Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimbledon 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

You're ignoring the connotation of the word retardation though

Using the literal meaning to excuse yourself

Everybody knows what retardation implies

The pejorative is the noun without the ion but I didn't use that

The context was the previous poster talking about Kyrgios being not emotionally developed -

If people want to read in things in that aren't there I can't stop them

But grandstanding for the opportunity to insult is pathetic imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

What did kyrgios do last night that he should have been punished with a point violation and which part of the rules do you think should have it been done under?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭dublin49

Kyrgios is the Tennis equivalent of the Wimbledon football team of the 80s,loud,brash,totally disdainful of the concept of sportmanship and seek to create havoc in the hope their antics unsettle the player on the other side of the net.How Tsitsipas with his team wasnt better mentally prepared for this onslaught is a surprise as it was pretty inevitable it would happen.Kyrgios is the gulity pleasure of observing an altercation you are safe from being dragged into.If he continues in this vein and players react like Tsitsipas going near the net may become a serious health hazard in the near future.

How many players would want to react like Tsitsipas though? Very few I'd say as there's very little yto be gained from it and most players are mentally strong enough not to react to it ans not even let it bother them. The funny thing is if you are playing Kyrios you want him to be behaving in this manner as it normally leads to self implosion.

Tsitsipas attitude of trying to purposely hit the ball straight at him was idiotic. Firstly, irony that someone who calls someone else a bully then purposely tries to hit them with a tennis ball is fairly comical. But he lost two points trying to hit him with the ball.

Tsitsipas behaviour was petchulant ans childish, ans that's being generous. You could easily call it bullying too.

Still though, it was a great match and the needle between the two only added to the entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭dublin49

agree it was Tsitsipas that made the difference as Kyrgios just did what he usually does and I was shocked that Tsitsipas was drawn into it.Surely with their myriad of team members they have a play book now for Kyrgios.I actually saw Kyrgios dodge disqualification in a previous tournament on the basis his ball lashed into the crowd didnt directly hit a spectator,he didn't offer to disqualify himself on that occasion.But the main take away from the match for me is Kyrgios antics help him matches he might otherwise not have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

but how could you ignore it when the guy is constantly in your face and ear i reckon even Mother Theresa would have cracked yesterday, and having a weak umpire didn't help matters he should have nipped it in the bud from the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭anglesorangles

Your last line is completly incorrect. Remember kygrios loses A LOT of tennis matchs , his antics - leading to implosions loses him significantly more tennis matchs than the very very few he wins because of them, players have all played juniors there was always a nutter in each tournament 95% deal with it no bother. Thats the crux of it really , his maturity is under 12/14s. I dont know too many actual tennis fans that like him , sure the brits do , but the brits who go to middle saturday are their for a piss up which is fair enough!lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yep, and then you have the BBC just do a montage of the game with 'teenage wasteland/baba o'riley' by The Who playing in the background as if making Kyrgios some sort of anti-establishment rebellious youth hero🙄

The umpire needs to be nipping the shitousery in the bud.

He didn't and the whole thing escalated from there on both sides

At the end of the day it's about the tennis.

Some people as said prefer the mess over the tennis

I can't even remember the first thing that Kyrgios started whining about last night to the umpire but it just went on and on

As another poster commented putting in a female umpire the next time is a smart move

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

I agree with much of what you're saying about Kyrgios, but "retardation" clearly goes too far, despite your attempts to explain your way out of it. Cop on.

Didn't mean that by it.

I explained the context of the previous poster's comment about lack of / stunted / rxxxd emotional development but I can't make you accept it.

So be it

If I wanted to really use a term for Kyrgios I would use it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Ostapenko taken to a third set. Hope she doesn't throw this away, she couldn't get a more favourable route to the SF's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,645 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Watson tonked in first set....

Norrie likely to be last Brit standing (in singles)..

Ostapenko gone...Jabeur will surely fancy her chances now...

Well that's disappointing. Didn't think Ostapenko would be able to f*ck that up, but here we are. Guaranteed dud semi finalist now.

Last time I saw it Ostapenko was a set and 4-1 up and that German looked rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Delighted to see Tatjana Maria prevail over the bad tempered and shouty Ostapenko. She fairly threw her toys out of the pram at the finish. Her game like S.Williams based on thumping the ball as hard as possible. Maria found a way to frustrate that and lead her into mistakes. Skill as against raw power.

Nice interview afterwards and looked like she'd happily sign all the kids balls for the rest of the afternoon if let.

Watson out beaten 6-2, 6-4. Second best. In fairness she had a kind draw to get this far.

Norrie Vs Tommy Paul should be a good contest.

I mean fair play to the German playing after two kids etc but ostapenko threw that away

Very impressive first set from Sinner. He has fairly quietly gotten this far. If he gets through this you'd fancy his chances as much as anyone else left who is not named Novak.

Norrie again not exactly spectacular but putting in a shift against Tommy Paul...up a set and a break...taken his chances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭anglesorangles

Alcaraz stops the rot , had lost 8 games in a row, lets see if he can make a match of this. Norrie pretty impressive over on court 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Sorry to see her knocked out, she brings entertainment with her bratish behaviour..a female kyrgios ? 😙

Norrie really hasn't given away many cheap points. Very solid. Played the big points extremely well.

Alcaraz struggling but he is a battler. Sinner really impressive.

Norrie serving for the second set and is broken! Still plenty left in this set!

Norrie breaks again! Serves for second set! And takes it

Winner of this will play Goffin/Tiafoe after a long slog of a 5 set match....really good shot at a semi

Sinner now two sets up on Alcaraz...Sinner has been terrific...can he keep it up!

Norrie breaks in third set....kinda feels like that's it! Goffin likely wrecked after a 5 set match...great chance to reach a semi...

All to do for Alcaraz.

May have to wait another season before he hits his stride on grass.

No grass court warm-up for someone with little to no experience on the surface dues seem a bit odd.

Ostapenko is nowhere near up the top of the Kyrgios irrational toolage scale as the spanner himself