Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

🙄 You're well balanced, anyway, a chip on both shoulders!

Australia, South Africa - small! 🤣

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

Met Joe Rooney at Body & Soul one of the years around 3 in the morning. Sound guy having the absolute craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,967 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Bundee Aki, sound fellow, friendly. Daithi O'Se nice bloke likes his pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭mikemac2

My boyhood idol Packie Bonner blanked me and others a few times. Ok, ok we are entitled to nothing. But some of a certain generation worshipped him

We had a Celtic supporters group and would often see Packie on our flight as he was a coach. Never ever would give us the time of day. I know a Clontarf resident who says the same, no point even saying hello as you will be blanked

....on the other hand Mick McCarthy, would slap your back and talk to you like a long lost friend. He regularly took his Ipswich team to Shelbourne and would not leave until everyone had a photo and a kind word. Our supporters group also met him in airports and he would chat all day to us. Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Surprised at all the hate for Miriam O'Callaghan. Met her at a fundraiser and she was lovely. Genuinely interested in others. She had to leave to collect one of her many children from an activity.

Met Mary McAleese who was as you would expect - interesting, polite and friendly.

Also met the much maligned Jason Byrne. Found him alright actually. I suggested a skit to send to some friends and he was game.

Andy Lee is a gent.

David Ó Doherty is very sound. Met him after one of his gigs and he asked if anyone wanted a lift.

Donnacha O'Callaghan is dead on.

Cillian Murphys dog took a huge dump in front of us on the beach one day. He was apologetic, picked it up, seemed fairly down to earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 OhDearyAQuery

Its a bit rough to judge someone on one very brief encounter, Not sure any of the commenters would be a ray of sunshine 24/7? Although I would say though that some people certainly handle fame better than others.

From RTE met Marty Whelan, very sound and likable man and Pat Kenny too was also down to earth.

Pauline McGlynn an absolute angel who showed up to an award ceremony for people with mental health disabilities.

Brian McFadden acted like a total mug to me in a bar were I worked, "Here mate get us a vodka and coke not too much coke now, and I'll give ye one of these" *holds up a crisp fiver*. I sent another lad up to sort him out.

Contrary to others here, Brian O'Drico was apparently very sound to a relative of mine going out of his way to help her out on one occassion.

The Poet Brendan Kennelly held the door for me coming out of Dunnes on George's Street, full of smiles a lovely man no doubt.

Being a bit “odd” is a real Donegal thing for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

id suggest getting that chip removed from your shoulder asap before it causes more problems. O Driscoll is a prick yeah but O Gara is very friendly with fans although he might not have always been. Sexton is a gent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,675 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Micheal O Muirecheartaigh visited a fitness programme I was involved in pre covid…. always seemed like a nice guy and decent fella but when you meet him you experience an even greater appreciation for how much of a genuinely nice, kind and interesting and interested man he is..

he was 89 then I think, 91 now and put his good health and longevity down to doing a bit of exercise every day… 89 and not even needing a walking stick..

had time to walk about chatting to everyone….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Why? What are you going to do about it, tough guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,994 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

What the hell kind of comment is that? Just odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,277 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Every single one of these threads mentions Bonner and every single time no one has one good word to say about him. Lots of peoples experiences will differ in these encounters, sometimes they are just having a bad day but Bonner is consistently an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

i mean........nothing obviously? just suggesting that you'll probably be happier in general if you don't give as much of a **** about what other people are interested in, your problem with people who enjoy rugby seemed a bit ott

very very odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I've seen Jerry Flannery a couple of times in Limerick, he's smaller than I expected. I also saw Peter Stringer on the Luas to Heuston Station and met Paul O'Connell at a cancer unit opening at my workplace, he seems a really decent guy. My Dad done some work for Brendan Grace once and said he was a gentleman. My most obscure encounter was seeing Northern Irish chat show host Gerry Kelly sitting in Bewley's Cafe in Cruises Street Limerick about twenty years ago. I sometimes see Aidan Gillen and Brendan O'Connor around Dublin also.

I never approach any celebrities though as I would feel like I was bothering them. If my eye caught theirs I would just give them a friendly hello.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

Does Gerry Hannan count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Met Miriam O Callaghan at electric picnic, both standing at a table waiting for people, short chat and she was lovely.

Andy Lee is an absolute gent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Mose Schrute

you two should meet up for a fixer , sort out your differences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ryan Turbridy, I’ve mentioned before how I’ve been in his company on a number occasions. Generous, knowledgable and funny.

Brian O’Driscoll, genuinely lovely guy. Great to speak to on any topic, not just rugby.

Miriam O’Callaghan, a real sweetheart and great fun.

Roy Keane, generous with his time even though he doesn’t seem comfortable or relaxed in groups.

Van Morrison, difficult to get too much out of but if you enjoy uncomfortable, and comfortable, silences there’s no better man.

John Creedon, very nice and very interesting.

Liam Neeson, Colin Farrell, Colm Meaney, Gabriel Byrne, Liam Cunningham, Cillian Murphy, Michael Fassbender all sound.

Met Bono walking his dogs on a beach in Dalkey, we’d been at a rave that had been broken up by the Gards earlier in the night. He was good craic, when we explained about the rave he laughed and said he wondered why the Garda helicopter had been hovering around for so long, waking him up. Joked that he was glad it wasn’t pirates or smugglers.

Have met countless other “celebs”, most have been pleasant encounters. I’d say it must be awful having all these random ordinary folk trying to be your best friend and feeling like they’re entitled to your time and attention and then having them “rag” on you for wanting no part in it.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Freddiestar

I've met,

Jackie Chan in a Dublin supermarket, said hello and shook hands, sound.

Gabriel Byrne on a street in Dublin, I shouted hello Gabriel while flying past on my bike and he give me a wave.

Dave Fanning in the smoking area during an O2 gig, sound.

James Ryan out in Mayo, posed for pictures, sound.

Louis Walsh in a Dublin centra one Saturday night out, polite.

Ray Darcy in a club on Leeson St , not nice at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Richie Kavanagh wouldn't sign my CD at the ploughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I met Larry before in a pub and got chatting to him for a few minutes. He's a really sound chap. I've met John Giles and Kenny Cunningham at a rte soccer audience show and they were sound as a bell. Brendan Gleeson also came to our town previously to switch on the Christmas tree lights in the town and although I never got talking to him someone I know did and said he was very down to earth and friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Actually I forgot to mention I met God (McGrath 5) in Crumlin Shopping Centre years back. He had a bottle of vodka and a bottle of whiskey and was clearing out the ready meal section. I honestly went out to my car and cried, being a McGrath fan first and an AVFC fan second is tough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

Dealt with Alan Hughes at a wedding. Alan is afraid that he won’t be recognised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Mose Schrute

met Buff Egan at a random hurling match once. pretty sound. just on his phone to much , I suppose that's his niche tho. fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,895 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Richie has suffered with parkinsons for a few years now, that could have been the reason he didn't want to sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭thefallingman

Great to see him looking so well lately, he’s come along way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I don't even know what this Alan Hughes guy looks like and from what I've read so far I don't think I want to know.

I sometimes see him on a Saturday morning sitting outside Olio & Farina in Little Catherine Street Limerick. I find him an odious piece of work.