Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Alan Hughes is a pain in the arse. I know from experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Tinter Box

Played Super Nintendo with Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Before he was famous but Uber ambitious and a great mimic.

Same as other comments on Niall Quinn and a few of the rugby lads.

Met Grainne Seoige who is quite petite but very very good looking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Met a fair few over the years :

BOD - met him twice actually, seemed a very nice chap when I genuinely didn't know who he was (not a rugger fan)

Robbie Keane and his missus - met him in a hospital ward, he was very down to earth at the time

The Edge - met him a few times, gent

Niall Quinn, Paul Magrath, very nice lads and met them more than once also

Colin Farrell - such a normal guy, sound

Brendan O Carroll - seemed very nice, met him on a ferry

Packie Bonner - cold as ****

(Edited to make it Irish only list)

I'm sure there are lots I am forgetting 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭vandriver

I worked with Cormac delivering Chinese.

An absolutely sound guy.His illustrious delivery career came to a shuddering halt when his little Citroen 2CV fell in half going over a speed bump!,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭vandriver

In my taxi I've had Brendan Courtney,Dave O'Leary, Hector and some actress from Derry Girls.

All lovely except Hector.

Tried mooching an ex of mine in front of me!

Used to like Kerbdog before that 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

A long time ago I was one of the people looking after Pat Kenny's father in law and interacted with him a couple of times. Same with Kathryn Thomas and her Grandad. Both celebrities as charismatic as you would expect. Not horrible but also someone you probably wouldn't choose to spend any longer in their company than you had to.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I met Seamus Heaney at my graduation from university. (His daughter was graduating too). It was a week or two after it was announced that he had won the Nobel prize for literature.

This was almost the full extent of the conversation:

Seamus Heaney : You're very tall. Do you play basketball?

Me: Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭monseiur

Michael D came from a broken home, his father had a pub in Limerick (may have inherited it) He was an alcoholic, drank every penny, business went bankrupt, family left in penury. Being unable to raise his family they were ''farmed out'' to aunts & uncles to raise. I think Michael D was raised by his aunts in Co. Clare. He managed to get some type of scholarship to UCG, went into politics (Labour Party)...and the rest is history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

Jason Byrne - walking diarrhoea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

That's what you get if you sit in the kill zone, par for the course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yes, don't sit in the front row. You will get verbally abused at length by the comedians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Though high-level soccer players are handsomely paid, it is on the back of their own labour.

The likes of “RoG” and “Drico” went to posh rugby schools for richboys which afforded them the opportunity to play for top clubs. It’s totally un-meritocratic. They would be nobodies if it wasn’t for Mammy and Daddy sending them off to those schools.

Soccer players, even in Ireland and the UK, often grow up in desperately poor circumstances and manage to “make it” on the back of their (and I emphasis this next word) own hard work and talent.

Despite this they’re not placed on pedestals for being gods by the media/drooling populace. It’s only rugby players who have this status of worship in Ireland.

As for the minority sport comment: rugby is at most the second most popular sport in any country it is played to a high level, bar maybe New Zealand. It’s only popular in Ireland because the national team are good at it (at the moment) and the RTE south Dublin media class insist on promoting it and the “great craic” legends of the game.

Anyway that’s all I have to say about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Despite this they’re not placed on pedestals for being gods by the media/drooling populace.

Now I think you're actually trolling! Are you having a **** laugh?! One of the guys "not placed on a pedestal" in the premiership "earns" over STG£20 million a year and this is after he has literally admitted raping someone. So you're talking absolute **** bull!

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,937 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i met a gay once and he was cynical , it's nuts!! met a straight guy once and he was a gobshite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

He was smart enough not to waste the good lines on this sort of social interaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭blueskys

Not an irish celebrity but I was working in construction in New York in the 90's, mainly renovating apartments. We were a

mainly irish crew. One time we had just started a job on Paul Simon's place. One of the lads was walking around with him

talking about the fit out and giving it the humble irish 'yes mr. simon' 'ok mr. simon' etc. Anyway Paul Simon goes to him

'You don't have to call me mr.simon, just call me Paul it's fine...by the way what's your name?' His name was Alan Walsh. Without missing

a beat he goes 'Alan..but you can call me Al'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Met Heaney at an “event” not too long after he’d won the Nobel Prize. He signed a copy of his poetry collection ‘The Spirit Level’.

Had a similarly direct, and somewhat awkward, exchange where he asked me if it was still raining outside and I answered ‘yeah, think it is’ and that was that.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

What about that asswipe?

Unlike Ronaldo, Jackson didn't admit rape. Unlike Ronaldo, he was actually charged - but found not guilty in a trial. Despite that, he still had both his Ulster and Irish contracts cancelled, and will never play for an Irish team again.

Ronaldo? Admits rape, admits paying a victim to agree to a NDA, and continues to be one of the highest paid sportsmen in the world. You honestly don't see the difference between the two?!

So, yeah, not really the killer comeback you think it is.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

If you want to debate who's the better rapist, feel free to do that by yourself. My quibble was with someone defending RoG being an arsehole because of his achievements on the rugby pitch. My point being: who cares if he's a good rugby player if he's an arsehole. You'll be happy to hear I feel the same about Cristiano Ronaldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

And seeing all the Hector hate, he used to come into the restaurant I worked in 20 years ago, and was always really nice. Always left a big tip too (unlike Sharon Ni Bheolain, but she was perfectly pleasant)

Also in the same restaurant, Mick Lally was an absolute gent, Tommy Tiernan very much kept to himself, Gary Cooke of Apres Match was a knob, and Glen Hansard and the Frames were sound fellas. My favourite celebrity table was the Saw Doctors, who were an absolute joy to talk to.

And as with the previous thread, I have to point out that Cillian Murphy is an obnoxious, rude little @rseh0le.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Fairly limited experiences with Irish "celebrities" as you will see from my shortlist......

Brian Kennedy..... a self-centred pr*ck

Charlie Flanagan TD.... an arrogant old boll*x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Are you sure you're not mixing up Cillian Murphy with Jonathan Rhys Myers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Motivator

Wait I got this wrong. It was actually Niall Quinn that did that in An Poitin Stil. It wasn’t Bonner at all so he probably is the big bollocks people are saying he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭BrenMar

I sat next to Blathnaid Ni Chofaigh on a short flight, she was friendly and chatted to me about her family and got a bit emotional talking about her late father.

A really nice lady, with great hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Used to be minor celebs - Met the girls from Bellefire a number of times. Grand. Kelly Kilfeather was always a hoot!

Met Bono walking down Aungier Street one day. Friendly "hello, how are you....ahh shur grand yourself" exchanged.

Some non Irish ones;

Met many Premier League footballers (some Irish) from the mid 00's - Nigel Martyn, also a hoot

I was on the same flight to New York as Andie MacDowell several years ago, she might have ben filming the movie 'Tara Road' at the time. I generally dont approach people so I didnt approach her. But I saw her chatting to a couple of other randomers while waiting to board. Seemed aright from a distance

Met Eric Clapton in Dublin in 1991 about 6 months after his little son was killed. Nice man. 

Saw Katie Holmes in Los Angeles in 2008, again, didnt approach.