If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Bored of Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

People have been giving out about boards for years.

First it was too small and lacked appeal. Then it was too big and users found it hard to be heard in discussions. Then it was trying to be everything to everyone. Then private forums bred cliques. Then moderation ruined it. Then the bitchiness spoiled it. The doxxers did their best to infect the place. We then had the migration which killed the forum. Now apathy is the poison pill.

It will be fellas posting pictures of their dinner that will eventually drive me from the place. Can smell the cabbage from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

It's because we're getting bent over and shafted from every direction.

Our government is one that excludes the most popular party in the country.

The squeezed middle are forgotten about and the ones with no jobs and popping out kids are getting everything soft.

We can't find an affordable place to rent or buy.

Cars are appreciating assets now.

Government is using climate as an excuse to raise our cost of living (i.e EVs, oil)

Our hotels are filled with refugees pushing prices up

I could go on. What topics would you like to see? Best places to visit in Ireland? Sure the cost of things who the feck can visit them!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,651 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Three parties is enough in a government. It is not a matter of anyone being excluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭thoker

Totally agree I'm older so less hip and woke than the youth. Bubbly pop is a consistent pain and D'cor another when you can't ignore because if you click their profile it says permisson problem WTF why are these posters allowed hide ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

This and the number of posters who liked it makes me believe that the Mods are probably doing a decent job (or are in a no win situation) as my perception is the complete opposite.

In Irish terms I'd be classed as center to center right (FG or PDs back in the day type voter) and my view is that many threads go far, far beyond 'right-leaning', including skirting and crossing the line into pure racism and the Mods just let the comments go - choosing to take the easier option to shut down those who call the comments out for what they are rather than dealing with the content in the original posts that clearly break the charter of the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I have to agree with you sadly.

When the changeover happened I think the vast majority were left very unimpressed with the new user experience.

I held out a bit of hope that things may improve a bit over the year, but, they haven't really - and many forums have become quieter in the meantime, so in real terms it actually feels worse.

I've been on the site on and off for around fifteen years or so and, yeah, reports of its demise have been around before. But it's different this time.

The site has clearly declined in the last 9 months in every conceivable way - it's uglier, harder to use, has less going on in it and, it must be said, less worthwhile stuff to read. And I find that even in areas of the site - like the television forum for example - where toxic nonsense wasn't previously tolerated, that it's allowed pretty much now as standard. You get the feeling that no one is in charge, or cares anymore.

And they - boards themselves - have basically stated that the site is in financial trouble.... I sincerely wonder if the site will still be around in a couple of years.

It's a real pity, boards had a great run and it's a unique corner of the Internet, something that reddit or the likes won't replicate, even if I find myself using it more and more, as imperfect as it is too.

Maybe it's just the way of things and there's no real single fatal blow, even if the redesign was the final nail. Old school message boards are from the past and there's no new blood coming in, maybe the end is inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭CrookedJack

Brilliant way to really highlight that persons point. They say the relentless negativity is nauseating, you respond with crushing negativity.

I agree with that poster that attitudes like yours are what's choking the fun out of Boards. I get that you have an agenda, maybe even feel you've a job to do here, but man does drain the joy out of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I know you think you have a "gotcha!" moment but the OP was talking about how it's only negativity and I highlighted exactly why it's so negative, because there's negativity everywhere you look in this country.

Anytime someone complains about something, they're always met with "sure it could be worse...could be in Nigeria or Honduras"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,235 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Fine Gael and Finna Fail didnt even want to go into government, do you not remember?

Also all sinn fein do is help the dole lifers, because that is who make up most of their support, even though most of them are probably too lazy to go out and vote, too busy drinking cans at home watching Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I saw that thread and thought the person got reasonable advice including what sort of timber they might get. Also advised that a lot of maintenance etc and other possible solutions.

In general, on specific forums here that have reasonable traffic, you can ask a question like that and get good answers, some more suitable and some less so.

The bigger threads based on current affairs etc are just full of peoples various opinions.

Some threads are used to promote political agendas, you'll see a small handful engaged in them and they keep recycling them by posting a comment a couple of times a day. These posters are largely bots - whether FGbots, FFbots but mostly Shinnerbots. No idea whether it's voluntary or paid, maybe on some employment scheme. Personally I'd like to see an algorithm that kills these threads after a period, must be some way to identify. Long running one currently supposedly on 'integrating unionists' for example.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The migration killed the Forum Games community stone dead. There have been maybe 3 posts in there in the past 6 months, prior to migration it was a daily hub of chat and fun.

For that I can't really forgive the higher ups of Boards as it was my favorite place on the web to go. No negativity just a bit of craic and a silly game or two if you were interested. Often you'd have beers organised as well and I met loads of interesting people in RL from that forum.

We have a small little site set up alright so we can keep in contact and play a few games but half the fun was watching a poster hop into one game and then get totally addicted to every single thing that happened on the forum. And the new place is great but there's no scope for growth at all so over time it will probably dwindle too. Like as an eg there used to be 40+ player games of sheep on Boards. That's now down to 20 or so. In a year it will probably be 10 or so, etc.

No point in Boards reverting now either as it's far too late and people have moved on.

Forum Games really was brilliant.

A great loss to the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Due to mods. Even Squid was not this bad.

Soccer is dead too.

It was a great place for general soccer discussions for people like myself who were not that interested in the sport but could not ignore how the sport was everywhere.

Now it's just full of fanboys on their club super threads

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Aye that's because unless you have access you can't even see the discussions going on because it got shunted into a private group.

And the discussions only appear in the Group, they don't show on the homepage.

Weeks go by when I completely forget to go to the Group and see what has been posted.

It's not since the switch over to the new site..It was bad well before that..

Although I don't think I ever saw a head mod come out and state on a thread that one side of the argument wasn't welcome until the other day..

The same thing is happening across the Internet..Narrative control is all the have left..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Thread closed