Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

You are Completely wrong, and some extraordinary assertions & conclusions you've come to about other posters. Your post seems to almost sound like press release in defence of Radio presenters & a particular organisation & curiously directed at posters from a different thread, you've opened the door , so here goes.

You appear to be suggesting posters are on the Spectrum and have underlying issues, that's quite disgraceful and I hope that has been reported.

I've shut off RTE Radio 1 almost entirely, basically because if they are not acting as a press office for government, they are consumed by Virtue signalling, I've asked them why not rebrand their flag ship program "Morning Ukraine"

Newstalk has its moments but some pretty dreadful presenters. Irish talk radio has gone to shyte and in my humble opinion, that's primarily driven by shockingly bad presenters, too cowardly to ask difficult questions, it's like a popularity contest between themselves.

Caller led shows are infact presenter led shows with no objectivity who use the platform to push their own agenda's, plug friends and use Petulant bully boy tactics to get their own views heard , it's disgraceful.

But more recently our national broadcaster reached new lows....

This is the type of Shyte I call out when a national broadcaster decides to give air time via an over paid fool, not once but twice to this type of cretin. A right wing fascist who the presenter seems to think is deserving of a Medal .

I've two words for that notion, but I'll be polite.

FZY77PkXkAAvgXk.jpeg chrome_screenshot_1659683848884.png FZY73OiWYAAInxs.jpeg

chrome_screenshot_1659683904392.png

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,172 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The 'minging Dublin' story getting more re-heating than a deli sausage.

Yes, yes we know it's a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

it is not just ‘differing opinions’ - it is prolonged obsession wanting to hate something and vent.

Yet keep returning time and again it just seems odd to me, that is just my opinion. And statistically there are are bound to be underlying issues for At least some posters should fall into that category.

Those who constantly engage about radio shows or people they ‘hate. Constantly almost like a hobby. We all have seen them on boards.ie.

Differing opinions- OK fair enough no problem. That is normal and healthy.

But Constant venting said opinions to ‘hate’ xyz when clearly a person does not ‘enjoy’ xyz personality or xyz on a radio program for example - it screams ‘underlying issues’ to me. And massive insecurities at the very least.

But such people could be doing worse I suppose. It might help them and give them a release from ‘underlying issues’. And hopefully it does not exacerbate them.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

And was it your medical or psychiatric qualifications that led you to this conclusion?

Observation and paying attention to psychological analysis on the mentality in forums such as there has been a myriad of case studies on how some internet communities are formed and why. Particularly those who dislike something or someone - such members of a community can be more vitriolic and obessive.

Much in the same way many users on here are not de facto experts on radio/the media.

If the proper research is done people can become educated on the topic.

With a mix of research on what the experts say. Allied to anecdotal evidence. When armed with such information/knowledge boards.ie not only becomes a forum to share views but a microcosm of the human condition. Which I find fascinating of itself. As you begin to look at not only what people post, but WHY they post. Also with this vantage it enables posters including me to reflect on what they post.

On boards.ie it is particularly fascinating to observe the radio forums almost as a Petri dish of sorts. And given I have some amateur broadcast radio experience for fun. This allied to reading past studies of the psychological condition on internet forums can become eye opening. And as a result I don’t just read posts. If a poster is particularly aggravated and has a certain repeated pattern of aggravation, I find myself asking. Why?

I suppose this is particularly relevant considering Newstalk had a young mental health activist on today. It got me thinking if social media and forums such as these are a hinderance or a help in general.

Particularly an individual who declares themselves the defacto leader of a group it must be hard going from a psychological point of view.

But I believe tolerance must be shown to such individuals. As nobody knows what/if any underlying issues a person may have. It is nice to be nice as the song goes.

Aside from the word salad you threw together there, what would qualify someone to be an expert on radio/media….in your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

it is not just ‘differing opinions’ - it is prolonged obsession wanting to hate something and vent

It really isn't. It's pure frustration with the complete shambles that is RTE and the fact that nobody has the balls to take them on.

You seem to operate on a very simple level ie. 'If you don't like it, don't listen'...and... 'The people that don't like it but do listen and criticise it' are Rain Men. If you're happy enough with the way RTE operates and the way it produces many millionaires and multimillionaires, that's fine, but you really shouldn't be flinging around horsesh!t accusations about people that aren't happy about it.

I couldn't be arsed going into more detail for you now, but have a little read of this post below which I think explains it well enough. It's from the 'Dee Forbes scabbing more money' thread in C/A. Yep, that''s the same Dee Forbes that is chronically incompetent and is on c.€340k pa.

EDIT: ^ I should have said, I know this is a NT thread but the poster I quoted formed their Psychoanalysis of posters from various RTE show threads such as RT, etc.

Post edited by Gen.Zhukov on

Gen, don’t you know can’t criticize NK “talent” or NK himself?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It’s not too much of a “stretch” to assume that anyone who goes out of their way to listen to a show they, clearly, hate, and that gets them quite upset, has some form of mental illness or are on the autism spectrum.

Doubly so for those who, upon missing said hated show, go searching for it on the “listen back” function and actively wind themselves up over what they listen to.

That is not normal behaviour and those who “engage” in it would do well to visit their GP to get proper help.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I don't normally have Newstalk on the Sunday. But those two programs 'Futueproof' and 'On the Record' seem to be well researched shows. Particularly Future proof.

Why do you think people get upset listening to these shows? I think Liveline is often hilarious, albeit almost always unintentionally. The only thing that borders on upsetting me about any of the shows I listen to is the fees of the grotesquely overpaid and quality-averse "talent".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,583 ✭✭✭leath_dub

"Talking History" on Sunday early evening is usually excellent too

Future Proof is very good, no argument there. I listen occasionally when a topic of interest or something work-related comes on, but it's infrequent. Jonathan is very good and in my opinion very under-utilized (not just in radio).

The Picture Show with Philip Molloy used to be very good and was must-listen for me, until John Vardy took it over and re-branded - now I can't listen at all. :(

The problem however for Newstalk is those shows are niche/very niche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭Azatadine

What happened to Philip Molloy? I can't bear that John Vardey either. Constantly going on about his kids.

I don't know the whole story but Molloy was the host for years. Then Fardy appeared first as a producer for the show, then additionally as a contributor/reporter. The relationship was clearly tetchy though when both were on air together, with Molloy audibly having little patience with Fardy and his over-excitement for the most awful crap. Then without any notice, Molloy was gone and the show was rebranded.

Molloy's strength was if he didn't like a movie, he would say so and give reasons why; and his movie knowledge was immense.

Fardy by contrast is like Lottie Ryan in that he praises everything and won't say anything negative in case it diminishes his chances of an interview with some B list actor down the line. It's an awful show compared to what it used to be. Now maybe I'd doing Fardy a disservice, but he doesn't strike me as a lifelong movie fan, more someone who reads up about the movie/actor 5 minutes before the interview and waffles his way through it. It's just utterly bland and fake/dumbing down by contrast to the former show.

Edited to correct naming error.

Post edited by ButtersSuki on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Ye could all at least get the name of the presenter yer whinging about right - Fardy

Gave up listening. Going to podcasts for my history fix instead.

I found it very rushed, the presentation style annoyed me. Bang of elitism off it too.

Apologies, brain fart on my part there. Yes, you are obviously correct.

Found the debate on the health sector well informed. Particularly the ambulance worker. He seemed very frustrated about the whole setup. And all the stuff he had to do and work around.

But I did find it more than a bit ironic that Pat mentioned the divide between private healthcare and public. Then it was immediately followed by the cash thing 76k. And just after that an advert for Mater Private Healthcare.

My mind could not help join the dots. Win the cash machine thing and the winner can get private healthcare no bother!

On our continuing series on Dublin being a sh1thole and denials of same.

I think the truth is somewhere in the middle. Feel sorry for the Gardai. They have to prioritise all the time. Plus the amount of risk in their job is massive as an predominantly unarmed force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

it must be soul destroying for Pat having to chat to Andrea Gillligan every day about the rubbish coming up on her show

i couldn't believe it!

Bet forfeits (She actually asked Pat would he ever get a tattoo of Marty Whel as a forfeit for losing a bet!) and whether cars should be allowed on to beaches.

They should lose the "News" part from the name of the staion. Most o the time it's just talk. Inane, fatuous, talk

I cannot believe what I am listening to on Lunchtime Live right now. It's like listening to a couple of youn wans chatting on the bus

I slag off RTE a bit , ut even D'Arcy has never sunk this low!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

They've actually started interviewing winners of the cash machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭hamburgham

I put a lot of the blame on the judges. It must be extremely demoralised to keep arresting the same people over and over again, going through the prosecution process, hearing them convicted and straight out back onto the street. In all honesty, why would you bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Best part was Pat saying he’d be listening. LOL. This is someone who is checking an app to see the source of our power.

No sign of Ciara Kelly on Newstalk breakfast for a while. Is it too much to hope that she might be gone for good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭Azatadine

That would be great!