Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Shane Daly is a strange one. Very talented, big and strong and.... doesn't get a look in. I think he'd be a better 13 than Farrell. Niall Scannell is poor. He looked to have a good future once upon a time but, wtf?

I think Rowntree has got to pull the plus on a few lads immediately. Certainly, Scannell should probably be benched and Barron given a Crack! Wycherly and Loughman should also get the 1st hit out. Kilcoyne is aging and cannot scrummage. Snyman and Beirne could be lethal together. But, that takes minutes away from Ahern, Kleyn and Wycherly. Maybe Wycherly should revert back to blindside?

Everyone sees that Murray is long past it. Casey is the future, give him the reins! Ben Healy should be starting and if he's not, I'd love for Leinster to sign him. The Scottish sides will make a play for him. He's only on a 1 year deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

I actually think Munster will turn it around without can Gran and larkham holding them back. Munster look the worst coached province by a distance. After three phases players don't know what to do and resort to kicking it away or just looking to get ball into Farrell and DDA hands but not in a situation where they can actually do something with it. Things can only get better with prendergast in.

In terms of players I think there is good young talent available. For me the old guys need to be phased out. POM super against Exeter and tolouse but anonymous last night and every time he's played Leinster in the last 5 years. Guys like kendellan, coombes hodnett, bierne all show up week in week out and battle away. Get snyman and ahern into the row to free up bierne for 6.

Front row is the real issue though. Been hearing about Knox for a long time, salanoa brought down, neither get many minutes. Scannel certain to deliver a couple of brain farts per big game. Loughman and wycherly (and killer) means loose head probably be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,583 ✭✭✭sioda

Gotta agree front row is the big issue. How Stephen Archer got to 248 caps is beyond me. He was awful yesterday and that block/walk into on Cooney was ridiculous. Our options at 1 to 3 are injury prone or non existent loosing OByrne and Ryan will hit us tbh.

I'm hoping that the new team can get more from Chris Farrell as well besides bosh it up the centre. Would like to see Goggin get more game time.

You'd have to think Prendergast will have a big impact on the huge skills deficit in the Munster squad. It'll take time though.

That Munster squad is a lot better than last nights performance would suggest.

If ever there was a physical manifestation of the failure that JVG has been for the province - last night was it. All the ingredients were there for one big performance against a provincial rival and to play in a manner that paid homage to an outgoing coach.

The reality was the opposite. That is a very dejected looking team who seem to have collectively realised they've had their time wasted by a complete spoofer for the last half a decade.

On the plus side, that was a performance far short of the sum of that 23. There is a lot of talent there and a good pre season with a capable coaching team and Munster can start rebuilding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,628 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

We should have shown JVG the door when he handed in his notice. We made the same mistake in Connacht with Pat Lam.

Munster could already be building for next season but it's been squandered.

Somewhere in SA, Rassie is having a great laugh to himself. He stitched us up real nice, got a hopeless waste of space off his coaching team, and convinced us he was doing us a favour in the process. He's a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

Neatly summed up; JVG never got munster playing even close to the sum of their parts, let alone exceeded it.

And I for one still want accountability behind the decision to offer that plonker 2 more years at the helm.

Imagine if we were facing 2 more years of that this morning? Christ on a bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jcon1913

we have a decent set of players

I hear what people are saying on here but you have to say JVG has been shocking

For 5 years

I watched the Ulster game and the difference between the teams was that Ulster had the dog in them

Munster didn’t

and there was no feeling of togetherness or of a plan to stop Ulster playing whatever way they wanted to

Maybe Rowntree and the new team will bring improvements

There seems to be this trend of blaming Nucifora for signing off on this - but that's the height of his involvement, Munster would have put JVG forward and made the case for his renewal, Nucifora is the rubber stamp.

We were here five years ago getting all the warning signs from South African supporters, and now Bath will be seeing the same.

Not only has Rassie pulled a nice bait and switch but he's had some of his marquis players (if they weren't injured) playing exactly the style of rugby he wants as well.

I don't know if I'd call him a genius - there was plenty of negative commentary about JVG before he arrived here, there was no indication of forward progress in his first three years, eventually you need to start looking closer to home to find accountability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭TRC10

Spare a thought for Bath fans. They're a very historic club, good fanbase, former domestic and European champions. They've just had an absolute nightmare of a season, finishing 12th in the Premiership. And now they've got this absolute clown coming in to make things even worse. So absolutely no light at the end of the tunnel for them. Poor f*ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,746 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Gonna take a break from this place for awhile.

I've been posting here for years now, argue in good faith and don’t think I’ve ever received an infraction.

This week, I’ve been accused of strawmanning, being disingenuous and arguing in bad faith.

That’s before putting up with the posters who just seem to want to wind people up.

It's just not worth it any more, and is by far the worst I can remember.

To the regs on here that have contributed and I’ve learned things from (even those I’ve argued strongly against), enjoy the rest of the playoffs, and might catch ye for the NZ tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭kuang1

You're absolutely right. It's not Nucifora's head I'd be after at all. It's the unseen, old heads behind munster rugby that I'm thinking of.

Those of whom shafted Penny that time. Hindsight is 20-20 of course, but oh to have him back! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Its not just the lack of dog but the lack of brain power. I watch Munster and wonder what are they trying to do half the time.

A new coaching ticket and a new lease on life. Good riddance to Van Grann. A complete shocker that Bath would hire him.

Think of the complete waste of the prime years of the careers of Earls, Conway, POM etc! These boys are into the closing stages of their careers and have had their best years wasted with a poor coach! Shockingly poor head coach!

Larkham didn't cover himself in glory either. I wonder if Flannery left because he knew VG was in over his head?

I wouldn't stop doing something you otherwise enjoy because a minority are intentionally trying to spoil it or because they have some psychosis about rugby that causes them to rant their way through endless re-registered accounts on here.

Just don't take anything too seriously or too personally and engage where and how you choose.

Ignore the rest like you would if someone was howling the end of the world in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Would love to see Rowntree give the young lads the starting jerseys next year, he has a free year and development should be his goal, a lot of the players that beat Wasps will be heading towards making up the core of the squad soon so just bite the bullet and go for it.

Buckley, J. Whycherly, Ahern, Kendellan, Hodnett, Coombes, Healy, Casey, Daly and Campbell will hopefully see a load of starts next year.

I'd love to see Daly or Liam Coombes get some more game time at 13 next season. Daly played at 13 for the Irish U20's and Con when they won the AIL in 2017. You would imagine with Fekitoa coming in, Farrell will see more game time at 12 next season.

Farrell could possibly do a great job at 12!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

He could, we've signed a bloody good 12 in the Mafi mould though..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

We've signed an unknown 12 with one season in the Prem who will be arriving injured. Bloody good in the Mafi mold is a bit overstated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

I presume he's referring to Fekitoa, not Frisch.

Which would be better: 12. Farrell, 13. Fekitoa, or 12. Fekitoa, 13. Farrell? I'd be thinking the former. They could try both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

People keep talking about a new coaching ticket. No concerns Rowntree as head coach? Its his first club head coach gig, and he's been part of a very under whelming coaching ticket since 2019. I know JVG has been awful, but is it really nothing to do with the forwards coach at all?

One thing I would say about Rowntree's time as forwards coach is that our forwards handling has improved immeasurably (obviously Friday night didn't seem that way). Both Archer and Kleyn, who basically had tits for hands, are offloading and providing nice little tip on passes rather than just trucking it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Not concerned really no, I believe when it comes to sport that past and future performances can vary wildly. Stuart Lancaster being a good example of this in coaching

I'm not saying he's better than JVG or that we will win silverware next season but he has a lot to work with and a lot of space to improve on, anything higher than 6th in next year's URC or if he gets us to a semi in Europe he'll have brought the team in the right direction

Following the conclusion of the 2021/22 season, Munster Rugby can confirm the full list of players who will depart the province this month.

It was announced earlier this year that Chris Cloete, Damian de Allende, Jake Flannery, Matt Gallagher, Jason Jenkins, Declan Moore, Kevin O’Byrne and John Ryan will move on.

In addition to the eight players above, the province can confirm that Seán French, Alex McHenry, Rowan Osborne and Academy player Jonathan Wren have all completed their time at Munster.

Seán French and Alex McHenry will both depart for playing opportunities in England.

Rowan Osborne is to retire from professional rugby on medical grounds due to a concussion sustained earlier in the season.

Rowan has received specialist medical care since the concussion, and despite his best efforts and those of the medical team, along with lengthy discussions with those close to him, the decision to retire was made in the best interests of his long-term health.

Unfortunately for Academy back three player Jonathan Wren, the Ireland U20s Grand Slam winner is also retiring from the game on medical grounds despite battling back from a number of setbacks.

Awful news for Osbourne and Wren. Best of luck to French and McHenry in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,246 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

That's sad news for Wren and Osbourne. Never nice to see a player retire on injury grounds. Less still when they're young.

Disappointed to be losing both French and Wren. From seeing them at Age Grade, I thought they would forge long careers with Munster. French didn't get much opportunity and Wren was horribly unlucky with injuries.

The writing was probably on the wall for McHenry when he was left out on loan to Wasps earlier this year, and with Goggin, Farrell & Scannell already contracted and Fekitoa & Frisch incoming. Then theres also Shane Daly and Liam Coombes who can play 13.

When you look at whats leaving, its 422 appearances in experience. Put that with the 1016 appearances that left at the end of 2020/2021 there has been a serious clearout in the past 2 seasons. I know with the new league format, bigger squads aren't needed and its giving younger players like Kendellen, Hodnett, Wycherley etc game time to develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

One of Bordeaux or Toulouse, and one of Northampton or Harlequins for the Heineken Cup next season

https://twitter.com/shamdoran/status/1536208229834772481

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

But the French haven’t even had their semi finals yet so have to wait for That before we’ll know who we have.

Nope. If one of those two win the Top 14 they'll be in pool 1. It's either Northampton or Quins and one of Castres, Montpellier, Bordeaux or Toulouse depending on the rest of the barrage results.