Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Mod Note Post #1 - The 2022 All Ireland Senior Football Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭dobman88

Jaysus

grandpa-abe-exit.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Decent game yesterday, kerry probably the better team overall but it was a hard way to lose for Dublin. Great kick to win it. The fitness of COC was probably the difference in the end.

On the aftermath of the penalty, it's a yellow for me, the ball was there to be played but SOS also has a duty of care when he knows there's a player on the ground like that.

Comerford deserved a yellow for his shite acting before the peno also.

I don't think Galway should be too scared of Dublin Kerry, they have some great footballers but they're far from unbeatable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I don't think Galway should be too scared of Dublin,

They might want to be a bit wary of Kerry though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I agree Galway should not be afraid of Dublin. They won't beat them this year.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

There's a lot more than that being taken. Like when a defender wins the ball and then runs up with contact from the opposing defender, they take loads of steps but it's allowed.

I also remember this example clearly where Nugent got the ball not too far from the sideline yet between getting the ball and taking the shot at the small square he only took one hop!

image.png

I counted 18 or 19 steps in total and only one hop amongst them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I'd imagine Galway will carry a far bigger attacking threat than Dublin did yesterday. They have 4 scoring forwards and 2 scoring midfielders. All of their full forward line on any given day is capable of bagging goals

But Kerry are very good defensively.

Much better than Mayo, or Roscommon or Armagh.

Look at Galway when they came up against a "defensive minded" team on Saturday, they really struggled to score.

Now Kerry are not a "defensive minded" team as such but they have really improved in that department this year.

Look at how many wides Dublin had yesterday, I think it was 8.

Now did those 8 happen because Dublin players were impersonating Mayo players or was it because Kerry's defense put enough pressure on Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I think Galway have a better chance against this Kerry team. If con o Callaghan was playing yesterday they would be facing Dublin in the final with all their experience of winning finals v a first time final team in Galway. Kerry will play football with Galway and that could open it up for our forwards. Clearly Kerry are favourites but it could be alot closer than the likes of Ger Canning and McStay thinks or hopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭doc_17

Duty of care isn’t in the rule book.

Kerry are nothing special in defence. Dublin missed at least 3 very good chances for points in the first half. Dean Rock missed a simple free by his standards well inside the 45 metre line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I'd liken that incident to what you sometimes see in hurling when a player loses his hurley and the opposition player has the ball and goes to strike it. Sometimes the defending player without the hurley will jump across the swing with hands, body, even head at times to execute a block on the player.

There is no onus on the player striking the ball to avoid hitting the lad defending it. Comerford was brave to be fair to him and it probably not getting the credit he should for a great double save that kept Dublin in the game.

Its telling that other than a few head bangers on here, no one is looking for it to have been a red card.

I think kerry are a good bit ahead of galway at the moment to be honest, but it's 15 v 15 and anything can happen on the day, plus galway have a player in Shane Walsh that would have to be in the conversation for the most talented player in the country. On his day he is exceptional, he just needs to sort out his decision making at times. I love watching him play.

I dont think Galway will go out and try to outscore kerry in a Straight shoot out because they'll loose. So it might be a park the bus job and try to stay in it and hit kerry on the break. It may not be much of a spectacle if that transpires. It'll be interesting to see how each team approachs the game but I think Galway will go with a similar game play to Saturday, low scoring, sit back keep it tight and hit on the break,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I'd imagine they will be very defensive too. They have nothing to match Clifford and O'Shea, but if they can park the bus around them, they have a greater depth of scorers than Kerry so have loads of options when they counter attack

e.g. Walsh, Comer, Finnerty, Tierney, McDaid, Conroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Galway did not score for over 20 minutes on Saturday. Their second goal was a free hit into empty goals. Galway would be lucky to get 4 players into that Kerry team.

Kerry are All Ireland champions in everything bar lifting trophy now.

EVENFLOW

Finnerty looks good in spells all right. Comer can be a handful on his day given a little space. But walsh is their only top top class guy. Disagree about the depth of scorers v kerry. I guess we'll find out in a fortnight but they'll have to come up with something and have a few more tricks up their sleeve on the day because I see a big enough difference class between the 2 teams right now. As I've said before I didn't rate Derry and they were easily enough found out so not great preparation for a final for galway. But galway do have a nack of winning finals once there in um, if that counts for anything.

Ehm... Kerry went scoreless for basically the same amount of time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭flasher0030

That's interesting. I was actually going to ask this question when I saw the other posters comments about duty of care. Its the third time that I heard the phrase being mentioned since the match yesterday. One of the commentators mentioned it during the match (McStay I think). And I've read it twice since. Why is being mentioned at all. I was wondering is there something in the rules about it. Try explaining duty of care to John Small after he put Eoghan MacLachlin from Mayo in hospital. I don't think duty of care is in any way relevant. Otherwise John Small would have had the book thrown at him. I could be wrong though.

While Walsh has more talent, I think in a tight, tough game, Comer is more likely to win it for Galway. He's a real leader in that team

Clifford was fantastic yesterday. His brother too. I don't see how that could be used as anything other than a positive for his legacy. His ability to make it look effortless is incredible. Paudie was carrying the team at times too.

Bastards 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,090 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Going to be very interesting to see how Galway approach it. You kind of know what Kerry will do. I think there's a danger with parking the bus too much with Kerry unless you've really got a handle on Clifford and O'Shea.

I'll rub the Galway lads up with this but I think Walsh needs to do a bit more to put himself up there with the best. Excellent free taker no doubt but he has one point from play over the last two games. I know he was tightly marked on Saturday but that comes with the territory.

Comer for me is the far bigger danger, when he's on form, he's near impossible to mark. Finnerty is another one who could have a big say. I thought he was Galway's best forward Vs Armagh but was quiet on Saturday. All three firing and it'll give Kerry plenty to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes against a team that won 8 all ireland in ten years.

Not a division 3 side

EVENFLOW

Kildare scored 1-15 against the Dubs, more than Kerry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,046 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The GAA rule book explicitly states that a category 3 infraction includes "Behaving in any way which is dangerous to an opponent".

If you want to make a complete fool of yourself you can pivot to try and claiming that doesn't mean a duty of care.

I haven't heard anyone mentioning Costello taking out G O'Sullivan in the air with a nasty shot from behind into the ribs badly winding him. It would even be a red in rugby. Lucky the ref missed it. Now that was reckless and dangerous no where near the ball. Just a cheap shot that he got away with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Seanie oshea has both feet off the ground when his left foot connects with Comerford - his left was sailing through the air after hitting the ball with his right and comerford is diving down at the same time. Comerford deserves more praise for the bravery he showed - SOS was coming in full pelt, ball was loose and comerford dived straight in. "Putting your head where others wouldn't put a shovel" as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭dobman88

Yep, looked nasty enough on replay. It was Foley he took out. Foley jumped up to palm the ball down and Costello came in with his arm straight into the ribs and absolutely no intention to play the ball.

It's a definite card and foul if the ref sees it but those things balance out over the course of a game.

Is that not the point though - he knew Comerford was down on the ground and he went 100% in to strike the ball as if Comerford wasn't in the way and in a vulnerable position. He's entitled to go for the ball but he also needs to be aware of endangering his opponent also. That's why I'd have it as a yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Perhaps it’s Galway bias, but I don’t think they are getting the respect they deserve.

Despite seven minutes of madness, Galway have been comfortably the best side in Connacht/Ulster this year, having been up by six points plus in every championship game.

Paul Conroy aside, they have a young team, the oldest defender is 27 and that defence is improving every day (notwithstanding crazy finish to Armagh game).

Kerry are favourites as they should be but they won’t get it soft.