If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

08:30? Did you sleep in or something? And why are you posting on boards now when there's at least another of couple of hours work to be done.

The boss needs a new whip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Again Suckit. For the final time, your buddies whom you are promoting who want to end DP, are not people who don't want asylum seekers. It is run by current and past asylum seekers who want DP to be abolished and for asylum seekers instead to be given permanent housing and benefits immediately.

You are free to support that if you want. But I think that you are supporting them under the misunderstanding that they want to "end" asylum seekers or reduce the benefits available to them.

Successful asylum seekers, once processed, are (in theory at least) moved out from under the DP umbrella, get their own status here and then are entitled to things. Your "end DP" buddies want that on day one so that everyone - including the ones that are eventually denied - get it as soon as they walk off the plane. They would be happy to have your support even if it is the case that you have been hoodwinked. Share their tweets, promote them onto other social media. It is all good for them and their agenda. They are well capable of spreading stories about Ukrainians in order to build up resentment against DP (even though Ukrainians are not in the DP system)

They are using the Ukrainians, and they are using others to spread their message.

Given your promotion of them, there are two possibilities. One is that you didn't understand what their agenda is, and the other is that you support them. You said it wasn't the former, so then it must be the latter. You are entitled to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

You explaining or giving advice about anything to me, especially a twitter account that I am well aware of, is like a 14 year old telling me something along the lines "OMG you haven't lived until you have tried a burger from xyz's place"

"you think"... 😂🙄

I see you are sticking to the same old tired and worn out sentences, almost as if you think nobody understands what it is you tried to say the first time.. still not answering questions yourself..

Look it is clear. You are a fan of the "end DP" people. You understand exactly what their agenda is and you promote it on here and possibly elsewhere. As you are entitled to do. I disagree with their agenda. You are free to support it. It is a free country in that respect.

But you should at least be honest and not also using their sneaky tactics when spreading their message. Not everyone knows that it is a movement to increase benefits to asylum seekers. Some might think their agenda is to decrease it. If you get pi$$ed off that I highlight their real agenda on here, then you will have to deal with that and I suggest just be honest and up front about your motivations from the start. Then you have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Glad to hear you're in agreement with accommodation.

I suspect that is a very generalised and one sided view of 'anti-Ukrainian whingers'.

Most people I know are supportive of the idea of giving temporary shelter to war refugees. But alarmed at the costs and means by which this is being achieved.

There is room for nuance in peoples views. And the government would want to be cognisant of public reservations. Otherwise they risk losing the dressing room.

I am 100% sure that you have no idea where I am coming from, and I am happy with that. You only have to actually read over my posts here in their entirety to get an idea, but it is your prerogative to not bother doing that.

I wouldn't get pi$$ed off if you highlighted anyones agenda on here. It wouldn't bother me in the slightest. Feel free to explain everything to everyone. Not sure most will listen, as they are more than capable of reading for themselves, but you don't see that..

I think its because these 4 Ukrainian women only work 2 days a week. So they are on social welfare and don't want to lose their benefits. They also have kids and take turns to mind each other's kids while they work....i.e. two on and two off on any particular day. The employer I work for is a good friend and neighbour of the lady in her 60's who is hosting these 4 Ukrainians. So she thinks by paying them some cash they will contribute to the host and help with petrol expenses into the local town etc.

There are hardly any Ukranians working full time as most of them are women with young children.... Most seem to work part time if at all.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

You can look back through the thread. Most of the "outrage" about tents and photos of tents come from the "anti-Ukrainers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Call it pub talk or whatever you want but a local td has made applications for 74 Ukraine people for a council development for 14 houses. He said he also has 34 more application’s in a bid for the houses.

In his opinion he said 10 of the 14 houses will go to Ukrainians. The development is to be completed for September. So all in all the four month forever home will come true for those candidates.

I was aware of the facts. I can read thanks. It was you who asked for the link.

As mentioned in the previous post, the Ukrainians may have requested it, or the owner may not be able to afford to put them on the books. I didn't create the scenario.

I was under the impression that any help is help. No matter the cost or consequences on the Irish economy.

I saw a big gang of Ukrainians down at the beach today. There must have been 30 of them. They were all young and fit people, I spotted 5 men. It's well beyond comprehension why they can go to the beach at that time of the day on a Friday.

It's now the end of July, the war started 6 months ago. I'm sure the initial shock has worn off and they must be better acclimatised now.

The government absolutely needs to come out with a plan to reduce the Welfare amounts and get these people out working where there are skills shortages. Not that there is much employment around here but there might be something. Tourism has been pretty much decimated here this summer, so many hotels handed over to house refugees.

For the record, I am on extended maternity leave, so I can go to the beach on a Friday.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

You should look back through the thread yourself. You have a very fixed mindset and it does you no good when you are trying to incorrectly label people or discuss posts or quotes that don't exist.

Good evening DT. I hope you are well setup for the bank holiday weekend.

There were some parts of your post I agreed with, but others no. Taking it as a whole it makes no sense. Also the post you responded to confuses me, so maybe there was history between the two of ye. None of my business.

While I agree that anybody processed through DP should be eventually afforded the same rights as a national, well, once citizenship is bestowed, I don't agree with omitted nationalities because vogue have a cover sheet on it.

A previous poster chatted about employment. I'm sure there are a lot of refugees who are gagging to get their hands durty and I hope they can...but what about the non Ukrainian refugees who aren't afforded the same benefits.

I'm well aware that one size doesn't fit all currently, but should it not?

They can work legally and keep some, if not all their welfare. Same as any single mother. There’s no excusing under the counter payments.

Are you saying that there aren't posts from the "anti-Ukrainers" giving out about them being housed in tents?

I am aware of that but I don't make the rules, I am an employee myself and I don't know what the arrangement is between my employer and her friend who is hosting them. It seems there are different rules everywhere when it comes to Ukrainians and a blind eye is turned.

Work again tomorrow, an early night beckons.

I'm saying it is you calling them anti-Ukrainers. There are a multitude of reasons to be giving out about them being in tents. One is that the Government have made a balls of this whole scenario from start to now, and no doubt they will continue with consistency right to the end.

It was nothing to do with history of anything. It was to do with posting a tweet from a crowd about how some fella bought a direct provision centre for a few million and was going to be making a hundred million billion Euros or whatever from Ukrainians over it.

The crowd who tweeted the tweet are a group that want to end direct provision. I merely pointed out that what they mean by "end direct provision" is not "end asylum seekers getting benefits" but that "asylum seekers should get full benefits immediately i.e. permanent housing and full access to SW and labour market before their application is processed".

That is why they are latching onto hysteria about Ukrainians and deliberately conflating the two. Their agenda is the ending of DP. Not "ending of asylum" (which cannot be done)

Instead of turning a blind eye and facilitating the abuse of the system, why not do us all a favour and report it to the relevant authorities.

But there is excusing €135 per day and giving them full benefits?

I mean, who exactly is encouraging the black market here? I can't imagine many or possibly any of them will quit that goldmine to work 4 days a week for the same amount or less.

They may have made a balls of it but we have to manage now where we are. So I think that tents are a perfectly acceptable emergency measure and I am sure the Ukrainians are glad to be here and in safety and will put up with them for a while.

The war only broke out a few months ago. It would not be realistic to have expected the government to have started and finished enough permanent housing to house them in that time. There is also already a housing shortage so to expect that would be unrealistic. So I don't know what level of "tentedness" would have made you happy

Given the concerns about "chancers" coming in, surely the use of tents would assuage such fears too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Im pretty happy with the use of tents for all until vetted. It's provides refuge and shelter at a time they are in need.

After which benefits required could be determined.

Again, you are wrong.

You latched on to my post and thought I didn't understand or 'get' the group that owned the twitter account I was quoting, so you tried your best at Donaldsplaining. It wasn't needed. It just showed that you haven't got a clue where you sit in this discussion, nor do you seem to know where anyone else's opinions lie.

You seem to think it's black and white, with you laying somewhere in the middle but mostly to one side..

Thanks. I kinda see where you're coming from. I need to look into further and get my facts straight before commenting further.

One hundred million billion (I'll be honest. Exactly what I'd say or may gazillion).

So enlighten us on what the group want given that I don't 'get' them.

For anyone else that isn't as expert on them as yourself, I'll leave this link to their website here:

And the opening paragraph is:

ABOLISH DIRECT PROVISION CAMPAIGN is a voluntary group led by victims of direct provision in Ireland. 

OUR goals are:

(1) Create awareness about the dire realities of life in Ireland’s direct provision facilities.

(2) Empower asylum seekers while they wait for their international protection application to be processed;

(3) Engage the Irish Government on alternatives to direct provision which has been operating in Ireland since 1999.

Seems to be what I described above. They are entitled to do that if they want. And people are entitled to support them. It just seemed to be a little out of character compared to your other posts.

I am "facilitating the abuse of the system"??? Really? I am an employee on €10.50 an hour and have only worked in this job since March. I get paid through the books and I love my job. I work in the area of horticulture and there are plenty of casual Summer workers in this sector. These Ukranians work 2 days a week each and plenty of times don't even show up!

There are far bigger fish to fry i.e. the Government paying the Aviva, Gormanston, Citywest and every 2nd hotel in the country a fortune to house ever increasing numbers of Ukrainians and other refugees. Meanwhile over 10K Irish citizens are homeless.

They could well be working officially through the likes of FRS and be still be paying tax. Very few lads would be have cash income now to be handing over to others. Lads only really see cash now if they are customer facing as well.

Which bit? Do you know what FRS are? Maybe there are other similar "casual labour" setups

Regardless, if you give a lad 100 into his hand for a bit of work, it costs roughly the same as giving him 200 officially (for any sole trader)

You don't get paid in cash for things these days as a producer. So unless you are customer facing you won't get paid cash. And unless you have a lot of cash coming in, you will would want your receipts on the books for handing out the 200 Euro.

You are stuck Donald.. 😂 Can't get past it..

It's funny to see, but also tiresome. But thank you for attempting to explain again what a group called "Abolish Direct Provision" are all about.. 🙄