Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Xander10

Looks like we are left with the usual, tuning into the final to see if anyone votes for the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,696 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Wait, wha?

Serbia got through?!

Really?

REALLY?!

image.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Czech Republic is a quality song.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,696 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I blame Marty Whelan, he’s bad luck.

#StepDownMarty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Ole Ole Ole Ole

No way No way No way No way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,633 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Our song was dire!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Time for my yearly send Cruachan next year post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭squarecircles

A woman sitting on a chair washing her f***ing hands in a bowl gets through, ahead of us,im DONE with eurovision.

and if we did the same...of course,wed get nothing but scorn ridicule and no points.

cant win.

pile of sh*te the whole thing.

You can watch the Eurovision stream on youtube commentary free. It's pure bliss compared to listening to Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭archfi

Have to say, there's some absolute ubershíte songs in that top ten.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,671 ✭✭✭touts

We need to stop sending some relative of an RTE exec to sing a song written by a mate of an RTE exec based on what the entry from wherethefuckastan sung last year.

Send professional Irish acts to perform real songs not this prance around dhum dhum dhum shite. If we're going to go down each year we might as well do it right.

Ukraine are a shoe in. They could send their version of Dustin (or Bono) and still win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Most of the people listening and voting wouldn't understand the lyrics anyway so that's not the issue, just need to find a decent performance and someone experienced and comfortable on stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

The turkey and Jedward fecked us for a generation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,153 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I mean take away whether Ireland should’ve gotten through and we are probably biased but Serbia got through ? Your wan sat in a chair for three minutes and washed her hands. I mean come on.

she wrote the song herself and has no afiliations to RTE,a woman washing her hands in a bowl beat us,thats how f'ed up Eurovsion has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Serbia's song had a good beat to it...and the singer is quirky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Last qualifying was 2018 . 16 overall in the final.

Since the semis began we have been in the final 6 times since 2005, come last 4 of those times.

Highest place was 8th in 2011

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,622 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Irelands song was pretty good. Better than at least 5 of the 10 that got through.

Better than Serbia's version of the Krankies at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,235 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Once Ukraine don't win its all good! That shite we sent was never getting in it's not "European" enough to get any broader attention for votes.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Oh it was him!

It's years since I seen it on some programme, they said he finished second, was clever and it nearly worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

Scorned women singing about their ex boyfriends doesn't prevail this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,977 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Jedward were the one real Eurovision act we actually sent

yes and this clearly proves once and for all,its our geographical location thats the problem. We have no affinity or cultural connection to anything on the mainland continent. Even Iceland can qualify,an island further north and more remote,but because of their cultural affinity with scandinavia,they get votes.

and will do it all again next year in a cramped corner of a broom cuboard of a chat show for elderly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Holamibebebe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Despite not qualifying, really looking through to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭RonanG86

Didn't think our song was great (she was eating her own voice in the verse), but by Jaysus that was a fairly bland selection she was up against and I thought she deserved to go through.

Three whiny male vocal songs at least two of which sounded interchangeable and I actually can't remember Estonia or Romania they made such little impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,544 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Jedward did us zero harm...they qualified for the final both times.

There is a difference between a novelty/quirky act and taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭archfi

The only songs overall that have grabbed my attention in any way:

Portugal

Czechia

France

Italy

All 4 and about 6 others are way better than Ukraine who, unfortunately will win.

I think I'll go on the piss for the FA cup final instead.

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.