If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 eltoorock

Where in Ireland do they go to church, the one in Cathal Brugha St, Dublin can't fit over 30 thousand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭B2021M

That is true but can you not see how it feeds into the narrative that we have handed our independence away? I'm not saying I agree necessarily but if this issue causes long term problems it may end up having the opposite effect the government thinks by creating anti EU sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 eltoorock

Does anyone know how importing over 30 k refugees with no place to house them will make unionists desire a united Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

Dole plus 3 meals a day plus free rooms.

Im starting to wish I had to leave Ireland as a refugee and get took in by another country with the same perks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Some had and travelled by car and ferry to Ireland.

my friend from the UK (who owns 2 houses there and 1 in Ireland and lives between both countries) took in a family of 8 Ukranians just 3 weeks ago. He couldn't get them accepted into the UK so flew them Ireland. He told me they are moving into a house of their own (not shared, not hosted) on Monday next..... on the outskirts of Killarney in a beautiful estate. This is long term accommodation How did this happen? How were they able to access a "forever home" for 8 people ahead of all the people on housing lists already?

“This is long term accommodation How did this happen? How were they able to access a "forever home" for 8 people ahead of all the people on housing lists already?”

Yet, people who query the actual level of “homelessness”, they are shot down. Maybe that house isn’t beside mammy? Nor has room for a trampoline? Or may not be to the required standard for Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

This "its an EU directive, we have no choice" is rubbish. Any country with a backbone can say that due to a lack of resources, sorry but the most we can accommodate is X amount. You may ask us to take in 200,000 but unfortunately we have nowhere to put them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Did they get a free pram so they could leave it on a bus? 😑

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

It must be a real kick to people on the housing list in that area. Did they move into your friends house when they arrived 3 weeks ago and then apply to the council for accommodation and the council bumped them up to the top of the list?

Post edited by mrslancaster on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

The citywest hotel acts as a processing hub now I believe.

I'd say once hotels and hostels start filling up because there's no cap on numbers, people there will start to be moved out and given own door accommodation, be it charity housing, social housing etc.. to make way for the next load of people arriving.

They'll have to put them somewhere. They keep saying they won't get any social housing but I don't believe that for second.

Once they start getting houses and the word gets out we'll see 200k no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

City West has been used for refugees unofficially for a good while now. I lived in Saggart back when it started, and there was a noticeable rise in Africans in the area during the period, who didn't just come out of nowhere.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

IU have 10 people going into a "house of their own" today, with another 3 later in the week. The house is owned by me, not the local authority, not the government. It is a temporary arrangement. That's how this refugee crisis is being handled over here. Accommodation is being provided on a temporary basis. Those on the housing lists are looking for long term or permanent solutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I remember saying to people when this all started and we were all patting ourselves on the back for helping out that people would very shortly start asking questions about where the refugees will stay, welfare etc and I wasn't wrong. One thing I'd like to see in our own little community here on boards is an AMA (where have they gone BTW?) with a genuine refugee to get the ins and outs of what Ukraine was like when they fled and how they are fitting in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Well Done ! I hope they settle in well . I have four going in today to a " house of their own too " .Its my house so my choice who I want in it and not for anyone to judge that in my opinion .

yeah I assume that the family of 8 are being housed by a private house owner in the area and fair play to them. This obviously is a system that operates on the goodwill of some people and is outside the whole social housing (social welfare) system. Its a great thing for the Ukranians who are thrilled to bits but will probably sting a few people who have been a long time on the housing list. I have never supported this thing of people saying they "need" a house in a certain area, beside Mammy, or with room for a trampoline! A house is a house, if you refuse then its back to the end of the queue! Maybe it will make the long term house seekers sit up and realise they should take what is offered or someone else will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

31 empty houses on one street in Mitchellstown Co Cork are been used for Ukraines. Its a Homeless charity that owns the houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Well our house wont sting anyone because it will go straight on the private market once its again vacant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Heather Humphreys on tv3, took me back to the 90s.

No no, no no no no,.no no no no, no no there's no limits. On Ukrianinans arriving to Ireland.

Goes on to show a training scheme set up for Ukrainians, camera pans to crowd, 2 women, 2 men, and a lady of African decent in attendance lol. Yeah they are taking the pIs out of us taxpayer's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

How many in total are here now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I felt physically ill looking at it , had to switch it off.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Last I heard it was around 33k

EDIT: That's the figure they published from 9 or 10 days ago. Would imagine it's around 35k by now.

Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Have you had to have them sign a lease or how do the legalities work? Do they get full rights as a tenant once 6 months kicks in? Are they paying utilities?

It's a fixed term agreement - in my case 12 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,746 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

A few of them showed up at our place today looking for work, I thought all the young men had to stay and fight but these lads made it out anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭eggy81

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Are you certain that they won’t receive PartIV rights after 6 months?

I thought part IV rights took priority over fixed term agreements

A refugee is a refugee, and aid organisations can't discriminate just because a country has implemented conscription. The EU is under no obligation to enforce conscription, whereas UN policies protect the rights of refugees, including those of men (which the EU is obliged to enforce where possible).