If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Intrigued as to we're your getting the 1%, as your so keen looking for facts and figures, in essence you appear to be saying there's only 300 males who may not fit into the exemption Catagory 🤔

As there's actually No official data that I'm aware of suggesting this absurd number, perhaps you might enlighten us were your getting your percentages from. It would seem people very quick to pluck numbers out of the air, I'm reminded of a previous post stating there was only 3k hotel rooms secured when in fact the real number was nearer 12k.

I've not put a number on what I believe is the figure but I suspectt' a lot higher than your suggesting.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,074 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Who said it was being “over run”? They simply should not be here unless there’s a very bona fide reason.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,500 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And they certainly should not be in receipt of college places at the expense of taxpayers … that’s just a piss take…asylum is the act of going somewhere to seek protection and safety…nothing more…

they are given..

cash

accommodation

healthcare

safety and protection..

yet… and here are hundreds if not thousands of college places to be handed to them, too… a third level education is not a right, is not a ‘need’ for people fleeing the Ukraine…ffs, nutsville, why aren’t we buying anyone who drives… a car ? Or a holiday to the canaries after 5 months here .

what next ? Lay on translation specialists at college for those lacking fluency in English ? So they can understand lectures ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No its not

People share all the time and dont cohabit. Cohabiting is in a relationship together.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭enricoh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭thegetawaycar

The Ukrainians are here to stay, they will be taking up the service industry jobs that the irish people won't do and paying the taxes to fund the pensions and social welfare that we need.

There is no way there is any plan to have Ukrainians leave after the 3 years are up, they are being setup for the long haul, I'd be fine with that if we had the services to deal with it. We have hospitals with the front page of their website asking you not to come as it's overcrowded and seek healthcare elsewhere (tuh.ie), an invisible police force (in terms of never seen on the streets), a housing crisis and a justice system with not enough spaces in prisons.

I believe most of the funding for them being here is coming from the EU solidarity funds but I'm sure the service industry will be absolutely delighted as they will take jobs Irish won't and the hotels are now full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

@Dempo1 - Intrigued as to we're your getting the 1%, as your so keen looking for facts and figures, in essence you appear to be saying there's only 300 males who may not fit into the exemption Catagory 🤔

As there's actually No official data that I'm aware of suggesting this absurd number, perhaps you might enlighten us were your getting your percentages from. It would seem people very quick to pluck numbers out of the air

I'm not suggesting 300 males who don't fit the exemption category at all. It could be 5, 10, 20, 100 or more. I don't know. Like yourself, I'm not privy to records or government figures on this.

I gave it simply as a rough figure based on the following facts:

Several Irish newspaper reports stated that over 90% of all incoming refugees from Ireland were women and children, with some saying as much as 95%. A fact that's borne out by Wikipedia:

WIKIPEDIA

An ongoing refugee crisis began in Europe in late February 2022 after Russia's invasion of Ukraine. More than 6.1 million refugees have since left Ukraine,[1] while an estimated 7.7 million people had been displaced within the country by 21 April.[2] Approximately one-quarter of the country's total population had left their homes in Ukraine by 20 March.[3] 90% of Ukrainian refugees are women and children.[4]

We can also add on to that figure of 90% all of the elderly men, which I read somewhere would account for 7% to 9%. I cant recall exactly where online I read it, but a figure of 99% was quoted as being the percentage of Ukranian refugees being women, children and elderly men.

As the latest Ukrainian refugee figures show approximately 30,000 in Ireland... 1% of that is 300. Which is where I've "estimated" 300 as being the maximum number of Ukrainian males here (not including elderly), some of which may not have justification to be here. I actually think it's a lot less than that. For all we know each of them may have a fully justifiable reason for being here, e,g, as carers, looking after children if their wife was killed, medical reasons, etc.

But of course we simply don't know the 'detail' of it all, unless someone is able to get figures released by the government.

Either way it's not such "an absurd" number after all, as you so thoughtfully put it.

My comment about you seeming to be a decent person may have been misplaced. You can carry on trying to trip me up by expecting me to verify all I say, but the bottom line is that there are likely only a few dozen at most who've slipped the net and managed to enter Ireland under false pretences. That would likely be comparable to any refugee crisis which some people will always try to exploit in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,594 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Minster Eamon Ryan refers to "our Ukrainian guests"

A Community Transport Fund is also being established to support occasional social travel requests. This will be operated by the TFI Local Link offices and will enable our Ukrainian guests to join in the many activities available in our towns, particularly activities focused on youth, integration, culture, and education.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Tbh I'm not that shocked. I've been hearing similar sentiments in "the real world" from friends and family and work clients and from a pretty wide selection of different people, including three who had offered their family homes through the Red Cross early on. All three have now said that's no longer on the table, though one is still volunteering with help. The general gist is the automatic handing out of so many privileges that they as ordinary Irish people with ordinary lives are either to the pin of their collar with bills or are struggling to get.

This goes double for those with kids of school and college age, which is most of them. A large proportion of them will struggle to pay fees and rent where applicable for their kids. TBH I was surprised at this with a couple of them as I had thought they were pretty comfortable. These would be all "middle class" Irish people, who if we re ran the SSM and Repeal votes again among them it would be a 100% win for. What also surprised me was them even mentioning it at all.

Oh and before the middle aged moaners stuff comes in. These people would be mostly middle aged alright, precisely the people that have worked all their lives, paying of mortgages as we speak, struggling with ever increasing bills, with kids going to or in university. The very people who see the most to lose. Pensioners and the well off won't.

I said it early in this thread, that this running on understandable emotionals and understandable good intentions while having near zero actual plans to implement this whole thing was a case of act in haste repent at leisure. That high emotions can switch extremely quickly in the other direction and a backlash is not even close to speculation.

It's this almost baffling nonsense by our government that is a large part of what negative reaction will come down the line(Having a complete Ukrainian chancer on Joe Duffy(well he speaks the language) bitching about what he's not getting beggars belief). They're simply not reading the room. A survey a month ago now, Irish Times IIRC, led with a headline of "50% of Irish people would offer their homes to Ukrainians", but left out the caveat "if they had the room" and the even bigger caveat that the other 50% wouldn't, whether they had the room or not it seems. I wouldn't like to read a similar survey today.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 brenersar

I volunteered in the citywest refugees center, and I can confirm lots and lots of men arrive, not only women. That's true, go and witness yourself. Sometime I get scared by our brainless policymakers acting with no plan and a bit of vision.

Scandalous the Irish taxpayer is being forced to write a blank cheque for these lot of cowards. Men me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 brenersar

please stop, often bribe solves that problem on the boarder control. Ukrainians themselves say that.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Well if his argument was we have enough in the country we might as well at least keep people who are of use to us. As I said we'll need suitable people to enforce the United Ireland at least at the early stages, so someone that demonstrates patriotism, is willing to fight and knows how, is more useful than a racist keyboard worrier who will be of no use to us.

It’s the men coming in that completely did it for me. I was all for helping those in genuine need at first (still am) but when I see this going on it raises very loud alarm bells.

How many men have actually arrived without genuine reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭enricoh

Is that the sum total of you're argument jim- racist keyboard warrior? If it's all u got , it'll have to do!

That info will never, ever be released willingly and only when the dust settles and FOI requests start rolling in and they will. Whatever about more recent arrivals , I know for a fact few questions were being asked at ports of entry for the first 5 weeks. Indeed our very own Taoiseach admitted checks were of secondary importance when it came to dealing with "our friends"

Well no one is counting or vetting so we’ll never know. Apart from the social welfare of course but the ones picking up the tab certainly won’t be privy to that information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭B2021M

Even if we accept that checks were of secondary importance at the start surely there should be a process to carry them out now?

It really is, frankly an utter mess , even if Government tried to verify details , eligibility etc, were in heavens name do they begin , who can they contact in Ukraine.

They may be but in reality I'm not even sure Irish Authorities can even check if a Ukrainian passport is even ligitmate, definitely not a Ukranian Driving license , they can be got online, cheaply enough, which makes the transfer to an Irish license utterly absurd and then there's the wink and nod insurance deals .

Previously there was nonsense about how efficient Ukrainian infrastructure is, its government etc 🙄, not only was it seriously corrupt, there is no Government functioning there apart from directing the defence of the nation, who for example do Irish immigration contact to verify a Ukranian passport is valid.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TBH the men coming isn't much of an issue for me. The vast majority are still women and kids and the old.

My principle issue is the almost complete lack of planning by the authorities, while they were throwing out daft numbers like 100, or 200,000 people, with near zero vetting from one of the most corrupt nations on the planet, no health checks(ditto for pets) and no vaccine status checks after we rightly lined up for vaccines and those few who didn't got static, while handing out medical cards, social welfare, freedom to work, student grants, driving licences, again with sweet fúck all checks. Never mind a voted in by slack jawed parochials woefully underqualified gombeen woman like McEntee crawthumping about welcoming refugees into her very large home. Until she wasn't. Ah now, never you mind. Sure wasn't her Da a lovely county man.

Yet for the Syrian crisis which was/is larger and going on for longer, with more of the country fúcked into dust by heavy weapons, with more displaced and fleeing and with putin involved and even poison gas attacks... We took in the grand total of 3000 Syrians over ten years, a tenth of what we've taken in from Ukraine in just three months, and half of them under 16 and every single one of them was vetted and took a long time to get in. They didn't get any of the privileges Ukrainians have gotten just for showing up at Dublin airport. Maybe the dead child on Greek beaches photo quotient wasn't high enough? Then again they were a bit tanned and yellow and blue flags are easier to avatar up.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

FG’s forte is smug virtue signalling within the south Dublin mindset so they don’t really look beyond to what the vast majority view as complete and utter insanity with the public purse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

All the major parties are of a similar mind imv trying to outdo one another in the virtue signalling stakes, it doesn't bode well for the citizens going forward as they say, the guys and girls in the middle will receive the bill one way or another and whats worse have to pay it lest the whole system collapses under its own weight. I wont live to see the day but our sons and daughters and grandchildren will "owe their souls to the company store" out in Brussels and strasburg so careless and profligate have government after government been with the taxpayers dollar, when their first duty should allways have been to look after the citizens of the great new Republic, I dread to see whats coming down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Basically what's happening is the corrupt state of Ukraine is being defacto accepted into the EU and its been payed for by the tax payer wether he/she likes it or not.

Plane's arriving unaccounted for with 100+ refugees. We have no say and we need one.

Meanwhile in Waterford.

January 2022.

In Waterford, 60 people were officially recorded as homeless last month - a drop of three on the previous month.

The Department of Housing statistics also reveal 1,077 families required homeless accommodation last month, a drop of 31 compared to November.

The figures don't include homeless people not engaged with government services, including women in refuge centres and those in direct provision.

Waterford remains the county with the highest number of homeless people in the South East.

The attached is NOT a Waterford Whisper, so to speak.

"Enforce the United Ireland"? What the actual fúck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

This is a great country if you're not actually IRISH.