Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

The jnlrs are done annually is it?

How do they measure the figures?

I can't imagine many people switch their program of choice. I know I haven't. It's always the same few shows or stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,172 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

To be fair, radio is already sports-saturated across the board especially at weekends. Popular as it is, I guess even that has its limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,889 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

The other side of that as well is that most sports are not year-round so how often is a football fan going to tune in between June and August for example. How often is a GAA fan going to tune in in the Winter. I'd say Off The Ball's average listenership is hugely varied over the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,583 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Off the Ball are putting their content out across so many platfors that the radio listenership figures is not their primary concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I used to always listen to Newstalk during the mornings, lunch and evenings when I'm in the kitchen. A few months ago I got tired of the misery they pump out and switched to podcasts. My mood has significantly improved since. Find myself getting less worked up about things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

--

Apparently with conventional radio the tactic to measure peoples listening in 15 minute spells. Which gets the people that flick channels for 5 minutes. Even that counts.

--

From the above link -

'One of the most common tools used to track listenership in conventional radio is a concept known as AQH. This stands for Average Quarter Hourly, and – as you might have guessed – identifies averages of people listening to a radio station within 15 minutes.

When using AQH, it’s worth remembering that not everyone’s listenership is equal. Typically speaking, listeners will need to have been tuned in for at least five minutes during these quarterly spells.'

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Wtf is newstalk playing at with allowing sitting politicians to host national radio programmes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,746 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's like an extended party political broadcast. Thought I was hearing things this morning when it was mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,889 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

If Eoin O'Broin can hold a neutral perspective on tonight's show, all power to him. I'm not sure he can though given the topics already discussed - and that's not necessarily his fault as he can't talk about homelessness for example, independent of his party's position.

But it seems mad that a politician is hosting a current affairs drivetime show. People would rightfully be outraged if a FF or FG politician was hosting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,753 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Eh, that Regina Doherty of Fine Gael is doing the show Wednesday. Care to explain how the outrage will express itself?

image.png

Who they are makes no difference, it's a conflict of interests imo even if they're perfectly neutral on the show. It's politicians cosying up with media broadcasters.

Ireland has already a problem with journalists sucking up to politicians to get jobs in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Probably just copying what has just happened in the UK. Lbc did this for a week recently.

Oh listen, I agree. It's an abysmal decision. If I wanted to listen to a politician I'd follow them on twitter or watch the Oireachteas channel.

Equally an awful idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Yeah same here. Honestly for years I just left it on all the time.

Now I listen to Pat Kenny often enough but not always, Moncrieff the odd time and maybe Off The Ball, although that often only lasts 30 seconds if it's rugby talk or golf talk which seems to be nearly all the time, although I know it isn't (or something I've already heard on Off The Ball, which happens all the time).

It's the constant saturation of things I need to be worried about, things that seem to be infomercials as much as news articles and then worst of all things no one in the world needs to hear about. Seriously, I don't give a fùck if they stopped making Neighbours, and no, we're not all talking about ITV reality shìte.

Cash machine drives me mental and I don't even listen to the radio every day.

Barry Dunne would have needed a big payrise to put up with that shite every single day.

It's a weird move shoving on politicos, and wouldn't appeal to me. I'd rather at least the semblance of an unbiased presenter.

We get enough of them honking their uninformed views throughout the week and on PK last thing on Fri.

the Cash Machine has made me turn off Newstalk! Sick to death of it. If they every again have a segment on gambling they are on a very sticky wicket!! At €2.50 a pop x 5 days a week =€50 a month, its probably more than most would pay for the Lotto! Encouraging gambling every 30 minutes day in day out across all their network of stations in hard to stomach. Unbelievable they are let away with it.

I listen to Pat Kenny and that's it. Sometimes I tune into Niall Boylan for a laugh and an alternative viewpoint :-)!! Apart from that as someone else said its bad news, stuff to be worried about, stuff we can't control, and its talked about AD NAUSEAM . We are now back to Covid and long Covid and whether we should mask up to protect ourselves from the long term side effects on the brain from Covid. Misery.

I can't imagine what it will be like in September, when the lazy days of August are over! Cost of living, gas rationing, Covid, Ukraine war, thousands of refugees a week arriving, rooms in homes being demanded by our Government! Its relentless. I'm off to hike in the hills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,753 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Talk about the News is the name of the station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Funny enough I find the cash machine thing annoying, it is just trying to get eejits to go texting at the end of the day. Just as the childish subjects Andrea Gilligan comes up with 'What makes a good friend?' text Newstalk etc.

I used to think that the subjects on those late night phone in's years ago were silly. Such as Adrian Kennedy's phone show which was on another radio station. But Andrea Gilligan makes those type of shows seem highfalutin stuff in comparison.

But on the other hand when a presenter rings a listener for the cash machine total. I find myself getting involved in it.

One ring - Ok

Two rings - they might answer now

Three rings - they would want to hurry up

Four rings - Jayus

Five Rings - sickner

--

And if someone does answer the phone, I would be hoping they get it. And is it is good to hear the reactions out of people. Happy eejity heads on them.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I utterly hate the cash machine and I don't fall for the happy sentiment of it. Its irritating and constantly being forced into ears. The only joy is the withering comments from Moncrief who clearly hates it.

There's nothing well-meaning about GoLoud giving one listener maybe €15,000 out of the multiples of that that they earned from running that day's competition. Don't mind the massive cost of living crisis, GoLoud will happily extract a €2.50 entry from poor desperate schmucks for the blind hope they might win money. They are raking it in.

Also they call it the "(Insert Station) Cash machine" which I think is massively misleading as "being played across the GoLoud network" means nothing to most people.

I love Moncrief and I enjoy Pat Kenny but the rest of the daytime stuff is dross.

Student Union rep condones sh1tty student behaviour.

Give your head a wobble ya clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I:m travelling Basel to Berlin on night train next Friday. Can't wait.

Well we've hit a true peak for Lunchtime Live.

A long discussion on whether mass is boring and needs to be made more exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

tuned in to listen to TV on the radio, only to be informed that stephanie preisser is in for the week. painful stuff

Someone with too much time on her hands having a problem with names on bikes...she sounds like great craic.

Bit of blowback to the trans company line this morning. Surprised they didn't censor it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Hard Shoulder are entering Day 2 of their "Dublin is littered" superstory. Why do they bother with a national license when all they cater to is the Dublin region? I feel that Galway could be nuked and Newstalk's lead story would be "Cycle lane in Clontarf! We get right to the centre of this issue!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

So people who hold differing opinions to you on the quality of radio presenter in Ireland are variously "on the spectrum" or "have underlying issues". Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,664 ✭✭✭Allinall

They've been broadcasting from all over the country over the last few weeks, doing stories local the wherever they were.

Did you not hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Yeah once or twice a year they do the standard "Did you know that Cork also has buildings and restaurants?" while throwing in a load of annoying cliches and stereotypes.

My point is that they talk about the most boring, inane, local Dublin issues all the time. We don't need more than 20 minutes to discuss liter in one of the cities, let alone two days at least across a few programmes