Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Academy Awards (Oscars 2022)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Good job Chris Rock is black or there would be a whole different conversation going on.

The professionalism from Rock to continue was amazing - he came out of it very well. Him telling Smith that it was a 'GI Jane joke' really did show up the complete overreaction from Smith.

I think Smith will cop a lot of flack for what he did. It was an unnecessarily violent reaction. The optics are terrible for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,882 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

The joke was more of a "look its no big deal, so much so that its ok to make a quick joke about it and move on".

So, one word to describe Oscars 22'...??.... RUBBISH.

That whole farce last night was embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Yep that’s probably true all right, he has made serious money. I suppose I wasn’t really following the exact meaning, and just making my point on who is the biggest ‘movie star’. I don’t think I ever watch a movie with ‘The Rock’ in it. He wasn’t in ‘The Rock’ with Cage and Connery and that was pretty good action film.

I read somewhere before, Matt Damon turned down the lead role in Avatar, and the deal he was offered was some kind of incentive based. Had he took it it would have turned him into a billionaire or something with how the film did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,598 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Rock's 'joke was way out of order, but Smith's reaction....wtf

Before I watched the video I thought it may be some sketch/set up, but that was really serious. Smith was in a rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

was thinking the same this morning. Imagine if that shot that is everywhere (the one with Rock recoiling from the slap) was of Smith slapping a female host or of a white actor slapping Rock? The attacker would likely never work again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭Xander10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,214 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

More people have watched the flap than have watched Code and the power of the dog combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,214 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Same woman has been interviewed about it and explained the reasons for shaving her head. She also said she has made peace with it and is over the shock.

so where was the insulting comment? Either way, one person said something that upset someone.

Will Smith committed an assault ( or was white, or Chris Rock was female)

What would be the reaction if Chris Rock fell or stumbled and whacked his head?

what if Will Smith had a knife (or an Oscar) and struck with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭trashcan

Was it just me, I thought Smith looked pretty pleased with himself walking off stage, even seemed to have a grin on his face ? Didn’t come out of it very well anyway.

Have not watched Coda but last years winner Nomadland was absolute rubbish. Previous year Parasite was exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭al87987

In fairness, he's the best actor, not the best thinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I don't care for Jada at all, but she's a great looking woman, even after shaving her head.

If I hadn't seen her scornful face, and only saw Will Smith laughing at the "joke" initially, I'd have seen no bad taste in it.

I'd have thought it as using a pop-culture reference to say "all the power to you, Jada. You still look great". Not saying it belongs on stage in front of hundreds of peers, and millions of viewers.

There's been plenty of duds dropped on an awards ceremony stage, I'd have thought this would slip into obscurity quite quickly if not for what followed.

Will Smith's acceptance speech was awful.

Nobody talking about the lad from Dune forgetting to put on a shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

If ever there was an ad for a completely septic relationship it's this. Smith seemed broken the time he did the interview around their strange arrangement.

To go from laughing at Rock's joke, to instantly getting up, slapping and roaring at him in such a public arena. The man is broken trying to maintain that relationship with her. Speech was pathetic as a follow up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,051 ✭✭✭✭briany

Oof...

Being a comedian, the thing that will probably bother Chris Rock the most will be thinking up all the witty things he could have said in the immediate aftermath. He held it together well as it was, but a zinger right then would have been legendary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

It's quite obvious what happened. Will Smith has been slagged to death over his open marriage and his wife riding young lads.

He felt emasculated and wanted to show the world what a big though man he was and took his opportunity.

We talk about toxic masculinity when it suits us....

comedians can make jokes about cancer, pedos, rape etc. - they're just jokes and nobody has the right to assault someone over it.

Smith is an absolute gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,692 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I really don't think Will Smith was laughing at the joke. Given what happened, I'd say it was more of that kind of mad but trying to laugh it away but knowing you're about to smack someone. He wouldn't have done what he did if he was laughing at it, then saw Jada was mad. If he himself wasn't mad about it in that moment, he likely would have just confronted Rock after the show, or called him out during his speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Useless Lump

That is not “unhinged”

if he had beaten Chris Rock or bit him - that would be unhinged.

it was a slap across the face. And a feeble one at that.

Smith lost his temper. He did something he shouldn’t have.

there is no mental instability here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Maybe Smith saw his wife face and saw red which I say he regretted 10 seconds later. After a talking to by his wife I bet himself and Rock met up after and its all been put behind them. Seen headlines of Rock has not pressed charges yet as if he will. There will be skits about it probably all 3 or in 2's and mentioned next year

He should have said something like, ‘Kim Kardashian’s fat arse couldn’t break the internet but this just did’. Or less controversial, ‘that beats the stupid group selfie of whatever year it was’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Saw the clip, struck me that it wasn't really a joke or if it was, it was in poor taste. Then he seemed to laugh at his own cleverness until until yer man went up and put him right. Very inappropriate and not PC, but I'd reckon there's many who'd be saying fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Was anyone else massively impressed by Rock's ability to take a slap? Smith connected solidly but Rock firmed it like a pro.

He dealt well with it on a social/professional level also.

I am now a fan.

Post edited by DeadHand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I would agree.

It also has to be said that if it were Dwyane 'The Rock' Johnson hosting the Oscars and made the exact same joke, Smith wouldn't have moved an inch.

I was thinking of a “bankable star” as some like Will Smith was or Tom Crusie is deliver blockbusters because they are in it.

But a “bankable star” of course doesn’t mean bloackbuster but means someone people will go to see and can turn a profit.

So there are a few. Tom Hanks as mentioned earlier.

The Rock too but I don’t think many of his movies have been “box office gold”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭The Phantom Pain

He got in one little fight and y'all got scared and now he's moving with his auntie and uncle in Bel-Air.

Seriously, it's hilarious how scared people are of black men. When you bring up skin colour and hypotheticals unnecessarily you show that your issue is less about the assault and more about the fact that a black guy did it. I've already seen the word 'woke' be mentioned once to cap it all off while policing a black man as to how to behave like a respectable negro. Get a grip. I like Rock but he insulted Smith's wife's condition and got rightly clapped. He's lucky that's all he did.

I think the Hollywood award shows will put an end to personal comments like this. The terrible jokes were why I stopped watching these a long time ago - even Bob Hope was crap at the Oscars.

no doubt they guy who wrote won’t be hired next year