If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I want Ireland to remain neutral.

I also think that we should be giving the refugees as much help and welcoming as possible. They don’t want to be here or anywhere else except home in their own country. They are very similar to the Irish refugees who fled at various stages in our history with only the possessions they could carry. They have my sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Rather nieve interpretation of how Irelands Nutrality is viewed around the world, if I recall not so long ago, Simon Coveney used it as his go to fluffy reason why Ireland deserved a sear on UN security Council, funny that 🤔

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You are being ridiculous. He does not want 43 million ukrainians here.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

O Dear, MM's silliness the EU parliament hasn't had universal approval,

This from a Swedish MEP, no less .

MM needs to stop embarrassing himself ,

Hope the MEP's tweet didn't distract Simon Coveney who's visiting Sweden and Finland.

Nope.. but he would be happy if he could snag 2 million... it would make the desired increases in population easier to achieve.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Back on topic everyone. It's all there in the thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Good showing of Ukrainian fans at the football match. Lots of flag waving Ukrainians behind the goals.

Surprised by the number of military aged males though.

I was speaking to some Ukrainian lads/ladies recently, and they said the conscription wasn't applied equally across the board, with it being enforced in some geographical areas but not in others. There was also the angle that with the amount of foreign support, it lessened the need for bodies, and also that a variety of Aid organisations encouraged the males to leave while they could.

Dunno how true all that was though.. these are people who have come here, after all, and might want to justify their own or their loved ones being here rather than fighting/dying in Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

Free tickets and free flags for the away team, only in Ireland

Based on tonight's performance, I think the FAI, figured we better do something in case Irish supporters walk out 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Commentators seem to want Ukraine to win.

Rte commentators. What a country . Its just...bizarre

I think Stephen Kenny and his team want Ukraine to win .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,500 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

That’s what I’ve always found to be a head scratcher, they hardly all have medical conditions precluding them from fighting…

google ‘Ukrainians arriving in Ireland’

a significant looking number of people from 18-60 in those ranks.

image.jpeg

here are two who arrived, they were in the media shortly after arriving as sadly their belongings were robbed but just women, children and the elderly it sure ain’t.

we have empathy but when your fûcking government and Taoiseach are spoofing up a storm to us citizens, sorry, it’s a gigantic piss take.

My sympathy has well and truly weaned at this stage. We are going to be bled dry, especially in the current crisis.

10k Ukrainians would have been enough. Accommodation, food and €50pw is more than enough. But 'The Magic Money Tree' can be found for them but not others.

We called about bulk buying coal today. We were told by the distributor that coal could potentially sell at €35 per bag soon.

Can you imagine how this will impact the elderly in this country in particular.

If the government does not have this famous blank cheque open to help our own vulnerable, I will be cutting down trees for firework outside the Dail.

I know a lot of people who are royally pizzed off too.

Nice to see Ukrainians of all ages enjoying the match tonight. Can't imagine some of the horrors and losses some of them have faced.

They're still refugees fleeing a warzone.. regardless of their gender. I agree that there is a piss-take going on, but I'd lay that on our government and the excessive supports they've promised. We committed to helping refugees. Male or female, it shouldn't matter... but we should be providing help that doesn't place Irish people at risk (as in cuts to the HSE, or even not finding resources to expand current capabilities), or leaving our own vulnerable portions of society to less supports. Which is going to happen due to government spending.

Still... I genuinely don't agree with the pointing out of Ukrainian males as being less worthy of refugee support than the women. I'd like to think we're wanting to move away from the historical BS that separated the genders, and allowed discrimination to occur based on rather flimsy reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,500 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The problem is klaz, we are being told one thing and when a completely different scenario transpires… unsatisfactory.

we are sold a vision yet we are simply being hoodwinked….

to be honest, I voted at every sort of election, local, national, EU, referendum, and always took part in the democratic process but that for my lifetime is at an end, it’s pointless really.

we are simply now pawns of the EU and it’s scary…. One of the principals of the EU it claims is promoting peace and stability… destabilising economies, public services, and the lives and wellbeing of millions of ordinary citizens isn’t promoting stability.

The arrivals seem to have dwindled to a trickle. Just shy of 35,000 refugees at the moment. 10,000 living with families. Most of the rest crammed into warehouse style buildings or old, draughty convents and other such disused buildings, , sleeping on camp beds, sharing facilities. Not many have individual homes.

Interesting discussion on Morning Ireland on how different refugees experiencing the process of getting supports, Syrian refugee interviewed, has filled out forms gone to process and essentially facing hurdles and walking the streets aimlessly. Meanwhile government proposing to speed up application process for supports for Ukranian Refugees "Only"

Meanwhile, Direct Provision numbers Grow to over 11k

Beggar's belief really 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm just going to say it.. Enough is enough!

I'm sorry Russia invaded Ukraine and the effect it's had on the Ukrainian people, but we have our own problems that successive Governments have refused to address (or actively made worse) and been told every excuse as to why it can't be done.

Week after week we are seeing more reports of the economic effects this is having on our country - petrol/diesel back over €2/l, food costs increasing, utility bills increasing, people being forced to choose between the essentials, less and less properties available etc etc - and yet at the same time, massive amounts of money and resources are being diverted to support an unlimited number of people who are travelling from one end of Europe to another to get here.

As I said previously, it's bad now but just wait until the colder autumn and winter months set in and the effects of the cost increases above REALLY hit. Wait until Covid worrying starts again as the seasonal nature of it puts increased pressure on an already stretched health service. Wait until the hysteria about climate change forces more tax increases in the budget, wait until interest rates start to rise and the effect that'll have on mortgages, wait until increasing talk of a global recession becomes reality etc.

Yet despite all this we have Micheal, Leo, Helen and co chasing social media trends and likes and desperate for approval from our EU "betters" (feeding our long-standing national inferiority complex), while the country starts to circle the drain, not just economically but as our social cohesiveness (already splintered by Covid and increasing importing of US-led identity and culture war politics) wanes even more than it already has.

As I said, enough is enough. It's time to close the doors and look after our own problems because the way we're going, I fear it'll make the financial crisis and the effects it had here look like a bad weekend. This time it's not just money and jobs that are at risk, but our right to expect our country and leaders to support us and put our needs first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Field east

A little bit of a suggestive comment. Would some of them have been. In Ireland for a number of years?

Excellent post, well said and couldn't agree more, Thanks X 100 👍😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Kieran Cuddihy on Newstalk yesterday giving a soft interview with the regular MASI spokesman pushing for the government to speed up the end of direct provision and provide own door accommodation. Earlier he interviewed Ms Wynne from Clare bemoaning the extreme lack of rental properties in the country. Might be something to do with the government needing houses for all the Ukranians promised accommodation ?. If the government are serious about ending direct provision house building will have to be seriously ramped up to cope with all the numbers involved.

https://twitter.com/NewstalkFM/status/1534600937616064513?cxt=HHwWgoCy6YHb_8sqAAAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

If they want to address the DP problem, we need to stop allowing chancers to keep lodging appeal after appeal at our expense, while simultaneously complaining about the conditions.

If they don't like it, they're more than welcome to leave and try their luck elsewhere.

They may have been serious about ending DP, but infact made little if any effort in doing so, I'll grant them some understanding due covid but in essence the open door policy on Ukrainian access as in essence ended any hope in ending DPin the near future, in fact as I mentioned earlier numbers have increased substantially. It's obviously not just the Ukranian situation, it's the total lack of actual accommodation available too and not just affecting refugees. Governments own Policies have infact made an already intolerable and appalling situation actually worse and how few are seeing or acknowledging this, is beggar's belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Stranger Things

Agree with the idea, not the results. Think as decent human beings we as a a nation would help out as much as we good but I just feel we are being taken advantage of. I’m sure we all seen the videos of a few questionable Ukrainian ‘refugees’ arriving from other nations but even with the amount of fit and healthy coming over is dodgy in my opinion. Listen everyone deserves peace and my sympathy lies with the Ukrainian people but no man over 18 should be on Irish soil since defecting Ukraine. I don’t think other nations like Ukraine would be so keen to support us if the UK just invaded us tomorrow.

Apologises for lack of research here but with schools, universities and clothing. Are we handing all these out free, are college places guaranteed for all Ukrainian refugees if the grade is achieved. Are all refugees getting accommodation where some Irish cannot. Like are we screwing the citizens of Ireland over here for refugees. Personally we have let too many in and looking to be the good boys of Europe. New phones and all just seems so much virtue signalling. Maybe in a few years Ukraine could pay Ireland back the costs as a thank you but I’ve a feeling if hopefully this all ends and we get some normality if that’s even possible we will end up suffering the long terms effects of Ukrainians who don’t want to leave and the financial impacts as result of our actions.

Ahh well, I lost any faith in democracy a very long time ago. Voting in a party or individual politicians into office means squat because there's a huge range of decisions they'll make that doesn't involve the electorate, even slightly.

We are pawns of our own political parties. We don't need to blame the EU because our own politicians are extremely quick to sell us out to gain virtue points. When Ukraine kicked off, our politicians could have resisted the EU, the same way Poland did over immigration, and if done properly, they would have gained support from many of the other member states. They didn't though, and that's the problem with the EU. We have no representation there that involves the wellbeing of the Irish people. If we did, things wouldn't be so bad.

The EU is what it is today, because politicians don't think of the Irish <insert national group> and instead have been thinking about other rubbish. It's why we're seeing a shift in politics across all of Europe, and growing dissatisfaction.

It's a little more complex. All "Ukrainian " refugees are getting accommodated and supports as a result of an EU directive, what that accommodation entails is were it gets too complicated but in essence, yes they are being prioritised in every respect.

Re University placements, in essence they are being supported in "Continuing " their education, Simon Harris made all sorts of unattainable promises (nothing new there), but how these Ukrainian students Grades or even their actual enrollment in a Ukrainian Universities is even verified remains a perplexing question, there is essentially no checking done and it's near impossible to verify anything with Ukrainian authorities at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Few crackers again on the Facebook help page.

Out and out asking how do I get a social gaff.

Another family in Spain 6 years looking to get here, they want social for the parents as they are in the red, Willing to go back to Ukraine just to "FLEE"

Others going back for trips, few days, few weeks. No war then?

One lad in Germany a few months wants to get here because it's closer to Ukraine for trips back and forth when the war ends. So Ireland is now closer than Germany?

Endless posts of how to send money back to Ukraine. No doubt good oul Irish taxpayers money going straight out of the country.

Plenty more beauts on there.

I know it sounds terrible but I think we need to get a grip on this before we're fucked.