Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The eBike thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭Alkers

From my shed (block) in the back garden but as Unkel says, it was insured all risks do it doesn't matter.

Policy is with Allianz, only other item named all risks is an engagement ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,659 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Same here, just a watch and an engagement ring. The latter was a good thing as the diamond must have fallen out a good few years ago and got lost. Insurance paid out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I was stuck behind someone doing 15kph and barely pedaling I was doing 60-70w, that's why I thought 100w wouldn't be too difficult but of course I have absolutely no idea what a beginner would do and it depends on age, general fitness, gender etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I did a spin yesterday at an average of over 30km/h and Strava tells me I averaged 147W; and air resistance squares with speed.

I found this link, and I suspect it's very much YMMV; but taking their figures at face value, someone putting out 60W with 250W assist would be able to manage 37.5km/h (assuming the bike was unrestricted for speed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Folks, I just wanted to ask some people with more ebike experience -

My Kuma K1 bike was delivered at the start of the month from a dealer. I've had a bit on and haven't had a chance to play with it much, but I fully charged it before heading out for a mile or two as soon as I got it, and took it for maybe two or three more mile-or-two spins since. Never anything major - literally around the estate and back.

I didn't fully charge it in the interim, but today I headed out for a longer spin. Battery capacity was showing about 80% until about the two mile mark when it just beeped once and died, leaving me stranded and having to haul myself back.

Now fair enough I haven't been keeping it charged and I did take it out for a few little joyrides, but that doesn't feel quite right to me.

I have it charging now and I'll try it again tomorrow, just to make sure I'm not imagining things, but I'm a bit miffed. When I took delivery of it, a few things made me suspect it was ex demo or at least ex display, and I had a few other gripes with the dealer, but nothing major and I loved the bike so I waved it off. It makes me wonder though if it's behaving like an old battery that hasn't been well maintained and they're pulling a bit of a fast one.

Just wanted to see if I'm raving and a battery would usually behave like that or if my suspicions might seem well founded?

I got it via Bike to Work so if it is faulty I'm not really sure what happens next?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if it was showing 80% and then beeped and died, that sounds like a dud battery to me. definitely a warranty issue. kuma claim a range of approx 60km and from what you were saying you have barely done 15km on it from what you've mentioned.

Yeah, I reckoned so, thank you. And there wasn't any gradual performance step down or anything, it just blinked out and that was it.

I'm unimpressed with the dealer for a number of reasons, so I'm going to try it out from a full charge tomorrow and make sure it's not a complete fluke or something, and then get back to them.

It's an awful pity though, I went to some rounds to get the particular colour I got and everything, because the model is getting scarce enough, and I was enjoying the heck out of it. It has a unique battery enclosure, so I don't have a spare on hand or anything yet either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭eagerv

Don't know what type of battery your bike has, but might be worth posting details up if you have the spec.

Our old (At least 13 years old) eBike has the original LiFePo battery. Still going well, but is unreliable on battery capacity if not charged regularly. And if anything like the LFP batteries in cars, takes a few full charges before the BMS is reliable.

There may be nothing wrong with your battery..

Interesting.

It's a 48v20ah Li-On. Comes in a slightly bonkers enclosure that seems unique to variations of this model.

Charger is telling me it's fully charged now, which seems suspiciously quick to me. Pretty sure I've only had it on for 3 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭eagerv

I would just monitor it for a few full charges before getting too worried..Hopefully it's fine..

Appreciated. I'll do that. I'll do laps around my house though, because I'm not pushing that fecking thing for two miles again :D

Bad sign. Most chargers put out 2A, 3A at a push. So a 20Ah battery would take 7-10 hours to charge from empty till full. Go with what eagerv said though and try it a few times. I'd put money on the battery being toast though.

it doesn't sound to me like the battery was fully discharged - as jill mentioned, it was at 80% and then just cut off, which would make sense with it only taking a few hours to recharge. perhaps there's a loose connection or some other fault detected which shut off the supply.

Yeah I'm just thinking, I hit a couple of very minor bumps just before it went. And as I was on my way back, the screen would fade back in if I went downhill before power cutting out again.

That doesn't have much bearing though, I wouldn't have any confidence in my soldering abilities or anything. If it's a no go this evening for any reason, I'll have to look into a replacement.

How long is something like this covered under warranty legally?

you said you only have the bike for a month or so? this would be covered for at least one year, probably more.

Hmm. More experimentation needed. I did a very comfortable 45km yesterday evening no problem. I really do love the thing all else aside.

inform the supplier now that you've had the problem, and that you're keeping an eye on it. you really don't want something intermittent that you only end up reporting after warranty has expired; if you inform them the issue has started now, they cannot claim it post-dated the warranty expiration. or they might even be able to tell you that your experience was normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭emo72

Tax and insurance needed for something over 25kw. Just read it on the journal. It's lousy.

250W, not 25kW!

Flagged the possible issue about the battery with the supplier, but it hasn't recurred, so either it's a bizarre fluke or I'd somehow used it way more than I thought when showing it to people after getting it or something.

In the meantime though, I've been looking into buying a battery with better range anyway. These are supplied in other countries (the only ones available here and in the UK will give you 60-70km, Spanish suppliers offer 100, 120km) but aren't available here, and because it's a lithium battery it's a nightmare to try and buy from abroad.

I can get an empty one of the weird enclosures from one supplier though. I know I don't have to use the specific one, but I'd prefer to - I'm wondering, is there a service here that anybody can vouch for that will build a high capacity battery pack for me inside one if I supply it? I'm not really interested in learning the ins and outs of battery building at the moment, so I'd love to be able to hand it off to someone and have it handed back to me with the job done, knowing it probably wasn't going to blow up my house afterwards.

There were one or two people on adverts offering that a few years ago, have a look there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭philboy

Has anybody purchased the Tenways CGO600?

I have a 15km return commute to work one day a week and will also use it for visiting family a couple of days a week 20km return. The only part that is turning me off is the non removable battery. I'd love to be able to bring a battery into work and charge it for the trip home.

Has anyone any experience of a bike similar to the Tenways in design but has a removable battery? Would like to keep it under €1.5k if possible. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,678 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

The Fafrees F1 has a removable 8.7Ah battery but no belt drive. The price difference would allow for a belt drive to be fitted in due course.

https://www.pogocycles.ie/products/fafrees-f1-electric-bike?_pos=32&_fid=ce082c716&_ss=c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Schorpio

I have this. I do a 15 km commute (30 km daily), and I love it. If you can get Cycle2Work, and you're on the higher rate of income tax, the total outlay to you will be about €1.5k. Seems to be flitting in and out of stock though, so I've no idea how long it would take you to get your hands on one. I was waiting a few months earlier this year.

It uses a mid-mounted motor (which I personally would prefer to a rear hub unit), and removable Bosch battery. I ever bother charging at work though, I've only lost one bar of range by the time I'm home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭atahuapla

I doubt an insurance company would even quote you for motor insurance on an e-bike regardless of wattage.

Dublin City is awash with powerful e-bikes (750w +) and scooters (Kirin G1s & G2s) and the Guards seem to be turning a blind eye for now, at least on ebikes that look like bicycles. I hope this common sense approach lasts but seeing lads pull up beside me on the Canals in yokes that like look like this is just asking for them to do a major crackdown.

2372299549935d9014cbb44e46557dd2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭getoutadodge

yup i saw these in the phoenix park as a bunch of lads on them were slagging my "antique" in their eyes. apparently cost 5k. great for farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Heartbreak Hank

Hi, apologies if this has been asked and answered already. I am trying to get a Rad Wagon on the bike to work but my employer (public sector) will only deal with companies registered as suppliers and Rad aren't willing to jump through the hoops (can't blame them).

Does anyone know of any bike shops that will order a Rad bike for you and I could go through them for the bike to work? Obviously willing to pay them a fee for the trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Core6

I bought a Tenways CGO600 a couple of months ago.

It is great but you need to be sure that the range is adequate for your needs. They say the the range is 70km but I am getting about 60km from a full charge. The torque sensor changes the assistance depending on the your pressure on the pedals. If you are pushing hard all the time the range is impacted.

I use it at level 1 (the minimum) assistance which I find is a good compromise between assistance and range.

Like all (legal) ebikes, the assistance is just up to 25kph. The bike obviously goes faster but you can feel the assistance switching off.

The Tenways is a lot lighter then most ebikes. Useful if you have to lift it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Core6

Looking at your expected usage of 2 x 20km and 1 x 15km, you will be charging a Tenways or similar bike once a week at most.

The downside of a non-removeable battery is that the bike has to be near an electric socket for charging -- either indoors or in a garage. The Tenways takes about 2.5 hours to fully charge from 0%.