Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,353 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The only‘celebrity’ I’ve met is Kevin Kilbane. When I say met I mean I served him pints in Preston and ended up drinking in some posh pub in Dublin after an international. Grand lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Saw Karl Shiels outside a pub smoking. Two auld wans walked by on the street and shouted "Your Robbie from Fair City". He put his hand up and gave them a smile and went back to smoking. It stands out because a couple of weeks later he died suddenly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

A long time back I met Anne Doyle through a work engagement - a very nice person to chat with.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭MakersMark

I saw Johnny Giles in the Airport once.

Very short.

He looked more like an award for Johnny Giles lookalike competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Google “ Sammy Sausages”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

allegedly, a few years ago Alan “Sammy Sausages” was in panto in the Tivoli theatre in Francis st.

there was supposed to be a meet & greet for members of the audience who paid for the privilege,

Sammy stormed off in a huff when not enough people were foolish to grace his presence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭furiousox

More sammy sausages and less tedious rugby bickering please.

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Reminds me if the Packie meet n’ greets. He’d still snub ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Many years ago working in a South Dublin hotel RTE were holding rehearsals for a celeb talent show, a band was playing with all the celeb singers, some good some not so great, the band certainly earned their money, model pros.

The show in question had a number of mentors I think the term was, who were supposed to demonstrate how an experienced performer does their stuff, they also practiced with the band, who continued to be model pros.

At this point enters the bowld Twink. A mentor I believe, came in with all the melodrama you'd expect, took to the stage and proceeded to sing completely out of key, consistently mucking things up whilst the band pressed on to their merit.

Twink was unsurprisingly for a malignant narcissist not the party at fault for these ongoing issues, she became increasingly belligerent and argumentative to the point where she shouted for the band to stop and proceeded to unleash a lengthy diatribe describing how inept she felt each of the musicians were and how they were at fault for everything and that they'd never work in Irish show business again before mentioning how important and wonderful she was and how she never experienced such unprofessional behavior in all her life.

This was a few years before her "zip up yer mickey" voice message, when that dropped it didn't surprise me at all.

An odious excuse for a human being.

I was also at a advance screening of a movie a couple of months before Covid, the celebs present were mostly OK, Bernard Dunne wasn't happy with his seat and asked if the staff knew who he was. Brian Ormond (who?) nearly pushed me down a flight of stairs when a member of staff announced she was validating parking tickets after the movie ended so he could be first to get his ticket punched.

Eamon Dunphy was bang on, life and soul of the party, Graeme Souness was polite and had a handshake you'd expect Graeme Souness to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I met Peadar Lamb (RIP) once years ago. Another wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Met Brian McFadden once years ago, was in Castle Towers shopping centre (Sydney) very late at night as it was Christmas Shopping. Wife and myself had been there for a meal with her folks, and she wanted to call into some clothes shop before we left. I sat down outside waiting, 5mins later McFadden lobbs up. Sits down at the other table, there’s no one else around he gives a slight nod. I say evening are you just doing a bit of midnight shopping? The look of panic once he heard my accent, he just mumbled something and dropped the head. Probably thought I was going deck him or something. My wife came out a bit oblivious to it and we walked off, she said Delta Goodrem was in there and I said I sort of guessed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Jmccoy1

Brendan Grace - Gentleman, RIP

Anthony Foley - Sound, RIP

Peter Stringer - Legend

Alan Quinlan - Sound

Marcus Horan - Sound

Tomás O'Leary - Sound

Brian Spillane - Nice fella, good doctor

Ian Dowling - Sound

Donnacha O'Callaghan - Gas man, legend

Paul O'Connell - Legend

Jamie Heaslip - Sound, even took my photo with the 6N trophies for me

Gerry Ryan - Absolute stuck up you know what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

I don't get the Gemma reference, obviously there was a Gemma somewhere who said something similar I guess but that ain't me.

We were doing work for her not with her if that makes any difference, she was paying us so we had to listen to the endless middle class woman / I'm hard done by / I'm persecuted / am I expected to contribute endless moaning, fųck she was hard going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭mikethecop

ok first of all no one defending anyone but....

the fable abut pissing on a girl was what i referred to as being debunked as a lie,

what is with the hostility from your and your pal here, the stink of bitterness of ye

this was a nice interesting thread now blighted by unrestrained and vitriolic hatred along with a sprinkling of lies from two sad little boys who couldnt make the team 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Met and dealt with Bertie Ahern a few times. Came across as one of the lads and in good humour, I'd have time for him.

Met bono a handful of times too but nothing major, in passing with a hello etc. Seemed a good guy I thought.

Was in the background of a tv show Alan Hughes was doing and can agree with everyone here about him being a prick. Once the camera is off he's a knob head to everyone. (Twink was the same according to others and I believe Rory from Miss's Browns boys was known to be a real Queen too from reports. Trend indeed)

Worked with Evanna Lynch on a movie for a few weeks and well she thinks she's right up there when realistically she's not. A good bit stuck up. Her co star was an English bloke and he was absolutely sound out which was nice.

Was at an event once with a few heads at it, Daniel o Donnell, Baz, Keith Duffy and a few others. Was a big enough private event so they were in good behaviour.

I must be the only one not to meet Brendan Gleeson or Colm meaney !

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Forgot one fella, although not a huge celebrity, but like his music. Neil hannon I've met a few times. Sound out, plus he makes me feel tall! Bonus points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Met Grainne Seoige briefly a few weeks ago, didn't recognize her at first, but, recognized her voice when she said hello, she seemed pleasant enough, smaller than I'd imagined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Munstergirl854

I haven't read every page on the thread here but has Bernard Brogan been mentioned?

Strikes me as very serious in interviews...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

I've meet Bernard Brogan on two occasions both work related. Both times I've found him to be polite and professional, if perhaps a little aloof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

I hate to speak ill of the dead but this reminded me of the time I met Gerry Ryan and had the same impression. I was only a kid and he was opening Liffey Valley Centre and I was all excited to see someone famous (big bogger head on me). But then I dropped my milkshake in the crowd - near the stage - and he started complaining about it loudly. Like in a big mouthy way. Was pretty **** of him TBH.

Gabriel Byrne is sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,723 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Whenever Gerry Ryans name is mentioned nowadays this pops into my head. We were shown the anti drugs educational video that this was part of in secondary school, little did we know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Yeah, rugby players - particularly those from Limerick - seem exempt from criticism even when having committed criminal acts. Like drink driving and manslaughter. Sure, he's a grand fellah really.

Nobody on this thread defended what O'Brien did, which was reprehensible. A couple of us have pointed out he didn't do something else that he was accused of doing on the thread. There's a difference.

"Rest in peace" and "Another wanker" in the same post - jesus, what on earth made you so bitter and twisted?! Was he wearing a rugby shirt at the time, or something?

#BeKind is a great signature, though! 🙄

Ah, there's a right-wing conspiracy theorist called Gemma that comes out with bullshit like she's "never seen a gay person that's happy", it just seemed to fit the stereotyping.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Ray d'Arcy - at a charity event. Professional and friendly, but not inclined to hang around and chat.

Dev Toner - on the same flight as us back from Portugal a few years ago. No airs or graces, chatted with anyone who chatted to him.

BOD - once at an open training session, and once where he was coming through airport immigration at the same time. Both times, he had a phone glued to his ear, probably to deter chats with strangers and requests for selfies. But then I've also seen him hanging around for ages after a match to sign autographs for kids. A friend was in the same pub as him once for her birthday; friends told him it was her birthday and she was a huge fan, he came over, posed for photos and chatted away.

Cillian Murphy - another airport encounter! With his family. Again no airs or graces, chatted with anyone who chatted to him.

Mick Clohessy (the Olympic marathon runner, not the hurler) - at a VHI promo at a parkrun. Sound, happy to hang around and chat with everyone.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I saw mention of Zinedine Kilbane and had forgotten he drank in my local quite a bit and was bang on, just one of the lads really. We got stuck on there during that mad storm in 2018 and he was in there getting plastered with the rest of us

Post edited by LollipopJimmy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,987 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Strange that Rory from Mrs Browns Boys is getting so much bad press, maybe deserved I dunno but….when he was on the show 5/6 years ago he used to have a jar with other cast members in our local a few times a year and was always very civil and pleasant to the staff… always spoke to them addressing them by name if he knew it and if you were at the bar as a punter and he was up to get the drinks in and he knew your face as a regular or semi regular he wouldn’t be above just passing the time of day with you and seemed a very genuine sort.

Likewise Jennifer Gibney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Clint_Westwood

A friend of mine used to work in a pub that Ronan O' Gara would frequent. She said that he had a habit of tearing up beermats while chatting to his mates and leaving all the torn up pieces on the floor for the staff to clear up afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭CinderKone

Can we include 2nd generation Irish, if so:

Noel Gallagher sound. Had a drink with us and talked about the 7 weeks we used to spend in Ireland in the summer and coming back with Irish accents.

The Pogues also except Shane who was a little aloof.

Elvis Costello sound.

Neil Morrissey sound. Used to drink in Shepards Bush. Loved going back to Ireland as a kid.

Barry McGuigan I bored him senseless with my boxing stories as an amateur and he listened. Yes Barry's Irish.