Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Timing belt

As I said people will agree or disagree with the policies. I am not defending them or saying that it is the best use of resources... I am just pointing out that they did use opportunity of negative rates to try and address the housing issue.

I just hope that if there is a recession in the coming months that the government step in and build in order to retain the building workforce so that they are available to build from the minute any recession ends so that we don't end up in a situation where they all retrain for other work like after the '08 crash which has been one of the biggest contributing factors to the shortage of supply we have seen over the past 6/7 years.

Post edited by Timing belt on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

A comment I find thrown out by the saddest people in general.

Its usually projection.

How do you know how much craic I am on a night out?

I used to pull up people who used the argument that rent is dead money.

But these days I certainly feel I cant argue with them when they say rent is dead money. In fact ive gone full circle and feel it is indeed dead money myself too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

KBC consumer sentiment report down by a good but this month due to Inflationary costs spurred on by the Ukraine invasion.

Worth nothing too house sales in America fell 2% last month even with increased supply citing rising borrowing costs and rising house prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

I honestly don't know whats going to happen if we are actually heading into a recession but at a guess:

Discretionary spending stops due to uncertainty, inflation, mortgage rates rising etc

More staff working from home to reduce commuting costs hits hospitality jobs

Unemployment increases for low to middle earners working in hospitality and similar industries dependent on disposable income

Rents don't drop in cities, landlords know they can't increase them if they drop however more rental availability as foreign workers start to leave and stop coming here when Ireland doesn't make sense anymore.

Some small drop and levelling out of 2nd hand house buying market - people not prepared to do mad bidding over asking and people are eating into their savings but 2nd hand still cheaper than new homes

New house prices continue to rise - material & wages cost inflation locked in for medium term

General move of borderline income people who prefer to be unemployed than work for little to no money

Social housing lists increase, government under pressure to deliver more social housing but homes cost more to build and tax incomes start to drop

On going extra costs for housing Ukrainian refugees

HAP payments increase

Tax increases for middle earners & employers to pay for all this

Ireland even less competitive for new investment, prolongs recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,989 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

i think we should organise a night out, we can all bring our respected flip charts, and decide at the end of the night whos craic is better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭timmyntc

They government set the rules of the game - they never lose.

If they change the rates, they'll change it so that they get the same if not more tax revenue, so expect either an even higher rate as the max rate of tax, or the 30% rate to kick in between existing low and high rates.

I do think we should have far more steps on the tax scale, and highest rate should kick in far higher than what it is now, but we are not exactly awash with cash right now, so dont expect much relief. A token gesture I expect

seen this article alright, didnt read it though, i think we need to move on from messing around with taxation, its very unlikely to address our property issues, theres serious fundamental issues occurring simultaneously, leading to them, the idea of reducing taxation on some, more than likely wont work, yes it may help their own respective situations, but it more than likely would not resolve our issues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭growleaves

I agree. It will give a boost to some people entering their prime earning years. Their money will go to asset owners and the general squeeze will continue. Another slice of people will feel they owe FF/FG.

the only taxes we should be chasing is taxation on wealth, in particular in relation to property and land, but also other assets, as we generally store wealth in the value of assets, enough with these micky mouse ideas on income taxes, its time for us to grow up and be adults about this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Villa05

Varadker mentioned recently that those offering housing for refugees should not expect payment from the state for doing so.

Is there any way we can find out what the private sector is charging for housing refugees. It would be refreshing if the state suddenly displayed though business negotiation skills to ensure hotels et Al were not milking a crisis situation

It would also be beneficial for the populace to know who is doing what in relation to accomodation it would also be beneficial for hotels good will to identify those that are genuinely offering value and helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭fliball123

to see the craic make sure you wear loose jeans for the bending over part :) good luck with lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

Good analysis, but I would not rule out the bubble in the tech sector especially in Dublin City center. I have included a link below with shows the largest decrease in online sales purchases since they started recording it in 2009. This would alarm me, as most online sales and e commerce is based on consumer spending in particular discretionary spending. E commerce, data driven advertising, data analytics online payments all based around online sales marketing and advertising. If the cost of living keeps rising al these city center tech companies could be in for a downturn. Couple this with the already inflated Nasdaq which will turn red as interest rise due to tech growth being purely driven by low interest rates. This may affect your theory on the rents in Dublin city center not reducing.

Anyway this is just me speculating but I do feel the wages and the inflated share prices around Tech is much like the dot com era and as I said a lot of these companies growth is based on E commerce marketing and advertising.

https://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/retailers-suffer-poor-march-online-123757647.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭al87987

The houses we are releasing next month in the next phase of our developments have risen between 6 - 7.7% from our last release in Nov 2021.

Huge increase in just 5 months.

A decrease is relative though - its expected that online shopping volumes would decrease from the peak during pandemic (brick & mortar shops all closed)

We have a supply shortage in this country, so short of something suddenly causing demand to drop away (mass layoffs) prices will not "correct"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Timing belt

It’s the largest % decrease of online sales in the Uk which is what you would expect after the elevated levels of online sales during the pandemic and the opening up of the economy again.

Even if 25% of the population that bought groceries online during the pandemic switched back to buying in Waitrose, sainsburys or Tesco…it would lead to the largest % decrease of online shopping.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

You'd imagine that is on account of the increased construction costs overall. It is a huge increase for sure.

Interestingly, large development in north Dublin that I've been keeping my eye on are now seemingly deferring the next phase by a number of months due to uncertainty surrounding construction costs and difficulties in securing materials. You'd wonder if that is being repeated elsewhere around the country. If so, then the current inflation is going to exacerbate the housing supply problem.

Worth mentioning that demand for the houses isn't an issue here. Previous phases sold out within an hour of becoming available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

Tick tock tick tock…doing this since 2018😂😂😂…almost there

Housing crisis is a global phenomenon..reading same stories like this thread across globe. Various reasons for price increases and people know that. Question is which reason will be labelled for the crash ! Sovereign debt? Inflation? WW3? Time will tell.

And if you believe that ....

Sounds like what Leo promised many years ago. Im waiting Leo ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭MacronvFrugals

Must be an election on the horizon - not that any change in government would be successful in reducing prices..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭al87987

Actually we have already locked in prices with the builders so it's not that. I do expect them to come cap in hand in a few weeks asking for an increase though.

The 6% - 7.7% increase were figures suggested by the agents, NAMA have since replied they want 10% increases from the November 2021 prices. They should get it too, the demand is incredible.

I'm never getting a gaff at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Of course it is. Their valuations are so phenomenal and have increased so dramatically that it is almost a certainty they will correct. They are just so ridiculously out of whack with the general stock market that it is laughable to try to argue how it is justifiable and how they can grow even further. Facebook in particular, as I've said before, are in big trouble and they are a large employer in Dublin with a shiny new campus in Balls bridge which may end up being a ghost estate the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

It looks like the private student accommodation providers, those providers who built unaffordable luxury student accommodation that is sitting empty, have found a way to be bailed out before the crash by hopping on the refugee gravy train. It's a disgrace and another example of the housing market being a con with the government putting a floor under the whole thing with the free money it thinks it has access to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭DataDude

Young lad on my team just handed in his notice because he couldn’t make the maths work moving back up to Dublin/surrounding areas on €100k. Better quality of life to take a paycut for full remote.

Even having bought a house myself, the housing market is still causing me pain!