If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

And yet government and RC cross would have us believe its all going swimmingly 🤔

Indeed Millstreet fell over themselves to say their Facilities were the opposite of what your saying .

Obviously I can know what community halls are like but wasn't this supposed to be 'Temporary " arrangement 🤔🤔

As far as disused convents are you now saying these are unacceptable 🤔

City West is offering Rooms based on numbers and are certainly not cramping in people and definitely not using camp beds.

Are you finally admitting this is and has been a farce from the outset 🤔 weren't you cheer leading all the hypocrisy of community halls being dicky'ed up by communities, who I pointed out on numerous occasions were up in arms previously about DP centres being located in their communities 🤔

It's all terribly confusing.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yes a real mess isnt it . Red Cross and Government messed up big time and we are yet to see where the €15 million donated is .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Scores are certainly cramped into small rooms in Millstreet. They have decent self contained flats, sizes dependant on families. Fact. And if I was fearing for my life running from a 'wartorn country' I'd take anything and be grateful. They have a lot more in Millstreet than many Irish families who are homeless.

Where do you think the people in hotels and places like Millstreet are putting their money? You seem to have this 'shur gawd love' them attitude. Yes, they're displaced, but they could easily go back, displace themselves at the Western side of Ukraine where it seems they'd be safer there than in a highschool in Texas at this stage.

I know your heart is in the right place, but ffs, most of the gang who are in hotels and not from the eastern side of Ukraine, but are here for the savings scheme we offer, they're taking the proverbial.

A few months in a hotel or even in a tent on the side of the road is a small sacrifice to them to save up our generosity.

We are being made fools of. Our generous nature has been rode bareback now. This gang are not contributing to the economy even though they are living free, and get handsome payments. Our money is hemorrhaging from the country.

I'm a middle income earner. I do not have €208 plus extra to spend as I wish after bills and food are paid from my salary every week. There are thousands, hundreds of thousands, who have worked and paid tax here since we were teens. We are now watching Ukrainians having more disposable income than us, and we are paying for it. My children re paying for it. My grandchildren will be paying for their spends.

As I said, I commend your good heart, it's in the right place, but your defence of a group that are bleeding us silly, is quite nauseating. Your innocence meets no bounds. You think it's okay to answer unknown numbers on the mobile phone when we've been asked by banks, and community guards not to answer unknown numbers due to fraudulent activities, and you've a hop of anyone suggesting that the RC should contact people through email or text to know it's legit.

I've no beef with you, but your defence of this gang is tiring.

I think that’s what will happen. Mammy will get fed up of sharing a bedroom with her offspring and will have to weigh up the advantages and disadvantages. Stay sharing a cramped bedroom or return home to their previous homes.

I love the people seeking apartments in places in Dublin that are beyond the means of the majority of Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,732 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm sorry, but... so?

If that's what's available then that's what's available. It might not be pleasant and far from ideal, but for people genuinely fleeing war and death it's a haven, no?

We're offering sanctuary, not a home-away-from-home. The sheer hypocrisy of Government and councils scrambling to provide better options when they've been telling us that such things weren't possible to do as the housing crisis worsened is not just blatant, it's sickening.

These people have a roof over their heads, food in their belly, access to medical care, and money in their pocket. That's already more than enough from a country already struggling to provide these things to citizens, never mind one which has no responsibility or liability for this situation beyond generosity and charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭jackboy

This is not a temporary thing while the war goes on. Even if the war ends there are so many cities in Ukraine permanently destroyed. These people are here to stay. When the war ends a lot of the fighting men may move here also to be with their families. So, all of these will need to be housed. The rights and wrongs of all this can be debated but the reality must be recognised.

I think the reality has been recognised by most watching this debacle unfold, but not by this government, they continue to insist with a straight face this is temporary and is sustainable its neither and that's Reality.

What's also reality is the shameful Hypocrisy at play which anyone with an ounce of intelligence can see.

I can see absolutely no logical reason why Ukrainians were essentially encouraaged to trapse across an entire continent to an island nation that was neither prepared or had the infrastructure in place and had already serious challenges to face.

It's entirely true large parts of Ukraine bombed but it also abundantly clear fighting has essentially being confined to 20% of this vast country for months now. If as, has been widely reported, Ukrainians can repeatedly visit Ukraine whilst refugees in Ireland, surely these refugees no longer have any business being here getting state supports, its utterly ludicrous.

The EU Could have easily directed financial Aid to bordering countries, even Ireland could have contributed to this more sensible approach.

Instead our government under obligations they clearly didn't grasp, opened the flood gates actively encouraged displacement across a continent, almost incentified mass immigration and knew full well it would be near impossible to remove 10"s of thousands who'll likely depend on state supports for a decade or more.

At a minimum a cap was required, at a minimum those who can return should start being encouraged to return but that carely ain't ever going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,055 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Well if you’re genuinely fleeing a war Zone then you’d be delighted to be put up in those places (for free) (bearing in mind they have access to a suite of welfare and other entitlements costing us Irish taxpayers billions) - do you think they should be offered at immediate arrival free housing or something?

What is the latest figure? The cheerleaders for this mess kept saying it was only temporary and people would move home once safer? Is this happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Whocanibe

The last figures I saw was roughly 38,000, I'm not sure if that has changed. Why would they want to go back, they are doing far better here. Some have even asked if it was possibe t to pop back for a week to see family that are still there. You just have to lie down and roll over like a good little Irish person, and not be asking silly questions!

The "reality" is no such thing. A likelihood I'll grant you, even a strong likelihood given our weak politicians and virtue signallers, but by no means a requirement or done deal.

How do we achieve that? Well by closing the door to any further immigration for a start. We can't even manage the numbers now (as both sides of the argument point out) let alone even more. Then we look at what those already here are being given and put real reviews/end dates to it to encourage these people to either find sustainable work here that offers some contribution, or plan for their return home/elsewhere - remembering the vast expanse of land in Ukraine that's unaffected by the regional conflict in the East/North-East.

Suggesting that we need to prepare to take in possibly tens of thousands more of PTSD-suffering, wounded/disabled soldiers fresh from the fighting into a nation wholly incapable of meeting their needs (we're not exactly known for our ability to look after those with mental or physical health needs in general) is a fallacy. It suggests that we have no say or control over the situation.

While that may be true to a point right now, the tide of public opinion is certainly turning and some of the TDs are starting to notice this. Add in a hard autumn/winter of fuel poverty and recession impacts and it won't be too long before what is now a quiet resentment becomes open hostility - not to the Ukrainians - but those in Government who have led us here.

I think it is clear our current politicians will not touch the proper organisation of immigration with a barge pole. Couldn’t blame them. If a politician mentions the topic they are aggressively screamed at and called racist. Much easier to just let the immigrants in without proper planning and organisation and just give them free stuff and hope that covers over the cracks.

This is not good for the country and not good for a lot of the immigrants. Yes, a lot of the Ukrainians are getting a lot of free stuff now but I would worry about them when the next group of immigrants come in and they are forgotten about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭glut22

Any non independent TDs noticing i.e all others toeing party line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

They will toe any line that gets them elected. I am 100% hoping the current government get booted out but my vote wont go to Sein Fein unless housing & immigration are top priorities for Irish People ie the tax payer.

If unlimited Ukrianinans are fine with them they can move on, as they won't get mine many others votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

A woman i know took in a family and now she is reduced to tears and she has no way out they are untidy rude and dont do any housework or cooking. She wants them out of her house and she has no aid or contact to help her achieve this. They have gone from being friendly to menacing but of course Ukraine is the most corrupt country in the world so what can she expect? Our government fcuked its people voters & tax payers to look good to the overlord in Europe !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

I have been commenting about these Gopniks since weeks ago on this thread, absolute scumbags alot of them are.

Anymore you can share about this? Reports coming out more commonly now of this type of scenario across the country. Lots of vulnerable single elderly (naive) or lonely people being bullied in their own homes now by Ukranians.

I honestly believe that these people thought they would be taking in the nice Chernobyl children they have been accustomed to here over the years as how could people actually open their doors to complete strangers from the far side of Europe. The virtue signal tears have well and truely dried up.

What do you expect when we have a govt and church that treats this lot like children 😂. Time to wake up lads the world is full of scummy people. Long live the wokeFest 2022 😂.

I will never understand how willingly people allowed complete un vetted strangers into their homes, their sanctuaries with out a thought for what if. The crowd was so loud about how desperate they were, when in fact they are merely opportunists who like rats on a sinking ship saw the gullible irish government shouting the loudest to be heard. Since brexit we have no ally so we are like the small boy at the end of the room jumping up & down to be seen or heard & we will bend over and be gang fcuked in order to get the preverbial pat on the head, well done Meehole & Roder-dick you have done well here have a slice of stale cake left over from Davros , you gobsh1tes ! Selling your country out for a few pieces of silver Judas the whole government is Judas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

They are essentially guests, they don’t have rights. If she feels threatened then she can go to the gardai, report it and turf them out. She is the homeowner. It’s not like it’s a property she’s renting and not living in.

i think the worst feeling is the no end date they are there for how long? When do they leave and go home? I think this makes it worse when you have a pain in the ass guest for the weekend you know they will be gone & good riddance by Monday, but this is open ended and no one is taking charge of it all just haemorraging them into our country but not out. That is the hopeless feeling which makes the rude behaviour seem so much worse !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

If you look back over the the thread you will see blue and yellow flag people (and mods) suggesting the war will be over soon and it'll only be a few month's.

Its pure delusion or they are part of the NGO team trying V hard to screw paddy.

Always amazed me how anyone seriously thought this would be over Quickly , what's galling about it all is EU governments knew from the outset this wouldn't be over quickly, they constantly talk about "Temporary " this, "Temporary " that , any measures they've taken against Putin have been half assed and meaningless, our own government haven't even been shy about their ambitions to essentially increase migration here,

I'm more and more convinced they saw this has an opportunity to feel vacant positions in the Hospitality sector and thought with all the pledges there'll be no issues with accommodation. That notion has fallen on its arse , we're heading into winter, likely to still have 10's of thousands in Hotel accommodation over winter at enormous cost notwithstanding costs supporting refugees. I shudder to think what fuel prices will reach.

MM will stand up in the Dail tomorrow with a straight face and list all this governments achievements, no doubt he'll mention his governments remarkable achievements in sowing social unease , Blatant hypocrisy, making an already bad housing situation worse (hard to believe that's actually possible) , Financial madness and ineptitude.

I'll have my popcorn ready for tomorrow's MONC, it won't succeed but there'll be fireworks.

She should report this to whichever agency she got them from.

Why, it’s nothing to do with that agency now. Have some people in this country gone soft or something. If a guest in your house over stays their welcome you do not report them to anyone, you just kick them out.

Ukraine is one of the most corrupt countries in the world. And that level of corruption and opportunism will run right through the population….it’s not just the state. And yet all those coming here were painted as angels by a disingenuous EU and our own government.

some called it out at the time, but so many were unbelievably naive in the face of that messaging and virtue signalling. None of what is happening now is a surprise. The government let people like your friend down….took advantage if their good nature and put them in harms way. She should have been protected from this

as it is now, I think she needs to get the Guards involved and get these people taken to the nearest accommodation centre. Dump them outside of the Red Cow if necessary

She needs help to fcuk these squatters out of her property- stuff in bin bags and locks changed if necessary- call the Gardai if they threaten or trespass further

And I’d say make the Gardai aware immediately so they know

As neighbours we are all helping her and we have a solicitor for advice and will proceed to try and have them re settled. I am only mentioning the issue to make the people aware its not all happy cake baking and smiles ! Dont take them in rescind your offer of a home let Meehole & Rodders put them in their fine big heated houses. Not in the houses of the decent people of Ireland who have always been generous to those less well off & this generosity has well & truly been scuppered by the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I hope it wasn’t the Red Cross because it will be dealt with at snails pace if they ever answer the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Screenshot_20220711_184436.jpg

The operative word here is "choose", the whole refugee situation has morphed into a migration shopping one this last while

It beggars belief that people are so naïve. There is a man on the Help Ukrainians FB page who has posted that he needs a live in carer for his elderly mother. She lives in rural Carlow. "English would be useful but not essential" the post says, they can also have a child or children (I'm sure that will work out well!)

It's very difficult to get a good carer and they need to be qualified too. To simply put out a Facebook post asking a complete unvetted stranger into to your house, with no English, to help take care of an elderly woman is asking for trouble. I was in this situation a few years ago with my own mother and it was a nightmare even with qualified people from Home Instead and Bluebird..... (my mother didn't help the situation!). Older people can be very hard to mind and communicate with .....even with people they know.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I have to agree to be honest. I have sympathy for these people who've now found themselves with unwanted houseguests, but at the same time... what exactly did they think would happen here? The Ukrainians they've taken in are an unknown quantity. While I'm sure most are normal, decent people, grateful to have somewhere to stay, that's not a guarantee and we have no way to tell how many may not fit that idealistic description.

They haven't been vetted. Their country and its history and problems have been whitewashed by the media and politicians, and we really don't know who we've accepted into our country and indeed homes. Would they have accepted a random Irish person into their home? Of course not, and for the same reason - they would know nothing about them! Just because they have a different nationality in this case, doesn't change that unfortunate reality.

As such my sympathy for these misguided helpers is tempered by my concern for their naivety, but all they can do now is let their families and the Gardai know what's happening and have their "guests" removed forcibly if necessary. They aren't tenants, they have no tenancy or other rights. There's no obligation for people like those mentioned to put up with being bullied or intimidated in their own home.

Anyone in this situation (or knowing someone who is) should call the Gardai. Tonight.