If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

I dont know if you are looking at the telegram but you're 100% right. Aside from messages about getting payments and free housing, the most talked about thing is flying into our country from safe havens (Poland, portugal, Spain, to name a few) and flying back to the 'Brutal War' our dipshit politicians called it. Some even wanting to take their kids back with them.

State of the clowns in this country defending this type of shite. 🤡.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,954 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Because we are ruled by soft touch virtue signalling idiots. The type of clown we see all too frequently on this thread, living in woke la la land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yeah, looks like I misread that stat, that's the annual figure! So, €200 a week is crazy money.

It depends where you look and I've already addressed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

No, I was posting to point out that MaryAnne and some of her cohorts have a habit of editing posts or reporting them so they are deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭slay55

Ah right , yes that makes sense alright

Yeah I was slow on the reply, but left it up anyway as it may highlight the ludicrousness of it to some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Barbosa92

I didn’t ask him why he was here when he should still be in Ukraine. I’m not an investigative journalist. He is far from the only Ukrainian adult male here as a refugee. You think a cash in hand job is hard to find in Ireland? He seemed pretty confident he would find cash in hand work easy enough in Dublin. Maybe, just maybe he heard this from other Ukrainians living in Dublin? I call you an absolute spoofer.

I’d like to know who my cohorts are. Also what posts I edit or report? I rarely report a post as I believe in free speech and debate. The only ones I can recall reporting were ones that referenced cases before the courts and such posts are not allowed. Mods tend to be busy people, so I draw them to their attention.

Again, based on my experience in that part of the world you very probably met a delusional spoofer. They are also inclined to brag and have lots of big, often unrealistic, plans. But then again what 18-20 year old young lad isn't a spoofer?! I would have grilled him, very nicely of course, but truth be told I'd just be nosy anyway! If you meet another one throw a few questions their way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

25 million per month being paid from our taxes to hotels no wonder they dont care about tourists this is a gravy train as good as the EU !! if i had a damp banjaxed hotel i would be painting it white and taking them in too. Its payback for the 2 years being closed. Everything comes around only thing that is constant is the waste of our money . Dandy Ghandi & his ilk dont give a **** about the country !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Go down to my local university, I’m there 3 times a week. Families, woman, men 18-80+… single people 18-80 multiple people from every adult age bracket and demographic…. Some who meet the criteria which we were sold, yes…absolutely loads, in fact the vast vast majority who don’t, young fit men and woman without children, socialising together in the bar…. Over in the park.

the EU ie. US has payed or pledged over 10 billion to the Ukrainians to finance rebuilding a country that significant numbers, millions of young, healthy people can’t be arsed defending.

as of a month ago over 5 million people have left the Ukraine…a significant portion are young healthy and able people. Photos everywhere and we see them first hand too..

so the EU has spent or will spend over 10 billion in a rebuilding cash gift for the Ukraine, not including of course whatever Ireland,m irish taxpayers has spent, housing, financing, providing access to medical services, education etc…that will continue…

I can’t really see a way out…

Russia could give up or be beaten into giving up! I'm not really sure what you're advocating here. Is there something wrong with the standard of refugee, not broken down enough perhaps? Do we check them for eligibility and send them back? I think this is one of those moments where countries step up and support them especially as he is half a brain cell away from taking the war to the rest of Europe.

If you're bean counting yes this war has cost us a lot but that too is very much down to Russia. Putin wants everyone else to pay for his lunacy. We now know what the cost will be for this crisis but we will have the money to deal with this. It's not a scenario we would choose but they didn't ask to be invaded either.

Do we check for eligibility ? Yes

Do we return those whom we didnt agree to assist ? Yes

we don’t have the money to deal with it… that’s the problem…to claim we do is false.

The financial implications of taking in Ukrainian refugees will not be known until later in the year, the finance minister said.

In addition the Taoiseach says €4bn in Covid funds can be raided to help Ukrainians settle in Ireland. A This fund of €4bn to help the country through the Covid-19 pandemic but…nope, not ours anymore potentially.

The €4bn will barely be enough to cover the cost of the Ukrainian refugees for one year. The majority are here for the long haul. Going to be a couple of billion cost to the exchequer for many years to come. Let’s hope Covid doesn’t kick off again after they’ve spent that €4bn on hotels and social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,916 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Send them all back to Ukraine.

The war has a very definitive front. The frontline is predictable and does not move quickly. There's a vast area in Ukraine that's not experiencing any fighting, it's safe for refugees and realistically you'd get weeks or even months advance notice if the fighting was headed there.

There's simply no need to have them here, there never was. They should be housed in Ukraine, we could pay for tents or temporary structures. Our money would go a lot farther over there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

The journal has a piece about 3000 refugees who need to move out from student accommodation before the end of the month and nowhere for them to go. So what exactly is the government's plans for housing these refugees? They can't hardly kick them out if there's nowhere else to go, so that means nowhere for students to move into in September. It's a disaster really but I guess most of us saw it coming.

Also it should be noted that America has only taken in slightly more refugees than us. 70k vs 40k. Not even double.

This is despite the fact that they played a far bigger role in causing (and prolonging) the conflict, they have 65 times our population and 140 times the land mass. We are being played for fools and deliberately weakened economically.

They never had a plan. It was come one and come all. We will figure it out as we go along. There won’t be a hotel room left in Ireland not occupied with Ukrainians. Houses won’t be found for them any time soon and if they are found are there social houses which many an Irish family has been on a waiting list for years for?

It’s very unfortunate that all this transpired at a time when Ireland has been stuck between two of its weakest and wokest leaders.. Martin and Leo.

if we had any other Taoisigh right now in terms of wanting to be of the ability to put citizens here first but we have Martin, petrified of having to make decisions and upset anyone, Leo whose sole goal has been to drag FG from the right to rightly woke and appease every special interest group going…

a Leo quote..

”Our public services simply would not function without migrants to staff it.

Diversity in Ireland is a reality and it is one of our greatest strengths. 

It is a strength that we are now one of the most diverse countries in the EU, with 17% of the population born outside Ireland. It is a strength that our workforce is the third most international in Europe. It is a strength that we are a place where people want to live and work.

I share your vision of a society that respects human rights and diversity, and believes that everyone, including people from a migrant background, should have the opportunity to fulfil their potential.

As a Government we have tried to match that vision with actions.”

Look at the first sentence…. Our public services only need more staff because of the massive population increases ffs….

beyond disingenuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

An I, for one, cannot for the life of me see any potential roadblocks with this imaginary fellas imaginary plan to get a cash-in-hand job translating from Ukrainian into English.

Everyone knows that government agencies which might require translators have zero bureaucracy and always pay in cash with no questions asked. That is if he has the time what with all the private work. There are a load of Irish people near me that can't for the life of them get a Ukrainian translator. It has been a big problem in these parts since the crash back in 2008. Those people would have no problem handing over 50 quid cash for a half hour nixer. 14 years of catch up to do on all their translating.

Not to mention that any Ukrainians with a decent grasp of English are only too happy to translate for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,916 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i was giving out about MM on one of these forums, and was told basically shut up, your talking nonsense.

he was asked if there was an upper limit on the amount of refugees he would let in. there is no upper limit according to him.

thats cool and all but reconcile that with the housing crisis. it makes no sense

There is no crime saying.. “you know what, we are full, enough”. We’ve done our bit… I had reservations of what was transpiring but when ‘ no upper limit ‘ statement was uttered, I knew basically this country was in trouble, big trouble and it is.

there are countries where treachery is still outlawed. If that was the case here Martin, Leo and a few more would be convicted.

Didn’t read the rest of your post after you mentioned imaginary. I have better things to be doing than making up stories to entertain the likes of you thinking your doing something by calling out people for in your opinion making up stories. You seem to be the Boards equivalent of the village idiot based on other interactions I have seen you have on this site. Please don’t respond to any of my posts again and this will be the last time I interact with you. Have a good day.

Did we find out who the private groups buying the hotels and being rewarded with multi-million euro contracts are?

I wouldn't be surprised if we were to find out that a developer or developers were involved, particularly any of the ones that are currently hoarding land with full pp. Or other government cronies.

You sound like Enda **** Kenny and his man with two pints bollox which I didn't believe either.

The real place to watch is FG/FF and their friends who own hotels.

That is where the anger needs to be directed and not refugees fleeing an utterly apalling situation. They over committed on the intake for a reason. Refugee hosting is big and lucrative business.

Its not the refugees fault for **** sake they were invited.