If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

What do you think safe zones, reception centres, food distribution relief and medical attention, services comes under, your picking up on "Safe Zone's" and assuming conveniently, I said or meant something I didn't, nice attempt at deflection, but again will remind you I never mentioned peace keeping or UN security Council, that's in your head.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

I wasn't responding to any link just a comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I fully agree that we should take as many Ukrainian refugees as is possible, as they are Europeans, they are us. Thank god we aren't close in proximity to Russia, or the same murderous fate would befall us.

But we have run out of houses and flats. We are paying the price for being so free and easy in taking in so many "pick the country with the best benefits refugees" over the last 20 years and have just run out of space and the real refugees from a real war are paying a heavy price for that absurd policy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There is no second metro line to cancel

Ireland has a comparatively smaller burden then the rest of Western Europe when it comes to refugees - and they are certainly not the reason we have congestion on the roads.

What do you think makes a "safe zone" actually safe?

I simply offered an opinion , suggestion which is more that those involved in this mess are doing.

Agree to disagree but don't twist was I said,

Anyway, have to go 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,493 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Rather then comparing ourselves to anyone else….

the burden we have relative to our ability towards looking after the health, wellbeing and quality of life of our citizens is and is going to be an absolute anchor of misery for decades.

I was of the opinion that National Transport Authority's Draft Transport Strategy included metro south.

Ireland's issues with housing and healthcare have comparatively little to do with the number of asylum seekers and refugees here and you could kick every last one of them out of the country tomorrow and it won't fix those problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

As far as I know they are not , the Ukrainians are in the IBIS across the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

no money for improving public transport and other infrastructure as bills for social welfare, healthcare and social housing are in their trillions

You are mixing up trillions with billions again, several posters now have explained they are 2 different numbers. But here we are again.

As for infrastructure, we are spending almost double the EU average, again fear, scare mongering and catastrophizing for absolute no reason but to scare the shít out of ones self I imagine, it must be exhausting.

Sorry, but it's impractical. Ukraine is a theatre of war for Russia, and everywhere is a valid target. They might hum and haw, offering apologies, but they'll go ahead with their plans regardless. Also Western nations are not going to put their own official troops in front of Russian forces, because the chance of escalation is very real with the manner of modern weaponry..

Instead, it makes more sense to provide funding to their neighbouring nations, like Poland, to house the refugees, rather than shipping them to Ireland.

They are not us. Obviously you've never been to Eastern Europe. Hell, the Polish aren't even us, and they have far more similarities with us in history and culture. Eastern Europeans are different from those from Central/Western Europe.

Thank god we aren't close in proximity to Russia, or the same murderous fate would befall us.

Russia borders 14 countries, Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Kazakhstan, North Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, Norway, Poland, and Ukraine.. How many of them have been invaded by them recently?

But we have run out of houses and flats. We are paying the price for being so free and easy in taking in so many window shopping "refugees" over the last 20 years and have just run out of space and the real refugees from a real war are paying a heavy price for that absurd policy.

Rubbish. So Syria, Darfur, Somalia, Congo, Iraq, Afghanistan, etc weren't real wars? After all, Ireland has taken in refugees from dozens of wars that have taken place all around the world.

We are paying the price of inept political parties, who have been more interested in virtue signalling and grand standing, than providing for the future well-being of Irish people. That's why there's not enough housing, or why State infrastructure is outdated or underfunded. The numbers of refugees, Asylum seekers etc shouldn't have made a dent in our economy or society, if the country had been properly managed.. which it hasn't.

Nope , over the scope of this decade also the bill will be trillions..

this is an ongoing problem, a future impacting h-bomb that will impact the state’s financial situation to the tune of trillions. It’s naive of you not to recognize this.

not scare mongering either, because much of what I’ve expanded upon I’ve experienced..

your ‘eu average’ claim isn’t relevant… we need to spend relative to what we haven’t been spending and it’s only being spend relative to our pre Ukrainian population..

the new children’s hospital, under construction at St James’s… it’s being built with a plus 6 million population and xxxxx extra children in mind ? Is it hell.

not scaring the shît out of anyone I’ll be shielded from the worst lest I get sick again but not everyone I know will be….will be so fortunate…sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I see many countries are now stopping benefits or some in talks to stopping all supports for Ukrainians.

Cutting all payments unless in special circumstances, stopping free travel, food, healthcare etc..

Giving them timeframes where they need to be working (one example 180 days) and that's it.

If you leave the state for so many days to return to Ukraine within a certain timeframe you won't be allowed back in.

If they start that in other countries and we are open for business could we see a load more arriving here? Can they bounce around every few months if they can't get any housing, work etc.. in other countries?

How likely are we to follow suit? I'm guessing not likely given we are already leasing and drawing up contracts for hotels for the next few years.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Where exactly do you these 'stories' please provided links.

The other day I checked places for rent in Donegal on daft and there was 12 places in the entire county. My town of a couple thousand people has none. We have around 80 Ukrainians in the town at present. First week they came here they had a fight amongst themselves. A paddy wagon lifted a lot of them , there was zero mention of it in the local media. Yet the most trivial things make it.

There’s a Ukrainian man about 30 around the town. A polish girl I know was telling me he was following her and other girls, she called the Gards on him. He’s always walking about the town drinking cans. I thought men up to 60 were banned from leaving but hey ho. I guess if you’re Ukrainian and you have a criminal record you can’t believe your luck that you can hop on a plane, no passport or checks needed, get free accommodation, food and more money on social welfare than you would get working in your home country.

And this goes beyond the usual sorts who complain about immigration. The smart thing for the government to do would have been to see what capacity they had and allow that amount until capacity was increased instead of just being completely thick beyond belief looking for plaudits about how great they are on the international stage.

It will only get worse and wait until the end of august the s h it show that will happen when they haven’t moved them out of student accommodation. And don’t get me started on that ludicrous idea of them joining the EU that Mehole is championing.

Nope , over the scope of this decade also the bill will be trillions..

Jesus. Okay lets nip this in the bud once and for all using factual simple maths.

social welfare, healthcare and social housing are in their trillions

We will take a conservative starting point of 2 trillion because it's the smallest plural we can have. So that is 2000 billion.

The Social Welfare budget this year is 23.4 billion, the bulk of this goes on pensions, children, carers and disability.

The Health Budget is 22.2 billion, with bulk of that around 14-15 billion going to the HSE.

Social housing is made up of welfare budget and health but also local authority which is 3.6 billion.

So for maths sake we will round the whole thing off to 50 billion, which is 1950 billion off 2 trillions. Or in percentage terms 2.5%.

I have no idea what the "scope of a decade" means, but we will say 10 years, that's 500 billion or a quarter of 2 trillion. Now you can adjust it up by whatever sensible percentage you like, lets go mad say a 100%, that brings us up to a trillion. We are still a trillion away.

We haven't 2 trillion collectively in the past 30 years, but for some reason we will spend it on 3 departments in the next 10.

Absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭riddles

I think we all know it’s nonsense but there is no political will to inject reality - it’s a bit like ordinary Joe public taking on massive mortgages and saying well there’s no other option and if we can’t pay it back sure most likely no one else can either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Imagine all the free steaks with the rich sauces in the Red Cow yum yum

You do realise, that the MORE people we have here..

relying on social welfare payments, free public transport, free medical care, more medical cars… the bill.. RISES…

budgets will rise, spend will rise because demand rises… more Gardai, more prisons and prison places in addition … the list goes on…

we can bury our heads in the sand but I’d rather proactively be of the realisation that life and wellbeing for many citizens is been irrecoverably compromised.

Okay we will run a budget deficit of 120% for the next decade to get to your fictional trillions.

For the love of fúcking Jesus why do I bother. 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just google countries stopping benefits/supports for Ukraine.

There's plenty of info there. First few that come up, Poland, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Spain, Czech Rep.

Pretty sure somebody also posted about Poland already back in the thread.

Why do you bother ? I’ve been wondering myself.

for the next decade we are simply borrowing, spending SFA on capital projects….

you’ll probably see if anything schools and third level facilities get expanded thats it… ohh and more buses to clog up the roads, nothing in the way of quality of life additions..

metro north has a speculative completion date of way in the future now… speculation is that the target date is 2034. However some people claim it now won’t ever get the go ahead.

To get near your figure Pascal will have to announce a budget at the bare minimum of 220 billion this October, 97.2 billion was the budget for 2022.

You are talking absolute nonsense.

With the extra people coming in the droves… let’s see it will be prudent to keep spending at ‘your levels’ or closer to mine.

but by all means keep up the aggressive posture..

Suggesting the budget is going to at least double over the next couple years is a fairly aggressive posture...

First time I have heard actual reality being described as an "aggressive posture". 🤣

Listen I have done my best to explain it to you, using very simple factual maths, I have been more than patient, you are simply posting in bad faith now. So we will leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Gamergurll

Think you might live near me, bunch of them in the shop buying load of drink and a big party up in the holiday village they're living in, disco lights and all 😂 Guards lifted two of them trying to break into houses, nice bunch we got,

When we moved up here and I was putting my kids in the school the principle insisted I move them to an English speaking area because mine didn't have great Irish. There's now classes set up just for the Ukrainian kids to teach through English, so they're not mixing with the local kids either. There's another bunch of them being moved into a nearby hotel which was disused. Why they are throwing 100+ into the middle of nowhere in the Gaeltacht I have no idea