If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

To be fair, a PSC is not just aimed at those who may need to claim a benefit, allowance or Pension, everyone with a PPSN is free to get one, actually makes setting up MYGOVID account so much easier and a range of online services available, Driver licence renewal, Revenue, property tax, claiming tax relief on expenses, Mywelfare for contribution statements etc.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

There was a fascinating interesting interview with Russian FM with the excellent BBC Russian Editor, Stephen Rosenberg (Also an expert on Eurovision believe it or not), its been shown on BBC News.

I was interested primarily because it's rare Sergei Lavrov gives foreign journalists one on one interviews, especially British ones.

He is as entrenched as Putin, absolutely not for Turning and in complete denial. Rosenberg didn't hold back, Worth a watch if anyone interested 😏

Post edited by Dempo1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,732 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This is a good point that's been largely overlooked.

A lot of the narrative and commentary suggests that this is the Putin Show and that if he dies/is removed/whatever that stability would return and talks begin regarding Ukraine.

Not so. It's his whole regime that would need to change. If Putin himself somehow goes, Lavrov or one of the others would step in.

This is about restoring the old empire and power of the USSR. The invasion of Ukraine is just the latest move in that objective, and the longer the West dithers (thanks to extremely weak leadership from Biden and Europe who've forgotten who they're dealing with), the more emboldened that regime will become.

I have to laugh at some of ye. So much offense taken at the idea of a Ukrainian turning down some accommodation offer that you want to send them back to the war zone.

Seriously fkd up priorities lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,488 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

no offence taken, but if they don’t want to be in receipt of the help offered… there really isn’t any point staying. They don’t have to return to a war zone, it would be none of our business once they leave the state :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭hamburgham

+100%. They couldn’t get outvifvthe traps fast enough. All those build to rent apartments have to be filled.

Well said, it really has been the Narrative this is Just Putin, its really not, the Russian FM as been around just as long, very very focused individual. I just found the interview fascinating, just as an observation of his demeanor, Determination, motivation etc and my god he certainly has very strong, extreme views on Ukraine, this is not ending anytime soon I'm afraid.

I reiterate what Putin and Him are overseeing is dispicable, but the interview a fascinating insight into his thinking and frame of mind as such.

Turning down accommodation 7 times as the business post article states is taking the f king piss. I don’t think any of the Ukrainians who were stuck in Mariupol for 3 months with rotting corpses in the street would be that pernickety so these people in question didn’t escape that much horror to be so far up their own holes.

Do they think it’s the Ritz? They’re refugees, not a head of state on a state visit. They have zero shame and some neck on them to turn down accommodation 7 times because it wasn’t to their liking even though they’ve come from a much poorer country . So yeah those of them who are here and behaving like that should be told you accept it or leave the state as you’re holding up the entire process and taking us for fools.

Even the bend over backwards government is finally reacting to it so must be bad. I think it’s those nose in the air vip refugees who need to get their priorities straight and the Irish government but sure we’re fked up for calling out the absolute shite that’s going on.

Imagine the opposite, turn the tables…war kicks off tomorrow here… British invaded…

i and girlfriend get evacuated to Copenhagen.

1 bedroom apartment in Valby.. a safe, quiet, cultured and charming suburb.

i wonder how it might go over if I decreed….

” too far from the train station “

” not enough bedrooms, so can’t have visitors “

” wifi isn’t fast enough for Netflix “

im a refugee, but ^^^^

same here. Anybody coming should be offered accommodation, they refuse it, on their own.

It's an interesting situation, because there are many countries around the world that these refugees could go to... if they refused what is on offer in Ireland.

Ireland was obliged to offer a place of refuge. It did. They're safe, and were provided everything they needed to live here. If they chose not to accept it, then that's on them, and within a very short time (considering how generous our government has been) it wouldn't take long to save what was needed to go elsewhere. The only real issue is that of visas, which isn't really much of an issue for anyone with a basic set of skills (Asia is particularly welcoming to Eastern Europeans, especially women for their modelling/media industry)

We really have too many people who believe in entitlements, but without any consideration for the costs involved in providing those entitlements.. otherwise they'd understand why such things should be exclusive to the native population... Alas.. they don't care.. and are fully prepared to sacrifice the future wellbeing of this nation so that they can appear virtuous to other people.. and the worst thing is, that the generous help they're offering isn't needed, except for a minority of the refugees involved.

I was initially very supportive of helping the refugees, because the circumstances merited it. But those circumstances have change considerably. Now, I'm thinking we should be reserving that help for those who genuinely need it, and that doesn't describe the majority of Ukrainians leaving Ukraine.

Honestly I'd not heard about this phenomenon of turning Down accommodation offers, is it wide spread 🤔 but more importantly what are government actually do if two offers declined, I think I can guess the Answer 🤔

NOTHING

Probably the government have to make an offer to buy somewhere they would be content moving to.

I'd think pigs might fly before that happens, aside from the lack of properties actually available to buy, but then again, it actually seems like pigs can fly 😁

pig-fly.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Once again.

Where was all this anger when this has been happening for the last 20 years in Ireland with all sorts of nationalities???

Not forgetting our own Erica Fleming.

Bizzare people get angry at Ukrainians but not Nigerians, Polish, Afghans etc etc

Hell the unemployment rate of Nigerians in Ireland is the biggest.

Is there a war in Nigeria???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭slay55

Has been many discussions in the past regarding the topics you mention.

why would they appear in this thread discussing Ukrainian refugees ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭keoclassic

I don't think we ever took in 36000 of them in the space of 3 to 4 months when inflation was at about 8%, and in the middle of a housing and accommodation crisis! Different times. I'd say if thousand of any nationality came to our shores at the moment the same questions would be asked. It's also perfectly acceptable to question all of this!!!!

I have never seen one row or post on boards criticising Nigerian refugees in Ireland.

I wonder why🧐

Read last week it was 3400. Where are they going to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

We only have 7% long term unemployment don’t be making stuff up now.

Oh but it’s ok we took in 1000s gradually who don’t forget take up housing etc etc, and are now the most unemployed group in the country???

Sure that makes it different how🤷‍♂️

I don't think its OK at all! But this thread is about Ukrainian refugees. Do you think that we should repeat the mistakes of the past?

And on another note, I have no problem, as I have said many times on here, in taking in refugees from the Ukraine. But the numbers coming need to be dealt with, not this bullshit that's ongoing right now. Should we just keep them coming? We can't just allow an open door policy to a subset who will put big pressure on our systems. It doesn't matter where they come from, but at the moment, they are coming from the Ukraine.

No im just curious why you haven’t set up a thread about African refugees getting free housing and money here.

Are you afraid of been labelled a racist.???

Why do you feel safe having a rant about the Ukrainians???

Oh no we don’t have that amongst our own.

Hilarious the anger here to people actually fleeing a war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

There is a novelty factor to having Refugees here that are fleeing a war.

There shouldn't be any choices offered, what you get is what you get.

I'm about 15km from it🤣

I've gotten to know some of them.

Husband, wife and kid. Him working part time. They are clearing 450 a week with no living costs. I wish i had 50e at the end of the week, never mind 450.

Being labelled a racist! Not at all! Querying what people should and should not be entitled to is not racist! If you think it is, you are very wrong! I don't fear talking about any nationality, their race has nothing to do with it. Nigerians are Nigerians, questioning on what I think they should get or not get isn't racist, unless I refer to their skin color as a reason. Nationality and race are 2 different things.

I think what you are implying is that I'm try to discriminate against Ukrainians because of their situation, which again is false.

To answer your question if Nigerians are here, solely claiming welfare here, then they should be sent home too. That's not racist, that's an opinion. But if you want to call it racist then fire away.