Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long until we see €2 a litre and will it push more to EV's faster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I suppose at €5 a litre it would become viable for someone to go to the effort to start stealing fuel from parked cars to resell.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

denmark seems to be 50c/l more than ireland, and i believe society has not yet collapsed there.

https://www.cargopedia.net/europe-fuel-prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭enricoh

Jaysus - discretionary spending is going to get hammered as a lot of people just won't have any. I can see a lot of people on lower wages just packing in their jobs if there's much driving to work at all involved.

Was looking at car prices at a garage while herself was shopping n people are gonna be in for a shock when they go to replace yokes.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It will take a long time to get there. What is likely in the interim is that many who choose to drive but have alternative options to get from A to B will choose the alternative options rather than continue to spend a large whack of their weekly income in a petrol station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,859 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Relative to overall salaries ireland is a long way down the list- look at somewhere like Bosnia - fuel prices make up a far greater proportion of income

You're more likely to see more and more finding alternatives e.g. Cycling, walking, PT, car pooling etc.

The 20% cut to train fares has made it more attractive- personally love the train and think Irish rail give a good service despite the bad press- anytime I use it it’s very punctual and clean.

Their Achilles heal is the lack of frequency on the line I’m on (Waterford line). Trains should be at least hourly

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

what's the average monthly spend on petrol/diesel in ireland? we'd be probably at the lower end of the scale, would get probably 45-50l every four weeks or so; it would have been (at a guess) €75 for a tank a year ago, now €100. but that's not much more than a fiver a week difference so it's not impacting us in any meaningful way.

I used to fill twice a month, 130 liters total. Sold the car back in Oct 2020,think it was around 170 a month at that stage. If I was still doing it I'd be around 280 a month now.

Thank fudge for remote working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

My local makes a fortune on the stuff they sell in the shop , they're flat out all day

Sandwiches made and sold for 3-50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

My monthly diesel spend is working out at 280-300 euro now.

I have a 2.5 hour round trip commute for work 4 days a week.

Am thinking that I need to change that pretty soon. I'll have to start reallocating that spend with everything else shooting up.

I fill about every two weeks- 2 litre diesel and drive as part of work. Over €100 to fill now. most of the cost is covered so I’m luckier than most. I haven’t particularly altered any driving habits and from being out on the roads I can’t see much in the way of less traffic about either.

In terms of Ireland I think actually we travel more than the average European in our cars- more like America really. Not surprising given our public transport but also part of the culture here-I’d say go to Holland or Denmark it’s perfectly common not to own a car-it’s the norm here.

Id say it’s people that commute a long distance that something like this really impacts as they are filling up weekly or even more- that’s a huge proportion of salary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Hardly worth bothering with any social trips now in the car

Cost of everything else is gone up along with the petrol

For someone say on a relatively good salary circa €60k- net salary that is touching 10% per month of net salary- on fuel alone to get to/from work. That’s a massive figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I buy at least 200L of diesel a month. I suppose there €400pm , probably €100pw

I've no idea what I actually spend, I use fuel cards and QR codes to get 8¢ off, and I usually find the cheapest circle k.

Because I travel so much. I don't have to go out of my way to get to the cheapest station.

It's gotten rediculas, the government must reduce duty even more when the current duty discount ends in August (I think it's August, open to correction)

Post edited by mikeecho on

that said, the stated two and a half hour a day commute is way above the average. it's more than double the national average from the 2016 census.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

209.9 for Diesel in Kilrush, Clare today.

225.9 for Unleaded... If this is where we are headed, we're in big trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

Crap I didn't realise the 20c cents off was only till August. It will probably be 2.50 a litre for petrol come August if it keeps going the way it is. Then if the 20 cents is put back on it brings it up again overnight. Possibly be 3 euro a litre come September. Its just mental and that's not on top if you buy oil for your house etc. I say people between food and fuel for car and electricity and maybe gas in the house about 70 euro there down a mth at moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭harmless

For most people the big difference will be the price on everything else going up as a result of fuel prices not the price they pay at the pump.

Put the one at the pump has a gigantic sign so that's where the focus will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

This present government or the next incoming government would seriously need to focus how many extra mouths are being allowed to enter the country needing social welfare as one massive outcome from these fuel prices will be a massive increase in people who are presently working presenting themselves for social welfare benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭macvin

Many of those "extra mouths" are now working and paying taxes. Its now close to 35% of working age Ukranian refugees that are working and the number grows daily. Also a good few have started to return home.

the same xenophobia was there when Poland joined the EU, yet very quickly they were net contributors to countries and now are substantial net contributors

You also don't understand that near 100% of what is paid in social welfare is immediately put into the local economy as its spent in local shops.

A few extra euro on fuel is not going to suddenly see a spike in unemployment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

I have no problem with Ukrainian refugees as they are here through no fault of their own and should be fully supported. It's the economic migrants I have a problem with are you still under the illusion it's only doctors and professional people were letting in.

And yes a few extra euros on fuel will have an affect on alot of jobs and trades thus meaning less work and less jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It will help drive down wages and thus drive down inflation.

The surge in Eastern European labour circa 20 years ago was essential to keep wage growth under control.

You can have an open migration policy or you can have a society and economy at the mercy of Unions.

A few extra Euro may not affect you but there are an awful lot of people at breaking point and you should come down from the cosy ivory tower to have a look. It's a few extra Euro on top of several versions of that for the last 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭macvin

I'm certainly on no ivory tower. Fuel prices will subside at some point as its affecting people worldwide. American motorists are feeling the pain with most states over $5 per US gallon (3.8litres) and over $6 in California (almost €1.50 per litre). Diesel is even higher at average of almost $6 generally and $6.50 in California. That's not far off the price here excluding VAT and their cars are not exactly known for efficient small engines (average mpg = 25.4 v 39 in EU), so the are REALLY feeling pain.

In Europe, countries with far lower average earnings are suffering as badly and many are more expensive. Portugal, Spain, Italy Greece, Lithuania, Latvia, & Albania are more expensive than here (along with most well off countries - germany, denmark norway, Sweden, finland etc) and that means HUGE pressure is being put on political parties all over Europe and further afield.

There is price gouging going on at refineries. Share prices of main refinery operators have jumped a whopping 60% since February as their profits have gone into the stratosphere.

On July1st last year refining margin for diesel was $4.87, Today it is $55. That $50 difference equates to 38c at the pump - almost WORLDWIDE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I still believe that there is a strong possibility that availability will be a bigger issue than price in the coming year.

Btw . If anyone in cork had unwanted empty gas cylinders.. I'll be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,480 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

If availability is a concern then these middle/upper management morons need to stop telling people they need to be back in the office for absolutely no reason. So many bog standard office jobs that have no need to be there now being forced back now and lots of companies now backtracking on their promises. Unless the government order work from home mandates we won't see a reduction in people driving to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I can't speak for Denmark so I don't know but I do know that many countries fuel price isn't like for like with Irelands because other countries include insurance, motor tax in the cost of fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Who cares? This "good economy" isn't making our lives any better is it?

At these prices at least it is becoming clear that most people genuinely have no alternative.

We can blame the housing crisis and our terrible public transport and employers forcing employees into offices but the number of cars won't decrease.

People will ultimately pay the price or sign on if it gets non profitable to work.