Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Wouldn’t be against this at all. Feel hooked is somewhere depth is needed badly. Hoping DTM pushes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Friend talking about some of the new boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Wegians89

SHL being similar to faingaa could be huge. He was a brilliant player for Connacht. SHL looks a bigger unit so could slot in at 8. Back row of prendergast Oliver and SHL could be tasty with a second choice of Murphy, butler boyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭tvpc

ROG doing his part in the media for Carberry. He blames Carty for the Edinburgh game. He pretty much says if you lose a game its all on the 10 and that is why Carty should not play for Ireland. ROG is very sly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭testtech05

Do you have a link by any chance? Haven't read much of ROG stuff in a while but used to find his analysis pretty good previously but that sounds like a BS take on that game having suffered through it all.....

Edit: Found it https://www.the42.ie/ronan-ogara-ireland-new-zealand-5718721-Mar2022/

I think it would be pretty obvious to most here why the Byrnes or Carbery haven't had results like that this season. Seems incredibly harsh to basically blame a 50 point beating on your outhalf! Ill have to give the whole article a read when I get home from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Surprisingly enough, ROG didn't really say these things. The same poster was on here a few weeks back claiming that BOD was blaming Carty for the Japan defeat (which was also bollocks).

'The gap has most definitely closed' - O'Gara sees New Zealand tour as 'massive opportunity' for Ireland (the42.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

Here is what he said:

“He (Carty) came on and had an opportunity (against France), remember Ireland had a chance to win the game? It was Jack Carty’s pass from right to left that went forward and Dan Sheehan knocked it on, but it was a difficult pass to handle. But these are the moments that we’re talking about. But also, my abiding memory of the Six Nations (for Carty) is that Jack Carty was out-half for Connacht that went to Edinburgh and the score was 56-8. 

So I think we have to be consistent in our analysis in the fact that you can’t knock on the door, knock on the door, knock on the door and then come up with a performance like that and go, ‘Well that didn’t happen.’ Because the staff and coaches look at that and that rocks everything about your environment, about your culture, about what you stand for.

“Then you go, ‘Test level is another level up and I’m the out-half on that team that has gone to an away game and we’ve copped 50 points.’ So I think it’s a very, very harsh message but every game counts. Especially when you’re not the incumbent, every game counts.

“The out-half is the driver in the team and this isn’t harsh against Jack, I’m just trying to give you guys a picture of what’s involved in selecting a potential test out-half. It’s an all-encompassing position with so many layers and strands associated with the job and the task at hand.

“You can’t just pretend that Connacht-Edinburgh game didn’t happen. That comes into selection criteria because the two Byrnes (Ross and Harry) haven’t had that on their CV this year. Joey hasn’t had that. So little things become big things when you want a really important piece of your jigsaw.”

It's ridiculous to pin the loss against France on Carty with his 90 second appearance. The manner of the loss against Edinburgh was a disgrace, not sure what Jack could have done about but it would have been good to see some sparks fly.

The Carbery thing is getting weird, I try to keep an open mind about his ability, but it's become overloaded with a lot of provincial fog. He's had a cursed career, really, I'm pretty sympathetic to Joey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

It's ridiculous to pin the loss against France on Carty with his 90 second appearance.

He didn't do that either though.

You're being pedantic. He didn't say Jack was responsible for every decision which contributed to Ireland losing the game, but there was a chance to win and Jack fluffed it. He was clearly going after JC, compare his commentary on Carbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Carberry is not very good! He wouldn't get a look in in France or England! But, that's where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Team named

CONNACHT RUGBY MATCHDAY 23 VS LEINSTER RUGBY

Friday 26th March, 19:35 @ The Sportsground

Number/Name/Caps

15. Tiernan O’Halloran (201)

14. John Porch (52)

13. Tom Farrell (73)

12. Tom Daly (57)

11. Oran McNulty (7)

10. Jack Carty (173) (C)

9. Kieran Marmion (202)

1. Denis Buckley (203)

2. Dave Heffernan (158)

3. Jack Aungier (26)

4. Oisin Dowling (20)

5. Niall Murray (30)

6. Cian Prendergast (24)

7. Conor Oliver (35)

8. Jarrad Butler (90)

Replacements

16. Jonny Murphy (19)

17. Matthew Burke (34)

18. Greg McGrath (4)

19. Ultan Dillane (125)

20. Paul Boyle (70)

21. Caolin Blade (144)

22. Sammy Arnold (33)

23. Diarmuid Kilgallen (6)

Maybe it's the long shadow of the Edinburgh game, but I think we'll lose this by a couple of scores. Maybe the best bit will be a close look at Dooley, Murphy and Hawkshaw. Big question for me will how the THs perform, and if TOH puts in a performance. Sorry that Thornbury wasn't ready to bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I think he’s trying to provide some context. He isn’t blaming Carty for either defeat, but he is saying that when Carty came on in Paris he made an error, and when you’re getting so little time you’ve got to take your chances. It’s harsh in a way but it’s reality too. This is elite level pro sport after all.

In terms of the Edinburgh game, again he isn’t blaming it on Carty. He’s saying that Carty is an important part of that team (which he is) and the team as a whole suffering that defeat, one no other province has, is bound to reflect badly on Carty to some degree. It has to. You can’t ignore that he was part of a team that suffered that, especially as he was captain and one of the senior guys in the side.

Carty had to be setting out a positive stall and over those couple of weeks he didn’t. Is it harsh to judge him on that given it’s a short window (small sample size) and it wasn’t all down to him? Yeah. But by the same token, as ROG said, you can’t ignore it either.

Looking at Leinster's last five games, this is arguably the easiest of them; hence it's a must-win for them if they want to have any realistic chance of finishing top of the log.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

You would imagine that Edinburgh game will spark a response. What better focus to galvanize that, than an inter-pro. I’d have Connacht as favorites going into this game.

If you have Connacht as favourites, I'll take your money ;)

Edinburgh was three weeks ago, long enough for the shame to have been parked. Leinster's front five are going to dominate and Ross/JOB will attack Tiernan O'Halloran. Tom Daly, usually so good, had a dreadful game last time out and will need to be sharp or Frawley will make a total mickey of him. I'd have started Arnold at 13 for his bite, Farrell has been off it since he picked up an injury before Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Connacht are at home and always raise their game for interpros. That’s very much a B team with a lot of C team players in it for Leinster. Positives for Leinster would be cohesion. If Aungier holds his own at scrum time. I’d fancy Connacht to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

This should be a good match! I think it will be close. Delighted to see Frawley back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

LOL will ya stop. ROG is trying to help the munster 10s out by cutting down Carty. Problem in Ireland is provincial bias media hurts the Irish team. No one blamed Sexton for all his mistakes when Ireland got hammered by NZ in the World cup.

Will ROG blame West instead of himself because they got beat by 30 points last weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

Cant see Connacht having much of a chance. The only hope Connacht have is if the 3 new signings decide its better to lose and have a chance of playing in Europe next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭b.gud

I have 1 ticket for the enclosure and 1 for the main stand available. Either available for a €30 donation to the Unicef or Red Cross Ukraine charity appeals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭tvpc

I jus set up a account a couple days ago. I think I have only made 1 rugby post so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,367 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I'd be looking at red for Daly.

Shoulder to head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,308 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

That was incredibly stupid from Daly. Game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Conor Oliver, cian prendergast. Sadly not much more positives to be drawn. Lazy from Tom Daly. Other issues are clear and obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,367 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Hard lines today lads. I thought ye showed a lot of grit for the first 50 minutes and made life miserable for Leinster.

But Carty had an appalling game today. His kicking from hand was so poor and his passing was iffy too. Great identification for the overlap for your try. But his level is so up and down that he can be a huge hindrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭testtech05

I actually thought Jack had a decent game overall bar the early missed touch and his conversion.

Anything good we did in attack came off good passing from him.

Really and truly once we went down to 14 that game was only going one way. Did well to stick in there for 50 mins to be honest. Terrible from Daly really no excuse. Thought ultan was very poor when he came on too.

Also to mention Dooley, if he has signed to walk in as first choice LH based on tonight often against a 7 man scrum I think he might be surprised...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭TRC10

One big positive for Connacht tonight is Hawkshaw