Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

New defensively confident and solid Arsenal strangely resembles old defensively flakey Arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Because all you do is try and poke holes in EVERYTHING United related, it's absolutely hilarious to read tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Interesting to see if Arsenal bounce back or go on the kind of losing run that was their undoing last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I just give an honest opinion

They had two super results this season using the counter attack, that pretty factually

I was hoping for a draw but if one team where to win I wanted it to be United today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BillyHasMates

I think you are reading too much into the post and seeing something that isn't there. Don't be so prickly your team won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

When it comes to that poster, everything he says is very clear, back handed doesn't come close. I'm far from prickly BTW, I couldn't be more pleased as it happens.👌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,868 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

United were dominated by Arsenal, but win 3-1. Football is about key moments, and putting ball in net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭BillyHasMates

I think they are better equipped this year, the problem they have is that Spurs and United look stronger than last year also. It is going to be a serious fight for top 4 this year. I don't think 1 or 2 teams will run away like the last few years. Hard to know what to make of Chelsea atm with all of the comings and goings. Liverpool stuttering also with injuries, some key players off form and trying tactical changes that are not clicking for us at all. City still comfortable favourites. Maybe they don't look as dominant or in control in general play as they are used to but they have Haaland who looks like he could break all scoring records for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

This thread 🍋🍋🍋💉💉💉

It's a huge question, it's exactly what a lot of people expected from Arsenal,

First bkg test and the blew it, now it's about how they respond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

fair play to Ten Hag , he has taken over a broken squad with major expectation, had a disasterous start, and turned it round - thought he looked broken after Brentford, i was wrong, we are seeing the man that made Ajax great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This will be the making of united - finally having someone in charge who has the balls to put Ronaldo on the bench.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Roy Keane is spot on all that matters is the points,

Great result for United & keeps the momentum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

They will.

Utd when the onus is on them will be more interesting. ETH has them organised enough for effective counter attacking football now, but what they do against teams that are more cautious wil be interesting.

Good game. Very good win for Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,844 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Has done really well so far! Feels like just dropping Maguire and Ronaldo has been huge, everything looks to be working much better as a cohesive unit now. It's the kind of strong leadership we'd have expected from him, and it looks like he's doing the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

When it comes to cautious teams we have a player that we haven't had in years that can play a pass through the lines in Eriksen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,233 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The Sky Led English Maguire hype machine lets him away with murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

You have to love Keane at times, you could see he was getting sick of listening to Mersons sH**e!! 🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dunno. I felt they were always highlighting his shortfalls. WIth Ronaldo though, it was pure attitude and that will kill a team quicker than an out of form player. That said, I'm not a United fan and dont know Maguire as well as I do Ronaldo.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,770 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kinda agree with Neville at end when he thinks that United will finish outside top 4. United had dig deep against Pool and Arsenal and I think that lack of presence in CM will cost us in end down road for top 4.

City, Pool are certs for top 4, Spurs should once no major injuries and its fight for that last spot. I would give Arsenal favs at moment from United and Chelsea.

EVENFLOW

I don't see Liverpool currently being a cert. They have been awful from day one of the season, 1 good game in 6

The Premier league doesn't owe anyone anything, if they don't sort themselves out in a hurry they ll be in trouble previous years don't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,770 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I agree you have to earn it, although think ye will be ok.

I always had gut feeling that no team would run away with it easy as last 4 or 5 years have.

I would not press panic button at Anfield yet although like United I'm still surprised ye did not get another quality CM.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Agree, and might shut the Mayor of Manchester up , used to like listening to Neville , but he's become unbearable recently,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Ten Hag has to take a lot of credit. He made a huge call regarding Ronaldo and Maguire vs Liverpool and it paid off. He seems like a strong character. United finally have an actual boss who will not cow to the superstars.

No idea how he rates Chelsea getting in to the top 4, not having a striker will haunt them i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,579 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

It's going to be a strange season. With the shortened preseason it's affecting all teams.

No team looks great and there seems to plenty of injuries going around and I bet both are linked to the shorter preseason.

Now with the WC in the middle of the season have clubs adjusted how they want their teams to peak/hit their stride? Normally you say the team flying at Christmas (not points in the board but rather how they look on the field) is the one looking most likely but will they now adjust to peak in late October and then again in March?

Like I said the other day I don't really get as much enjoyment out of games anymore with all the time wasting and feigning head injuries. Add that to the inconsistency with VAR and some days I'd rather just go cut the grass or walk the dogs or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Not been online much the weekend. Only got to watch one match and tbf Everton actually didn't play up to the pre match expectations and time waste. They actually tried to play football and take the game to Liverpool a lot more than I thought. Fair play to them. Deserved a point overall. The only time wasting was on Pickford's goalkicks going out for throw-ins every time, which had to be a pre-decided tactic as they can't have been that bad by accident!

If I was an Arsenal supporter I'd be more worried how the team dropped of a cliff mentally after the second goal. They were brilliant in spells before that but just turned to dust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Wolves are about to sign Deigo Costa on a free he flys in on Tuesday for a medical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

We literally don't know if he'll be great yet. We don't know what we're seeing.

The current turnaround has been phenomenal, but he's proved nothing about his greatness or whether he can get Utd to where they want to be. He could be that guy ... but getting results Ole got in his early days, playing the same style of football Ole played, still proves very little in the grand scheme of things.

But it's been a feel good run of results that Utd desperately needed.