Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 ✭✭✭timmyntc

But NATO won't get involved. They are afraid to get involved as it may lead to war between nuclear powers.

In other news, I though Russian's 2 weeks were up? Weren't they supposed to be bankrupt by now and out of supplies?

Maybe if we wait 14 more days they will capitulate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭rogber

He's like the brat in kindergarten who can't accept that some other stroppy kid is suddenly getting all the attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Did the stock market open?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They're not close to mopping up the Russian nazis. We're getting a very one sided picture of this conflict and it's the side we want to win so cling to that. We see drone strikes and NLAW strikes by the Ukrainains, successful ones of course. We've not seen vids of Ukrainian aircraft or tanks taking the fight to the Russian invaders. It's pretty much all small scale infantry attacks. Of the Russian side we've seen almost nothing. Yet a few things are clear. Russia has taken a large chunk of Ukrainian land. The 40 mile long road convoy from early on was pointed at as an example of Russian military stupidity. Yet - and I said it at the time - this can also suggest the Russian forces simply didn't see the Ukrainian forces as a major threat to it, it wasn't taken out by the defending forces and trundled on towards Kyiv where it remains on the outskirts.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

You seem to believe that one side is most definitely willing to use Nukes and at the same time be in denial that it's even possible.

Obviously no one with half a brain wants a nuclear war but it's becoming more and more likely that Russia will have to be confronted, NATO is a massing it's troops and battlegroups in the east, while incrementally increasing the level of support to the Ukraine making a clash increasingly likely.

The whole "they need to cop on and get Abit of sense" grown up attitude is completely lost on them they don't care if they upset our cushty little life here in Ireland or the west and unfortunately the auld I'm alright jack and **** everyone else is becoming less of an option by the day.

If your logic was the way they were looking at things we wouldn't be witnessing civilians being butchered on tv daily, and Ukraine wouldn't be invaded unprovoked unfortunately that's not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Sanctions can have varying impacts and it depends to large degree on how open a country is, how much it trades and what resources it has to hand.

For instance sanctions on Ireland would destroy it.

You can lob all the sanctions you want on North Korea and it doesn't matter that much as it is so insular already.

It also depends on how despotic the country's leadership is as a dictator who has absolute control couldn't give a toss if ordinary people can't get medicine or access to a new Western electronic device.

What they care about is access to electronics that keep them in power or access to military equipment.

South Africa were in position that they could use large coal deposits to turn into synthetic oil/synthetic rubber, much like Germany had done in WW2.

Sasol were huge. (Anyone remember them sponsoring Jordan F1 ??)

They already had an arms industry so they just expanded it.

They circumvented sanctions and embargoes by doing deals with some of the lesser ethical regimes out there like, Pinochet’s Chile, Saddam Iraq and Argentina’s Junta.

They also had links to Israel.

Actually they were very innovative and led the way in some systems. They had due to involvement in Angola and Namibia.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It's 100% true and verified. I read it on Alex Jones' website.

I remember it exactly. I mean I did write it

Post edited by Donald Trump on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Yes, it opened 3% up but it's a bit of sham in that foreigners can't sell shares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Conspiracy theories thread ,

More nonsense about Biden while cheering trump,

Why?

Why would you respond to a post, which rightly says that we are being shown only one side of this war, with such a child-like misinterpretation of what was said?

This whole thread is ridiculous. Any mention of the fact that the "news" we are hearing might not be what it seems is met with insinuations that you must be a russian sympathiser.

And all this done without a shred of irony as they denounce russian propaganda.

Beyond parody at this stage.

who now lost 20% of invasion force in deaths, wounded and deserted)

are being driven back dozens and in some cases hundreds of kilometres in north and south

(surrounded altogether in few pockets)

Source on these 3 claims that isnt the Kyiv Independent or a rando on twitter claiming to have seen an "unconfirmed but realistic looking report"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Well i know it's easy for me to say as I live and work in Dublin but personally any foreign national still in Russia is on their own imo.

Keeping them here is legitimising them. They should be expelled and treated like the gangsters they are. You don't see sky interviewing the Kinahans.

It's sureal that we re even having these types of conversations these days it just shows how fucked the world is ATM.

Is there really evidence for that or is it wishful thinking though? I would love to hear that Russia was retreating but all I've heard is they may have been forced back a bit near Kyiv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,362 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The 'other side' claims they haven't invaded Ukraine. 🤣

Anyway I haven't seen anything that contradicts US or UK intelligence assessments so far.

IF you have by all means, post them up if it is indeed a sincere debate on balance you crave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

That might be because half the ones in the Legion after WW2 were from the problematic German organisation.

A lot of those lads that perished in That Khe, Coc Xa and Dien Bien Phu probably deserved their fate after what they had done in WW2.

There is even story of an Eastern European Jewish lad that joined the Foreign Legion to ultimately track down his family's killer in Indochina.

He used the guy's real name when he saw him, and when the guy turned round he blew his head off.

Nothing was done to lad by the French officers as they knew the story.

I am not allowed discuss …

He gambled on a complete collapse in the face of the "mighty" Russian army and got it completely wrong the best he can hope for now is a long drawn out insurgence against western backed freedom fighters.

Putin is an inept clown at this stage which is worrying cause he seems like a bitter **** and prob will throw his toys out at getting embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Bayonet

Adulation for a dementia stricken president with chaos all around him created by him and his incompetent department. We haven't even seen the last of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I reckon that story is Sven Hassel horse shite

The SS in the Legion were mostly former French SS who were given the choice to stay in prison and rot or join the Legion and fight in Indochina, that where that marching song came from. There was some former german SS and lots of former Heer but the initially the French actually checked German candidates for the blood group tattoo and rejected them

Slight difference between the kinahans and nuclear armed Vlad. 🤣

I disagree as much as I'm not a fan of the Russians ATM diplomatic channels should always be kept open as should ways out for the Russians

What?

I absolutely never said ANY of that.

**** typical.

I'd rather sleepy Joe than mental trump, it's a scary state of affairs tho that they are our only options 😅

The noose around Mariupol is growing tighter every day. The city is almost cut in half

As to the encircling of Russians, that is as of yet unconfirmed. Also quite unlikely, because if it did happen, then the Ukrainians to the north flank would be exposed and routed by Russian forces coming from Chernobyl direction across Belarussian border.

This is the kind of misinformation that spreads all over, then in a few days time we realise it was all BS and is swept under the rug. Everyone is too taken with the latest report of Russians on the brink of surrender, or supplies running out in the next 14 days . For every 10 news stories on Ukraine conflict, 7 later turn out to be complete BS.

Yeah, well America has a problem when their most 'viable' candidates are approaching their 80s. I was quite happy for sleepy Joe to come in, spend most of his days in bed and leave things be. Sadly he had to take an active role and employ the most useless people in Washington he could find.

"Never underestimate Joe's ability to f*ck up" - Obama.

I'd take Trump back in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭zv2

If there is even a limited nuclear conflict there goes your world economy.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

When did this thread become such a cesspit?

I said, simply, that nestle shouldn't be criticised for supplying essentials like baby food to Russian people. Hardly outraged or hardly a controversial opinion.

You went off on one saying , quite unbelievably, that me saying that was in some way an equivalence to chocolate eggs being given to russian children while Ukranian kids ate dogs.

I also don't think it's unfair to say we aren't being given the whole picture of what is happening. That isn't supporting Russia's actions. It's a statement of fact.

I get it, you desperately want to paint people who have the audacity to take what we are being told with a pinch of salt as some sort of nazi sympathiser. It just simply is not true.