister congratulate the wrong Liz Truss on Twitter | Liz Truss | The Guardian

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Including Cameron this is the 4th Tory leader in 6/7 years so they aren't all that far away.

And there'll be a 5th in at most 18 months as well - Either Truss gets kicked out before the next GE because they recognise they can't win with her or she gets to have a GE and loses and then gets ousted.

Either way she's gone inside 18 months at the absolute outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

That's a very good point. I wonder is that a bug or a feature...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

What I said about GB News was that it will never be profitable and it will last as long as its backers are willing to pour money into it.

That's still the case - It's not profitable and never will be and survives only by the virtue of the deep pockets of its backers

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,910 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

A feature. The parties brought in this measure to boost membership (and coffers).

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I wonder did they realise they had created this logical inconsistency whereby one entity within the party can remove the leader but the other entity has the final say in their successor. On the one hand it could be seen as a plus - The Labour Party MPs wouldn't have been saddled with Jeremy Corbyn for all those years. On the other hand though you can end up in a scenario like this one where someone becomes leader with minority support from within the ranks of MPs who they will lead.

I wonder did Fine Gael look at the way that the Tory leaders are selected because their method is very similar except that they chose to weight their voting so that the TDs and Senators votes got more weighting than the councilors votes, who in turn, got more weighting than the rank and file members. If FG had used the Tory method Simon Coveney would have become leader and Taoiseach in 2017 instead of Leo Varadkar.

I think it was just a change intended to raise funds. I doubt the consequences were considered much if at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,429 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I would factor in the role of the right wing press as well. They have clearly become even more corrupt in recent years and clearly see their role as keeping the Tories in power and shaping government policy. It's as if the Tory Party and their press enablers are part of the same organisation.

The way they big up the Conservatives but slate Starmer and Sturgeon is almost authoritarian state stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,878 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

And if the rank and file MPs think like their ordinary constituency workers, then there isn't a problem.

However, those involved in constituency work have been radicalised by Brexit and would never vote for a man of colour. The MPs look outside of the organisation to the electorate. Labour went into the doldrums post-Blair because it had similar problems of jumping to the insular organisation's tune rather than the electorate.

I would guess that Truss will face her first 1922 committee issue within a year, no matter how she does.

Big move there with £90bn worth of energy bill capping. She knows she has to splash the cash to have any chance of winning the election. To be picked up by the taxpayer rather than through future bill adjustments

wonder how the Conservative party membership feel about her immediate uturn. I find it amusing to think about how much they must be raging. Everything she told them will not be done.

Is future bill adjustment not just giving people a loan though which I wouldn't be a fan of.

The Labour plan was to tax energy companies more but of course we can't expect them to take any hit in this crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,249 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

People are allowed their opinions regardless of what thin-skinned wailing Tories prefer.

But she can't express her opinions on Macron or the EU?

The problem here it seems that some people - both on this thread and in the EU - can't get past the idea that the UK left the Club and have ever since been praying that the country will implode. Despite all the internal stuff under Boris, they haven't called the IMF or had to go crawling back.

This topic is the perfect storm of legacy "anti-Brit" sentiment coupled with sycophantic "pro-EU" attitudes.

I haven't really followed the campaign but I wish her well. Her party and electorate will decide on her success or failure. Our only interest should be in how she tackles the relationships with ourselves and NI (which predate and are far more important to us than any pissing contest with the EU).

Even if that opinion is demonstrably wrong and coming for a Foreign Secretary her opinion should be based on simply bias?

France is clearly an ally of the UK. They might not agree on everything, but to even create the idea that somehow Macron needs to prove himself, and France, to the UK is mind boggling coming from a senior politician.

It was clearly playing to the gallery, she got her applause and probably won a few votes. And that is all she is worried about. And that should worry you. She isn't interested in outside relationships, but in working for the betterment of ROI/UK and ROI/NI relationships. The only thing that seems to matter to her is the Tory party members.

Don't you see the real risk now that she will do something that impacts NI and ROI not because it is the right thing to do, or the best thing, but rather it will gain her popularity or generate headlines?

As we have seen with Johnson, even a few years can great a lot of damage.

On your point about posters not being able to accept the fact that UK have left, is totally false. The only people still whinging about the UK are the UK themselves. Every time there is the slightest compilation/delay or hassle they blame the EU for being petty. That the EU is out to get them. Move on, accept the good (haven't actually been able to show anything of that yet) with the bad (of which there is plenty and increasing daily). It is the UK that cannot seem to accept the consequences of their own decision