Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Christ almighty. This has descended into outright begrudgery. Ya prefer Grassmen, a channel set up filming other lads outfits and making a killing off the back of it. Then ya have a few lads filming themselves working, and they aren't allowed try make a few quid.

I'd the misfortune there to walk in while the Today Show was on telly one day and they had a fashion show on it. Big advertising there. Do ya complain about that too? I believe all those social media channels are supposed to say if things are ads and what not. If they aren't, and you suspect something dodgy, make a complaint! Social media is paid for via advertising.

Anyone that puts themselves out there on Youtube or anything else showing what they do day to day should be able to make a few quid off the back of it. Selling merch is no different than selling calves. It's another string to the bow.

Of course, if ya don't like it, don't bloody watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Who said I liked Grassmen?

No I didn't complain about advertising on the Today Show because it's made clear that it's advertising.

A review is not an advertisement, or at least it's not supposed to be, hence why influencers are supposed to note in their social media posts when they are paid to advertise products.

Anyways, I won't make any further comment for now on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭timple23

Grassmen are a clothing company that make a few videos.

The discussion is about channels getting products and discounts. I don't think anyone has an issue with that. The issue is whether the channel discloses that they got a discount or some form of remuneration in return for reviewing the product. From memory this topic was already discussed before. Some channels do say "this video is sponsored by..." and some don't say that. I think people are entitled to ask if the reviews are sponsored.

Phil and Tom P have diversified away from their channels and obviously are successful, for other channels who's sole income is from views and merch, I don't struggle to see how they will create additional income and even content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 pingg10

IT'S great that you are so clever to see through their deceipt

we could be all buying stuff after their reviews but you set us straight

shocking carry on from the youtube lads

Exactly. I have no problem with them getting money or free stuff, but they need to disclose it when reviewing. I haven't watched any of their vids in 6 months or so, so maybe they do it now? But there was many videos I watched where it was clear from the way they spoke about a product that it was given for free/discounted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭farmerphil135

I didn’t take a wage then and I still don’t take a wage from the farm because of our grain losses in 2016 everything has gone back into the farm to fill the hole. Also we run the contracting separate to the farm hence we can keep changing the odd bit of kit not that much of it is “new”

at the end of the day YouTube is no different than any other media, whether it’s tv, radio, newspaper, online or even the neighbour gossiping, you take it all in at face value and put your own value on what you’ve seen or heard.

receiving/ discounted products or services is sponsorship/advertising and also being paid to promote. But a demo is not unless you’ve been paid to make the content. And that basically sums up what’s considered sponsorship/advertising

fun fact. tv programmes and films don’t have to declare product placement or advertising within them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

@farmerphil135 i noticed you are doing less calf videos this year?. Bad year for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭timple23

Sorry Phil, that's not true. Watch the start of some TV shows and look for PP to appear on the corner of the screen, this stands for product placement. I must look for it next time I watch Top Gear but I think its there.

"Broadcasters must adhere the BAI’s code when using placements in programmes; while it’s too early to judge any standard or compliance, the BAI is clear in its guidelines according to McLoughlin; “Essentially there are a couple of requirements; first, before any programme with paid product placement or free product placement there must be an on-screen message that tells audiences the following programme contains paid or free product placement; there then has to be a ‘PP’ logo at the beginning of the programme and at the end of ad breaks returning to programmes, and also the providers of any product placement paid or otherwise must be identified in the end credits.”

Source;

Sorry my bad. Should’ve double checked before posting. Here’s a good video on the topic but I think I remembered the title more than the content. https://youtu.be/L-x8DYTOv7w

Yes that’s intentional. One of the worst years for calves in a few years. I intend on covering it in a video over the next few weeks

And even if it was true, Youtubers don't fall under TV and film, they fall under bloggers and influencers which the ASAI says should be disclosed if there's adverts.

Social media influencers and the issue of full disclosure (rte.ie)

In an Irish context, the ASAI FAQs on Blogging (2018) provides that a commercial arrangement between an influencer and brand should be disclosed in the influencer’s social media post, for example, by using identifiers or hashtags such as #ad, #sp, #spon, #workwith, #paidpartnership, #brandambassador. 

From a brand perspective, the marketer can send samples or free products to an influencer in the hope that the latter will use for example, an Instagram post, to talk about or praise the product. At the other end of the spectrum, the marketer may pay the influencer who agrees to post content about the product. Such an agreement will contain specific details such as the social media platforms to be used, the number and type of posts (e.g. language to be used, videos or selfies of the influencer interacting with the product) and a link to the brand's website.

Influencers are especially popular in the food, health and wellbeing, beauty, fashion, sports and travel sectors, both in Ireland and internationally. As a perceived expert or enthusiast in a given area, what they have to say is often viewed as being more authentic, trustworthy and credible than an advertisement emanating directly from the marketer. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i had thought that might be the case. Sorry to hear that. What do you think was the cause?. Must be hard from a bio security point of view when you are collecting from a few different farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭youllbemine

Would running them in smaller groups helped with biosecurity and minimizing potential outbreaks. Would add considerably to workload but might help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Good loser

The uprights go 0.8 m into the ground so should withstand a lot of pressure, Seemed to me Harry was fencing cattle with it.

The point is easily checked. So is the service available in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Good loser

Harry in Harry's farm - if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭youllbemine

Sean O Falluin Regenerative Farming Ireland also worth a look. Outwintering and grazing cattle Greg Judy style on a smaller scale on the trying land of county Cavan. Interesting take on how grazing of wet challenging land can be done all year round if management is on point.

We think it’s mostly due to the rota virus weakening their immune systems and leaving them open to pneumonia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Would lack of or insufficient colostrum be a factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Did you ever think about rearing them in smaller batches Phil or buying in a certain percentage of the calves reared to reduce the workload. Very hard to stop scour or viruses spreading with such a high density of calves in a small area. I'd go mad if I'd to be dealing with them everyday anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭minerleague

For anyone doing electric fencing check out Kiwi Farmer ( NZ beef and sheep ) as good an explanation on knots and straining / joining as I've seen, also what he calls a taranaki gate ( clever and simple )

Very misleading title from Tom P latest video, complete disaster. He lost about an hour cutting silage from hitting a manhole they don’t mark off, madness. Was expecting the heavens to open etc. Wouldn’t fancy been his contractor if their that careless with objects in their fields

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Tom P is getting a bit too hyper for me, must be hard for him to keep coming up with new material.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I like that gate tensioner, there are simpler types of it too

And you also didn’t sign up for the love of discussion, you signed up to have somewhere to moan with the bonus of having the outlet to knock some lads making an effort at life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I watch his very odd video, but never got the appeal to him tbh. His editing was brutal, chopping it during sentences regularly which I found annoying. It seems to have improved with the last video I watch tbf, but you summed it up perfectly-very giddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Pempertons latest one drove me bananas. I get he hit the manhole but by jaysus the size of the thing and he says he thought the mower would go over it. He must have had a brain fart or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

What's the odds of Pemberton turning up in here to defend himself?

Pemberton Farm? More like Adrian Chiles Farm 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Clickbait titles and dumb thumbnails must really work as they're nearly the norm now. They have the opposite effect on me.

I like Pemberton though. One of the more honest in the sector I think and doesn't spend a week washing and waxing to make a video. Some get preoccupied with how they graze but their farm is flat and floods. Take home message should be they have diversified with their farm shop.