If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

The information I posted gives the facts. Ignore them if you like, it’s no skin off my nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭PalLimerick

Just read the comments on most discussions online and you'll see what people want. And the comments are from a broad range of different sections of society. In general, the Ukrainians aren't welcome and people feel they've received too much. That's my take from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭monseiur

Any truth in the rumour that a Ukranian woman, living in a refugee centre in Dublin, tried to sneak on to a plane at Dublin airport (last week) without paying ? Plane was supposedly bound for Brussels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

It happened, widely reported, arrested, removed from plane (mystery as to how she got on it) albeit the current fiasco at Dublin Airport, hardly surprising, she's appeared in court, passport Seized, Bailed to appear again, I believe it was Luxembourg she was heading for. Was helped with accommodation by Trinity College but was asked to leave (open to correction on that aspect of story), apparently a writer.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

And in my world I see the opposite . People are in every town volunteering to help the refugees . People around me offering help and homes . People being generous with time and donations wtc etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Online commentary is often very very detached from reality in thats its often a minority opinion. It often tends to show a lot of strong black opinions and a lot of strong white opinions and usually the vast majority of people who think grey just dont even post online. Its also interesting that you only see black and that in your view there is no white or grey i.e. that theres a general consensus that Ukrainians are not welcome. I've read a lot of very black AND white commentary online from people who are unwelcoming and people who are unwelcoming. So I'd very much dispute your take on it.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭airy fairy

What's every town in your world?

In general, people didn't have an issue with taking people into the country. But it spiralled to a situation where all Ukrainians were treated like the coming of a second Christ. Once the initial novelty was over, we've now realised these lads are here for the long haul and the realisation that this is going to cost big money. We've also realised that we've pretty much ignored the plight of other refugees from other wars over the last decade. The flags are coming down, the We support Ukraine signs in shops are gone, there are no more clothes collections or similar for these people. They're already starting to refuse apartments offered and looking for specific housing-,(I've read that in a reputable site over the weekend and I didn't save it for the interrogation, sorry). We weren't going to put up with it long, and I think as time goes on resentment is building.

We need to help ourselves before we can help others.

In my world and Village, no one is happy at what is going on, there's not a day goes by were I don't hear stories of discontent. Few begrudge appropriate support, all understand the EU directive (most think its beggar's belief) given ours and other countries challenges.

But closer to home and kept very quite was the arrival of 22 Ukrainian women to include teenagers. Mysteriously put up in a disused and frankly grotty B&B closed for over 15 years, 8 are being housed in the owners own house and all apparently arranged over social media.

The first anyone in the village knew of the arrival was these ladies meeting outside local PO to collect SW payments. They've also got a private bus service paid for by the state to being them to town 3 times a week. I know the coach company owner.

To put this into context, when crows fly over my village, such is its remoteness, they bring a packed lunch. The arrangement is being fully funded, here over a month and absolutely no integration locally.

I'm not aware of private bus services being put on for pensioners, those on disibility or indeed jobseekers payments.

I know for a fact out local GP surgery can not accommodate these ladies so we're they get medical treatments a mystery.

In general, the Ukrainians aren't welcome and people feel they've received too much

Whereas, the vast majority of opinions I've seen online have been quite welcoming and sympathetic to the Ukrainians themselves. There's two different issues here.

The first are the Ukrainians themselves. And then, the second is the Irish government response. That distinction is important because I've found that most opinions are critical of the government response, and wary of the broad welcome being given to the collective group of "Ukrainians".

However, Ukrainians aren't responsible for the extent that our politicians have given support, or the manner in which that support has manifested. I do think most people have the basic cop on to acknowledge that.

As for using online opinions as a measure of what people want in the RL? Nah. People express themselves differently when they're online... besides the reality is that a lot of people avoid posting those kinds of opinions online. It's been known to bite people in the ass when their identity is linked to something they've said previously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just flicking through the Helping Ukrainian facebook there.

I know wages are shite, but the majority of them are saying they are teachers, doctors, nurses, professors, lawyers etc.. all what would be considered decent jobs.

I know they had to get up and leg it but People on there looking for socks and coats.

Can they not access their bank accounts? Surely a lawyer, teacher, doctor even on a shite wage can afford a cheap coat.

Another lump of them is all about pps and jobseekers.

Tons of posts with men that weren't supposed to leave.

People in the UK looking to come here, surely you're safe no?

People asking how to get home for a few days? Hmmm you left because of war but need a quick trip back.

I think all we're getting is the dregs.

100% we are getting milked.

Look at any post offering jobs, not one comment, or one like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭freemickey

dont worry, these extra 40,000 non EU migrants will provide the socks, they're even being fast tracked.

They'll live in hedges and count flies for a living.

Then the next 90,000 will take care of them, while living in the clouds and whistling for cash.

The main thing is that housing assets go up 3% via population pressure. That's the point.

Makes sense to me.

I've said this from the start. The doctors and high profile jobs these people had, are receiving social and able to send it home....they are not that thick that they have no savings. We are getting screwed bareback.

1 Ukrainian hryvnia equals 0.031 Euro.

Think on that for a moment. Even if they had access to their bank accounts, the exchange rate to convert to euros would drop their assets considerably. That's assuming that they had savings or any substantial amount of money worth converting. And what happens after they return to Ukraine, having spent everything they had in Ireland, when they have to face a crippled economy, broken infrastructure, and elevated costs, simply due to the aftermath of the war?

Come on. Think about these things for a moment.

Secondly, in Ireland they would be considered decent jobs, but professions are treated differently depending on the country in question. It might help to consider how these kind of jobs were considered and paid in Ireland of the 60s/70s... cause I've heard by parents talk about their careers (both teachers) and there were many hard times before things got good.

It's worth remembering that Ukraine was/is the poorest nation in Europe. That's saying something considering just how bad many of the Eastern European or Balkan countries are like. Corruption was commonplace, so it's doubtful that professionals would receive the kind of salaries that would be considered normal for such careers here. Having the right family connections and other associations would be worth more in such a society.

I'm sure they can afford a cheap coat, but what happens after that? They're likely here for a year or two. Pure common sense would suggest saving what you have, and taking what is being offered, before shelling out yourself. And you'd be lying if you say you wouldn't do the same if you were in such a situation, or simply you're incapable of putting yourself in such a situation.

I'm rather critical of the government response to all of this, I do believe it should have been handled much better, and without excessive spending. I'm also concerned about what will happen to Ireland over the next decade because of all of this... however, that doesn't prevent me from attempting to understand where Ukrainians are coming from.

Tons of posts with men that weren't supposed to leave.

So what? As others have said, you don't know their circumstances, such as being a parent, or having some kind of disability. Even without those considerations, are you really telling me you think every male should be forced to fight if they don't want to? Wow... democracy, and personal freedoms really get dropped quickly when it applies to other people, and in this case, men in particular. There really are too many keyboard warriors around these days, who will likely never be put in such a situation.

I think all we're getting is the dregs. 100% we are getting milked.

As with anything, it's going to be a mixed bag. There's going to be chancers, scammers, and outright criminal behaviour. It's going to happen, because the opportunities are there, and because Ukrainian society/culture contained such behaviour before the war. Just as there's going to be plenty of genuine people in a bad situation.

It's still early days, and time will sort out the scammers because they'll be easy enough to spot, as Ireland or any western nation is incredibly regulated.. and these people are coming from a society where regulatory enforcement is spotty at best. The Irish public service will catch up after a bit, especially once our politicians stop making grandiose promises, and expecting others to bring them into reality.

I'm not in favour of this emotional guilt trip that many pro-Ukrainians engage in, but the simple reality is that we're committed. Complaining about Ukrainians isn't going to change anything except possibly create a hostile environment for them, which will only encourage a return of hostility. We're better than that, or at least, we should be. We should, though, be putting the hard questions to the polictians and to RTE, to encourage a public/national discussion regarding the overall topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,495 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Problem is the ‘other side’ as we’ve seen here, indeed elsewhere too often don’t want a debate. You are either racist, selfish, shortsighted or not understanding of their plight when you question what is happening and the impact on this country, it’s citizens and the EU..

Debate is the last thing they want and need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

And it continues, seems Government have an endless supply of money when it suits. Signing off on a two year lease of the City West Hotel, of course the cost hasn't been disclosed.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

So you want to make it an "us and them" scenario

As already pointed out by Annasopra above you will always tend to get polarised views in online discussions like this. I actually think this thread has gone reasonably well given the nature of the discussion. Dismissing the "other side" like that helps no-one

And I really do not think this discussion is representative of the population as a whole. There are posters looking to offer as much support to refugees as they reasonably can (and I count myself in that category). There are posters who are highlighting many of the issues created or exacerbated by the refugee crisis. There are a relatively small number in the middle because the ones that are will naturally not feel as strongly about either side of the debate

One thing I will highlight though is that both sides have been prepared to put their cases generally in a civil manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

This is very strange considering Citywest has cancelled all future bookings with the reason given that they have practically signed a lease.

2 years? Weren't all the pro refugee people saying they'd only be here for 6 months and then they'd be off home? Nothing more permanent than something temporary in Ireland.

And just to add, Leo Varadkar has some cheek to be using the high prices for hotels as a weapon in support of building more hotels considering hotels now are just homeless centres for refugees and homeless. Build apartment blocks!

Not any more. It started with a flourish but it's died now that people can see just how much support the Ukranians are getting from Government which is essentially being paid for by our tax. They are no worse off than our own Irish people now (who don't get donations of food/clothes/trips to Tayto Park and piano lessons in the Royal Irish Academy of Music)

In my area we have

(1) Direct Provision centre in Mosney

(2) a few fields away in Gormanston a huge tented camp for refugees

(3) a proposed shanty town of 569 units housing 2300 Ukranian is currently being applied for through Meath County Council in Laytown.

We are bursting at the seams in East Meath!

I rang my doctor yesterday (and I am lucky to have a doctor) for an appointment for a nasty chest infection and the first available appointment is 10th June! I think we are all out of donations and generosity now. The Ukranian War is no longer headline news. There should be no more Ukranians coming in at this stage or if they are questions need to be asked..... many are even returning to Ukraine from neighbouring EU countries.

The City West must think all their Sundays have come together. It's been a disaster since the day it opened, never really turned a profit, Nama involved, Recievers and now owned by an investment fund who no doubt got it at an enormous discount.

Over €27 million recieved during Covid, at a minimum I estimate based on rooms being used and not including operation of Reception and processing centre, it will cost the state €27 million a year and this just one location.

God knows how much 570 temporary homes will cost to build in lay Town.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The Irish Times survey a good few weeks ago now where it trumpeted 50% of those surveyed would take in Ukrainians if they had the room. There'd be a fair number of those in the "well I'd like to help, but..." camp. Never mind the other 50% surveyed who it seems wouldn't, if they had the room or not.

I don't think it's the Ukrainians themselves are the issue for people. For example I'd say there'd be a much larger and public backlash if it were Syrians(we brought in 3000 of them over a decade, with all the checks and balances, rather than 30,000 in a matter of months, with essentially none) or Africans. The main issue is our authorities not reading the room. As usual.

I caught a DW(German TV outlet) documentary on Ukrainian refugees in Berlin. A mother and daughter whose father and husband had been killed in the civil war in the Donbas before this invasion(and if you want a real shítshow and where the Ukrainians are not the angels painted since, read up on that). They were taken in by a German couple and it followed them getting German lessons and trying to get social welfare payments. They had many hoops to jump through to get them(the commentator noted; well it is Germany). In they end they got approval after over a month. 300 euros a month. Nearly three times less than they would have gotten here just for showing up. Never mind automatic medical cards. Oh how generous the German people are...

Yet Ireland and Irish people have faced a broken health service for decades, currently the worst housing crisis in the history of the state and rising costs for the average Irish man and woman and if they have kids worrying about their futures, with one fifth of Irish people living below the poverty line, but sure grand we can take in tens of thousands of people in a matter of months and inject them into that mess, where they will be directly competing with our own - and no I will not apologise for framing it that way - in health and housing and social supports. And that's before we get to the utter mess of how our authorities handled and are handling those people who offered homes. And that's before McEntee offering her home until it was "sorry can't. no room, never mind, but I'm on TikTok now!" and dribbling morons will keep voting for dribbling morons like her. Vote for who you know I suppose.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Raising questions about immigration to this small island leaves people open to being called racist etc so people avoid it. It is at a stage now that needs serious discussion and debate and the results of the recent census will surprise a lot of people and confirm what others have been saying, that it is getting out of control. This IT article said CSO data from April 2021 showed that 645,500 or approx 13% of the population were non-Irish nationals, that's a huge increase in a short number of years and reading some posts on this thread it looks like our politicians are happy for this to continue. Its no wonder we have a housing crisis and our public services are creaking at the seams.

Edit: maybe the rapid immigration in general and what is drawing people here in such numbers, despite all the problems, is a topic for another thread.

I find it upsetting this morning, reading headlines that 14,000 cancellations for appointments with services in the HSE in April happened. You might shrug and say, ah well, but included in these cancellations are chemo appointments. I mean, these are life saving appointments. Chemo. There are no words.

And then in the next headline, €10.5 million for community response for Ukrainians. That's not including the ludicrous hiring of hotels at peak prices, no doubt above peak prices.

There seems to be no end to our generous financial support for others, while our public services fall apart.

Indeed, I'm about to experience our delightful health service shortly after numerous cancellations. I'll be driving in agony, 20km, I don't have the luxury of a private bus to bring me to my appointments nor family that live anywhere near me.

Of all the current affairs tv I watch, I haven't seen anyone with the balls to question the level of immigration in this country which is putting the squeeze on everyone.

These announcements of new jobs are met with glee and a "job well done to Ireland on attracting this investment". And what good is it? Tech workers who are already earning good money get to squeeze even more money because of labour shortages? Foreigners being brought over to fill the jobs with no where to live?

All they'll say is we need to build more houses. Houses are like roads. The more you build, the more they'll come. Think of the tens of thousands of people who have not come here solely due to the housing situation. If housing improved more people would start to come and the pressure would be back to the heights it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I saw two Ukrainian girls on a guided tour at the week end, where ever they came from they didn’t look like they were from a war torn country, immaculately dressed and even some face fillers for good measure.