Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can we integrate Unionism into a possible United Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,683 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Thankfully even Unionists are no longer buying this biased rag. Down to less than 8000 circulation.

Hard to take that branch of Unionism on 'integration' when you read stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,680 ✭✭✭✭downcow

I absolutely do not accept that my community were never purposely discriminated against in roi. Tbh it is a rediculous suggest, even from you.

Fairly transparent rewrite of what I asked you, which was about the Irish language and the myth you like to peddle, here it is again:

YOU want to depict it as specific to your community - do you accept it was NEVER meant to target your community specifically?

You see this is classic evidence of a few different issues we are currently discussing on this thread.

if I was to respond to your last paragraph with some of the stuff your community and the Irish has became infamous for, I am pretty sure I would be banned from the thread, yet it is no issue when you do it.

….and you will be able to name it ok and that won’t be an issue either.

so my hands are tied in responding to this post.

Wrong again.

I have been very clear with mods etc that I definitely do not believe they are out to get me. I have always told them that I appreciate their work and that I have zero doubt their intention is to be scrupulously fair.

this is the very issue. People work and live within cultures. You will know that policies are rarely followed in workplace by new employees , they simply adopt the culture of the place.

this is what I mean that most nationalists have not reached square one on the self reflection around discrimination eg they blindly assume that there is nothing to even consider around placing Irish road signage in mixed areas and anybody who questions this is just a ‘belligerent unionist’

I must be learning from you. See what I mean about adopt the culture. I need to watch that remain counter-culture on here 🙂

Openly admitting you won't answer the question. Ok, I think I can take it you accept what I said but aren't big enough to say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Again with the victim complex, Downcow. Do you forget I'm from the North again? I'm criticising my own community as much as yours!

When people around the world think of the Irish, they don't think of the Provos as you imply, when people around the world think of NI, if they recognise it as different from the rest of Ireland at all, many certainly think of discrimination, anti-Irishness, flegs, parading and the Troubles. Ironically, if you tell people you're from NI, YOU'D be more likely to be associated with the Provos than the average bloke from Cork or Dublin.

I've done a great deal of travel, I always introduce myself as specifically from the North (I've discussed this with you before, I'm very comfortable with and proud of the Nordie side of my identity), my experience has generally been that they either just think I'm Irish the same as anyone else from Ireland, or those things come to mind.

I will say that the NI soccer away fans have done some good for the NI image internationally of late, but there's an awful long way to go before the general international image is positive.

I don't know why you find me associating your community with flegs and parading as offensive though, since that is a part of the culture you're so determined to defend and protect?! The lack of functioning government and being screwed by the Tories? Well they're just facts.

And you STILL haven't answered by what metrics you reckon QoL is better in NI. Your continued deflection and refusal to answer this is noted. Is this the third or fourth time I've asked and you've dodged it? I've been quite open on how I define QoL, still waiting for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭FraserburghFreddie

The thread is about integration of unionism into a Ui,what has that to do with comparing economies?In addition , If you look up the economy of the UK it includes NI in that data.If you do the same with Ireland it doesn't include any reference to the EU economy so quite how you are attempting to compare the two it's not only a mystery it's ridiculous.

You need to get your head around the fact NI is part of the UK,not a separate entity.There are disagreements within that country (UK)from time to time but when the sh*t hits the fan,the UK is always at the forefront,whether its things like rolling out vaccines or its time to fight and that includes NI,their sacrifices and indomitable spirit during WW2 is well known by the rest of us in the UK. No "fence sitting"for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Speedline

NI residents would still be entitled to join the BA in the event of a united Ireland. As are ROI residents currently. No argument from me.

I'd suggest you read the context of the previous posts, Freddie. The relative economies of NI and Ireland were brought up in the context of James Craig's pronouncement that future historians should compare the success of NI and Ireland, I merely pointed out that by the expectations of Craig, NI has clearly and obviously been much less successful than the 26 counties that got out from under the cosh of British rule, despite the inherent economic headstart NI had at the time of partition.

If you look up the economies of the UK, it certainly includes NI, as NI is part of the UK (a fact I've never disputed), if you look up the economy of NI, you'll find stand alone data for it, as sad a picture as that paints.

If you look up the economies of the EU, it includes Ireland, as Ireland is a part of the EU. If you look up the economy of Ireland, you'll find stand alone data for that. Ireland is just as much a part of the EU as NI is of the UK (though per capita Ireland has a greater say on EU affairs than NI has ever had on UK affairs). Why one would compare the two should be quite obvious.....both are constituent parts of larger unions.

Certainly there has been no fence sitting by the UK when it comes to international affairs, unfortunately for every tick in the positive box there's quite a few in the negative too.

It is easy to point out the vaccine roll out as a success if one ignores the sh*t show that was the UK's initial response to the pandemic and the overall mortality rate Covid had there. Likewise it is easy to point to WWII if one ignores the countless wars the UK fought in which they were the aggressors or expansionists, or the damage they did across the world by raping their colonies of resources for the wealth and privilege you still enjoy today. Your museums are full of evidence, Freddie.

I'd disagree that Ireland has much say in what goes in the EU,although ironically, probably had more influence when the UK was still a member as their interests were usually aligned.

Ireland unequivocally has more say in what happens in the EU than NI has on what happens in the UK. This isn't even debatable.

I find you posts over the last few days quite difficult to respond to as I see you continually spinning (or misunderstanding my posts).

I was not imply anything about the ira. I was implying other stuff that people are inclined to associate the Irish around their perceived adherence to their faith and what embarrassing picture that paints - but now you mention it, in certain places the ira no doubt comes to mind.

I am not offended by you mentioning flags and parades. I certainly do defend the vast majority of flags and parades and visitors find them an interesting and curios aspect of our identity.

my problem was you boiling NI down to four things, all fairly political, divisive and somewhat controversial.

this is why I don’t have the energy to enter another debate on who has the best country. There is a whole thread on that and it was the same old same old. I love living in NI. Nobody I know would swap it for the south. The quality of life of the masses is great afaik. You probably have a similar view of you country and that’s fine with me.

the gap has closed massively, but for you to suggest that roi has always been even close to the financial quality of life is absurd. When I was younger Everything from your roads to your telephones was regarded as of another time to what we had in the Uk. I still wouldn’t dream of suggesting that was any anyway a measurement of quality of life. Any time I visited Donegal people seemed remarkably happy and content with their donkeys, single lane tracks, little cottages and fantastic community spirit. It would be gold dust now

I work for an all-island org and my clear sense is that when we chat about life in either country they are envious of many aspects of our life. I am not being disingenuous (and it may simply be my lack of knowledge) but I can’t think of a single thing I envy about those guys situation

I mentioned four examples of things that NI is more known for than Ireland, Downcow. I asked you for positive examples and I'm still waiting, and I suspect I'll continue to wait and have you deflect because you're struggling to come up with any way NI could be described as having a better quality of life than Ireland.

Your recollection of visiting Donegal back in 1930 is interesting, I didnt realise you were so old 🤣

As for me suggesting that it has ALWAYS been that way, well who is spinning now? I said that RIGHT NOW, QoL is better in Ireland.....I actually pointed out how greatly advantaged NI was at the time Craig made his comparison, so how you inferred I thought it was ALWAYS that way from my posts, well I don't have a clue. I certainly remember when you knew you'd crossed the border into Cavan (if we ignore the little inconvenience of having rifles pointed in the windows at you) because the roads would nearly rattle your teeth, so I'd love to know when I suggested it was always that way.

I can point to data and facts to support my assertion that quality of life is better here....you thusfar can only point to your convenient group of friends who always just happen to support whatever b*llocks you're pushing on that particular day. Amazing that of all the people you know, allegedly from such a cross section of society, they ALWAYS happen to entirely support your view, no matter how niche that view is in society at large. I'm still waiting for your metrics on how you measure it that shows NI up better.

Personally I'd look at the massive increase on my salary, political stability, massive decrease in socially regressive political representation, lack of sectarian enclaves, increased life expectancy, EU membership, the better education system for my children, the stronger social welfare safety net should I ever have the misfortune to require it, the massive decrease in d*ckheads marking their territory like dogs and lampposts, the thriving tech industry, the decreased likelihood of being assaulted, robbed or kidnapped or even the fecking scenery of the West Coast as a few examples among many that many people living in NI would envy......it says more about you than it does about Ireland that you can't name one. There probably isn't a first world country in the world for which I couldn't name something I envy!

The degressive proportionality of European Parliament which gives Ireland dounle the representation per capita of either Germany or France would be an obvious example, Freddie.

The lack of FPTP voting which means we don't end up in a situation like the UK, where a majority government only has the support of a significant minority of the population, let alone how the structure of Westminster means that NI is essentially irrelevant.

The EU's propensity to seek unanimity would be another obvious contrast when compared with the Brexit vote where neither Scotland nor NI voted for it, but they're stuck with it anyway.

Care to give any counter examples?

• I see you passed over the UKs record in India and it's tendancy to leave former colonies bitterly divided ? UK history is not pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

What country are you referring to? The north is not a country and never will be. Not even the British consider it a country. The UK is three countries and a portion of another country the majority of which is no longer in the UK. There's an awful lot of self-deception required to be a committed unionist, isn't there?

How did that massive influence manifest itself when the EU were working out fishing quotas?

"Ireland can't be trusted to police its fishing quotas, says European Commission" https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40270058.html

• Seriously ? Does bitterness prevent you from printing the words Northern Ireland and acknowledging it's existence ? I can understand if you prefer it didn't exist, but to deny it is really weird. It is currently legally a country every bit as much as Scotland or Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,863 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Delusionary exclusionary nationalist rhetoric.

You may believe that the north is not a country, and you are entitled to hold that belief, but it is not a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,863 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

To some people in the North, a united Ireland would mean a foreign government, not even British, overriding their democratic wishes.

A situation worse than the one you paint. You have no clue of the other perspectives and you appear unable to understand them.

To some people in the North, the current situation means a foreign government, not even Irish overriding their democratic wishes.

Given the relative populations, the people of NI would have much more say in a United Ireland than they currently have in the UK.

I'm not really sure how you reckon your example is worse? Even with the most empathy possible for the Unionist perspective, the worst one could say is that it is the same scenario with the shoe on the other foot (without the United Ireland state systemically discriminating against them from the offset, gerrymandering to even further minimise their representation or the Irish Army shooting their children on the street of course)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I don't deny that the British currently have jurisdiction of the region (as they once did for the whole of Ireland) but let's be honest here - it is not a country. Also, what you describe as 'bitterness' is a dislike of having a border imposed on us that has caused, and continues to cause, serious problems for the people of Ireland.

Just yesterday we had a former head of RUC special branch and 'top' Orange Order man invoking the memory of UVF gun runners who threatened a campaign of mass murder against us. I'm genuinely worried about some innocent sod getting murdered by so-called Loyalists and a low-level Troubles like situation re-emerging because of the treachery of the British Government in Ireland.

I want this shit to end and the only way to end it permanently is to remove the toxic influence British jurisdiction has on this place. I find the British ruling classes playing the Orange card deeply concerning - those fuckers did not give a shit when young people were dying in the ditches in the north during the Troubles as long as it was contained.

• "the only way to end it permanently is to remove the toxic influence British jurisdiction has on this place. I find the British ruling classes playing the Orange card deeply concerning "

Couldn't agree more. However the fact remains that NI is currently a country with the same status as Scotland or Wales.

Btw, I shouldn't have said the bitterness thing, apologies.

Considering you are British by birth you're very bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,916 ✭✭✭eire4

Projection is what your post screams out IMHO.

I'm a British/Irish dual national by birth actually, Freddie. It's something I'm very comfortable with, and just filled in a short while ago on the latest census down here.

A fact that an awful lot of avowedly anti-Irish DUP members were very glad of when they went applying for their Irish passports post Brexit.

As someone who is British by birth, am I not allowed to criticise the government of my home? That sounds a bit more like China or North Korea than any democratic society I'd be comfortable with.

Apart from the weak attempt at hoping I'd be annoyed by your silly little dig, would you care to address any of the actual points raised in my post?

Are you suggesting that NI didn't systemically discriminate against the CNR community? That gerrymandering didn't take place or that British soldiers didn't shoot children?

Or am I being bitter by stating that those things won't happen should Unification occur?

I can't be held responsible for your insecurity over the actions of your government and armed forces, Freddie. I'm not bitter at all, but even if I was, I'd have damn good reason to be. I can understand how Downcow could be bitter given the actions of the PIRA, but you? You're just some eejit shouting from the sidelines without an iota of lived experience. Simply put, you don't have half a clue what you're talking about.

As someone who jumped ship from his country I wouldn't expect you to be annoyed by my comments about your allegiance and I've no insecurity about the actions of the UK's superb armed forces having served in them.