If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cult of Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Widescreen

Exactly what I said, Hand had very good players but couldn't get the required results, bring Jack in and it changes totally. Now we are back to a poor manager at this level, and we are getting what we paid for, total joke the FAI are and whoever else sanctioned his appointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

‘Not having the players’ … is even more reason why you get in an experienced, professional manager who has a tactical know how coupled with man management skills to get the best at a high level with limited resources….

instead some brain dead tossers in the FAI said… “ I know, Stephen Kenny ! “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

We got 3 from Luxembourg. He lost to them at home. Ranked 94th in the world.

Don't forget about 2 points from a possible 9 against 73rd ranked team Bulgaria.

Don't forget about 0 points from a possible 9 against Finland, who are ranked 10 places below us.

And don't forget that the only reason that we are just ranked 10 places above Finland currently, is that since Stephen Kenny took charge, we have dropped 13 spots in the World Rankings, from where we were when he was first appointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

not from a possible 9, it’s from a possible 6 for Finland and Bulgaria.

You need to find one within a very small budget. And you have to find one really that is prepared to live or be in England and Scotland a lot if the time as that’s where all our players play. England is a money party for managers. So you need an England based manager who will be tactically strong and experienced and take a salary of 300k - 500k.

that’s difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭asdfg87

That pretty well sums up all of Irish society, most people cannot think for themselves and go with what the popular view. I call it consensus thinking and it seems to be very prevelant on boards.ie.

Post edited by asdfg87 on

That's human nature. It's the path of least resistance, because the alternative is to think for yourself.

It's easier to just pick a side and back it no matter what. You see it with politics all the time.

If you believe there is no bias in any of you're thinking then you're mistaken. Being aware of this fact is important in catching yourself in the act of bias. Everyone engages in bias.

If you claim you don't, you would be the first human in history to escape the flaws of the human mind.

Self awareness is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,141 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Nah, you just need to find somebody who can pack the midfield, play to our "strengths" and put'em under pressure, sure anybody can do that. Check the list of managers relegated from the PL and we'll easily find somebody who'll do it for under 100k. All he has to do is make sure we hoof the ball up to Robbie Keane and we'll be swimming in 1-0 wins, and when the Euros are expanded to 48 teams we'll have the drunkards roadtrip sorted no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I would give my left fang to see Dave O'Leary come out of retirement and take the job for five years. I mean that. It would be beautiful.

Or maybe Harry Redknapp, he might get me watching again.

A manager who has a record of getting a lot out of limited players is who we should go for.

Sean Dyche? 😃

What a load of rubbish. Everyone is different. A person can never use the term "everyone" you can only speak for you.

Ok buddy. You have figured it all out. Best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I was being deadly serious about David O'Leary by the way.

Kenny is on easy street and he knows it. Billy Bingham managed 2 World Cup Teams with an ounce of Kenny's resources. RIP. Beating the World Cup hosts is no mean feat all politickles aside. Who exactly at Abbotstown actually thinks Kenny is a good idea, honest question?

Bring back the Bacon Slicer - if a manger thinks his decisions do not have ramifications on or off the pitch he is living in La La Land.

I reckon O'Leary, Chris Hughton or maybe Duffer needs to get the finger out. He talks a good game anyways and had the experience. How many caps has Stephen Kenny?

Out of our price range and a very basic bitch manager for the millions it would cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Everyone needs oxygen to survive. Oh, oops, I meant only myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Well they beat Japan(Ranked 23) 3-1 in the final...

Qatar beat Saudi Arabia, South Korea en route to the final...both nations regular's at world cups...and I'd have Japan and South Korea ahead of Ireland...

The current crop of Irish players are championship/league 1...we have maybe 2 premiership quality players...at most

Listen the loss to Armenia is terrible, we are creating opportunities, but not enough clear cut chances...

I think Kenny needs to only pick players who are playing regularly, Jeff against Ukraine looked like a man who hadn't played a game for 6 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

We need to think outside the box, how about an octopus picks the team?

"His keepers at the Sea Life Centre in Oberhausen, Germany, mainly tasked him with predicting the outcomes of international matches in which the German team was playing. Paul correctly chose the winning team in four of Germany's six Euro 2008 matches, and all seven of their matches in the 2010 World Cup—including Germany's third place play-off win over Uruguay on 10 July. He also correctly chose Spain as the winner of the 2010 FIFA World Cup final.[2] In all, Paul amassed an overall record of 12 correct predictions out of 14: a success rate of approximately 85.7%."

🙈🙉🙊

Who is Paul as i just seen this today.

Has he any idea of how we can get back to Roy Keane era.

We don't have the players/trust in admin. Manage what.

This game is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

All the LOI lads love Kenny and are biased towards him because it makes the league look better than it is.

Theyll never not think he's a great manager because he's on of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Who’s up for a laugh?

contract for life imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

Superb goal. A lot of the people on this thread will be very disappointed to see Ireland winning 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

People have really short memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Duffy on back stick from the dead ball is a masterstroke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭chicorytip

I think the main problems are at the back. Kelleher gets hyped beyond his ability and was largely to blame for the goals conceded against Armenia and Ukraine. It's telling that no other clubs seem interested in signing right now unlike Bazunu, who appears a superior keeper to me. In front of him things look no better. Duffy's main attribute is his threat at set plays while Egan is just ordinary Championship level. Both can be rash and prone to glaring errors. I think Kenny has to accept that we are not capable of building attacks by playing out from the back. So, the defence needs to defend foremost, by pushing up the field and man marking.You don't need great abilty to do that, just discipline and organisation. If you can't defend properly you won't win games.Klopp and Pep will tell you that. Bad defensive play is what is undermining this Irish team at present and it's a pity because we do have good midfielders who can move and pass it about effectively and strikers who are capable, let's say, of scoring. I think we can beat Scotland, despite our inadequacies.

well would those be the people who think kenny isnt up to much or the other lot who say our players are all shite? by all means elaborate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

The sad cases that jump up and down with glee when Ireland are losing because of whatever pathetic bias they have.