If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Replying to Jim even hypothetically, will never result in anything meaningful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭phog

The officials for Saturday night are:

Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU, 62 nd league game)

AR 1: Peter Martin (IRFU) AR 2: Oisin Quinn (IRFU)

TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)

The ref and the TMO do not fill me with confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

What’s worse is that it’s a Munster born ref who has played for Munster officiating Munster in a game they need to win. I don’t doubt Murphy’s ability to remain impartial, but my God that’s a bad look for the league. Talk about making a rod for yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Frank Murphy is completely impartial with his ineptitude.

He's just a poor ref, he ignores a ton of stuff then blows for something random.

I also think the TMO likes to get involved a bit more than others.

Neither favours one team over the other but why the URC goes with home officials for a final pool game is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Considering the last 2 times he reffed us against Leinster I don't think he can be considered biased in any way shape or form, at least not towards us. It's like he has a chip on his shoulder because he was deemed to not be good enough to play in red

But, I'm an optimist, so I'll be looking on the bright side. Ben Whitehouse is over in Swansea this weekend

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Thomas Ahern; Fineen Wycherley, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue (C)

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Jason Jenkins, Jack Daly, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Rory Scannell

Looks as close to full strength as fitness allows? Thought I saw Beirne in some of the training pics but must be a week too soon. Should be enough for the win given Leinster have rested pretty much the entire 23 for the final.

Munster by a million points

As strong as we could probably field but still a lot of players missing POM, Beirne, Zebo, Coombes, Killer, Archer, Cloete & DDA.

Odd to see Goggin in ahead of Scannell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,434 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Ulster finish on 59, Sharks on 57. Bulls on course to finish on 58. As expected we will likely need a win tomorrow to get a home QF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

A TBP guarantees us a home SF and the easiest route to the final. But we'll know by the game what is required as we're the last match

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

A TBP win guarantees us the home QF and should we progress to a SF then it guarantees us a home SF.

A win for us with Stormers only picking up a 4 pointer probably leads to the same path as a TBP win would do for us

Stormers have just ramped up the pressure, should we get to a SF we now need a BP win tonight to secure a home match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

The most Munster result ever, so typical of them over the last number of years. Need a result to progress, to win a trophy, to get an easier knockout game or whatever is on the line and typical Munster they bottle it. Gutless,inept performance.

The hard luck feel among Munster fans after they threw the game away against Toulouse sums it up. Munster lost a game they should have won and all you hear is brave, unlucky Munster. 

So many rejects from Leinster are hugely important players for Munster - Conway, Carberry, Loughman etc.

3 points fav with the books tonight & Munster lose by 10 points.

No doubt Munster will focus on how strong Leinsters 2nd/3rd string is, instead of looking inwards. Or if they do look inwards its Van Graans fault, even though Munster have been nearly men even before him.

The fact POM is so hugely revered in Munster says it all, a good, honest player over the years and thats about it - never won a trophy with Munster. Sad to see the standards & expectations slip so much from the Munster teams of old.

Can't see it improving much from next season.

The nearly men, they should copyright that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Well summed up. To the brave and faithful, nothing is impossible - apart from beating Leinster or winning any type of silverware apparently. I have never been so low as a Munster supporter, we really have nothing at all to be optimistic about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Ah lads…. JVG is moving on with Rowntree getting the top job. Mike Pendergast, one of the most revered attack coaches in Europe, is coming home. The young lads today like Kendellan and Ahern were our best players. It was a poor performance and a really poor result. But there’s plenty to be optimistic about. (For next season at least, if not this one).

As an aside… Leinster players like Loughman “hugely important to Munster”? Isn’t he our 3rd choice loosehead??

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

In terms of talent coming through, Munster are in a really good position. The best position they’ve been in for years, in my opinion.

Kendellen, Ahern, Hodnett, Casey, Daly, Campbell, Healy, Crowley have the capabilities to be very good or elite level. They just need to be coached better.

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I believe JvG is a spoofer. Prendergast coming in will be a massive change and you can only hope Rowntree will allow him to do his work.

Sometimes in sport you need to hit rock bottom before it gets better. I wouldn’t be too downhearted by it because change is definitely coming and it can’t possibly get any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

How many starts will Archer get next season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Just home from the match...have to say the amount of shite I got from Leinster fans was unreal....you can't beat our 3rd choice team etc....a real gutless performance tonight...very peed off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

You could tell how the performance was going to pan out when Munster took the first 3 points at the start of the second half when that was clearly the chance the go for the kill and get that BP try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Na. It was a penalty practically in front of the posts, so kicking for the corner isn’t an option. There’s plenty to criticise about the Munster performance, but 3 points was clearly the right call there, imo.

Might as well settle in for a wee while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Have to say this was a bit of a reality check for the folks calling for Kendellan and Ahern to tour with Ireland to NZ this summer. They're promising players but they were shown up today by Penny and McCarthy.

Not really sure where the optimism is coming from if the best of Munster's youth at this early stage are already looking second best to their Leinster equivalents.

Ah here, van Grann is gone in what might be as soon as one more match! Cherish the feeling that this suffocating South African nightmare will soon be over. Who knows what fresh hells await us next season but at least it'll be a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Ulster will be a good match, two weeks to prep and try to get a few back fit.

Keeping positive, beat Ulster and we either get an Away match to Stormers or a Home match against Edinburgh.

Won’t look past Ulster, but just the possibility of a home semi match against Edinburgh is a good possibility.

Leinster have Glasgow, and then Bulls or Sharks, so can see them making the final and if we get there we’d have a repeat fixture to go again and try to win some silverware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

They showed up well in other big games, namely Toulouse afew weeks ago, one average performance in a collective **** show from Munster shouldn't decide weather they are ready or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭theVersatile

I actually thought Penny was mostly absent his try aside - whereas Kendellan put in a massive shift. McCarthy a good player tbf.

But one day people will realise that comparing positions based off of interpro matches is flawed at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

Agree, I thought Kendellan had a good game and thought he put in a better shift than Penny all things considered.