Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can we integrate Unionism into a possible United Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,686 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

So specifically, tell us what you think happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,680 ✭✭✭✭downcow

In fairness the Irish sun ran this story during the week, but it should be down to the papers - especially when you see how many posters on here are living in some fantasy about roi

https://www.thesun.ie/news/8712350/bandon-valley-massacre-100-years-ago/

40 years it took to get to a single apology downcow.

We got a whitewashed inquiry (Widgery) where every single part of the British establishment colluded to cover up what happened. From the Army to the Judiciary.

Bizarre one-sided victimhood from you again.

That was the event the president was talking about in the quote. Long since acknowledged.

But did the minority population fall by more than national average,when british army barracks and families accounted for

Surely it would be wise to check pop drops of 1931 to 1961(when population reached it lowest).....its not an unfair critism if factual/stands upto scrutiny...but if its a case of population not recovering as quickly....then may be a different (cultural) issue??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Speedline

You must be trolling now. There are Catholic families getting shot at, terrorised, and burnt out of their homes all the time in ni, and it's been happening for decades. Sort your own shop out first before looking for an apology for something a century ago, which according to another poster has already been apologised for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

There is no comparable example in history of the restraint shown by the local population against former supremacists; in fact, former unionists largely retained their privileged position in Irish society. Sure, there was many who couldn't handle losing having their boot on the necks of the majority, so they moved to the north and doubled down on their rotten ways - I'm sure there was few tears shed for their absence.

Wrong on all points And also the op question is about what could be done to ease the integration of unionists in a UI Maybe you’d prefer we answer a different question as that one clearly upsets you

Are you so naive as to think Protestant families were not getting shot at, terrorised, and burnt out of their homes all the time in ni, and it's been happening for decades.??

Tbh I am not completely sure what you are saying.

I think you are suggesting it should be investigated if the fall in numbers was primarily due to service families returning home to England. I can’t disagree with that. It would be worth clarifying.

my guess is it was a few things eg intimidation and fear, better quality of life in the UK and the cold house created by the catholic country for a catholic people. But I am open to learning more about the impact of service families leaving

So you aren’t even sure what it is happened or even if it did happen but you want it acknowledged anyway. 😳

I think if you pick a decade of your choosing over the 100 years I will find atrocities, intimidation and discrimination carried out against the Protestant minority. Of course non of this happened 🙄

this is why we need this dealt with as there is this continual denial - typified on here

Maybe you should use your time and find someone who said there was no discrimination.

You were presented with proof positive that the highest office in this land had acknowledged what happened and you just ignored it to pivot to something else.

Dishonest and disingenuous debating yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭votecounts

Funny that you never mention the massacre of many catholics, getting burnt out of their houses, put in concentration camps and being arrested/harassed on a daily basis by the RUC/UDR and the British Army. Only a fraction of these, if that happened to protestants in the South.Hell, even in the last few weeks numerous Nationalist candidates have been threatened by UDA/UVF Scum for having the "audacity" to campaign in loyalist areas egged on by those in the DUP/TUV. Some Unioinist need a major reset in their thinking and maybe should be taking classes in Democracy.

Seriously, you should write the Election manifesto for the DUP/TUV as most of what you said is pure fantasy. A lot more happened to the Nationalist community and Loyalist were allowed to do under the guise of scum like the UDR.RUC and British Army to it. Many joined these scum just to they could murder catholics. Bet you defend these groups.

You’ll never find me denying what the uvf/uda scum have done and how they murdered and totured catholics. And you will never find me or the vast majority of my community electing their political wings.

but I think you will find that the ira killed many more than either the Uvf or the uda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭maccored

certainly not with the support of the british security forces, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,781 ✭✭✭✭maccored

considering the dirty tricks campaign used bu the British army, I wouldnt even trust the official figures. How many killings were carried out by the security forces/loyalists and then blamed on the IRA? I'd say quite a few. Ever see that movie '71? it even hinted at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

No need to elect their political wings when you had the UUP and DUP and plenty of support for paramilitaries in the security forces. Peter Robinson even described unionist killers as 'counter-terrorists' despite their murder, almost exclusively, of innocent Catholics.

funny that you never condemned the UDR/RUC and British Army for their roles in the murders of catholics which I quoted. Might need a reset yourself.

the DUP, the most popular party amongst your group has strong links with Ulster Resistance which ran guns that murdered Catholics. They also share a stage regularly with Seamie Bryson and LCC which regularly talk recently about killing catholics, they've openly targeted Simon Coveney and Leo. The only terrorists I see at the moment is in your group and some of which should be jailed for inciting hatred. But of course, it's all SF's fault, jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭FraserburghFreddie

You're forgetting those brave ra lads frequently became "civilians"when they came up against the BA which distorted figures.On people harping back to events which happened decades or even hundreds of years ago,that's usually republicans on boards.All the allegations/counter allegations are invariably disputed by all parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭FraserburghFreddie

Pot,kettle,black?

Have a read of this link detailing garda collusion in some pretty horrendous incidents.

https://news.sky.com/story/ira-garda-collusion-in-murders-inquiry-finds-10425845

On people harping back to events which happened decades or even hundreds of years ago,that's usually republicans on boards

downcow is fully entitled to mention events from the creation of this state and partition Fred.

Look at how he has been shown that what he has 'learned' is the stuff of mythmaking and that the Irish state, from the highest office down, has long since acknowledged what happened. Look how he has been shown that efforts to revive the native language were not designed to discriminate against Protestants, they actually discriminated against anyone who couldn't speak the language, Catholic, Protestant, Jew, atheists etc etc

He has of course, yet to acknowledge that and while we wait for him to do that, you are inventing new myths about who harks back most here. Great!.

Give us some evidence of the wild accusations you are posting. eg could we have a link to Jamie Bryson “regularly talk recently about killing catholics”? Or are you just making stuff up.

jamie Bryson and Moore Holmes and a few other young unionists are upsetting the republican applecart. Their method of articulating issues has nationalists in panic. A whole series of republican and nationalist politicians are refusing to debate with them and actually refusing to go on programs they are on - citing the fact they don’t have a political mandate.

He certainly likes to pedel the uvf line on naoh donohue and help.smear that familys campaign for justice and truth

A blantent a sectarian murder and coverup as has occured in last 30 years.

Well here is the problem well demonstrated by Blaaz

none of us know exactly what happened in that tragic case. I personally don’t believe the state forces are involved in a cover up on it. But you guys have thrown all the **** at the state forces for 50 years and hope some sticks. And some did stick. And tiny bits were true. But the vast majority was made up nonsense.

it seems likely there were drugs tied up in that case and it seems like there were individuals who were from a unionist area involved (even that is not definite) but there is zero evidence that there was any sectarian motive or that the PSNI are covering anything up.

Unless of course you have evidence to the contrary?

people need to stop using that family’s tragedy for political points scoring.

I am also unaware of Bryson smearing family’s hunt for justice? You’ll give us evidence of that as well of course.

No stone should be left unturned in getting to the truth for that devastated mother. But let’s not encourage fairytales

Tell me this....was the psni tipped off on what happened and waited for the bins to be taken on out,before commencing search for the kid

Was there 11 witnesses,whom witnessed him being stripped,after being hit by a car trying to escape?

Tell me,how exactly did he get into a locked drain,or even know its existamce,when many in area didnt

Tell us were the culprits caught by the uvf and forced out,as one is believed to be related?

Whether yous want admit it or not,senior psni members in belfast have serious qs to answer

Tell us,did jamie bryson call donohues family a sectarian mob,while they attending a coronor court and accuse them of hurling abuse,despite video evidemce showing opposite

Yous lot,know well what happened,hide behind pretend ignorance all yous want,your fooling noone,yous live,eat and breath this rubbish and happy to promote bryson and co,will playing down sectarian murder as fairytales

It’s really difficult to take you seriously francie.

your two substantive points:

“Irish state, from the highest office down, has long since acknowledged what happened”. What utter nonsense. Can you provide a few links to them accepting unequivocally that there was systematic discrimination against the minority in the south?

“Look how he has been shown that efforts to revive the native language were not designed to discriminate against Protestants, they actually discriminated against anyone who couldn't speak the language, Catholic, Protestant, Jew, atheists etc etc” This one actually had me laugh out loud. Have you know idea that you are describing discrimination (which you denied a few posts ago) but you are saying it’s ok because they discriminated against the Jews as well as every other group who were different 😂😂😂 Try telling the Palestinians that it’s ok cause the Israelies are also discriminating against any prods living in Palestine