Bray Air Display 2022

1111213141517»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭chooey

There really were. We have gone every year for the past 6/7 years (covid obviously excluded) and this year was the worst ever. A large portion of the crowd were just there getting locked, ignoring their kids. The smell of marijuana everywhere was awful and seeing some young fellas punch the head off each other was just what you want when you've two young kids with you. Think what summed it up for me was the announcement that two kids who had gotten lost were at the Garda stand. 45 minutes later the next announcement for people to actually look and see are your kids with you as those two kids were still at the Garda stand. Who doesn't notice their young kids missing. Such a pity as we normally really enjoy it but we won't be returning next year.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

And there wasn't even a Tunnel of Goats 😯

Look at that blue sky. Unreal. Even if they'd started at 2 like they were meant to. Or like eh waited for 20 minutes for the runway to dry or like parked up at Dublin if the bloody yokes can't take off in damp conditions. Unreal how much stupidity these guys packed into a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Dublin Airport is at peak capacity and handling agencies and the airport itself are known to have refused requests for certain commercial operations in recent months. At busy times (which is most of the time) there are substantial queues for takeoff and the layout is such that aircraft must await their turn in the queue. For these reasons it is most unlikely that DUB could have handled the Red Arrows in the manner suggested. I heard the Red Arrows speaking to Baldonnel ATC and they were clear that they would not depart from runway 28 after a heavy shower. I have no idea what other conversations there were or whether other options were considered but perhaps you have more information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭beachhead

it finished around 4pm or earlier.Helicopters dodging around after that,well past 6pm

Create a parking space with a bike? Explain.With a car,for example,Shankill beach couldn't cope with 2 soccer teams in their cars.Locals would be upset too.Unless you mean parking at the Dart station and walking down to the beach? But cycling-pack em in.Just make your bike is chained to something solid

No smells,only burnt burgers and oily chips.Spar there is new-won't be any queues ever again until the 2023 show.Irish Rail did well considering the mob there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,974 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I saw a few people smoking weed alright, normally wouldn't really care but it seemed really inappropriate in the middle of a crowd at a family day. Some people just don't give a feck.

One of the guys was actually smoking a spliff with his mate while his two kids and missus sat about two feet away from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭jimbis

Seen 2 Red arrows heading east over south Dublin around 2:10 this afternoon. Not sure who commented previously about not all of them leaving on Sunday but hey you were right.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 mylo10

The X-Air is mine, I was flying it with a friend. It's actually an X'Air Standard (Rotax 582), they have it listed wrong on that website. We flew from Limetree to Weston hoping to see the big seaplane, we got there and parked right next to it. We had loads of fun!

What's a "viggen"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Psychlops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

What happened the Viggen? Was it ever even booked to appear?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

It was, at one point the airshow website had the Viggen listed. (obviously this was before they pulled the list of participants)

No idea of the truth but supposedly the pilot fell ill 7-10 days before the show.

Post edited by Tenger on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭LJ3103

I live not far from Baldonnell and I thought I imagined them the other day at lunch time, but 7 arrows definitely took off on Sunday evening. Maybe they forgot something and came back to collect it

I read elsewhere that one of them went tech on Sunday. Another arrived yesterday and both left in the afternoon.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Word of mouth on Sunday was that there was a technical fault which delayed them. (I was close to some serious aviation photographers* who were talking to people watching Baldonnell)

Then the weather worsened and the display was axed by Red 1.

*EG. guys with 600mm lens who weren't bothering to take shots of any of the other displays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,083 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Presumably they brought over a flying spanner in the back.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,834 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Out of interest would anyone know approx how much the Red Arrows would charge airshows for a display? Like is it mega money or more so covering the cost of their fuel and accomodation?

In 1977, a charge of £200 was introduced by the MOD for a Red Arrows display. By 2000, the charge had risen to £2,000 (including VAT and insurance). In 2011 the team manager quoted the charge as £9,000.[39]

In July 2004, speculation surfaced in the British media that the Red Arrows would be disbanded, after a defence spending review, due to running costs between £5 million and £6 million.[11] The Arrows were not disbanded and their expense has been justified through their public relations benefit of helping to develop business in the defence industry and promoting recruitment for the RAF. According to the BBC, disbanding the Red Arrows will be highly unlikely, as they are a considerable attraction throughout the world. This was reiterated by Prime MinisterDavid Cameron on 20 February 2013,[12] when he guaranteed the estimated £9m per annum costs while visiting India.

So prob around 20 grand for a display and 15 million to run the arrows per year.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Arrows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,834 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

20k is very reasonable given the crowds they can attract, had thought it would be closer to 80 or 100k but I guess part of it is good PR

Multitool from Halfords probably...

That's a good price alright. Surprised the wealthy/celebs don't have them show up at their weddings etc. Much more entertaining than Ed Sheeran or take that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭moonshy2022

If you read their “request for display/flypast” there’s a section that asks you to justify your request (I assume to avoid wealthy people just requesting to show off) and you have to show how many people in attendance and any military staff etc.