Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,275 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My gawd. Get off your high horse.

The irony of someone accusing an entire country of looking down their noses at the Eurovision by themselves looking down their nose at people's other interests.

It's only the Eurovision. A bit of craic once a year, with the breakdown of the final results, and the identity of the winner, quickly forgotten by the bulk of the populace inside a month. I openly admit to only tuning in, when I can, to gawk at the European hotties.

Those sort of people that brand themselves as 'Eurovision experts' are the same reason why such god awful, gutter tv shows (Love Island etc.) have such good ratings. It's simply low brow television. There is nothing cultural about it at all.

The bastion that is the Eurovision! Sure look ar our two most famous former winners, Logan and Martin. Two absolute divas that haven't really matured.

But hey at least a possible Ukraine win will stick it to Putin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

We should use the fact that nobody likes the UK and send someone to sing come out ye black and tans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Brooke missed loads of notes. And she husks her voice at the start whennahes on the floor, to the point that that some of the words are inaudible.

It was shite from start to finish. It had a mildly catchy bit in the chorus, but that's it. Only the biggest eurovsion fans in this thread will remember it this time next year.

I'm sure she's a sound woman and at a house party she's probably a good singer. Nowhere near professional singing. And her acting is terrible, stage presence, horrible American accent and dancing were all dreadful. It was poor. Maybe it could have squeeked through in 10th, bit it didn't and that's fair. Ireland has nothing to complain about. The event itself will be no poorer for their absence.

Looking forward to Saturday now. Couple of lads coming over for Leinster at 3 and the rest arriving for Eurovision party at 6. Everyone's picked a country to cook their national food, so we've got food coming from all over europe and a bit of craic.

Looking forward to it.

Post edited by El_Duderino 09 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,977 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Belgium and Germany have rap this year and they are certainly not the first.

The Italy last year had a rap sectioning the middle. That wasn't a problem for them. Ireland has no culture of rap though. I don't trust we'd do it well. Just a bit of craic so no harm trying it to see if it's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,236 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

And no doubt she’ll shoehorn in the fact that she is a previous winner…..

If we have someone who can rap and write a good song i'de be up for it. Nothing should be off the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,695 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Dustin the Turkey has done more damage to Ireland’s reputation at Eurovision than you think…

image.gif

Check out this excellent documentary shown on BBC Four a few years ago, all about Denniz Pop and the team he put together at Cherion…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

Ahh yea, that was bad. We were bested again.

What’s another year (or decade).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭ebbsy

How was the song chosen this time ? Is that the problem.

For such a musically gifted nation we sure do send some Turkeys. Its amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,544 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Rte big wigs shortlist....

Then mix of public vote and jury (including an international one).

Before public vote I am pretty sure Brooke was losing.

It was the best of a bad bunch on the show imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

No singer/song writer with an ounce of self respect wants anything to do with the Eurovision. You're forever tarred with that brush thereafter and by and large forgotten about even after winning it. No cash prize is going to change that.

This Brooke one sounded like a cat howling singing a song that a group of 8 year old girls would knock together in an evening. Even calling the girl a singer is a bit of a stretch. She works full-time as a secretary for an estate agent and really hasn't pursued any sort of music career since the voice because she's not good enough for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,131 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Ah jesus, I loved Belgium's song, but that wasn't Rap. That was Pop, plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

great to see that annoying guy Rory O'Neill didn't get the gig so. Probably the fact he shat himself giving the results on the late late cost him.

I made a joke yesterday that Europe didn't like us because of our tax haven status but maybe there's something in that, that we get favourable treatment from the EU. Maybe we're not as liked as much as we'd like to think we are.

The "not on mainland europe" or "eastern european countries voting for themselves" thing doesn't stand up to the test when fcuking Australia get through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,544 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Money talks.

Songwriter for the Rasmus song included Desmond Child.

One of the songs on late late had members of the coronas and picture this as writers (not a fan of either but picture this in particular have a huge following).

Jaysus.

07D0A3D9-5861-4CAD-805D-17576E78D08B.jpeg

You know, I’ve never been one for giving sympathy votes, etc. :D

Make love to me, Europe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

You're over thinking the reasons for us not getting votes, we sent an ok song that didn't really stand out. Thought Brooke's performance on the night was pretty good compared to the rehearsals that I heard during the week which sounded awful.

If we send a good song and confident performer we'll get good results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

There was no attack on Brooke in that post though. He pointed out the gulf in class between Brooke and other singers in the contest which is 100% true.

To give you an idea how far away we are listen to Amanda Tenfjord for Greece. She's a 300-1 shot!! and is in an entirely different league to Brooke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Expunge

I'm not so sure we actually have much of an indigenous "pop" tradition anymore in this country.

Yes, you could point to Louis Walsh's constructions of the noughties but let's face it, all the work, production and management was done from the UK and US.

The "pop" infrastructure probably went out the Swarbriggs, Linda Martin and CHips - and they were relics of the Showband era, which is a lifetime and more ago. The likes of the Swedes (not a huge country) have kept their infrastructure - we have subcontracted ours out to the Brits and the Americans.

We have lots of jangly guitar led music and angsty female and male singers but no pop - and there is a lack of strength in depth as a result in the pop department.

So, leave that and look at other genres. Start with the genre and match very very good talent to that.

The aim is to qualify for a final on a regular basis because this show still delivers monster domestic audiences.

Graham Norton once described Eurovision as Europe's Superbowl and RTE should really really want to play the best players in this - not go on the piss for a week somewhere nice.

Ya true. Its about as rap as most of the rock songs are rock

We consistently finish last in either the semis or finals itself on the rare occasions we make it.

There's such a broad mix of songs that got through...our song definitely wasn't the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭penny piper

I actually thought Australia, Poland,Belguim,Sweden,Estonia were all very good....

Ireland should stick with what it's good at which is a good catchy ballad.....big chorus...something the audience doesn't forgot....

The Irish entry just wasn't good enough and sounded dated....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Maybe Ireland should try Drill Rap next year. Get a few bucks from Blanch on the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

On Linda Martin delivering the Irish vote tomorrow night....

We all know that Sweden take the Eurovision very seriously and it is a hugely popular event with the Swedish public. Linda became a big news story there when she won in Malmo in 1992, with 'Why Me?'.

The following year, close to Christmas, I was working in Malmo and some of my Swedish colleagues asked about our work Christmas party, back in Dublin. We were going to one of the mass corporate big night out events, held at The Royal Marine Hotel in Dunlaoghaire - as it happened, Linda was the live entertainment, before the DJ was due to take over for the end of the night. When my Swedish colleagues heard this, they were amazed at how our small company in Dublin could arrange to have a Eurovision winner sing at our Christmas party.

I didn't have the heart to tell them that we were one party table in a hall of hundreds and that Linda wasn't as big back home as they thought she should be. The Eurovision win may have done wonders for her career in Europe, but back home it merely resulted in a slight move up from the chicken and chips cabaret night out in The Belgard Inn, to slightly bigger corporate events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,275 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I guarantee sending Denise Chaila will turn heads. Sexy, beautiful, new Irish and modern music.