Hay 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Not a meadow left in the parish now. I'm after getting the last bottle of Red Lemonade (Official drink of the Hay making Season) from the shop and am off to make the last few bales today. Some year so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Hershall

What price are small aqure bales of hay making?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Big loads and small roads 🙈

Snapchat-811735698.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,864 ✭✭✭✭Base price

It's good to see a load properly strapped down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭emaherx

Some lads are allergic to straps, it can be a very serious condition.

You've no business on the road without them. The 10 or 15 minutes tying down is time we'll spent if you are travelling any distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭Sami23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Tileman

Waiting for contractor to come here to bale up. Few drops of drizzle and a dark cloud coming. Is it ever any other way?

It's an awful feeling, I've been there. Fingers crossed it'll stay dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,864 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Contractor finished baling at about 4pm, we got 114 bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭50HX

All done here, 30 bales in under 3acres, feeding value wouldn't be great but good enough to dry off fat cows coming weaning

Re prices bales are making, there's hay and there's hay

If you want good feed value better of to pay extra for late may hay

Stuff that I baled today you couldn't charge more than 30 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Tileman

All baled up before the rain thankfully.

wrapoed a few bales aswell as running out of space. Unfortunately he wrapped the drier hay field. Is there risk if it going mould if it’s hay wrapped rather than Haylage wrapped.

No it will be fine. Bought hay last year and wrapped it and it was the same coming out as it went in.

Seen a nice bit of green hay made in panic yesterday which could have done with more saving. Today has shone out a real good Day now so it could have been got better. Fresh green hay will heat like mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭White Clover

Once it’s dry it’ll be fine. A little heat is no harm. There is too much hay made in this country that is roasted and has the feeding value of cardboard.

I got waved into a neighbours field to look at his green bales. They were hot in the center, a smell of the heating from them. He said they would be bales of dung if he doesn't get them wrapped asap. I wouldn't like to have them, I think they'll be all mould if left. He was cursing met eireann as he could have gotten great hay if it had another day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

There's rain here in the west today and there'll be no hay round here today.

He can't blame Met Eireann for his decision to bale and not wrap straight away if it wasn't fit.

Looking at the forecast yesterday many areas could be dry but there's a risk of showers and possibly thundery showers. It was a case of do you feel lucky.

Top quality green hay my hole!

Not a bit of wilt by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

Tight on space here just using the overhang of shed to shelter few bales hay. Are they ok to stack on top of each other.on the flat? Have pallets under the bottom bale

Be grand, surely you'll be using them up first anyway. I've often left a few surplus bale's in cattle shed until it's time to bring them in, then out in the open a foot apart, not be long till those few get used up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Often left netted rounds of hay out in the yard for the winter, absolutely no wastage when used in frosty weather, as it turns the damp outside layer crispy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭50HX

Did hay here one year and used the plastic instead of net as no space, left them out for the winter, edges lost a bit but the rest was perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Must be a lot poor hay to say the least baled in the last couple of weeks, weather hasn't been there, dull cloud filled days, lacking consistent sunshine & breeze.

Neighbour baled up ten acres of rounds today, sun never appeared at all today & spat rain a couple of times. Yesterday evening turned dull & dark quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭older by the day

A bit of sweating/ heating often happened to hay here. They turned out fine. Infact the calves would go for the browned stuff in stead of the golden hay. So don't worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,728 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I don't believe it. I've to go Ted hay again. Who or what do I need to make a blood sacrifice to, to put an end to this hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

You need help!!

No serously surely some young fellow knocking around to give you a hand out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,728 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Not really as somehow I've got the reputation for making hay. Looking after ye farmers too good I am. Not gonna get hay as it was just mowed this morning and rain due Sat. Mowed nothing during the last hot week. Some lads are beyond help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Bales look as if they are starting to sag in the 3rd picture