"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,768 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

thanks for that, green hydrogen certainly sounds like the way to go in regards storage, an astonishing level of investment is now required for it though, and that doesnt seem to be happening quickly enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

I'll have to admit Pa its not an area that I've read up on much. Who is the commentator you refer to?

Anyways I reckon the greens would only be too delighted if this "Day After Tomorrow" scenario played out no?

Think of it. Global warming solved. Human population reduced. Large parts of the planet returned to wilderness with wolves (our greens would just love that)

Don't know what they're complaining about tbd ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Nermal

There's expensive, and then there's expensive, Akrasia.

There are over 710,000 domestic gas connections. Let's see your workings on the cost of a retrofit & heatpump installation on every one of those dwellings.

Ponder that this expense is a deadweight loss, leaving us in the exact same position we're in now, and will do nothing but drag down our standard of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I never mentioned LNG terminals?

The UK will not allow shortages of gas in the UK while supplying Ireland with gas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I have accused you of at times not knowing what you are talking about, but rather than do a bit of research on the subject you instead have dug deeper and proven my point. My reply to the post you are referring too to another poster was in relation to that poster saying "there is no reason to believe the UK is running out of gas", similar to you, had that poster did just a bit of basic research as I suggested they would have also discovered they did not know what they were talking about.

I have explained to you multiple times why I believe it is in the states interest to build its own LNG terminal for a number of reasons. I have yet to hear a coherent reply from you countering the reasons I believe it is in the states interest.

You are very exercised over this private application to build a LNG terminal in Kerry based on political party backing. Far as I know the only party in government opposing it is the tail of the dog, the Irish Green party. Neither of the two main parties in government have as far as I know but perhaps you can show differently, or will that be just another question to you ignored ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

There are 1,725,929 houses in Ireland according to the last census in 2016. You think that all of these will not be using any form of fossil fuel by 2035.....? they will all upgrade to heat pumps ? totally unrealistic and is pie in the sky rubbish.

That makes absolutely no sense.

The U.K. are not using their LNG terminals to liquefy natural gas for export. They are using them to return imported liquefied natural gas, mainly from Qatar, to it gaseous state.

U.K. natural gas fields are becoming depleted and they are net importers of natural gas, not exporters. 2020 part of those imports was LNG which accounted for 9% of their requirements.

Actually the U.K. having LNG terminals, two in Wales (Dragon and South Hook) and one in England (Isle of Grain) reinforces your point as well as highlighting that the U.K. natural gas fields are becoming depleted and no new sources due to come on line.

If a country, as some here appear to believe, is self sufficient in natural gas then why would they have LNG terminals for the importation of natural gas.

Thanks.

It’s absolute madness to think we can somehow expect a country to keep us in gas, at the same time their own gas fields are depleting.

can you imagine the tories or any UK government explaining on sky news that they’re very sorry there’s rolling blackouts across the UK but we ran low on gas for generation but had to keep the flow of gas going to Ireland so they could have electricity!!

No?

me neither!

Some amount of naivety shown by the acolytes on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

Even more insane when you see posters on here telling us we do not need Ballyroe or a LNG terminal because we have a safe secure source of natural gas from the U.K. when their own gas fields are becoming increasingly depleted, and the U.K. is importing the majority of its own natural gas requirements and using LNG terminals to do that

You couldn`t make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

All gas field are deleting the World over. Not one country has unlimited reserves.

So you just made an excellent point AGAINST investing in LNG as it is a deleting resource.

"You couldn't make it up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

52 years of LNG left at current usage ,if you add in technological efficiencies and new discoveries that can probably be pushed out to 75years

When it comes to your claim that we did not need a LNG terminal or Barryroe because we had a guaranteed safe secure source of natural gas to use as a transition source, you actually did make it up.

Just another example of the nonsense you post here in defense of the Irish green party muppets insanity.

And yet we know we require natural gas during the period of transition to renewable energy generation and possibly beyond.

Looks like we're in luck so

What a ridiculous post.

We need gas for a limited time as well you know.

This thread really is hilarious. One minute complaining about the uk and depleted resources, the next saying 52 years left

I would ask which is it but I doubt I would get a right answer.

Hilarious when you see all the posts about people blindly following the Green agenda

Hilarious indeed that at this stage you still cannot read a post and comprehend what it says.

The poster referred to 52 years of LNG. The LNG that the E.U. recognises as a transitional source of energy that the bunch of idiots you support are attempting to ban, and you believe they should collapse the government if they do not get their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

I'm not the only person who noticed his obsession with AMOC. Someone else wrote an open complaint to RTE about this same topic.

Not being a climate scientist (or any kind of scientist) himself, Mr. Gibbons projects an air of certainty and comprehensive knowledge to which no genuine scientist would lay claim.

We submit that in providing a person like Mr. Gibbons with an uncontested platform in a matter of such public importance as this, RTÉ is failing in its duty to serve the public interest.

The reason Mr. Gibbons gets a free pass on RTE is they blindly spread fear and alarm (I mean "follow best practices to raise public awareness of the Climate Emergency Crisis") using guidance from an advocacy NGO called Covering Climate Now, who operate under the umbrella of another US based NGO called The Fund for Constitutional Government (FCG) which allows them to mask their funding sources.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

The world has 52* years of currently known LNG left. The UK doesn't. Hence it has three LNG Terminals to import from that 52* year reserve stockpile.

Those trees are near, those trees are far away.

*52 years is a conservative estimate - other sources say 150+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Green or otherwise Ireland's problem is not investing in anything.

Eitherway it's a bad case of not seeing the wood for the trees 🤔

Not a poster in the political arena myself I see what's been termed Turfgate is being variously discussed over in the FF/FF/GP thread

Start of discussion here to current here

Yet you posted about SF deleting stuff off their website numerous times and tried to link the Green party to it 🤣

It been discussed by a few anti government posters. The same posters who spent all day yesterday discussing the Orange Order on the thread . Nothing about the proposal for 5 days off for employee etc.

You get more sense on this thread and that is saying something

Wow condescending comment. Quelle surprise

If you don't see the issue with recommending not to invest in fossil fuels because they are depleting while also making an argument to invest in fossil fuels then I can't help you/

LNG will be sold to the highest bidder. That's how companies work. Ireland doesn't have and never will have the buying power over larger countries like UK etc. Even if we invest 650m on a LNG plant.

So IF the UK does run out of gas and if buying LNG they can just outbid us.

Not sure how people are not recognising the issue here

Well there you go. Incorrect once again. Just like you screaming that there were no State owned LNG facility being considered, which was shown to be incorrect as well!

No I did not post about "SF deleting stuff off their website numerous times". And it was this poster who conflated that issue with SF btw

But as always the flinging of shite lol.

I most certainly did post about the Green Party deleting lots of stuff which I was able to find archived elelsewhere.

I have therefore borrowed this lad and he brought some friends because he looks better here lol. 😅🤣😂

But wtf has the orange order to do with the green party other than colour? 🍊🍏

But to paraphrase what you said to the other poster

If you fail to see the benefits of recommending investing in fossil fuels during the period of transition to renewable energy generation as recommended by the EU and even your own beloved Green party (even if they haven't figured out to do that yet) then no one can help you

The EU have recently started the process to have an EU wide tendering system for the purchase of natural gas. Thats already been posted. How come you're deliberately ignoring that again?

And that's how Ireland as part of the EU will buy natural gas supplies which can be held in gas storage and LNG facilities built here. And that 650m Euro you keep warbling on about? Thats what it will cost the company to build the Shannon LNG facility. It's not public money as you disingenuously suggest.

Not sure how one person thinks the EU and everyone else is wrong and they're "right" lol.

But hey 😌

Post edited by Mecanudo on

"screaming"

Would you ever cop on to yourself. Another rambling post of rubbish with no point.

Lol. Well that's how it came across. But no worries.

I take it you mean my comment in reply to yours which point by point showed yet again that everything you claimed and stated was Incorrect!

so nope, definitely no "rambling" there at all. I leave those to you 😄

Post edited by Mecanudo on