Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭hayse

I saw a actor from fair city today. My week is complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Know of a similar story of another well known Irish rugby player who ended up back in the apartment of this girl one night. When she spurned his advances, he left and snapped the neck of her kitten on the way out. Heard the story from a guy that knew him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

🙄 Your "gotcha" turned out to be bollocks, you could just admit it.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,785 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Met Shane Lowry and Conor Moore in the same bar on the same night in NYC a few years ago (after the PGA Championship in Bethpage Black). Both were bang on and would have chatted all night if I didn't insist that I wouldn't bother them for too long.

Have met Paul McGrath on numerous occasions since he has moved down to Wexford. A gentle giant of a man with an infectious smile.

Bumped into John O'Shea at Dubrovnik airport in 2018. Absolute gent as well, had time for everyone else who subequently recognised him and helped a mammy lift her buggy on and off a shuttle bus.

Met BOD once, around the height of his career- was a bit smarmy and loved himself.

Gary Breen queued beside me for a Ryanair flight to London a couple of months before Covid. He was very rude to the staff and not friendly to anyone else either.

Joe Duffy has a holiday home down my way, is a sound divil who'd talk to anyone. Far removed from his radio persona.

Hector was bang on any time I met him, albeit at event settings.

Probably the nicest man I have ever met, famous or otherwise, is Micheal O'Muirceartaigh. He has some presence for a man his age and you can't help but listen attentively when he talks. Actually bumped into Enda Kenny a couple of minutes after meeting Micheal, and while very 'politician-y', he seemed like a decent skin on the face of it.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

I’d imagine some current and former politicians would get dogs abuse from the SF type ‘goons’ with ill informed rants about housing and health etc.

If this happened the best deed you can do today is name and shame the bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

It's only a story he heard from a mate like .don't think it would be wise to name and shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,669 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Met Michael O Muirceartaigh too, lovely person. Beyond nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Same carry on from that individual on the Unfunny Irish Comedians thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭mickward

Seen him in a hospital coffee shop one evening, a old lady approached who was staying in the hospital and asked for a picture, he was shocking rude, i never forgot it and have a dislike after that for this man, i know he was visiting someone in hospital and had his own burdens but jasus an auld doll looking a picture just smile and let them move on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

So did I. Impossible to describe how lovely a gentleman he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

A few years back I was at a big match in Croke Park. We parked up on a side street off O'Connell Street and Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh parked near us. He literally couldn't go 10 feet without someone looking for a photo. I think Tyrone were playing at the time. They were treating him like a God.

Guys I worked with were out one night in Limerick and met Kevin Dundon the chef. One of them shouted over "Kevin, photo photo". When he came over, the comedian in the group handed him the camera. He was laughing and stayed a good while to chat away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭thefallingman

what a nice way to be described, by many in this thread aswell. The opposite to Alan Hughes it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Who is Alan Hughes by the way? I couldnt be bothered googling. I recognise most names here but havent a notion who he is. What makes him a celeb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,414 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

An arse by the sounds of it. I only remember him from talkabout, dont watch morning tv but think he's on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SligoSean

My sister was at a function and Mícháel Ó Muircheartaigh was there...when my sister explained that our mother is from Kerry and enjoyed his book, he suggested my sister call her and he then chatted with her for a good ten minutes on the mobile! An absolute gentleman.

I was on a flight from Dublin to Birmingham a few years back and Robbie Keane was on the plane. He was happy to be approached and several people took photos with him, he seemed sound.

The Frames were on a flight I was on from Dublin to London many years ago and they all seemed sound, jovial and down to earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ladibai

A classy fella. Cant believe Leinster hired him this week and nothing said about this. Paddy Jacksons only issue was he didnt play for Leinster it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Careful, some people around here won't hear a word against rugby players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Played golf before and Paul mcgrath was on the hole ahead. We caught up with his group and had a bit of a chat on one of the tee boxes.

I read his book after that. Really great read. Seems like just a genuine nice and likeable guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Certainly, when outright lies are being spread about them.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

no, but some arent happy with absolute bollox being said by people who clearly know nothing about they happen to be speaking on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Or GAA players. Its usually a fierce defense along the lines of the poster having a grudge against an entire group of people. Curiously, the content is never defended, just attack the poster and provide no suitable counter arguments.

Some people love the attention they get when their local town places them on a pedestal because they are good at scoring goals. Many of them cop on later in life and realise how transient that adulation is when they start raising kids, facing health scares etc. Basically, life humbes them.

Others though dont mature a jot and spend their 30s,40s and beyond strutting around their local haunts as if they are Gods gift. GAA and rugby players can be very guilty of this. Not agreeing with that fact doesnt change it.

If you try to pull them up on their behaviour they always try to bring it back to soccer players’ wages or behaviour.

I run 60 miles a week faster than 95% of the Irish population, I’d love it if that could confer me the same kind of immunity from criticism rugby players get. It’s just a pity my parents didn’t send me to the right school.

so what youre saying is, youre jealous very few people give a toss about your sport rather than some others? thats the crux of the issue here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,053 ✭✭✭growleaves

Did you never consider taking up a team sport if you can faster than 95% of the Irish pop.?

Many contemporary sports, not just rugby, are based around running now, e.g. the Limerick hurling team literally outrunning the opposition in the 2018 All-Ireland Final.

Soccer players, especially wingers, are selected in part for running ability. So much so that Usain Bolt played in a soccer charity match for the crack a few years back.

So what I'm saying is that professional rugby players are over-indulged and worshipped in Ireland, despite the fact that they're usually arseholes off the pitch, because Irish people are dazzled by the success of Irish rugby teams abroad.

Fair play to them and all that but it's not like that many people actually play rugby on a global scale. Compare it with soccer, boxing, athletics etc (and the fact that rugby is hotly promoted by the RTE South Dublin media class), and it's obvious that the majority of Irish rugger buggers are being Pied Piper'd into drooling over a pack of spoiled poshos who lucked out by going to expensive schools.

Again: fair play. But I am astounded why anyone who isn't a spoiled ponce from D4 would give a shíte about the richboys' pastime. It'll be polo or carriage racing next.

'despite the fact that they're usually arseholes off the pitch' - the evidence on this thread has already proved that it is a select few that are arseholes, the majority are very friendly.

'it's not like that many people actually play rugby on a global scale' - badminton is usually around second or third in the worldwide rankings of sport by participation,

'professional rugby players are over-indulged' - in what way?

'are being Pied Piper'd into drooling over a pack of spoiled poshos who lucked out by going to expensive schools' - so basically youve a problem with people who have money?

'fair play. But I am astounded why anyone who isn't a spoiled ponce from D4 would give a shíte about the richboys' pastime' - just saying 'fair play' before a bullshit statement doesnt qualify it. its like saying 'oh hes a nice guy. but hes a c**t'

anyway,its very clear you have a very bitter outlook on things, maybe because youve chosen an interest that doesnt gain you as much popularity as more mainstream interests/sports. id suggest getting over yourself tbh