General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,029 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

We shall see , but showed great mental strenght and ability last night , he can always switch witb Verane against bigger players , thats how any partnership works . Canavarro was one of my favourite defenders, he was 5 9 - Kevin Moran another superb defender under 6 foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Only time will tell one away or another,

Last night he didn't have much of a direct threat on him but he done all he had to do very well & thats all you can ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Well Liverpool fans should be blaming Darwin for that because of his petulance it was definitely a different game last night

Ye of course its on himself ,or even Jota would have given a different threat of running in behind,

United played wonderfully well last night but that issue for them is they can't exactly set up like that in there next two games,

Its ok against Liverpool City ,Chelsea but in there next two they will be expected to dominate the ball and play a higher line & it becomes completely different to last night in a tactically sense,

Lets not forget Ole had some wonderful results against City playing the same way as last knight the issues for United is when they have to dominate the ball & play a higher line,

But the manger & fans will expect the same application they got last night ,

You can only praise United , it was very like the fixture 7 or 8 years ago but in reverse when United where the better team & Liverpool had to play blood & thunder to get a result, The hard part for Liverpool was always then doing that against other sides,

Very interesting few weeks , what do you think happens with Ronaldo now

Liverpool themselves need to get the finger out and start winning games,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,676 ✭✭✭doc_17

Why every player? Just the man who won’t return the ball…

Anyway….Fernandes was back to something like his best last night. Should end the debate about Ronaldo resigning once and for all.

He put a proper shift in but was he really back to his best ?

He made a run & tackle to set up Elanga chance but bar that he didn't create much , he wasn't involved in either goal

He was part of a midfield who manged 30% possession against Milner,Hendo & Elliot, Nearly scored a dreadful OG & nearly got himself sent off ,

Yes he played very well but more for his work rate than the creativity yous associate him with at his best,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Dave0301

But that is exactly what Utd needed from him. His work rate on and off the ball was excellent last night. Arguably he should have had an assist as well with the Elanga chance.

His attitude and work ethic was the best it has been in a long time, although he does have some habits I would like to see him cut out.

I do agree he worked very hard but he was not near his best on the ball ,

Your next two games will be very interesting because it's rolls reversed you become "Liverpool " the team on the ball try to create & your opponents will sit in worked hard and try to counter, Your defence will have to play 15 yards higher & that tactical set up changes,

The games where you are expected to control the ball have been the issue,

The starting point has to be to keep up the effort of last night ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,110 ✭✭✭jacool

Last night's game was, in reality, a representation of the two bald guys fighting over a comb.

An under-strength Liverpool (Konate, Thiago, Nunez) still managed 70% possession, more shots and more shots on target than Man Utd. and yet looked very vulnerable on the counter attack. I don’t share Gary Neville’s unbridled enthusiasm – to me this is a sticking plaster over a bigger wound, but a much needed win, nonetheless. As someone else here said, Man Utd cannot employ this tactic against teams that will just sit in against them. Who did impress me last night was Malacia. He had Salah in his pocket except for the header and he seemed to enjoy his night. For me, he was way more impressive than Martinez.

I can’t see either team being involved in a title fight this season. Man City still look like the benchmark. I can see Arsenal and Man Utd. struggle when the group stages of the Europa League start next month – those Thursday fixtures just don’t help a team. Interestingly, they actually meet on the Sunday before the European fixtures start, so that’ll be a good measure of where they are relative to each other. With two home games before that trip to Old Trafford, I expect Arsenal to be on 15 points, and still top, obviously.

Outside of the usual suspects, Brighton are actually the team that has impressed me most. With their next quartet of league games against Leeds, Fulham, Leicester and Bournemouth, they could be in the Champions League places in October.

Pretty much nail on the head,

I thought the lads on sky got caught up in the atmosphere and didn't look at the game in context,

United played the exact same way as last night in a lot of big games under Ole and had similar results v City, but now have shown the can out in a proper shift, & that's the starting point

There issues is when they have to step 15 /20 yards forward and try control a game & that issue has not bee resolved,

Liverpool spine is suffering with injury, CB Matip/Kone CM Thaigo/Keita CF Nunez /Jota even one in each position would make a huge difference,

Another thing that sky constantly misrepresent is when they do the sprints and Km covered

United covered less ground than Brentford last week and they made massive deal out of it but that's normally the case when you dominate possession you tend to cover less ground,

For example last night Liverpool covered less ground than United but dominated possession ,

Rule of thumb is normally the team without the ball has to run and sprint more hence why most player prefer to be in possession of the ball instead of chasing it ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,920 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

the biggest question for the PL title race is whether Arsenal can keep all their key players fit and put any pressure on City tbh.

nobody else looks ready to even try until Christmas.

When they record touches, is it actually the number of times the player touches the ball or times he’s had possession? I thought it was the former but 2 lads last night tried to tell me otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,126 ✭✭✭Hitchens

also, Anthony Gordon for £50m+£10m is outrageous.

good Christ Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,754 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I dont get the Gordon hype at all. He seems grand but far from world class/high potential player. He benefited from Everton's injuries to get in their side but he hasnt done that much outstanding to even hint he is worth half that.

He'll probably just replace Hudson-Odoi as unseen highly rated English youngster #27.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

He will be able to perfect his diving with Sterling if he goes there, that is all I have seen of him

Chelsea still linked with Fofana, Gordan, de Jong and Aubameyang. Some spending this window…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,328 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I'm sceptical about what "linked with" means these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,033 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Sure they will. Title of "biggest spenders 2022"

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

This will be the year that City should win the CL, the league is a non event based on the past few years. If Liverpool are not involved, it is hard to see Arsenal or Spurs reaching 90pts+. This should allow City to manage game time for KDB and Haaland from the QF stage.

City will be managing Haaland from this weekend. They are due to play 3 PL games in 8 days and then the CL is back 3 days after that.

Have Spurs shown enough to make us think they can challenge? Midfield is a problem. Arsenal always struggle against the big teams so hard to judge them yet. Chelsea look weird and inconsistent. Reece James is an attacking full back or wing back, not a CB. Yeah juries have ruined Liverpool’s start.

Based on the commentary of the last few days, maybe Man U will be the team to step it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,311 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,668 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Hey, let's all jump to conclusions after 3 games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,245 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

It's a possession rather than an individual 'touch'. So it bugs me sometimes seeing the 'touches' charts and people taking the mick. Often the touches could've included a take-on and a cross etc. It creates unneccessary pub chatter at times

This comes from Opta definitions, so hypothetically, if Premier League moved to using StatsBomb instead of Opta, the 'touches' charts might be completely different since their definitions might be different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Haaland has the whole month of the World Cup off so I can see him playing in every prem game till then . Alvarez will prob start the league cup games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,328 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

In 3 games Liverpool have dropped 1/3 of the total points dropped by the champions last year.That's not jumping to anything that is a genuinely tough one to pull back.

United look average and have done for ages.

And no one would dare jump to conclusions about Spurs or Arsenal given their recent histories.

They reaction from Monday baffles me,

What we saw was straight forward

United scored first, which allowed them sit 10 men behind the ball, They got another on the break , conceded and hung on again,

They had extra motivation after what's gone on recently and a reaction needed in a packed Old Trafford, its nothing new they have done it to City recently enough under Ole,

Liverpool started slack went one down, played forwards against defence for the remainder of the game and got done on the break ,

Its happened when they have had a full strength squad & against worse teams than United,

Now this weekend United have the roll reversed , they have to play 15/20 yards higher up the pitch, Get players running beyond the ball , try keep possession & watch out for the counter,

Liverpool have the same as Monday but if they simply score first the whole game is different,

Pundits are paid to big things up but we didn't learn anything that new on Monday from either side,