Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

The government has assured us third level accommodation will be available for students and won’t be housed for refugees.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I most certainly agree if kids are here, educate them. One of the few primary needs in my opinion. English lessons, excellent. But are our kids going to be deprived. Probably. Pandemic caused the young fella enough grief. Not getting what he needs (not at all Ukrainian kids fault). So spend the little dosh I have and off to private school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Yes Education should continue, I agree but the DOE just threw principals and schools challenges with ZERO support etc.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭aziz

Concur. It's unfair on all professionals and especially the kids. I'll take a stab in the dark. Most teacher's, especially young primary school teachers really give a feck.

Bollix like it's grand, it's not grand. They need help. Especially from extra SNA's(which was needed before the crisis).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Ah sure look. Most of the whingers are just making stuff up. 'Tis expected at this stage. Imaginary daughters and elite jet setting Ukrainians yearning for tents.

Im well able to pitch a tent. Thank you very much.

I see college accommodation in Letterkenny returned deposits to students who had paid up months ago. Apparently the accommodation is still being 'renovated'. It looks pretty modern to me. Oh, the shoite will hit the fan if and when the real story comes out.

This is on top of the student accommodation they handed over to 360 refugees. Now there is chronic shortage.

My children are not going to college for another decade and I'm already LIVID at this farce. How bad and expensive will it be by then. I'm an Irish taxpayer and I certainly won't be given any privileges.

Can't be sure what's going on but yesterday a discussion about government preparing letters of internal deportation,, meaning Refugees will be moved elsewhere, the fact this has to be considered is a little alarming, you'll have to go back a few pages, article was in the Irish examiner 22nd July I believe.

I do believe however with the best will in the world there'll be problems moving people out of student accommodation, at what level I don't know.

OK, One Good Night,

I'm outta here 😉

This will be very disruptive for third level students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭john why

Why John 🙄 this nonsense at this hour, we've had quite enough for one day, I'm just to tired, you might find what your looking for over in after hours.

Dear God 430 posts in 10 years, you must be exhausted 🙄

Good night 😴

Tbf, I'd be more LIVID if I had a child that could only make it to Letterkenny

So one or two have been focusing on semantics over the past few days , many issues continue with this crisis.

One aspect I've raised repeatedly was processing at ports of Entry in relationto this absurd EU Directive. Those on the thread a while will recall the disgraceful incident were a small charity took it upon themselves to bring unaccompanied children from Ukraine into Ireland without informing anyone, that matter still rumbles on with issues over who's paying substantial accomodation bills not withstanding who's caring for these children.

Tusla , to their credit have been doing Trojan work in relation to safegarding measures and follow up tracking and tracing, their work almost forgotten in all of this chaos.

They've just released some information of what they've being dealing with regard to Unaccompanied Ukrainian children and its not pleasant reading. The weakness of controls is laid bare and one incident involving the arrest of one individual, since released and now disappeared is alarming . Thankfully a Ukrainian Girl with intellectual disability and special needs requirements is safe .

The Lack of ability by authorities to check and verify anything at ports of Entry has been raised many times and as I and others have said , we've not a clue who's been let in and still here

Another very disturbing story related to Ukrainian orphanages featured on the BBC all day yesterday, I won't link as not directly to this Thread but a story the Ukrainian Government should be utterly ashamed of, utterly shocking an appalling, these amongst other are the ones who need REAL help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I'm not trying to argue a point with you here or annoy you but at this stage you are virtually living on this thread/sit. Not telling you your business but would you consider taking a break, even for a day.

+100%

Thankfully both my kids are through college but if I had college going kids, after studying in their bedrooms for 2 years I would be livid and organising protests about student accommodation being taken up by Ukrainians . When are people going to say enough? I wonder has the internet stupified and crippled us all? Do we think Michael Martin is up at night reading Boards.ie?

I am only one person , a very small social circle and no connections. But I wish someone who had a bit of clout and connections could organise a protest about what is happening. I have no problem helping Ukrainians refugees who are genuine but its going to far now. Most of Ukraine itself is free from war. They should be told to stay there and we can direct our €3b to help them over there! Why are they still coming here??

The only ones who can do something about this is the people who are affected and I hope they do. I hope we all do coming into Autumn when the **** really hits the fan particularly when Ukrainians are being housed OVER Irish citizens and being fed for free, with no heating or electricity bills and on full benefits.

There are a lot of people on this thread for whom well known references go over their head. There seems to be a high correlation between those that are anti-Ukrainian-refugee and those who aren't aware of those references.............it's almost as if they never keep up to date with things beyond their lane at the end of the housing estate.

that makes for very worrying reading. This is what upsets me. Where is that male "uncle or cousin" gone now? Will he go into hiding and resurface in some town and try grooming other young kids? What in the name of God are we importing into Ireland under the guise of "the caring Irish doing our bit"? So this groomer came from Ukraine with young kids? There are good people in Ukraine but it is also a hugely corrupt country and a dismal record towards poorer people and children with disabilities.

I've said this before Helen "we won't be found wanting" McEntee is at the forefront of this influx and has championed it while 3 of the most violent murders we have seen in Ireland recently were committed by people who have taken up residency here in the last few years. The last time I mentioned this I got a warning so I am being careful in what I say. Its sad when we cannot voice our concerns about what is happening to Ireland and the repercussions for our kids and grandkids without being sanctioned. So I hope I have not broken any rules this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Thanks, DaCor. That was me asking about that. Glad the payment system is finally in place.

I felt it important to share this appalling story as its relevant to numerous discussions regarding ligitmate concerns on the Thread.

No one seems to know we're this chap is and it's only the expression of concern by people contacted in Ukraine after numerous attempts , that led to his arrest.

Good morning, it makes difficult reading the more this situation is unraveling.

Summer is on the wind down, schools back shortly then collage. What are the impacts be with all these refugees on our education system alone not to mind financially.

That's a particular nasty post.

A vulnerable girl was identified and rescued by Irish services upon entry and you complain about it.

If you had your way, you'd gladly condemn that girl to some chaotic refugee camp where this dodgy "cousin" could do what he liked to her with impunity. You'd happily deny her the safety that Ireland can provide her.

I don't need to say any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

If it suits the refugees standards that's fine , id expect that they would have expected more.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

It will cause uproar having some refugees in 4 star hotel with leisure centre and others in tents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Last I checked France has only taken in 100k compared to ireland 40k, France could soak up alot more without stressing their system

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer