Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Bumped into Brent Pope on Friday morning in the queue for security at Dublin Airport. Lovely guy, happy to pose for a selfie, then chatted away with everyone about our prospects the rest of the way through. Alan Quinlan was at the gate and when boarding, Popey said "Go on ahead, I don't have priority boarding!" Mentioned meeting Popey on our rugby WhatsApp and everyone who'd met him immediately came back with stories of how sound he was.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Yeah i met him once or twice too, complete a%%hole, a walking ego, thinks hes Gods gift. You could see that going back to the days when he dated Glenda Gilson, he really hammed up the celebrity boyfriend thing and he thought mullets were actually fashionable 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Daniel O'Donnell dated Glenda Gilson??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Not that i know of! I was mentioning Brian O Driscoll.

Hahaha okay, I didn't read the full quote, just saw Daniel O'Donnell at the top of the quote.... 2+2=5 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

BOD did.

Messy break up at the time if memory serves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,415 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Was during the "Daniel in Blue Jeans" phase, he was completely off the rails, in Lillies every other night, weekends in Marbella with Gavin Lambe Murphy and Johnny Ronan, grabbing everything in sight and stuffing whatever he could up his nose/in his veins. In the end Margo drove to Dublin and kidnapped him, dropped him on Owey island off Donegal for a month with nothing but a tank of fresh water and a fishing rod, to try and straighten him out.

He's been clean ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

A friend went along to a signing for BODs book said he was a dour, surly bollocks. This guy would be a massive rugby fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Remember that he once levelled a few guys outside a night club with some karate kicks. Moves fast shocked I was especially the language out of him. Or was that someone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,267 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

No that was Daniel...

Apparently he was furious because Michael Flatley took the last table in the VIP area, even though Daniel arrived before him! Flatley did some mad tap dance around Daniel to get the table first!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,965 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,937 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

the time him and lindsay lohan went to burning man was a highlight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭CylonXIII

Aiden Gillen - Always see him around town, especially the Grogans area and he always seems nice

Alan Hughes - absolute a$$hole, puts himself above everyone around him with no consideration for anyone else

Michael Fassbender - a gentleman, met him in a bar in Madrid in December 2015, had time for a chat and offered to introduce us to Brendan Gleeson who he was filming with at the time

Paul McGrath - One of the nicest people you could meet, had plenty of time to chat about footballing memories and to take a picture

Bono - Said hi to him in Peters Pub in Dublin before, said hi back, he left not long after and our next round was paid for by him after he had gone, didn't get to say thanks

Christy Moore - Another nice person, wanted to know about us and what we were up to, delighted when we said we were from Kildare, a legend in the county but as down to earth as they come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,053 ✭✭✭growleaves

'I suppose Graham Linehan made his millions, and that's all that matters to him.'

Not the biggest fan of Graham Linehan but it's not his fault that many actors have effectively taken a vow of poverty.

There was a Game of Throne actor caught shoplifting to feed his family

There was a theatre actor in Dublin I know of who had to take a second job in retirement.

It can be a hard life if you don't come from wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Archeron

Met Miriam O Callaghan at a work thing I had to attend. She kind of came across like a terminator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭rob316

That reminds me when I was about 14 I was sitting against the bonnet of Donnocha O Callaghan cars outside the local shop, he pulled me off it when he came out, didnt even say get off. Langer 😂

Other rugby players I met, Keith Wood absolute gent. Held the door for my entire family like 25 years ago leaving a restaurant and had a chat with my dad who's a big rugby fan.

Ronan Gara I couldn't express how much of a tosser he is, came to my house a few times when he was much younger he was friends with our babysitter.

A tosser he may be, and I'd well believe it, but he's now a Heineken Champions Cup winning manager and player - he's achieved a lot in the game and it's not all old glory day stuff from a decade ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Regarding "Experiences with Irish Celebrities" a friend had a thing going with a leading Irish Impersonator who liked to wear a leather gimp mask for certain activities. Answers on a post card!

I was going to specify the friends sex but that would have narrowed the field down too much....

I genuinely feel sorry for the people who are compelled to worship Irish rugby players, ie the privileged spoiled “stars” of a third tier world sport played by like ten small to medium sized countries. Seriously do they not have enough gumption to do something with their own lives?

“ROG,” “Drico,” and “Sexo” wouldn’t piss on most of their fans if they were on fire and yet the Dublin media and Irish fans queue up to lick their holes for them. It’s pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭thefallingman

i've heard stories of Rog blowing thousands in paddy power bookmakers and being very rude aswell to staff and punters alike

A lot of vitriol there.

I hope I'm not assumed to be a rugby worshipper - I'm not. I do enjoy a good game of rugby, but then again I do enjoy a good game of hurling or soccer either and I'd be bored to tears at a mediocre game of any of them. But yeah I do agree that there tends to be a frenzied support by some of the overzealous for rugby.

I can appreciate skill and achievements without liking the person. I love listening to Chuck Berry, the man revolutionised rock and roll and kickstarted all that followed, but he was an awful person, despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭thefallingman

agreed, same as georgie best, alex higgins rory mcilroy all great sportsmen but terrible humans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Meet Nicky Byrne loads of times & he is a sound a real nice fella

I know Stephan Ward & Robbie Brady ( footballers) both really good lads

Liam Cunningham is also a great chap ,

Brian McFadden - not so nice,

I knew Vouge Williams when she was younger & she was actual alright ,

Leo Cullen - what a n absolute prick , rest of the Leinster lads seem nice blokes ,

If you’re trying to separate the person from his achievements then why bring up his achievements at all in a thread about people meeting the person?

I think the likes of “ROG,” “Drico” and Paddy Jackson have been defended enough for their rugby prowess. Some of us still have the right to say “so fuckïng what.”

Been on the lash with Dáithí ó Sé a few times after various GAA matches. Sound man, and he’d drink beer out of a smelly welly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭griffin100

I've met Sean O'Brien a good few times, and apart from trying to p!ss in my pocket 😁 he was sound and surprisingly shy and softly spoken. Also met Paul O'Connell through work and he's very intense but seemed ok.

I was introduced to Niall Quinn at a party one night. I'm not a soccer fan but when I was a kid I was a big Arsenal fan and I mentioned to him watching his debut for Arsenal and his first goal against Liverpool. He seemed chuffed that I remembered this and was happy to chat about it and 1980's football in general and was an absolute gent.

Would have met Saoirse Ronan loads of times as she is from the same part of Carlow that I live in is / was good friends with a neighbour's kid and she's always been lovely, but her Dad on the other hand is an obnoxious w@nker.