Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Last of the Summer Wine

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Best if running D. Give it welly.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,414 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Thu 18 Aug

Rest

Fri 19 Aug

43 mins easy with 6x30s strides (10m pace)

Sat 20 Aug

21.4k inc Frank Duffy 10 mile (report to follow)

Sun 21 Aug

40 mins recovery around Marino.

• This week: 71k (44m) - 6 hrs 26 mins
    • This month: 233 (145)
    • This year: 2,369 (1,473)

Frank Duffy 10 mile 2022

I’ve mentioned many times that this is one of my favourite races, the one I’ve never missed. This year I had my best result for the event, which is satisfying because the course and conditions combined to make it one of the more difficult outings to date. Let’s be kind to ourselves when there is still time.

I was delighted to have the company of @Laineyfrecks and @skyblue46 for a brief warmup, which consisted of a jog up to the Castleknock gate, a few arm waves and a few strides. For a 10 miler, I don’t think you need much more than that. Earlier, I’d almost left my supershoes in the bag drop, which S noticed before I did, so it was a win already having the company of these two stalwarts. Lined up and we were off quite punctually, only a minute or two behind schedule. 

The preamble had been unremarkable – up at 6:30, porridge breakfast, faffing about while wondering what was missing from the gear laid out the night before (nothing). On the bike to the PP – normally I’d drive, but the mrs had the car in Donegal. The bike was a great option. Although I was a little behind schedule on the way up I resisted the temptation to boot it, turning the legs over on the pedals for a gentle warmup on the 25 min journey from D3 up to the Furze Road, where there was an excellent bike park available. Happy days. This will be my transport method for all PP races in the future, I reckon.

Anyway.

I’d worried would the legs be tired after the Weds session and a week where, for the first time ever really, almost no concession had been made to the weekend non-goal race. Heading up Chesterfield and into Ordnance Survey and the Glen, the legs and lungs felt fantastic, and it was nice to be running alongside E and S, comfortable and strong, noting some people going by that I was sure I’d be seeing later. The climbs, such as they are, were feeling fine at this stage. Out of the Glen, through the bends, up to the monument, all mitigated by longer downhills in between, where I tried to conserve as much energy as possible and coast down, letting gravity help.. The race would start to get serious on the drag up Chesterfield, which was a bit messy on the narrow path (an annual feature of the Frank Duffy) where it was actually harder to feel the pace (surprisingly slow split here, though still feeling OK), as the first half of the race came to a conclusion, just before the turn onto the Acres.

Splits 1-5 (approx.): 7:05 7:06 7:02 6:59 7:25 

I suppose this is where the race really started for most of us. Up to now, I’d been tracking 71-min pace, more or less successfully until the drag. S had been jogging comfortably along with us, giving E some shelter from the growing wind (never offered me a spot). 😜 He dropped off now and wished us well, just as E had also started to drop off a little. My plan had always been to push on for the second half, but having turned onto the Acres, into what felt like a gale, the alarm bells started sounding. I’d expected to be passed here by the 70 min pace group, having started a bit in front of them, and that happened exactly on schedule. As the first balloon passed, I wondered should I dig in here and latch on, maybe get some shelter, even though it was a pretty small group. 

I should have I suppose, but I made a decision quickly that it would be unsustainable as I was starting to struggle. This may be my weakest point, summoning the mental toughness to embrace to real pain. So I found myself labouring around the Acres into the headwind, giving way to a sidewind, registering a shout of HTFU-type encouragement from afar from M, who had timed his long run from the Northside to fall in for some abuse/support. Making the turn at St. Mary’s, it was nice to get a few words of encouragement from M and Mrs Mc and DD. Tailwind, although the problem now was the sparsity of the surroundings with the field (at least where I was) suddenly thinning out quite dramatically with three miles to go. This made it harder to reel people in. I took one victim at the turn onto Chesterfield but the next placed runner was more difficult, stubbornly remaining in front all the way up to the turn at Castleknock. I lost a place or two on this stretch, and another few to some corner cutters at the entry to the narrow path up to the Castleknock gate. This was annoying, and I didn’t get them all back. It was a relief to turn at the gates with the tailwind and the downward grade. I consolidated for a moment or two then did my best to knuckle down for the last mile and a half. The legs had been heavy since mile 7, feeling the work done to date this week, but I was also trying to convince myself of the strength, physical and/or mental, that such work delivers. There was also the usual swimming vortex of discomfort, delirium and fatigue, where you just want it to be over. But knowing the park helps, and Ordnance Survey and Furze turn came as expected. I wasn’t sure what had happed to E, and there was always the possibility I’d been stalked the whole time, so I did my best to produce a half-decent if wind-assisted ‘sprint’ down the Furze Road. A shout out from the announcer helped over the last 30 metres and thank jaysus there was the line.

I was slightly drained from the fast finish and took a moment at the barriers – not as long a moment as I sometimes have to take, because this one was less a lung/heart deficit that a leg deficit. But it didn’t take long to realise that the result had been decent, if not earth shattering. A reasonable return for the lead in which had been quite uncompromising.

Splits 6-10 (approx.): 7:08 7:21 7:22 7:21 7:02

Chip time 71:57 – the best result I’ve had at this race (whether in the Park or Swords), if not at the distance. In fact I had a better result in Cobh earlier this year on a far hillier course, so it’s a measure of the combination of conditions and the miles in the legs. But I think the decision (which was not mine) to take this race in the stride of the training, rather than taper for it and set it apart, was a good one. The main thing and all that. Good to meet @Unthought Known and @Mr Jinx in the finish area. Thanks also to @scotindublin for encouragement but only giving his water away to my rival. 😁

The journey continues.

• Previous PB: 70:44 (Dungarvan 2022)
    • Target: 70:xx
    • Result: 71:57
    • 395th place (of 2559)
    • 5th M60 (of 40). 4th in Dublin championship. 
    • VDOT: 47.3, AG: 75.6%
    • Verdict: Gruel, anyone?
    Post edited by Murph_D on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Great report D & great result for you. Thanks again for the company for some of the race😉😂

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Well done D. Great report. I enjoyed reading it and also E and S’s reports too. Builds a great picture of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Very well done young man, a fantastic effort as that breeze was blowing a gale.

Its better you're getting.

The verdict? A fantastic run, untapered, in the middle of a monster block ... Bodes well....

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭MisterJinx

Well done D, course was challenging and that wind did blow a gust alright so a great time and race by yourself. Considering you didn't taper and kept the mileage up it's all the more impressive

• Registered Users Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭ariana`

I've been blown away by your training lately D, the relentlessness (and yet simplicity) of those steady runs. FD just proved that the formula is working for you. It's really inspirational and a joy to see you going from strength to strength.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Ahhh the aul Frank Duffy. My first ever 10 mile race, away back in 2013......Liam "fit as a butcher's dog" Moggan was on the PA that day, and I'm trying to remember if he said FD ran 50 miles on his 50th birthday, or 60 miles on his 60th...or both!

Fair play coming up with a performance like that on a tricky (not to mention windy!) course in the middle of marathon training. Also great to see it from the different angles provided by E and S.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Was thinking the same. Serious performance with zero taper. You're flying.

Week of 22 Aug

More of the same this week, bringing forward the LR to Saturday so I’ll have some company - that meant being careful about the timing of the big midweek session (no later than Weds). Obvious stuff but sometimes this can get lost without a bit of forward planning (I’d been reminded myself both by the coach and M, the Saturday co-runner).

Mon 22 Aug

66 mins very easy out to St. Anne’s. The usual muggy conditions but I enjoyed this recovery paced jog on a beautiful evening. There’s a spot in St. Anne’s park where you emerge from the trees to see Dollymount and the bay and the mountains stretched out before you, and late on a sunny evening it always looks spectacular, reminding you that Dublin is a great place to live. 

Tue 23 Aug

25 mins run commute - a rare jog home from the office via a lap of the TCD track while the lines are still painted on.

Wed 24 Aug

5 sets of 3k@MP+ (7:30)/1k float (8:10)

I was both looking forward to this (the novelty factor, a session I’m not used to) and slightly apprehensive (lots of volume a few days post-race). DD likes to give me metric distances with imperial paces so actually when I converted the 7:30 the night before when setting up the watch it didn’t seem to bad - a bit faster than MP, and as one of the lads pointed out after, with the Hanson schedules of the last few years you'd be used to doing long MP tempos by this stage of the plan. However this was faster, more varied, and longer. 

2 miles to warm up, then into the meat of it, with a tailwind out to Sutton. The 7:30 (4:40/k) bits felt fine at this stage, and the challenge, as D had warned, was to try to keep the floats close to the prescribed effort, as the temptation when used to traditional recovery periods is to step right off. I found myself struggling a little to get the ‘gear change’ right but was close enough to the numbers for most of this, save some of the return journey into a very fresh breeze indeed, so overall maybe a second and a half down on average from the targets, although I did enjoy a downwind finish to even things out. Delighted to have this one in the bag and feeling good (if tired) afterwards.  

• This week: 42k (26m)
    • This month: 275(171)
    • This year: 2,411 (1,499)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Really nice session D well done😊

Thu 25 Aug

28 mins recovery

Hardly worth getting out for such a short run but wanted to shake the legs out after yesterday’s session.

Fri 26 Aug

35 mins easy with 5 x 20s strides

Another short one but didn’t want to skimp on the strides, although I miscounted and did one less than intended.

Sat 27 Aug

16 miles at 8:10

Brought this forward a day as M and D were available for some company, which is always a pleasure. The steady (fast easy) pace felt good from the start, which is always a nice sign. Started in St. Annes, looping around to Watermill and down the Howth Road, then back along the coast to Dollymount where we picked up D and headed out to Sutton, passing lots of clubmates and other familiar faces along the way. Lovely morning, and enjoyable running. The lads were continuing on for a few more miles so I jumped out at just over 16, almost exactly where we’d started, thanks to M’s always reliable course measurement. Just enough time to change the shirt before parkrun volunteer duty (#100, but I won’t be ordering the tee shirt 😉). Was on scanning duty which was good fun - it’s been a good while since I did this role and it’s always great to see the happy post-run faces. Some nice chats and the obligatory coffees.   

Sun 28 Aug

68 mins easy out the South Bay to Blackrock, taking the Dart home. Waved at an old Cru clubmate at exactly the same spot where our paths had crossed previously. Weird! Another decent week in the bag, and another big one coming up. 

Six weeks to go.  

• This week: 91k (57m) - 8 hrs 12 mins
    • This month: 324(202)
    • This year: 2,460 (1,529)

Week of 29 Aug

Plenty of work in this week’s key sessions. Just trying to keep the wheels on. Some good stuff going on in the logs that are going the distance after a bit of a drop-off in recent months. This is definitely not a typical marathon season, I think, but it still is a marathon season, which is the main thing.

Mon 29 Aug

53 mins recovery on the seafront.

Tue 30 Aug

50 mins easy with 6 sets strides.

Wed 31 Aug

3x5k (1k) 

Another big session by my standards. All the remaining sessions are pace based.This one was specified at 7:20/mile (4:33/k), with 1km recovery between sets. I don’t think I’ve ever done anything near that volume at that kind of pace (faster than Hanson ‘strength’ sessions, which were only six miles volume). But then again my plan has just the one big session and the one long run, so plenty of time to focus on these. Dropped the lad to training at St. Anne’s and and headed out towards Sutton. It would be a bit of rush to get it all in before his training ended so I shortened the warmup to a mile and got down to it. Like last week I’d had some trepidation beforehand but I quite enjoyed the first 5k set, with a bit of helping tailwind. The recovery fell nicely so I could relax on the narrow footpath past Sutton Cross, then settled into the second set at Offington back to Bayside. This one was a bit more challenging once into the blustery breeze, but managed OK. Started the third set on the Causeway out to Dollymount, with quite a strong breeze to contend with on the way back to the Wooden Bridge, where I turned to finish out the last 800 or so with a nice tailwind. Hit the number quite well in the end so delighted with that.

August total: 364km (226 mi)  

Thu 1 Sep

40 mins recovery to to the Easter Island statue and back.

Fri 2 Sep

64 mins easy with 10 x 20s strides (although from Strava it looks like I missed a set again. These strides are an important part of the programme - really the only ‘speed’ turnover work in the schedule, so I’ve been reminded to take them seriously.  

Sat 3 Sep

64 mins easy.

Around the local Donegal loop. There’s a point in every marathon training block when you suddenly become aware of the strength, and sometimes that point comes on the easy runs, which are often a chore. Felt great on this one, so much so I thought I probably should have done the long run today, which had been an option.   

Sun 4 Sep

18 miles: 6 easy, 6 @ 8:00, 6 @ 7:25

Another interesting long run - the coach has been mixing these up nicely with plenty of variety and plenty of pace to keep me on my toes - in some ways these LRs incorporate the ‘missing’ midweek session, which makes them a real challenge. I knew this one would be tricky in Donegal and tried to plot out a suitable yet interesting course, down through Dunkineely towards Donegal Town avoiding the main road as much as possible. This meant a nice easy start, but the 'steady' middle six started right on cue at the bottom of a hill, and plenty of drags followed on the Doorin Line through Mountcharles, mostly into the wind as well (not too strong but noticeable enough). I briefly considered an about-turn back the way I came, but ended up sticking to the plan, which gave me a fast start to the final ‘fast’ third but again some dodgy surfaces, a few sharp hills and more wind meant I was a good way short of the 7:25 pace by the end, but a good honest effort I think. Happy with it at the end of a decent week.  

Five weeks to go.  

• This week: 98k (61m) - 8 hrs 53 mins
    • This month: 58 (36)
    • This year: 2,558 (1,590)

Big week there with some serious quality. Onwards.

Week of 5 Sep

Tiredness and fatigue creeping in this week for sure. There was another big session on the Weds which felt like a bit of a setback at the time, but in retrospect wasn't too bad. The coach adjusted the schedule though, to allow a bit more recovery.

Mon 5 Sep

56 mins easy with 10 x 20 secs strides. Good to see DD out in the middle of his own session, then taking the time to quiz me on the Sunday LR afterwards.

Tue 6 Sep

Have rejoined the gym at work. 45 mins easy on the treadmill. Apparently this included the 30,000th km since I took up running in 2012.

Wed 7 Sep

4x 4k/1k float 

There was quite a gale blowing on the coast as I warmed up. Session was to be 4 x 4k at 4:40/k (7:30/m), with a 1km float recovery at 5:05 (8:10) between sets. With the wind in my face from the start, I hated every minute of this - was soon struggling to hit the pace, even when the wind turned into a crosswind and then helping in some places on the S-shaped out and back route.

Averaged 4:42, 4:45, 4:46, 4:46 (5:12 for the floats). If felt like a bit of a fail and the effort levels felt too high. Not all down to the wind - the legs felt heavy from the start. A big session - 24.4k, 2 hours 2 mins total - but the HR was very high. Overreaching, according to Garmin.

Thu 8 Sep

47 mins recovery up to the daughter’s house to put out the bins!

Fri 9 Sep

43 mins easy with 10 x 20 secs strides, mostly on on the Grand Canal.

Sat 10 Sep

10.3 kms including Progression parkrun @ MP+

For those who don’t know, this is the parkrun at Mountjoy Prison and is of course not generally open to the public, although they accept a few guests every week. There’s a long waiting list, and my original slot was cancelled during the lockdown, sending me back to the end of the list. Delighted to finally get the opportunity today with M as my +1. I was a bit tired after being wined and dined at a Garth Brooks freebie the night before (not my kind of music, and the sound was shyte at the corporate box level, but an enjoyable spectacle nonetheless). We were escorted in and asked to surrender watches, phones and any other metal objects. Luckily I’d brought an old-school printed barcode. Joined then by about 20 locals, and after a few explanatory words from the RD we were off for 7.5 laps of the perimeter, which wasn’t a bad little loop for running actually, despite plenty of sharp rights (and one left) per lap, and a bit of a drag on one side. Some decent enough runners among the locals and visitors, and I enjoyed a slightly faster than MP run that was good enough for 8th finisher in the small field. The lead runner miscounted and did an extra lap (I knew something was up when I was 'lapped' during my own final lap). One of the regulars happily accepted the gift, with M taking the #2 token. Very friendly cuppa and cakes served afterwards, and a mini-tour of the facilities. Different.   

Sun 11 Sep

Long run 3 hours easy (31.6k / 19.6m)

Headed upriver along the Dodder, a route I used to run fairly regularly. It’s been a good while, and I was delighted to see the progress on the new Dodder greenway out around Firhouse and Templeogue. Being able to run riverside with no traffic in sight or earshot is such a buzz, and there are parts of this route where you’d think you were nowhere near the city. The strict instructions were to run no longer than three hours and no more than 20 miles. It felt great toodling along at a nice easy pace enjoying the surroundings, not thinking about pace or distance with just HR showing on the watch, with the odd glance at time of day so I would know when to head back homewards. I turned at the Brothers Pearse training ground, on the edges of the string of parks that follow the Dodder through Tallaght and beyond. I found myself thinking a lot on today’s run of the late TFBubendorfer, who I did not know personally and never really met in real life. Such a tragedy. I don’t know the fine details of what happened, but I was extra vigilant crossing the roads when back among the traffic. And there's something comforting about running in a river valley, looking down at the water, knowing it's been flowing and carving its way through the landscape for millions of years, and we are only really here for a tiny fraction of a tinier nanofraction of time. Rest in peace, Thomas.

Four weeks to go.  

• This week: 98k (61m) - 9 hrs 5 mins
    • This month: 157(97)
    • This year: 2,657 (1,651)

Week of 12 Sep

The days and weeks are certainly flying by. A busy time at work too but at least the running isn't suffering. 😉

Mon 12 Sep

Easy hour with 10x20s strides. Bumped into DD doing a session again on the Causeway, quick chat between reps. Watching him tear off reminded me to start into the strides.

Tue 13 Sep

35 mins recovery around the usual Marino locations - Institute, St. Vincent’s, Griffith Ave and Brian Road.

Wed 14 Sep

14 miles inc. 12 progressive  

Another big one. I’d had to ask the coach earlier in the week whether the 3x4 at progressively faster paces was in kms or miles. ‘Miles! Miles! Miles!’ was the answer. I was again a little wary of this one but it went incredibly well. A single warmup mile then into 4 easy (@8:10), 4 at close to MP (@7:40) and a final 4 at 7:20. I wore my older pair of vaporflys for this. I haven’t been wearing them much for sessions but after last week I thought I might be able to use a bit of help. As a result it was the MP miles that felt the most comfortable after a fairly clunky plod out the coast to Bayside. I concentrated on not getting carried away, save for ticking off an aul lad dog walker for throwing his poop bag into the 'drink' ('No bins', he shouted after me. Vandal!) Into marathon pace and it felt smooth and controlled, even around the Church Road turnabout which I elongated a little by running up a side road and around a green. The slight headwind didn't bother me at all, being much gentler than the last time around. The last four through Blackbanks to Clontarf at something closer to HM pace were definitely a challenge but I was moving very smoothly by now (it felt, anyway) and I didn’t have much trouble. I know I'm making it sound easier than it actually was but sometimes it all just goes to plan. I was concentrating on breathing well all through this run and I think it helped towards the end especially. 14 miles total in 1 hr 51 mins.

• This week: 38k (24m)
    • This month: 195(121)
    • This year: 2,695 (1,675)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Solid work there D, sprinkled with a healthy amount of confidence. Nice!

Week -4 cont.

Thu 15 Sep

Rest day - busy enough and hadn’t taken a rest day for almost a month so treated myself. 

Fri 16 Sep

2k on the treadmill then I remembered there were some strides on the menu so out around College Park for another 5k, doing the strides on the grass track to the amusement of hundreds of returning students drinking in the Pav. 

Sat 17 Sep

20 miles easy @ 5:29, including the Dublin Half. 

I hadn’t signed up for this but the Mrs had to cry off so I removed the chip and put the bib to good use. An hour around the Park and environs before lining up at the very back of the field, which was bigger than I expected. Just took it easy and picked my way slowly through, passing the various pace groups and thoroughly enjoying myself with no race pressure. The course wasn’t great - too many miles on the narrower paths along Chesterfield and across the Acres, but the conditions were excellent and it was good to see so many good performances out there. Caught the 2 hour pacers at around 11 miles. My former Cru clubmate Joe was playing a blinder here, mopping up every straggler in sight and urging them on to the finish. Worked my way slowly through this group, leaving it on Chesterfield and pushing on a little from there, finishing the HM course in about 1:52 or so, a little faster than planned but within the range. I always feel bad running easy while people around you are racing to their limits, but at the same time when you run through the back of the field you get a real sense of how many runners are just out to enjoy the experience. And why not? 

The number of gel wrappers dumped all along the course was a disgrace. Stick the empty back in your pocket. /rant

Sun 18 Sep

One hour recovery around Marino and the Mount Temple pitches. Cycled the short distance up to Griffith Ave later to watch the Griffith Ave mile. A few familiar faces. Shouted at someone I thought might be @Dubh Geannain about 200m from the finish. Think he managed to take some notable scalps! Kudos.

• This week: 87k (54m) - 8 hrs 6 mins
    • This month: 244 (151)
    • This year: 2,744 (1,705)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

I heard ya 😜. It was quite the surprise. Felt that was at a bit further than 200 to go though.

Week of 19 Sep

With less than three weeks to go, I’m starting to get some pre-taper jitters. Seem to have survived a covid exposure scare at the weekend, although could be too early to tell. I’ve a couple of very people-centred events coming up, and some teaching to do, all of which wouldn’t cost me a thought otherwise but now I’m a little wary. Touch wood.

Mon 19 Sep

Easy hour with 10x20s strides 

The regular GAA hour run. Slightly rushed at the end when young lad rang, feeling ill and abandoning his training. Nothing too contagious hopefully!

Tue 20 Sep

Rest.

Wed 21 Sep

4x5k @ MP (1k rec)

It’s a good job there’s only one midweek session in this plan. Most of them are big enough for two. Got out after work around 4:30pm, heading out the south coast of Dublin Bay with a route planned via Dalkey. 2 miles warmup then the first 5k took me from Poolbeg to beyond Blackrock. This one felt a bit clunky - didn’t feel I was moving well at all and hating the concrete footpaths. Was wearing the old vaporflys but they’ve lost a lot of the spring (but none of the noise). Still, no real issue with the pace - felt fine, just more difficult than normal. I hoped the run would feel smoother after a while but it never really bedded in. Second 5k had some drags around Dun Laoghaire and Dalkey and I was glad to see the back of it. The third one took me down The Metals walk/cycleway - I like these geographic oddities so this was my favourite rep: nice surface, new route, no traffic noise. The last one back towards town was wearying and I got off to a slow start, which left me chasing the pace for a while before relaxing a bit towards the end and finishing strong. A very gruelling session, I was quite bonked on the cooldown, finding it difficult to get going again after several pedestrian light stops. But it’s a big one in the bag.

Thu 22 Sep

Taper starts now. 40 mins recovery around the usual Marino haunts. Legs felt shot all day at work - that one yesterday was a shock to the system, and because it was at work it was a good while before I got showered, cycled home and got fed, so not the best immediate recovery. Someone in the office asked me when the race is and when I mentioned the week after next, it finally dawned on me how close it all is now. Looking forward to the trip.

• This week: 46k (28m)
    • This month: 289(180)
    • This year: 2,789 (1,734)

Week -3 cont.

Fri 23 Sep

6 watch-free miles from TCD to Sandymount and back. I knew it was exactly 2 miles to the beginning of Merrion Strand, then used the distance markers sprayed on the footpath every 20m (for proposed bike lane planning?) to add a mile.

Sat 24 Sep

57 mins easy including St. Anne’s parkrun (pacing 26 mins)

Pacing week at St. Anne’s - I hopped on the 26 mins pacer slot instead of my usual preferred 24 mins as I wanted to keep to the plan and keep it easy. Brought a few home, with at least one happy PB runner, always great when they let you know they got what they wanted. Didn’t have time for the usual extra few miles until later due to some running around, but eventually got to Fairview Park for a couple of laps. 

Sun 25 Sep

15 miles progressive

A spicy enough long run - five easy miles, five still easy but steadier miles (8 min pace), then five that were supposed to be 7:25. I converted this to 4:37/k but in my head I was thinking marathon pace and stuck to 4:42 (completely accidentally, but that felt tricky enough into the breeze so was probably not too far off the proper effort). But another mini brain fart to compete the first weekend of the taper. Feeling good, two weeks out.

• This week: 90k (56m) - 8 hrs 2 mins
    • This month: 334 (207)
    • This year: 2,834 (1,761)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Nice work D.

Had never really dawned on me that we have to sweat Covid too on the taper. Fingers and toes aren't going to cut it, we need to come up with more things to cross 😊

Best of luck with the taper, you've got this.

Week of 26 Sep

So with two weeks to go, taper continues. Still a couple of sessions to go though, so not ready for the slippers yet. Only 4-5 hours running specified this week, which will seem like very little.

Mon 26 Sep

Rest.

Tue 27 Sep

45 mins easy with strides - out to Ballsbridge from the office and into Herbert Park for the strides.

Wed 28 Sep

11 miles with 7 progressive (8:00/7:40/7:25)

Out again from the office - it’s a big work week with teaching starting and also some other event organisation so glad of the distraction. Past Merrion Gates to Blackrock Park and Monkstown, hitting the paces nicely enough. The 7:25 stuff feels tough enough (MP is more like 7:38) especially as it’s usually towards the end of the run. This one felt better than some of the others.

Thu 29 Sep

30 mins recovery in the Marino Institute.

Fri 30 Sep

Rest day. Work event went well. I am now out of contract however, back on the precarious ‘occasional staff’ scrap heap. Was nice to decompress after the event with a few drinks with some of the guests. Less drinking overall means my tolerance levels are noticeably down, which I suppose is a good thing!

October totals: 363 kms (225 mi)

Sat 1 Oct

58 mins inc Fairview parkrun @ very easy with the Sanctuary Runners.

Sun 2 Oct

11 mi with 2 x 3 @ 7:25

Final session of the programme. Hooked up with M in St. Annes’ for the first half, warming up then heading towards Sutton, the face feeling appropriately ‘comfortably hard’ especially in the windy bits. Hadn’t set up the watch so had to count the kms splits for the second half, and missed one out. M had headed on at a faster pace so when I saw him jogging back to me with what I thought was still 800m to go I was happy enough to realise I’d miscounted and the session was in the bag. Cooldown and coffee, joined by the coach for some motivational chat.  

A week to go…

• This week: 57k (35m) - 5 hrs 6 mins
    • This month: 27 (217)
    • This year: 2,890 (1,796)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Best of luck on Sunday Denis!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Wottle

Have a blast, no doubt you're going to have a good one, enjoy!

Go get it . Hope the running gods are on your side.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Best of luck D!