If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

Perhaps we should let the EU run the country? We really don't have the capacity to house or medically treat the amount of refugees that are arriving here

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

I wonder how many Ukrainians will have gone back home by time they are called up for a medical appointment?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The poor woman . A woman in her 60’s who fled a war knocked down by a scumbag of the Hutch family . I really hope this poor woman recovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I'm not at all sure what the actual Details of the incident are, perhaps you've some insight you can share 🤔

I simply pointed out the very Odd mention of "A Ukrainian Women" by the Indo in an article that was essentially about Hutch ( I agree with your sentiments about him incidently)

Not a single other outlet felt the need to mention "A Ukrainian Women" when reporting this incident.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

We are part of the EU and are simply following orders. The housing the refugees are being assigned would never be acceptable to most of our “homeless”.

i can see absolutely no problem whatsoever in them saying it was a Ukrainian refugee ??

I often seen reports like that “ a french tourist was mugged “ or A couple on holidays from USA “ etc

Odd that that would bother you really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭US3

Not anymore anyway I'd say. Was all Ukrainians today. If you know red barn beach it's outside of the town, the hotel and holiday homes are being used for them so no reason for Irish people to be there really

So……What exactly was your point? Irish people don’t go to Youghal anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 grungni

Saw this and had to respond. Wife had us booked for a place there in June and which was booked months ago. Anyway a number of weeks ago while looking up activities in the area etc we came across a local fb post indicating the place had new management and at the same time a deal was now done to use it for Ukrainian Refugees. This was a huge surprise as we'd received no notification at all about this and were still booked in. We had to chase it up and after a period of time were confirmed that our place was cancelled. This set us back and have had to stay elsewhere in a different County but thankfully got somewhere sorted in the end.

That's a lovely spot and in peak season along with what I believe is an Iron Man event also due to take place so in high demand; I believe this is what is being alluded to and why that location has been mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Not bothered but curious when in essence it was a piece about Hutch and barely mentioned "The Ukranian Women" when no other media outlet needed to mention "The Ukranian Women", or indeed Hutch , that may have changed since this Gas lighting Article .

Incidently that's not the article I linked to , earlier one.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,790 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Here are all the males, as of 22 May.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Field east

What would you do if you were in the same situation - stay in your accommodation all day or maybe roam the streets of the town all day from dawn to dusk or what. I think it’s great to see them trying to try and bring a bit of normality to their lives

It must be so good for the soul to take traumatised kids to the beach and give them some little bit of normality too . Sea and sand and sunshine would go a long way to ease their anxiety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

All the "house our own first" dont really care about homeless Irish people in reality.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I could say the same about you with regards to Ukrainians, or the Irish homeless... because, like you, I'd be plucking it out of thin air without a shred of evidence.

Some will care, some won't. That's the simple reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its all about a stick to beat another vulnerable group with. Quite disgusting really as it's often trying to pit them against each other.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

You know what else is quite disgusting? You popping everywhere, branding and labeling people who hold opinions contrary to your own. Cop on to yourself.

People have sympathy for those fleeing the Ukraine. Let’s help them in a manner that’s commensurate with the capacity and resources available in this country.

Beating which vulnerable group? Ukrainians? You've got to be joking. Considering the range of supports and sympathy they've received, they're probably the most privileged group in Ireland right now.

Quite disgusting really as it's often trying to pit them against each other.

Except that's absolute horseshit. This is posters on boards discussing various topics, who have no influence over what the groups being discussed do, or don't do. Discussions on Boards don't extend into the real world. So posters criticising particular groups, or the policies relating to them isn't as serious as you're trying to make it out to be.

You really think that the homeless, or Ukrainians are spending that much time on boards, and would be influenced or offended by the posters here?

I'm with Hamachi on this one. You do this kind of shite too often, assuming some kind of high moral position against something you claim others have been doing, but in reality, you've got zero evidence to support yourself.

If you disagree with others opinions, counter them.

I have sympathy for the Ukrainians, but at the same time, I can't help but wonder could this have all been handled better? Or should we really be giving Ukrainians, as a collective group, a free pass into our country, waiving all restrictions, and essentially prioritizing their needs over Irish people?

At the same time, I don't really see much difference between the Ukrainian situation and a host of other wars with the subsequent refugees that need a place to stay and be given a chance to restart their lives. Except that the EU has given their seal of approval to the situation, and our politicians are bending over to help out, regardless of the costs, and the long-term effect on the nation or Irish society.

These are things that should be discussed, and discussed to death. There is too much censoring in this country already, whether it's RTE ignoring a range of issues in favour of promoting others, or the condemnation that people receive for posing those "sensitive" questions.

Once again can I point out that our acceptance of Ukrainian refugees is an EU Directive. Every EU country has to give them the following:

”It also lists the rights for beneficiaries of temporary protection:

• a residence permit for the entire duration of the protection (which can last from one year to three years)
    • appropriate information on temporary protection
    • guarantees for access to the asylum procedure
    • access to employment, subject to rules applicable to the profession and to national labour market policies and general conditions of employment
    • access to suitable accommodation or housing
    • access to social welfare or means of subsistence if necessary
    • access to medical care
    • access to education for persons under 18 years to the state education system
    • opportunities for families to reunite in certain circumstances
    • access to banking services, for instance opening a basic bank account 
    • move to another EU country, before the issuance of a residence permit 
    • move freely in EU countries (other than the Member State of residence) for 90 days within a 180-day period after a residence permit in the host EU country is issued 

The Directive also contains provisions for the return after temporary protection has ended and for excluding individuals, who have committed serious crimes or who pose a threat to security, from the benefit of temporary protection.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Our process goes well beyond standard asylum seeking standards though, so I'm not sure about the soundness of your argument. Our policy would be the exact same regardless of what the EU are doing in my opinion.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Once again, you're using proposing a point and information that is irrelevant.

I didn't say not to help Ukrainian refugees. So... why post that at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭airy fairy

Ukraine is not part of the EU, and won't be, for a very long time. As EU citizens, we should be questioning the motives of the block pandering to Ukrainans while other refugees from other wars have been subjected to pathetic restrictions. Just because Ukraine is attached to members of the EU, doesn't make it any more special than other wartorn countries. We get the dramatics from posters here, and the blind sightedness love for Ukrainans is vomit inducting at this stage.

while other refugees from other wars have been subjected to pathetic restrictions.

While I agree with your post, this part had me a bit confused. Are you advocating for far less restrictions on war refugees (like the Syrians, or Ethiopians)? (so that there's less of a double standard between Ukrainians and other refugee groups)

The problem I find with helping refugees is the question of whether they're going to remain, or go elsewhere/return home after the conflict has ended. Typically, refugees are not vetted the same way as economic migrants seeking visas, and so, they don't need to have the skills/education or financial security to live here, that economic migrants usually have to prove to be eligible.

Ukraine is a rather clear cut case, as it's an invasion by a foreign power, and with the backing of the Western nations, it's highly unlikely that there will be a regime change, or that the country will remain under Russian occupation. So, they'll have a country to return to, and the same range of politics in the governance of their nation. Sorted. Now, I doubt that many will return, in spite of the emotional declarations of patriotism, because I'm fully aware of the corruption within Ukrainian society, and the vast difference in standards of living between Ukraine and EU nations, especially the Northern/Central European EU nations.

But what about the millions of Afghans who left during the war, the US/Coalition occupation and subsequently left again with the takeover.. most of those can't or won't return. So.. they should be allowed to settle in Ireland or whatever, forever? And if we lower the restrictions placed on the acceptance of refugees from all conflicts, they'll come here, settle, inflate the population with their own numbers, but also they, typically, have large families (compared to Irish people), and so, put further strain on resources.

There are a lot of dramatics and emotional outbursts when it comes to this overall topic, along with the attempts to guilt trip others based on humanitarian grounds. But what if China goes to war over Taiwan, or China has a civil war... we could easily see a 100 million refugees come from such a conflict.. What then?

There needs to be a primary focus on the native people of a particular country, first.. and then, helping others.. but with the long-game in mind. What are the practical effects on a nation? Does the culture and background of the refugees matter? etc.

With Ukrainians, I have no doubt that they would integrate well in Ireland. Like the Poles or the Lithuanians, there's a similarity in culture and history, but.. I do wonder what kind of nation we'll have and the stability of our economy if we accept refugees based on emotions rather than the cold hard practicalities involved.

[Sorry. Not entirely directed at you, but your sentence got me thinking]

I’m simply pointing out what the EUs position is and what the Refugees (not asylum seekers) are entitled throughout the EU. It’s not my argument. It’s EU policy, posted for information purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

The policies are accepted without us, the people having a say. Most people would not agree to all this. So hense the resentment thats building, and will only get worse.

How do you know what most people would or wouldn’t agree to ??

You quoted me.. and you made the declaration of "Once again"... Doesn't seem appropriate to post something for info purposes.

I doubt anyone on the thread is ignorant that we are obliged under EU rules to help.