Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gigs you'll never see the like of again.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,577 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Gary Brooker of Procol Harum passed away with cancer in February this year

Almost 2 years earlier he had arranged "Music for the Marsden" (the Marsden being a specialist cancer hospital) at the O2 in London, with the likes of Tom Jones, Eric Clapton, Van Morrison, Nick Mason and many more

That was the last time he performed "A Whiter Shade of Pale" in public:

Suede in The Tivoli in 1993. Bonus points cos it's now a hotel. Also, Neutral Milk Hotel in Vicar Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I was at the Suede gig. A Saturday night. The album had just come out the day before.

Intense.

Photo by Kyran O'Brien

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

RATM at the Tivoli in 1993,my jaysus the electricity in the room was nothing I've experienced before or since,don't think my feet touched the ground for the duration of their set.

Beastie Boys at the same venue before Sabotage and the Ill Communication album went mega.

Honourable mention for Biohazard at the same venue too,3 songs,a riot,end of show. What a night!😂😂

Post edited by lord lucan on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭dasdog

Autechre played two songs in complete darkness in the National Concert Hall in 2018 both tunes about 45 minutes each. To see or rather not see and just hear abstract electronic music being given a platform thanks to U:Mack. Don't think the NCH has ever hosted anything like that before or will again.

I'm ready for the laughing gas. That little window when U2 were actually cool. RDS, Dublin 1993.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Four Tet done something similar in 2019, only his set up illuminated by two desktop lamps, loved his gig at Electric Picnic. Yeah its strange being starved of a light show, the music takes on a more extra-sensory perception.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Paco de lucia Sevilla... great guitar player... passed a few years ago 61 years...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I saw John Cooper Clarke on Friday in Dolan's. He's still a truly great act, and unique too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Whipping Boy were support that night at RATM iirc.

Was anyone at Oasis in the Tivoli? Not my cup of tea so i wasn't there but i don't think i've ever met anyone who claimed to be at it, which is unusual.

Tivoli had some great gigs it has to be said. Off the top of my head i saw Spiritualized (twice), Ride, Wedding Present, Boo Radleys, Breeders, The Sundays, The Fall, Throwing Muses, Buffalo Tom (the night Cobain died. They announced it from the stage and kicked off with Tail Lights Fade, dedicating it to Kurt). Following night was Hawkwind. Plenty more that i can't think of just now.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Pearl Jam used to play 3+ hour, 30(+) song setlists. The North American leg of their delayed 2020 tour kicked off last week. The setlists are coming in averaging 23 songs in length. Which is probably still a lot more than an average band's gig but less than their historical average.

The guys are getting on in age, maybe we'll never see the likes of the monster sets again!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

REM lads....

Any gig by REM.....

The one in Ardguilan Castle was special , the one in Slane was amazing, the ones in The Point were awesome.

I miss that band ....

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

Such a great little venue. I lost count the amount of times I saw James Taylor Quartet and Snowboy play there. The perfect antidote of live music if you'd had a heavy electronic night before. Also watched an Ireland play off there for Euro 2000 which wasn't televised except on Turkish tv. Free in, two free pints and t-shirt, George Hamilton doing live commentary from the gantry. Unfortunately we didn't make the finals.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I was working in HMV when Oasis played the Tivoli. One of my work colleagues was at it. It was really loud and she was deaf as a post the next day. She kept coming behind the counter to turn up the instore CD because she couldn't hear it and thought it was too low. It was at the normal volume.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Billie Eilish (x2)

The Tivoli was brilliant

From your list I saw the following there: Spiritualized (once), Suede, The Wedding Present, Ride, Boo Radleys, The Breeders, The Sundays, The Fall.

Also saw Grant Lee Buffalo, Saint Etienne, The Auteurs, Jeff Buckley, That Petrol Emotion (final tour).

I was at the Oasis gig. Up the front. Loud and in yer face. Liam prancing around the stage eyeballing people. Definitely Maybe just out, fantastic debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭RayCon

Two nights back to back in Manchester December 1991

Dec 4th - The Pogues fronted by Joe Strummer (McGowan had left due to booze problems) - Manchester Apollo.

Dec 5th - Ramones (CJ on Bass, Dee Dee had left the band at that stage) - Manchester University.

Will never be able to repeat anything like that again - two manic gigs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭quazzy

This has been a great thread so far and I got very nostalgic reading through everyone's accounts of gigs over the years. Thanks for all the posts.

I have a few of my own to mention. Some are gigs that fit the brief of the thread (never see the like of again) and others are trips down memory lane and memorable moments that some of you might find interesting.

First one is REM - Live Rehersal - Olympia Theatre July 2007 - https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/rem/2007/olympia-theatre-dublin-ireland-63d68e23.html

I don't remember any bands doing something like this before or after. 5 nights in Olympia testing out tracks from their upcoming Accelerate Album and nobody would have heard any of the tracks. And the few back catalogue tracks they did play came from Murmur, Document, Pageant etc... so nothing that would be of interest to casual REM fans - nothing from Green onwards. I thought it was a great night to see how they worked. They started and stopped during 2 songs if I remember and it gave a good insight into the creative process and how things evolve. I always loved REM, still do. Kinda wish they didn't pack it in but I'm glad to have witnessed a night like that. (on a related note - I was out for early dinner before that gig and who rocked into the restaurant but Michael Stipe himself. Sat about 2 tables away from my. I snuck a photo with a very poor quality camera phone - must try dig it out.)

Next up is The Bootleg Beatles - Midnight at the Olympia. - 1998

Reason for this addition is the it was a midnight show at Olympia and a great alternative to going to a night club. I think the tickets were about a 10 or 12 quid and it was great craic. Gigs usually consisted of cover bands (Abba-esque, Australian Pink Floyd, The Stoned Roses etc..) but there was always a great buzz there.

Next up is Radiohead - RDS - June 1997 - https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/radiohead/1997/rds-arena-dublin-ireland-3bd780c0.html#

This was my first ever gig and when reviewing the setlist now I couldn't think of a better one to start on. Ok Computer had just come out and Radiohead were prepping for their first headline gig at Glastonbury. It was great from start to finish. I remember getting squashed by a larger than life reveller once MY Iron Lung started to kick in. Also, remember the rain falling throughout the gig and especially for the final song High and Dry. Massive Attack and Teenage Fanclub were support acts. Only saw Massive Attack though.

Eddie Veddar comes next. 3 Arena - June 2017. https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/eddie-vedder/2017/3arena-dublin-ireland-63e7660b.html

Some random things I remember about this gig.

1 - Glen Hansard was performing as support act. Nowadays I don't often get to see support acts but I'm glad I did and he was brilliant. I've seen lots of posts over the years of complaints about big acts not having good supporting acts for Irish gigs but this wasn't one.

2- The gig never seemed to end. It went on and on - in a good way. Eddie was in great spirits chatting and engaging with the crowd. Glen came back on stage for the Encore and hung around (or was invited back on several occasions) to sing more. Eddie didn't want to finish and if I remember correctly paid out several thousand fine as he broke the 11pm curfew.

Next is Paul McCartney - RDS - June 2010 - https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/paul-mccartney/2010/rds-arena-dublin-ireland-bd42516.html

When I look at the title of this thread "never see the like of again" I instantly think of that gig. I love The Beatles and was blown away by the gig. Setlist was comprehensive, Paul was chatty and fun and his voice (at the time) was still great. He did benefit from having an amazing supporting band with him along with a host of backing singers too that helped. When posting this I went online to see if Paul is still touring - he is. Not sure if his voice is as strong as 12 years ago - I doubt it but he is a living legend none the less.

Last, but by no means least is Ocean Colour Scene at the Point (the old gubby place) - Feb 1998. https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/ocean-colour-scene/1998/point-theatre-dublin-ireland-7bdac6c0.html

The reason for this addition is that is was my first gig where I queued up to get into the Pit area. These days, getting into the pit or golden circle or whatever they call it now is usually reserved for those who want to spend more money for the privilege (I know its not the case for all gigs but a lot of the bigger venues operate this setup). OCS were promoting the Marchin' Already album. Me and my mates had queue up in HMV to meet the band and get our new album signed the day of the gig (or day before, not sure). I remember that Steve Craddock was late to the signing and when he tried to cut the queue to get to where the band were sitting down the HMV security tried to grab him and throw him out. Was a funny moment.

Highlights from the gig was the opening of Hundred Mile High City in the pit - pure energy. Also, when PP Arnold came on stage for the Encore to sing her parts in Beautiful Thing.

And there you have it. Hope I didn't ramble on too much for you all.

Post edited by quazzy on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Underworld 3 hour set in the Mean Fiddler, with support from Fluke. David Holmes was also billed to dj, but as was his wont at that time, he didn't turn up. This would've been inbetween the Dubnobass...and Second Toughest...albums.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Bot1

I hated Kid A when it came out initially.

I went to that gig at Punchestown.

I heard National Anthem live and I was like ...............I get it now!

Savage stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Can you remember who the support act was that night???

Incredible gig!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Ive no idea tbh,Tool were supposed to be supporting but weren't there.

Was it Therapy? who filled in - wasn't there so not 100%

• Registered Users Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes , saw REM in the RDS , 1989 Great concert . Glad to have seen them

Here's my list , mainly in my teens, 20s and early 30s , some gone from this world , others still playing gigs ...

Except for this one .. only a nipper for it ❤

Saw Thin Lizzy in a local hall near home in 1973, with my big brother who was meant to be minding me . His friend was setting the stage up so I was put ahide in the wings ! There were a few other small kids watching from there . Remember Whiskey in the Jar and Phil smiling at me when they were coming off stage . Got a bottle of red lemonade and a bag of crisps as well so was a good day for me !

( Can credit this big brother fir my love if all things music . He used to buy me albums fir my birthday and Christmas so I grew up on Led Zeppelin , Steely Dan , JJ Cale and The Band . My parents were music nuts as well always singing and dancing , playing everything from Mario Lanza to the Carpenters and ABBA)

Saw Lizzy again in 1981 at Slane but not up close at that one . Knew a few more songs though !

XTC with U2 playing support ! , Arcadia Cork , 1978 .

The Beat and The Specials , Arcadia, Cork 1979

The Police ,with Squeeze , Leixlip , Dublin 1980

The Cure Arcadia 1981

U2, Cork City Hall, 1981

The Rolling Stones , Slane Castle , 1982

Eurythmics , Simple Minds , Big Country , and... U2 again , 1983 Phoenix Park , Dublin .

New Order , Kilkenny 1983 absolutely perfect !

Jackson Browne, Lisdoonvarna 1983 and Christy Moore of course:)

Loads of artists and bands at Sir Henry's Cork early to mid 80s. Saw Echo and the Bunnymen without Ian Mc Cullough , think he had left them for a bit to do something else.

Depeche Mode, SFX , 1983 .

Rory Gallagher and his band SFX after Christmas 1983 . Brilliant !

The Smith's Savoy Cork 1984 Hatful of Hollow tour, dismal , disappointing gig.. only played for 45 mins due to an ignorant crowd .

The Clash, SFX 1984 , wonderful.

The Waterboys and The Pretenders , SFX , 1984

Level 42 , Woolwich Coronet , March 1985 . Great concert but venue impossible to get back to London . Got home after 6 hours travelling .

Numerous acts including the Pogues , OMD, The Communards, Billy Bragg , all for free at Battersea Park " GLC - Jobs for a change " festival , July 1985 .

The Pogues, Hammersmith Palais 1985 March 17tg , mad, wild concert 😊

The Cure , Wembley and also Camden Palace , 1985

Bruce Springsteen , Wembley 1985

Dire Straits with Sting 1985 , Wembley Arena .

Elvis Costello , Electric Ballroom , Camden sometime mid 1980s .

The Cure , The Waterboys, Greenpeace Concert , Royal Albert Hall, 1986 .

John Martyn , Connolly Hall, Cork ? 1986 . Quiet concert but standout .

The Cramps , Hammersmith Palais , 1986

INXS Kentish Town and Country Club 1986

( Saw a load of artists in KTCC , That Petrol Emotion , Voice of the Beehive, The Men They Couldn't Hang , and more that I can't remember now . )

Big Audio Dynamite, KTCC again 1986

UB40 , Brixton Academy , 1986 .

Elvis Costello and The Attractions , Wembley Arena , 1987 .

Souxsie and the Banshees, The Fall , Finsbury Park 1987

Lloyd Cole and the Commotions, The Blow Monkeys , Brixton Academy , 1987 .

Michael Jackson , Bad Tour , Pairc Uí Chaoimh , 1988.

Prefab Sprout , The Point, 1990 . Lovely.

The Artist Formerly ( and since !) Known as Prince , the Point , 1995 .❤ one of the best concerts !

Echo and The Bunnymen , Olympia , 1998

Jesus and Mary Chain , Olympia , 1998 .

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers , the O2 , 2012

Neil Young and Crazy Horse, RDS 2013 .

Depeche Mode, 3 arena, 2017

Arctic Monkeys, 3 Arena , 2018 .

The Cure , Malahide Castle, 2019 .

New Order, Trinity , 2019 .

Noel Gallagher and High Flying Birds , and Duran Duran , St Anne's in the last month .

The Specials , Trinity , last night .

And lots more that I have forgotten 👀

We used to go to gigs every other weekend or at least once a month before our children came along and school and kidstuff took over, and only getting back to it in the last few years now they are grown . They come with us now !

I can happily say that the only concert I didn't enjoy above was the Smith's in Cork. The crowd was shxt and were hurling stuff at Morrissey who walked off the stage 45 mins in ! We were so disappointed and angry . I do love his music , even the angst , but wish the live experience had been better .

Wish I had taken more pictures and memorabilia as well , didn't have a camera or was too cool at the time. It is hard to remember all the concert venues and dates and I was surprised I was so out with some until I looked them up online on concert archives. My oh had to help me compile this list and ge was just as bad 😊

Beasty has the right idea 👏

• Registered Users Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Fabulous list, Goldengirl. Glad to hear you're gigging again. I'm enjoying live music more now, in my 50's, than I ever did. Lots more memories to make I'm sure.

Yes , some of the best parts of our lives for sure .

• Registered Users Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

Simon & Garfunkel, RDS 2004, couldn’t believe how good they sounded. Think they fell out again not long after.

That's some list Goldengirl, amazing, some incredible acts in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,902 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Elton John who only has 3 Irish dates left on his 'farewell tour'

These golden oldies are nearing the end of there touring days and in 10-15 years not many will be left

2035 and classic rock tours for the likes of 'Kings Of Leon' and that old fella 'Ed Sheeran'

Was a bit surprised myself when I started writing them down !

I moved around a bit for work and if I could catch a gig with a friend would have preferred to do that .

My oh is a music head as well so he dragged me to some strange ones that aren't listed because I can't even remember going, lol .

Missed a few for various reasons ..Glastonbury 86 was a great one , and was in England at the time, never saw David Bowie , and Queen , and watched Live Aid on the telly in London 🙄

Glad to have seen Prince , and Rory Gallagher though, and Lizzy of course .

I'd say you are busy these days ?

Yep have worked Wild Roots in Sligo and Body&Soul last month and preparing for All Together Now at the end of this month and EP in September and maybe Vantastival too.