Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suspected case of Foot and Mouth in UK with rapid diversion into Agribusiness policies and politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,111 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

They're claiming to be underpaid for a long time now....... years and years. doesn't add credibility to any lobbying

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Whether the organisation as a whole thought as you did or did not think as you did was and is irrelevant. They poorly represented their members , full stop.

A small number of people have made out like bandits at the farmers expense . It is only in the last two years that the pendulum has swung some small way towards the farmers . I would be of the opinion that the 2019 protests finally convinced a significant portion of farmers to reduce cattle numbers to a minimum .The resultant scarcity and online bidding has taken some of the wind out of the processors sails .

If there is a reduction in beef cattle I'd say it's more due to the expansion of dairying than farmers cop on.

On representation there was plenty got for farmers, you only need look at the marts and fields, and the vehicles farmers are driving. bought with money from subsidies and schemes, whingeing won't improve cattle price and if alternative markets and processors aren't found , farmers'll be in the exact same position in a couple years again. processors won't be held to ransom for much longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Fancy Jeeps etc bought with scheme & subsidy money, this comment is throw about allot.

Any farm with a newish jeep in this parish is bought with off farm employment as this vehicle is used for work, farm & family

• Registered Users Posts: 19,265 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Not to mention that the jeep is likely a working machine and can be tax efficient. Given all regulations and testing requirements, a new yoke can be a lot cheaper to run than an old junker

Farmers with jeeps around here are mainly lads hauling cattle. Either their own or for others

What would you expect to see when you go to a mart? Lads with a Ford Fiesta aren't putting their bullocks into the boot - they're getting the neighbour with the jeep to bring them to the mart for them. No such thing as walking cattle to the mart now. I'd say the nearest one to here must be 40 miles

That's the truth of it, people are using subsidy money to buy jeeps tractors and improve their farm if they work off farm, simple enough to pull in 10000 in subs now on a 30 ha farm and TAMS is improving the farms if farmers are prepared to work.

City dwellers aren't spoofing when they say farmers have it all...... an extra 7000/farm announced this week

simple enough to pull in 10000 in subs now on a 30 ha farm

Can you let us know the simple way to do that please? We're stuck at about half that rate. I wasn't aware there was a simple way to get up to 330 per entitlement.

Could get up to 32k in total in grant aid towards building something. Total. Over the life of the scheme. The moaning city dweller can get plenty of grant aid as well if they want to set up a business for example. There are no end of startup supports etc out there.

Grant Aid is a contribution towards a capital cost. If you build a shed and get 32k in a grant, you can be guaranteed that the actual benefit towards you for that will work out at far less than 32k.

The city dwellers can also purchase land if they want to get this free money and get into whatever scheme they want. The only people getting free money in reality are those who happened to be producing during reference years and have now retired and have others producing and effectively paying the retired person money from their efforts. Just because the now retired person had a few cattle back in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Sure wasn’t GLAS supposed to be €5000/farm with GLAS + being an extra €2000, don’t know many that got the full amount. TAMs is great but you have to have the funds

An example here beside me, 200/ha BPS 3000 glas, 2000 sheep welfare scheme, 2000 ANC.

He's paying a consultant 500/yr and never misses a scheme

How do you know how much is BPS is per hectare? You can see his total on the database, but not how much it was per hectare. The man obviously keeps sheep so at least he is working. If he is getting 2000 quid he has 200 ewes. There are probably plenty of armchair farmers drawing down 200/ha and, on paper, "selling grass" off the land they own but never set foot onto from one end of the year to the next. Or renting out the land and BPS for a possibly tax free income.

So I wouldn't be trying to point the finger at the lad actually producing until the other situations is sorted.

No ANC in this area. And the welfare schemes incur costs. Most schemes do. You don't need to pay a lad 500 a year to tell you about them either.

There's very little cost to sheep welfare scheme, it's payment for what you should be doing any way.

The average BPS is 200/ha and everyone'll be there soon

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Ah hold on you need to be pulled up on this "The moaning city dweller can get plenty of grant aid as well if they want to set up a business for example. There are no end of startup supports etc out there"

There is fook all for Business start ups. Nada Zilch. I have been through the process, I even had to pay towards the Start your own Business course and a couple of other course available. There is no start up grants unless you are investing north of 5 million or going to employ more than 100 people.

You can avail of a low cost loan up to €25k from the local enterprise board at a slightly reduced interest rate, but you'll pay back every cent. Them same enterprise boards will offer you Industrial space if you want but at a criminal rent so forget that one.

As soon as you open your doors for Business you are hit Commercial rates from day zero.

No end to startup supports my hole. Easily know you are of the Silver spooned landed Gentry

Not such much "landed gentry" as "able to use google". This is the first hit that comes up.

A copy-and-paste from one of their pages:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Local Enterprise Offices (LEOs) provide a range of financial supports designed to assist with the establishment and/or growth of enterprises (limited company, individuals/sole trader, cooperatives and partnerships) employing up to ten people.

These include:

These financial supports are designed to provide a flexible suite of supports to LEO clients and potential clients

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why don't you read what you Google, show me where all these Grants are. You'll see that it's nothing more than Loans and Bullshite all wrapped up togather.

170 of them according to the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

There are over 170 different government supports for Irish start-ups and small businesses.

There is no point getting narky with me just because you don't know about them.

Ah here you know it all so.

As I said have a read through all those supports and come back and list the Grants available to a start up Business or just **** off with your Bullshite instead

Enterprise Ireland

We provide funding and supports for companies - from entrepreneurs with business propositions for a high potential start-up through to large companies expanding their activities, improving efficiency and growing international sales.

Or you can look to the likes of NDRC which is the government funded accelerator for tech start-ups

There is not much point getting thick at me. I've already given you some links above of possible grants that are available. The priming grant is 50% of up to maximum 150k for example. And that is for start-ups.

Them Grants are only for very high opportunity start ups with high potential, they must have Intellectual property protection in place etc or for Tech startups with high potential and even then all they are really offering is maybe 12 months of office space in an incubation hub.

You are just frantically googling without reading the T&C's and trying to imply that there' loads of grants out there for startups. There's fook all. Give over the Bullsh1tting

And what use is a TAMS grant for a slatted shed for a fella who has no cattle or plans to have cattle? Why would a man spend 100k on a slatted unit to try to get 32k back in grants if all he does is grow 100 acres of wheat and barley? 40% is all well and good for a LESS tanker. But how many farmers are going out and spending 40k+VAT on a 3000 gallon tanker? Ask a 70 year man with 40 acres in Mayo how he's spending all his free income from that particular grant.

If people want to moan about the general availablity of grants that are theoretically possible for farmers and extrapolate that into "sure all farmers are getting loads of free money", then they can't be whinging about "small print" on all the other grants which are available to non-farmers. In theory, plenty of those grants listed above are available to you. The same way that that 70 year old Mayo man theoretically can get a free 16k in grants (just for spending north of 50k on a tanker).

Here is a agri-related startup which is mentioned on some of those pages I linked to above.

They appear to have gotten various supports. Their address is in dogpatch labs in the CHQ building in Dublin city centre.

I've no objection to grants for farmers, under the current EU CAP regime it is the correct course of action. You on the other hand are putting out blatant falsehoods about the availability of startup grants for Businesses outside of the Agriculture sector as a means to justify Agricultural Grants.

Anyway it's like talking to a wall at this stage.....so carry on

All I did was respond to the point about city dwellers moaning about agricultural grants being available with the 100% true fact that there are grants available outside of agriculture. I never said that there are guaranteed for anyone and everyone.

You might not qualify for them with your business. The same way that a particular farmer might not qualify for a particular agri grant.

I got a good grant for a small business from the County enterprise board for a young fellow locally, also a friend got nearly 100% grant to set up a newspapershredder for animal bedding, so they are available

What did you do with the grant? and did your friend use the young fellow to get a grant too?

(better not tell us the nature of the Business)

I cant say what the grant was for, but the newspaper shredding was a different case.

This might help. It has to be a business not in competition with another local business, Ideal for a new Idea.

https://www.localenterprise.ie/FAQs/

Again niche areas which the funding is very vague, guidelines blurred and often use a referral method to award grants. So basically it's about who you know. But on a whole the following are excluded for grants or support for those areas such as retail enterprises, personal services (eg hairdressers, gardeners, creches etc), professional services (accountants, solicitors etc), construction/local building services, Automobile services (Garages, Forecourts, Sales outlets etc) or any Manufacturing enterprise which may also have a direct competitor in the area.

So unless it's a totally unheard of Business or one of those tech startups that they can put into one of those wasted taxpayers money incubation hubs for Graduates that refuse to leave the Education system then you get Fook all

They say they're not going to grant aid businesses that put other businesses out of business and you can see their point

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Yep, it would be their "right" to not stop the spread of Foot and Mouth

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Good loser

So your 'factory rep' has been telling you they have been increasing prices for the last 12 months plus!!

So has he been telling you this - or actually increasing prices? Do you know what a cartel is? A cartel fixes prices to advantage its members.

By definition a cartel must be lowering prices to its suppliers. So if it has INCREASED prices for 12 months it cannot be a cartel.

Apparently two weeks ago the average Irish price was HIGHER than the British and European average.

Not meaning to be pedantic, but that isn't the definition of a cartel. A cartel could raise it's prices compared to where they were last week and still be a cartel. What they would do is have the prices lower than they would have been if it did not exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

Prices have risen since January 2020. Taking an example of 30 month old r= animal. €3.45 a kg in august 2019. €5.35 flat for similar animals in an independent factory last week. €880 on a 440 kg carcass. €1000 is common across the board of stock.

Let’s call it 2€ differential. A 58% increase.

On carcass beef that then needs to be boned out. Assume 70% (They get nothing for trim, bone😉) it then requires for that 2€ Increase at farm gate the eu and British consumer price ( the real buyer) needs to be €2.80-€3.00 of an increase across all cuts to them to stand still excluding the increased processing costs, transportation and retail.

Consumer indexes are showing minute increases only. 4% or the region of 50cent a kg at most.

So who was pocketing the difference in 2019?

The real farce was yet to come.

The IFA agreed with Cormac Healy that Europe’s price they had dragged to the gutter was the benchmark they were only scraubing along then IFA and Fine Gael secured €1000000 from the taxpayers for cattle killed in the spring of 2020, With no external audit of processing industry and British retail profiteering whatsoever.

60 odd million of this wound up with producers. (These same consumers stumped up). Incredulously A further 70 million was paid directly to in grant aid to the cartel.

1.7 million cattle National kill at €500 per head differential is €860,000000. Out of the hands of a few and into the hands of many it does an awful lot of good.

why we are at a realistic price now is a perfect storm of circumstances.

This happened before after the horsemeat scandal. When waters settled they took the power again.

Post edited by Jjameson on