Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭dunnerc

How many more sites are you going to ask this same question ?😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭munster87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Dubs can't win. For years throughout the 90s and 2000s I was told that we should be doing better, we are an embarrassment because we have population and monetary advantages and one all Ireland in 20 years is a joke blah blah. They get their act together and start winning a few All Irelands and the same gobshites are now calling for the county to be split. It's a pipe dream lads, will never happen, you're wasting you're energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Stevie Wonder could see Dublin needs to be split North and South.

Someone above referred to Dublin as a province, which purely in terms of population it is.

How many talented footballers from the capital never get to play county due to the insane number of players available for selection at all levels and all codes. Split Dublin in two and at least twice as many players get to play county.

Imagine the craic of Dublin North v South going head to head, but on top of that the rest of Leinster might get a shot in the arm as they would no longer be as daunted trying to compete vs a superpowet thats as large as them all combined. The Leinster football championship is dead as things stand.

Dublin GAA will never agree to a split , why not merge counties ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭oppiuy

What was the attendance at the last couple of games. Ive been away and not following it. I cant seem to find tha attanednace figures for these games.

I think attendance figures is the only way to force the GAA's hand. I dont know what changes are needed but no one is going to pay to watch forgone conclusions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

They’ll be split if they win enough and interest (so money in the form of crowds/tv ratings) declines enough. It’s already happened with the Leinster championship, when the All Ireland championship goes a similar way a split will happen.

Be interesting to see Dubs Kerry semi, GAA will be praying for Kerry victory because if Dublin can win Sam when they are having a disastrous year, there’s not much hope for the game.

Kerry have won 83 Munster titles !! and 37 All irelands !! Munster has been a disaster long before Leinster

There was no hope for the game with such dominance

Tthankfully Dublin stopped the dominance and at least made it interesting -:)

The Munster Championship is as dead as Leinster, no doubt. It’s what will happen if the All Ireland goes a similar way is the only question left. I presume the GAA would take action at that point but who knows maybe not.

If Dublin can win it this year, with all of the squad issues/manager issues (assuming those rumours have some degree of truth) we are probably not far off finding out what would happen in that scenario.

Just on this, what counties could you merge that would come close to a Dublin on a consistent basis? You would need to merge the strongest teams outside of Dublin and Kerry to potentially restore competition, Galway & Mayo or Donegal & Tyrone etc.

If it gets that bad, it’s a lot easier to split Dublin than to merge the others.

The split is a pipe dream fella, don't do it to yourself. Never gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭dinjo99

I called him. He said Dublin will be split in 2025!!

Time will tell. It just depends on how you view the future of Gaelic football. I happen to think under the current format it will be Dublin winning 8+ all Ireland’s a decade which is obviously unsustainable and would absolutely lead to change. If you think Dublin will be ‘only’ winning five or less a decade then I get why you think it will never happen.

Mayo have been consistantly close to Dublin have they not ? Tyrone are All Ireland champions and could win a few more no doubt, Kerry are Kerry and are a more than capable of coming close and indeed beating Dublin , 83 Munster titles 37 All Ireland titles and counting

Theres no magic formula , but everything would have to be looked at , to easy to say split Dublin , Dublin GAA would have to agree and thats not gonna happen unless mergers are on the table as well

Would you compare it to winning 11 all irelands in a 15 year period? Strangely Kilkenny Hurling team was never split right? And even stranger that hurling survived. Like I said it's a pipe dream and will never happen.

Kilkenny’s reign ended though and they haven’t won one since 2015. With the population and pick Dublin have, along with the greatly improved development structures across counties (which crucially makes that population advantage much more significant) I doubt Dublin’s will.

Like I said it depends how you view the future, eight plus a decade is unsustainable. It doesn’t matter what anyone thinks, that level of domination on an ongoing basis would result in dwindling interest and force action by the GAA, either a split of Dublin or a merger of counties, the former being more straightforward.

If you think Dublin will come back to the pack and win 3-5 there won’t be any change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Kilkenny achieved all that without the aid of massive amounts central funding that put GPOs all over Dublin and secondly are working off a population that is quite modest in size. The only stick you could beat them with is not promoting football, but if you go down that route you'd have to after half the counties in Ireland for not properly promoting hurling.

This thread is gone awful quiet these days. Wonder where the folks are gone that moaned that Dublin would win 20 in a row?

As some of us said, we were blessed to have a golden generation of players and an excellent manager. Was never going to last forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,712 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No accounting for incompetent management. Even the Titanic was sunk.

Don't worry, they'll be back out from under their rocks screaming for a split when we win our next title.

Think we might be waiting a few years for our next title , "hope to god im wrong" but 100% you are right with what you are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Two all ireland semi-final losses (last year after extra time and this year with a hail mary winner in the 75th minute) isn't exactly a death spiral, and also doesn't negate the years of special treatment Dublin were given to help them to where they are today

This thread went very quiet , i wonder why lol......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

I think it's gone quiet because the argument has already been won by the side favouring a Dublin split. There really isn't more to discuss, the thread was going around in circles.

Just because Dublin failed to win the last two years doesn't mean they aren't still clearly unfairly advantaged relative to every other county when you look at their population, level of funding, playing games at home etc. They should absolutely still be split, for the good of the game.

And surprise surprise i disagree , nothing was won by the bitter side , the funding has been sorted , Dublin play were they are told to play , as for population Cork have a far bigger population than Leitrim , Galway bigger population than Monaghan etc etc , Dublin should absolutely not be split , mergers are the only answer , " for the good of the game " .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Mergers arent the answer either. Mergers dont aid these counties. Mergers wont see most of these teams win an all ireland. see's less players play to top level.

The funding hasn't been "sorted"? Just look at Dublin's sponsorship deals relative to other counties, in this amateur game. Plus Dublin were overfunded for so long they would have to be underfunded for decades relative to other counties for it to even approach being somewhat fair. There's no doubt about it- we will all be reaping the consequences for decades of the foolish decision from the GAA in the mid-2000s to allow Dublin to load up on money.

All semi-finals and finals, and almost all of Dublin's games full stop, are in Dublin's home ground- that's definitely not a fair state of affairs. And lastly, Dublin are such an outlier when it comes to population that they need to be split. Voluntary mergers can be offered but Dublin should be split voluntarily or involuntarily.

The issue really is that Dublin have all these problems in combination. If Dublin just played almost all consequential games at home- fine, we can move them out of there. If Dublin just had a massive population- fine, we can just split them into two teams. If Dublin just were overfunded for decades, maybe we could just equalise funding from all sources for 20 or so years. But take the scale, nature, combination and duration all these unfair advantages together and you realise no single measure will be sufficient- at least a four way split is now necessary to save the game of gaelic football and help all counties.

The fact Dublin haven't won these last two years, despite every unfair advantage under the sun, reflects very badly on them. They are still unfairly advantaged though and should be split.

I think if teams want to merge, they should be allowed to, but it doesn't tackle the issue of Dublin's unfair advantages, which is the main problem facing the GAA. And you're right, as Colm O'Rourke has previously pointed out, splitting Dublin would allow more top players in Dublin currently outside the panel to play for Sam Maguire. Inter-Dublin derbies would be well received by Dublin supporters and most would quickly row in behind their new subcounty side. These are more reasons why a split of Dublin would be good for gaelic games within the county, as well as helping to address their unfair advantages.

Oh dear you really dont like Dublin ! What about Leitrim Sligo etc is it fair they have to compete populatation wise and financially against Cork , Galway etc ? Do you really believe Mayo Kerry Cork Tyrone etc are underfunded ? Anyway Dublin will never ever agree to a split , but sure there's no harm in dreaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

What suggests teams want to merge. Dublin dont really have any unfair advantages and certainly not any over their closest rivals. There is little to suggest dublin rivalries would be well received by dublin supporters especially if going by reaction here from Dublin supporters.

If splitting Dublin and wanting to combine/merge other counties then there needs to be splits in other top counties as well. to make things fair.